3 photos
Sharp R890

Sharp R890

R890EST, R890EW, R890NS, etc...
2.1 from 25 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Microwaves in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Sharp

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.9 (14)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (14)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
John N
John NHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Absolute rubbish. Grille and Oven both fail miserably.

published

The oven does not reach an effective temperature. Food fails to cook at the designated temperature and time.
The grille is much the same story, not even changing colour after 25 mins.

Purchased in March 2021 at The Good Guys for $420.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shawn
ShawnHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Terrible Convection and Grilling Function

published

Purchased in March 2021 at Winning Appliances NSW, Newcastle for $449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Not what I expected from Sharp

published

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R890 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wales
WalesAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Biggest Ornament in my Kitchen

published

Useless at best. Convection only mildly warms food...it certainly doesn't cook it.
My old convection microwave would cook my pizzas in about 10 - 12 minutes, I tried cooking the same pizzas in this useless ornament and after about 40 minutes the cheese was only just melting.
My advise....run out before you buy this useless thing called a convection microwave...shame on you SHARP.

Purchased in January 2020 for $352.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
MrsC
MrsCAU
  • 46 reviews
  • 45 likes

Worst microwave I've ever owned

published

Purchased in December 2020 at The Good Guys Physical store for $440.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Unsafe

published

I have found the shelving of this model a little narrow causing them to collapse when they have been in use. The shelves have moved when removing hot items from the oven.

Purchased in May 2018 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
SLK
SLKSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Convection Oven Not Heating to Specification

published

I bought a new SharpR890EST and used the convection oven 3times. With cooking times above 30 minutes, it failed to reach the 230c set temperature all 3times. Based on the temperature gauge, it only reached upto 180c. I now have a new convection oven that cannot reach its stated temperature. I'll be contacting Sharp for a resolution shortly.

Purchased in December 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Owen
OwenSouth East Queensland, QLD

A capable microwave, but...

published

This unit does everything we need it to do, however we are surprised and disappointed that the bulb blew after just over a year of infrequent use. An online search for a replacement revealed a price of $44.00 plus postage! This could turn out to be a very expensive investment if this is a typical lifespan. Considering the expected longevity of LED bulbs, this is certainly 'not up to scratch'.

Purchased in June 2019 at Appliances Online for $364.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Snowyowl
Snowyowl
  • 22 reviews
  • 21 likes

Far from perfect. Down right disappointing make sure the batteries in the scales are charged

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Betta Home Living for $359.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R890 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Avrille
AvrilleSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Worst Microwave

published

If you in the market to buy a Microwave, do not buy this one. Had it a few months and the globe went. It was replaced and told they were putting in a different globe as other one faulty. I also complained about excessive moisture in Micro. Told that they all do this. No solution. The big problem is that I now have RUST inside (Stainless steel)?????

Bought Feb 2019.

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman .

Build Quality
Value for Money
stumpjumper
stumpjumperAU
  • 4 reviews

Convection oven is more like a convection refrigerator

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online for $380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
David B.
David B.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Convection oven temperate way off

published

Cooked a few dishes using the convection oven function and noticed they are way undercooked so I bought an oven thermometer which confirms the oven is way off. When set to 180 degrees the oven only reaches 100! When set to 230 it only reaches 175. An oven that doesnt even hit 180 is useless. Simillar reviews on Appliances Online re the low temp.

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jackie
JackieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good microwave but oven is average

published

Good for reheating and steaming quickly. Oven function is ok but food wasn’t as browned as normal oven roasting. Panel is easy to use and clean. Bought it on sale with minor scratches for $200 so value was reasonable.

Purchased in November 2019 at Home Clearance for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Beau K.
Beau K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

12 month manufacturer warranty, lasted 12 months & 2 weeks..

published

Was purchased to last, lasted 12 months and 2 weeks, just beyond the 12 month warranty. The non replaceable LED light started flashing and now the unit sounds like it's going to catch fire.

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Beau, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to us at ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Adrian
AdrianMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Fantastic Microwave Convention Oven

published

This Sharp Microwave Convention inververter Oven is Great it heats food quick and when using the Convention oven heats up to temperature really quickly.I have cooked Cakes, Pizzas,Apple pies, Lasagnas pretty munch anything and perfect every time.Also love the grilling option and Convention combine cooking great for pizza ect. I would recommend this microwave Convention oven it is fantastic great product . Also the touch pad and controls is so easy to use very self explanatory

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $339.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Adrian, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience your feedback has been logged.

Adrian
Adrian
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R890 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Margaret
Margaretasked
R890EST

How do I get good roast vegetables in my R890est which just does not roast.
Margaret

No answers
Pauline M.
Pauline M.asked
R890

Noting previous issue on a review for the Sharp R890E inverter microwave. I am having the same issue with significant condensation build up on microwave function. Any info to resolve would be appreciated.

3 answers
Wales
Wales

I haven't found any solution....just wouldn't buy Sharp microwave ever again.

Keith D
Keith D

I got mine looked at by the Sharp Repair Agent in my area and he said that it functions normally and that condensation is a result of cooking food in a microwave. I realize that condensation is expected, it's just the way in which this microwave deals with it (or doesn't deal with it more to the point). There is no ventilation to push out/disperse the condensation, leaving it to just build up inside of the microwave.

Pauline M.
Pauline M.

Agree… condensation is logical but not to this extent!
Have to say it’s disappointing. It’s the first time I have purchased a Sharp convection microwave and probably my last :(

Mariam M.
Mariam M.asked
R890

price of Sharp R890

No answers
See all Sharp R890 questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Sharp R890

Details

Compare all 5 Sharp R890
Sharp R890EBS

Sharp R890EBS

No reviews yet
CategoryMicrowavesMicrowavesMicrowavesMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $769.00$749.00$749.00$419.00
Type ConvectionConvectionConvectionConvection
FeaturesGrill FunctionChild Safety Lock and Grill FunctionChild Safety Lock, Grill Function and InverterChild Safety Lock, Grill Function and Inverter
Dimensions 309 x 520 x 486 mm309 x 520 x 486 mm315 x 520 x 510 mm315 x 520 x 510 mm
Turntable Diameter325 mm325 mm315 mm315 mm
Door MechanismPush ReleasePush ReleasePush Release
Power900 W900 W1,100 W1,100 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelWhiteStainless SteelStainless Steel
Release dateJuly 2008July 2008July 2008July 2008
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 5 Sharp R890

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.