??!
12 photos
Smeg Retro Style FAB32
2.7 from 15 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
6

spider

spiderSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great service by Smeg

published

I had many ongoing problems with my Smeg retro fridge. I loved it but couldn't live with the constant flooding, defrosting, food spoilage, broken plastic pieces and seal. Smeg completely fixed this with absolutely excellent customer service. I couldn't be happier and really thank them for this.

Purchased in December 2010 at Appliances Online for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 1 person(s)
See all answers

Sharin I.

Sharin I.Launceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Looks fab

published

This fridge looks fantastic but is on the small side and has no features for the price point, in saying that we do love the look and it matches our other smeg appliances so we were willing to sacrifice space and features.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very very poor quality

published

Purchased at David Jones for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 1 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Don't waste your money

published

Stunning fridge freezer but very disappointed in quality and function. The internal doors in the freezer broke within the first year. I have had constant issues with temperature control despite following all recommendations. Both fridge and freezer seals split within the first two years. The internal light failed in year one and I have never been able to get the compartment opened to replace it. Very frustrated. Now have been told that to replace door seals, new doors are needed at $1700 and $800 AUD each. Would rather buy a new fridge freezer and turn this lovely looking SMEG into a cupboard. Good on the eyes but nothing else. I really stretched myself to buy this and have had buyers remorse ever since.

Purchased in February 2012 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Kara

KaraSydney

  • 3 reviews

Planned Obsolescence??

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
3 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Kara
Kara

So I emailed Steve on the 22nd of January as per his instruction on the 21st of January and guess what? No response back, I’m guessing this was automated, much like the planned obsolescence of the fridge...

Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Dear Kara. I wish to advise that I have not received your email at all, can you please resend it and I will be in direct contact with you to discuss this matter. Regards Steve Cullen.


Matt

MattHere

  • 2 reviews

What a stylish product

published

What a stylish product
5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 21, 2018
The best of the best. Stylish, easy and a focal point. Has lost of storage for food and wine of cause. The cool room storage departments are spacious and the crispers both drawer are spacious as well. Love the colour selections and it also reminds me of the older times, . Whitch
gives a nice feel.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Susan

SusanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews

What a stylish product

published

The best of the best. Stylish, easy and a focal point. Has lost of storage for food and wine of cause. The cool room storage departments are spacious and the crispers both drawer are spacious as well. Love the colour selections and it also reminds me of the older times, . Whitch
gives a nice feel.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Hi Susan. Thank you for your review. We love hearing how our customers love their products. Enjoy ! Smeg Australia.


Terrible the reviews are correct here the best thing is the look.

published

The look Well that’s why your hooked they look great and give you the feel of a solid reliable unit that’s where it stops brittle plastic even the egg holders crack when you slide it out to clean then the glass shatter no problem copped that the wine holder rusts and the kicker is this fridge is 6 years old and has been extremely well looked after the steaks regularly oiled no dry detergents and they have decided to crack Smegs answer you have to replace the door that’s right both freezer and fridge complete door haven’t even got the quote yet you well know how much that’s going to cost Shame considering you should at least get 10 years for a 3800 dollar fridge..

Date PurchasedJul 2012
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Kenobi

KenobiSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Indulge in something special, treat yo self

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Great looker but everything else terrable

published
Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Awful

published

This fridge has moisture running down back and the crisper becomes wet, therefore fruit and veg go soggy and off. Sent first fridge back as the computer on the top was broken. I should have done my home work. The fridge looks good . But who cares if it doesn't work

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Phh2685

Phh2685South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wouldn’t do a Smeg fridge again!

published

The best part about the SMEG retro fridge is how it looks. It’s performance as a fridge is just as retro. It never kept a consistent temperature, it leaks frost onto the top of the lower door seal, so you get and see black mould whenever you open the fridge, it’s ordinary all round. And, we were shocked to discover that for the price, it isn’t a no frost freezer. So we now have a much cheaper, larger, more efficient Japanese fridge in the kitchen, and a not so very old, good looking, but really expensive and disappointing SMEG ‘beer Fridge’ in the garage.
We’ve just built a new home, with all the normal appliances - not one SMEG.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Very disappointed. Would not recommend.

published

After doing a huge amount of research and making the decision to part with $6000 for 2 of the fridge/freezers, I couldn't be more disappointed. We have experienced a number of issues including the seal not sealing, the silver plaque coming away from the temperature controls, the fridge not being able to keep a constant temperature, freezing food, screws falling out, unable to store fruit/vegies in the crisper as they get frozen, parts cracking or breaking and having to mop up water from the bottom of the fridge compartment. The freezer section requires continual defrosting. The after sales service has put me off ever purchasing another SMEG appliance.

1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Glenda

GlendaDepot Hill

  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

Smeg Fab32 not suitable for hot climates of Central Queensland

published
rearrange

rearrangeAU

  • 28 reviews
  • 35 likes

Excellent

published
1 comment
Love pink
Love pink

Smeg I realy realy need a pink one of these please send me one! I dream about this fridge!

Questions & Answers

Alison

Alisonasked

Hi is this an interchangeable door opening? Like can I hinge the door on the left or right side

3 answers
Kenobi
Kenobi

I don't think so as when you order you pick left or right hinged

Matt
Matt

Yes it’s available hinged both left and right. Just specify when you order. The model number will be slightly different

Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Hi Alison,
No they are not interchangeable, however as mentioned above you can purchase them opening either left or right.

Regards,
Smeg Tech Support.


Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.