??!
3 photos
Sharp R890

Sharp R890

R890EST, R890EW, R890NS, etc...
2.2 from 21 reviews · View Statistics

Microwaves Buying Guide

One of life’s little conveniences, a reliable microwave easily lets you enjoy hot food and drinks at home. Whether you’re making 2-minute noodles, microwave scrambled eggs or cooking rice, a microwave is an essential everyday appliance you can quickly wonder how you ever lived without.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (9)
Previous
Next
MrsC

MrsCAU

  • 45 reviews
  • 45 likes

Worst microwave I've ever owned

published

Purchased in December 2020 at The Good Guys Physical store for $440.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Unsafe

published

I have found the shelving of this model a little narrow causing them to collapse when they have been in use. The shelves have moved when removing hot items from the oven.

Purchased in May 2018 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SLK

SLKSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Convection Oven Not Heating to Specification

published

I bought a new SharpR890EST and used the convection oven 3times. With cooking times above 30 minutes, it failed to reach the 230c set temperature all 3times. Based on the temperature gauge, it only reached upto 180c. I now have a new convection oven that cannot reach its stated temperature. I'll be contacting Sharp for a resolution shortly.

Purchased in December 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R890 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Owen

OwenSouth East Queensland, QLD

A capable microwave, but...

published

This unit does everything we need it to do, however we are surprised and disappointed that the bulb blew after just over a year of infrequent use. An online search for a replacement revealed a price of $44.00 plus postage! This could turn out to be a very expensive investment if this is a typical lifespan. Considering the expected longevity of LED bulbs, this is certainly 'not up to scratch'.

Purchased in June 2019 at Appliances Online for $364.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Snowyowl

Snowyowl

  • 22 reviews
  • 21 likes

Far from perfect. Down right disappointing make sure the batteries in the scales are charged

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Betta Home Living for $359.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Avrille

AvrilleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Worst Microwave

published

If you in the market to buy a Microwave, do not buy this one. Had it a few months and the globe went. It was replaced and told they were putting in a different globe as other one faulty. I also complained about excessive moisture in Micro. Told that they all do this. No solution. The big problem is that I now have RUST inside (Stainless steel)?????

Bought Feb 2019.

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman .

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
stumpjumper

stumpjumperAU

  • 4 reviews

Convection oven is more like a convection refrigerator

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online for $380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David B.

David B.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Convection oven temperate way off

published

Cooked a few dishes using the convection oven function and noticed they are way undercooked so I bought an oven thermometer which confirms the oven is way off. When set to 180 degrees the oven only reaches 100! When set to 230 it only reaches 175. An oven that doesnt even hit 180 is useless. Simillar reviews on Appliances Online re the low temp.

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jackie

JackieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good microwave but oven is average

published

Good for reheating and steaming quickly. Oven function is ok but food wasn’t as browned as normal oven roasting. Panel is easy to use and clean. Bought it on sale with minor scratches for $200 so value was reasonable.

Purchased in November 2019 at Home Clearance for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R890 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Beau K.

Beau K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

12 month manufacturer warranty, lasted 12 months & 2 weeks..

published

Was purchased to last, lasted 12 months and 2 weeks, just beyond the 12 month warranty. The non replaceable LED light started flashing and now the unit sounds like it's going to catch fire.

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Beau, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to us at ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adrian

AdrianMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Fantastic Microwave Convention Oven

published

This Sharp Microwave Convention inververter Oven is Great it heats food quick and when using the Convention oven heats up to temperature really quickly.I have cooked Cakes, Pizzas,Apple pies, Lasagnas pretty munch anything and perfect every time.Also love the grilling option and Convention combine cooking great for pizza ect. I would recommend this microwave Convention oven it is fantastic great product . Also the touch pad and controls is so easy to use very self explanatory

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $339.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Adrian, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience your feedback has been logged.

Adrian
Adrian
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

PeteE

PeteESydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Working well

published

We have had this microwave for 4 years now and hasn’t missed a beat. Liked to have a convection microwave, particularly for pork crackle. Didn’t initially like it as much as my previous Sharp of nearly 20 years but it has proven reliable and no trouble, so happy with it.

Purchased in April 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Pete, thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience your feedback has been logged. Have a good day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aldrich

AldrichWILCHERRY

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Please don't hesitate. This microwave oven is worth it!

published

We tried Woolworth’s frozen 125g Apple Pies at 175° for 30-minute cooking time. This time we just added five minutes for pre-heat and the pies were perfect.
I'm very happy with the control software for this microwave oven, and more than that, it's very uniform when you heat food, just like the delicious food you've just made.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Aldrich, Thank you for providing feedback. It is great that you enjoy using the microwave. Have a good day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Daddy

Daddy

  • 7 reviews

Sharp still as Sharp as ever

published

Our convection microwave of 25 years finally packed it in, so we had to go out a new microwave, we always have liked convection because of the two different ways of heating, this Sharp microwave hasn’t missed a beat so far, sure we don’t expect to get 25 years out of our new microwave, but it does everything we want and couldn’t be happier

Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TayTay

TayTayNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Works so well!

published

Amazing microwave, heats food quickly and is very easy to use. This is my partner and my first microwave and I don't think we will stray away from this brand in the future. Looks very nice as well and matches our other kitchen appliances so bonus ha ha ha ha

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R890 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karen H

Karen HBrisbane

Very shabby Customer Care.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2014
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jennywoo

jennywooGippsland, VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 14 likes

worst oven ever does not deserve 1 star

published

purchased this oven after my very old much loved sharp carousel convection died. Noticed the door had a broken catch when it was unpacked, oven was replaced by the retailer. I don't know how they can call this oven a convection oven. It is no good for baking scones cakes pies etc.
It has turned out to be a very expensive microwave/pie warmer as that is all that it's good for.I will never buy a sharp oven again.If this oven breaks down I will not even bother to get it fixed.I would rather buy a convection microwave from Aldi for under $200

expensive piece of junk

6 comments
renw
renw

Have had mine for 2 years and it is a great microwave and have had no problems with it.

jennywoo
jennywoo

I agree it was a good microwave but not a good convection. The door has broken, just out of warranty I won't bother to have it fixed.

lillitae
lillitae

Yes I am very disappointed with my sharp microwave convection oven which was expensive and will not ever

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible

published

Poor product that is expensive, Sharp's repair/customer service is very poor and slow. I would never buy a Sharp product again.
Convection oven and grill works well, but unfortunately the door broke after 2 months and Sharp repair service have been very slow to do anything about it.
Expensive Microwave, door broke after 2 months. Sharp customer service was not helpful at all. Still waiting for it to be fixed after 3 weeks.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BATS666

BATS666Peel, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible

published

I wish I'd read reviews of this before buying.
I can only re-iterate what other reviewers have said both here an on other sites.
1. The turntable motor has now busted for the 4th time in 3 months...1 month after the warranty ran out!
2. The outer cabinet gets ridiculously hot. The turntable gets hot on microwave, so heats up the crockery. The whole point of a microwave is that this doesn't happen !!!

I had a Sharp convection microwave for 15 years before it packed up. Never a problem. Never got hot.

I now regard this as junk and would like my money back !!

broken turntable motor (3), very hot outer cabinet

1 comment
xraywolf
xraywolf
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Flimsy plastic door catch broke - poor design

published

One of the plastic door lugs/catches broke (my fault, i caught it on my arm).
Closed the door and now can't open it and power won't come on.
Off to repair no doubt at high cost.
Very poor design.
Overall good unit except....
....poorly designed/weak door catch, just waiting to be broke - would not recommend on this basis. But check any microwave you buy for similar "feature".

1 comment
Bry56
Bry56
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Mariam M.

Mariam M.asked

R890

price of Sharp R890

No answers
gbrownie

gbrownieasked

R890EST

I’ve got this microwave and considering returning it, we replaced a sharp that died after years of good use. It would heat a cup of milk within 1minute (1200w inverter)
This 1100w convection/ inverter takes a good 2m30s to heat that same cup of milk
What on earth am I doing wrong?
We also have meal prep lunches that used to cook within 1m30s now we put in for 2m30sec and the center of the food is cold
Have we got a dud?
We are just using the basic microwave functions none of the bells and whistles

No answers
Darryl cowie

Darryl cowieasked

R890EST

How much clearance do need in a cabinet for this microwave

2 answers
Darryl cowie
Darryl cowie

How much clearance do need for the sharp R890est convection microwave

Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Darryl, thank you for contacting us. Please find below the information as per the operational manual.
For R-890E(W)/(ST)/(BS): Allow a space of at least 40cm on the top, 5cm on both sides and at the rear of the
oven for adequate air circulation.
When installing in a cabinet, the minimum inside dimension of the cabinet should be 620mm(W) x 715mm(H) x 560mm(D).

See all Sharp R890 questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Sharp R890

Details

Compare all 5 Sharp R890
Sharp R890EBS

Sharp R890EBS

No reviews yet
CategoryMicrowavesMicrowavesMicrowavesMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $769.00$749.00$749.00$419.00
Type ConvectionConvectionConvectionConvection
FeaturesGrill FunctionChild Safety Lock and Grill FunctionChild Safety Lock, Grill Function and InverterChild Safety Lock, Grill Function and Inverter
Dimensions 309 x 520 x 486 mm309 x 520 x 486 mm315 x 520 x 510 mm315 x 520 x 510 mm
Turntable Diameter325 mm325 mm315 mm315 mm
Door MechanismPush ReleasePush ReleasePush Release
Colour / FinishStainless SteelWhiteStainless SteelStainless Steel
Power900 W900 W1,100 W1,100 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateJuly 2008July 2008July 2008July 2008
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 5 Sharp R890

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.