??!
1 photo
Slasher Organic Weedkiller

Slasher Organic Weedkiller

3.2 from 19 reviews

Reviews

(5)
(4)
(2)
(6)
(2)


Phil

PhilFar North Queensland, QLD

Over priced

published

You have to use 5 times more than Roundup ,plus more weeds return faster. Bleach does a better job & a lot cheaper. Sorry, that unable to save the planet .I'm sick of all the crap over organic.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $29.00.


Slasher

published

Hi, further to my previous review, today 9/1/2020 I phoned the company responsible for this herbicide, they promised they would have a specialist contact me regarding its inability to kill perennial weeds. I won’t hold my breath waiting for contact from them.
12/1/2020 To the manufactures credit they have contacted me and have asked me to send in a sample of the herbicide so they can have it tested.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings for $86.00.

phil

philWestern District, VIC

over rated and not cheap

published

killed the foliage of the weeds within a day or so but then the core of the weeds are now thriving, could have achieved the same result or even better with just boiling water

Purchased in October 2019 at Home Hardware for $22.00.

I love it.

published

I love it. I use it around my vegetable garden. I give the weeds i don't want growing a heavy spray and within minutes you can see them change colour as they start dying off.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.


Amanda

AmandaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

A great alternative to protect our bees

published

This product works in a day or two and I'm very happy with the results. I've tried and tested other organic products including homemade, but this gives the best results.
However, if you're looking for a Kill--All, glyphosate, carcinogenic product and want a pristine garden look, this may not be the product for you. Slasher has been made for the conscious environmental people in mind, who don't want to spray and kill everything in their garden which isn't an official flower. Wildflowers can be beautiful too and the bees need them. Highly recommended!

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $14.00.


Evan Chooly Getit

Evan Chooly GetitWoop Woop

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hit and miss

published
1 comment
Evan Chooly Getit
Evan Chooly Getit

Effective for shorter term use

published

Like this product...sadly, it doesn't go very far on acreage.
Very effective on warm/ hot conditions.
A little " smelly and oily" but ok.
I still buy it as the organic status overpowers longterm glyphosate.

Purchased for $90.00.


Fiona

FionaSydney

  • 4 reviews

worthy of zero starts (pardon the pun)

published

This eco friendly product is also weed friendly. As in the photo on their website, it does indeed seem as if the weeds die in 24 hours. But guess what? Like Lazarus they rise again from the dead. Every time. Total waste of money, and it's expensive too. Back to glyphosate for me. Very disappointed.

Purchased in January 2019.

Franz Kafka

Franz Kafka

  • 9 reviews

Could be cheaper but good

published

I still find flame weeding is the cheapest and quickest method but it does present problems for about 6 months of the year.

Compared to flaming, slasher wins on convenience (not having to lug around a 9kg propane tank and not having to worry about setting fire to things) and it loses on cost and being a bit pongy.

I would say slasher is just as effective as flaming and takes about the same amount of time - while it is expensive compared to propane, it still only costs a few dollars to weed the whole property so it is still a feasible solution.

murcod

murcodSouth Australia

  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes

Expensive and not really a replacement for glyphosate.

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $29.95.

1 comment
murcod
murcod

I forgot to mention there's also a warning that Slasher may discolour pavers/ concrete. I sprayed some on charcoal concrete pavers and it's left what looks like a giant "snail track" (according to my young daughter!)


Mic

MicSydney, NSW

Sub par

published

It's great if you like the same weeds you spray come back weeks later. It doesn't kill all the roots in some weeds. It's not the silver bullet to replace Roundup (glyphosate).

Purchased in January 2019.


Len Edwards

Len EdwardsPerth, WA

Organic certified products are always the best to use.

published

20 yrs ago approx, when operating my Landscaping/Garden maintenance business & as part of my ongoing research into organic products, I discovered Slasher. Trial & error got it right. Semi retired now & till using it at the local school where I am gardening. The extra dollars it cost is balanced by it being fast & efficient.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $35.00.


Bean

BeanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Its time to shift away from Glyphosate (aka Round-Up)

published

Purchased in August 2018.


Mark

MarkVictoria

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Just ok

published

Purchased this recently to use in my gardening business to replace round up. Extremely expensive and not as reliable but organic so that’s the plus I guess. Will give it a few more weeks.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Maurie

MaurieFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

An Effective Organic Herbicide

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

chalie

chalie

  • 24 reviews
  • 22 likes

I thought it was great

published

Small garden and we use on driveway, stairs etc were weeds are.
Does not kill bees like toxic roundup.
We love it and were very very happy with the results , will stick with it.

Purchased in March 2019.


Mac

MacLoxton

A useful tool that is very effective if used correctly, but disappointing if you try to use it like

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Fordo

FordoAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not good enough

published

I sprayed Slasher in my yard and found i to be very disappointing, as some small weeds died back, a lot never lost their green look, others never changed at all. So out came Round up job done. 70 ml of slasher is way to much, but it's worse when the product doesn't work effectively you don't want to be buying a product that does not do what it claims to do.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Lisianthus

LisianthusAlbany

  • 19 reviews

Costing

published

Questions & Answers

Samuel D.

Samuel D.asked

Will Slasher kill nut grass?

No answers

Chris Willitts

Chris Willittsasked

Will it kill Nutgrass ?

2 answers
Barry M.
Barry M.

I couldn’t get it to kill any grass period

phil
phil

dont ask me mate, i gave it a care review. weeds grew back straight away. pouring hot salty water over the weeds has the same effect and cheaper, best of luck


Rick

Rickasked

what is the ratio of product to water when mixing

1 answer
Barry M.
Barry M.

Hi Rick,
Save yourself some money do not buy it does not work.


Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.