??!
2 photos
Smeg PGA64

Smeg PGA64

MPN: 35903054
2.6 from 11 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
4

Bibi

BibiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love the look

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $1,080.00.

3 comments
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Bibi
Bibi

Thanks Lesley. Where are the Post Purchase classes held?

Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Hi Bibi - at various Smeg showrooms throughout Australia as well as selected Smeg retailers - Go to our website to register your address and it will then advise the location and the various times ! - Enjoy - Lesley at Smeg Australia.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Johan

JohanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Sizing an issue during installation (remains in the box)

published

When I purchased PGA64 from Harvey Norman at the end of 2018, I was told that according to the dimensions given it would fit in place of my current cook top as both are advertised to fit in 60cm cook top installations but when the installer came to fit it he told me it will not fit without having to cut into the stone bench top (even if it only required small amounts on both sides (left and right) as well as more depth as well. As a result I had to pay the installer for his time spent coming out to my place without having the actual cook top installed. We looked at other options to have it done but got different opinions and I expect my next step would be a different cook top from a different manufacturer.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Bish

BishBrisbane

Wrong size advertised

published

When I purchased PGA64 from Good Guys during X-mas 2018, I was told both in Harvey Norman and Good Guys that it would fit in place of my old Smeg SAR 66X as both are advertised as to fit in 60cm cooktop but when the installer came to fit it in then told me that it does not fit and I need to get a stone benchtop cutter to widen the cutout with 5cm. Now I need to pay extra for the benchtop cutter as well.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Poor design

published

I do like the gas cooktop but don't love it. I like the design of it being sunken. It is easy to clean. But I agree with disappointed that the design is poor and you can only fit small pans on it or only 2 at one time. I regret that at the time of doing my kitchen I did not look into an electric induction. If I had thought of it sooner I would definately have changed to electric induction. I would love to be able to do this now.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

liz

lizNew South Wales

Disappointed

published

Really bad design. Bought it to replace old Smeg cooktop hoping it would be easy to install in the bench but that didn't happen even though it is technically the same size. The design of my old cooktop was so much better, the new one can only fit two pans unless they are very small.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Speleo

SpeleoNgunnawal 2913, ACT

  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

A great stove top that fits low into the bench with a decent wok burner

published

Was installed by large local installer, good knobs at the front with clear markings. Beautiful stainless steel but each burner has a few bits to remove for major cleans or easy wipe down of the whole top.
Easy to keep clean after each cooking session. Burns gas as it should and nice fine control by the front knobs that stay cool.

Very good heavy quality two grid racks that lift off for easy cleaning. 34.8 Mj/h on natural gas..
The lower height suits a shorter cook!!

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Nicole

Nicole

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't Pay Retail

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Nicole
Nicole

Have been in contact with Smegs National service manager and awaiting for a book in for a service call. Will update when this occurs.


Bunny

BunnyCaloundra

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is a good product

published

Been operating this cooktop for a 2 months now.No problems, operates well with all burners in action, starts promptly, and is very easy to clean.Only downside is polished aluminium burner surround discolours, but its no problem, we just clean them with a product called Gumption once a week while doing the dishes, discoloration comes off very easily, looks brand new all the time.Its a huge improvement on our old gas cooktop.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Arabella

ArabellaSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified purchase

Not the best cooktop I've ever had

published

While I love the way this cooktop actually sits down into the bench, it isn't the best cooktop I've ever had.
It is more difficult than most to light - you seem to need to have the knob in exactly the right position for the flame to catch & hold & more importantly, I can't get the flame down low enough to simmer on any burner - unless I use a simmer mat. On previous cooktops I haven't needed to do this.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
2 comments
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Arabella
Arabella
Thanh Nguyen

Thanh NguyenAdelaide

Disappointed - Not recommended

published

I just used for 2-3 times then the one by one burner' ring changed to a rusty look which can't be cleaned. The ugly look started to appear even with the burners (2 little ones) I haven't used. Then after a week the black stand started to change color as well. Not really impressed.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Wouldn't recommend

published

This cooktop looks good but you can't use more than 2 flames at a time unless you are using small pans. If you use the wok burner you can't use any of the others
Looks good
can only use elements at a time. diamond shape doesn't work

Questions & Answers

Karl Kirsch

Karl Kirschasked

Can the heat control valves be changed for variable control as the low setting is still too high?

1 answer
Smeg
Smeg

Hi Karl, valves can not be changed but there is an adjustment for the low flame so you can make it lower, your gas fitter should have adjusted it. There is instructions on how to adjust the low in your instruction book.
Regards Chris


Arabella

Arabellaasked

Hi Elly,
Just to clarify - you say when you use the wok burner you can't use the other elements - is this because another pan won't fit or because there's not enough gas/heat to use 2 elements at the same time?
Thanks.

1 answer
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg

Hello Arabella,
Thank you for your enquiry. You can definately use the burners on the right when you are using the wok burner which is located on the left of this Cooktop.


Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

Details

CategoryGas Cooktops
Price (RRP)$1550
Width620mm
Depth505mm
Cutout Width592mm
Cutout Depth488mm
Elements4
Control PositionFront
AvailabilityCommercial
Release dateMar 2010

Visit official website
  • MPN: 35903054
  • GTIN13: 8017709142162

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.