??!
1 photo
Smeg SA9065X / SA9065XS

Smeg SA9065X / SA9065XS

SA9065XS and SA9065X
2.8 from 35 reviews

Dangerous!!!!! (But excellent customer service)

Edit to add:
SMEG customer service were really good. I received an immediate response from the company after emailing them and two days later, I have a new glass door, free of charge. I did lose money from having to take a day off work (apparently no one is available after 4 o'clock!!!) but I am relieved the process went smoothly. Still nervous about it happening again but only time will tell!
_______________________________________________________________________________________________
Original review:
I went to open the oven to cook dinner tonight and the handle came away from the door and glass came exploding out at me!!! I have had this oven for less than 3 years. So dangerous. There was glass everywhere! I am now very nervous about getting another SMEG even if they replace it (waiting to hear back from someone), for fear it will happen again! This was a $2000 oven. I always thought SMEG was top of the line!

Purchased in July 2016 at The Good Guys for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Product is used: Daily
2 comments
Hi Bec. Thank you for your review. I believe you have already emailed us direct in regards to this matter? We have replied to your email to advise you that our Melbourne office will be in contact this morning to discuss this and to organise an inspection and repair of this asap. Kind Regards, Smeg Australia.Thanks Lesley. I have updated my review based on the excellent customer service and help I received. Thank you.

Perfect oven, looks great and works very well.

Purchased the FS model of this oven. Replacing a Westinghouse that came with the house.

Couldn't be happier overall.
Firstly, finish is excellent. All components are solid and materials seem of a high quality.
Very easy to use, Dials are all simple as is the clock timer.

It preheats very quickly, not sure if this is just new ovens or whether unique to Smeg, but it seems twice as fast as newish ovens ive used in the past.

Heat is nice and even, it does seem to cook a little quicker than recipes recommend, so you just need to be aware of this when in use so as not to burn any items.

I haven't used the steam clean function as yet. This was a selling point for me as well as the reliability of the unit. All good so far.

One trick to note is you need to set the clock after plugging it in, otherwise it appears to not work.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Despite a couple of issues its still a great oven

Let me just say that before you write your review on how bad the oven etc. is please reach out to the service department first to let them try to resolve your problems.

We've had our oven for around 4 years of which its been in use for around 2.5 years (bought and stored for 1.5 years prior to installation). The gas hobs are great, good spacing between them all, we love the teppanyaki plate and also the cast iron grill plate that came with it.

After 6 or 7 months the oven wouldn't heat to more than 150C (thermostat issue ?) and soon after the digital lights on the clock / timer stopped working. Despite this, the rest of the functions have been fine and so long as we don't need to cook hotter than 150 or so its ok :-)

I saw the reviews here and noticed how responsive and proactive Steve Cullen (national service manager for SMEG) was so I dropped him an email outlining my experience with the oven. Steve has been fantastic in assisting us to have the oven repaired. Amazing customer service and super responsive (thanks a million!).

Date PurchasedSep 2014

DISAPPOINTED WITH SMEG

We purchased the new Smeg after we bought a home with an Ilve. All reviews stated that SMEG was the best stove. Stainless steel was superior to Westinghouse etc. We purchased our Smeg from The Good Guys and we also paid for delivery and installation. After several months, I was preheating the oven for meringues. The oven caught on fire. Smeg service told me ovens cannot catch fire. He came to look at the oven and replaced one faulty fan in the oven. He did not replace the other fan. He spent more time telling me how to clean the oven and stove...which was clean!
The oven makes a noise whenever I use the fan forced option and the stainless steel surrounding the burners has marked badly. A simple wipe or stainless steel steel does not remove the marks.
Overall, I won't be recommending Smeg or Good Guys.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
3 comments
Dear Diana, I am the National l Service Manager for Smeg and I would like to assist with this problem, could you please email me direct at steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your address and contact details and also what are all of the issues. Once I have this information I will be in a position to ascertain what to do to fix these problems. Regards, Steve CullenSmeg after service rang and said they would be down to install new fans. I explained that I did not want the same technician to come to our home. Can you contact me via my email. I am in hospital at the moment. Sincerely, DianaSilence from Smeg.

Looks Good Functions Average

This came with our newly purchased house.
At first my wife and I were delighted with its good modern looks but living with it over the last 9 months, I am less than impressed.
The stove top works really well and I like the wok burner. Very good. The oven is bad, really bad. There are supposed to be settings without fan forced but they dont work and the fan runs in every setting. It also does not seal well and you can feel air escaping.
I looks great, and the stovetop is good but the oven is bad.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
1 comment
Hi Go_Hawkers. I am the National Service and Spare Parts Manager for Smeg Australia. Can we please organise to get your Smeg Oven looked at by an Authorised Smeg Technician? I would love to hear from you direct, so if you don't mind emailing me your full name, address and a contact telephone number, I will be in touch to organise a mutually convenient time for this appointment. My email is steve.cullen@smeg.com.au Thank you I await your reply. Steve Cullen

Worst oven ever

Where do I start? Within a few months the temperature and other markings had all rubbed off. The oven doesn’t heat consistently or hold temperature (I use an internal oven thermometer to set temp). It overheats when set on high then switches itself off to cool, so you can’t do anything that requires a hot oven. Clock is unreadable. Was so disappointed with this.

Will be redoing my kitchen this year and smeg will not make an appearance.

Date PurchasedApr 2014
1 comment
Dear Tania, I am the National l Service Manager for Smeg and I would like to assist with this problem, could you please email me direct at steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your address and telephone contact details. Once I have this information I will be in a position to ascertain what to do to fix these problems. Regards, Steve Cullen

Inner glass doors keep coming off

Can you help? The inner 2 glass doors keep coming off and we can't seem to secure them so they fit. The oven is virtually new so not sure if it's been put together correctly. Doesn't happen all the time, but if you open the door in a hurry it will occur. Needing help.....

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Dear Libby, I am the National l Service Manager for Smeg and I would like to assist with this problem, could you please email me direct at steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your address and telephone contact details. Once I have this information I will be able to arrange to have this problem fixed. Regards, Steve Cullen

It’s ok

It does the job like any other oven would do but the cool down time takes longer then the actual cooking time which I am not sure is a good thing. I find that in a small apartment it radiates a lot of heat so not ideal for small kitchens.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Premium price but not a premium product.

I have owned this oven for 6 years.
In this time I have replaced the rear oven elements twice.
I am now currently using only one rear oven element because the oven will only allow 1 element to turn on.

Recently my wife accidentally broke the front oven door. replacement costs were over $500. I had to buy each individual item that was needed to fix the door. I thought the door would come as a single complete unit, but I was wrong. Smeg offers that you pay for each individual item related and it's not cheap.

The top gas burners are still going strong. I love the spit feature in the oven and overall the oven still looks modern and functions adequately.

For the price I paid ($3000) I expected more and therefore I cannot recommend this product.

Date PurchasedFeb 2011
1 comment
Dear HD_Detailed, could you please email our National Service Manager, steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your contact details, address and the problems you are experiencing with your appliance. Once he has this information, he can ascertain how to best rectify the problem. Regards Smeg

Great oven

This oven was purchased as a package with a range hood. The oven has been fantastic and cooks really well. In the past year I have had to replace one of the rear elements as well as one of the internal light globes but both were relatively cheap. Oven does sometimes cook a little uneven as do many fan forced ovens but by rotating the food this is not an issue.

Date PurchasedJun 2008

Not happy with product!!

This oven! Three years old and electric clock at front already unreadable!!! Woke up one day and ? Globes blown in clock - it's in front of oven and looks terrible! Rang up only to get run around!! Oven only used prob once per fortnight! How can this happen?? Not happy!!

Date PurchasedJun 2013
1 comment
Dear Georgie, I am the National l Service Manager for Smeg and I would like to assist with this problem, could you please email me direct at steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your address and contact details and also what are all of the issues. Once I have this information I will be in a position to ascertain what to do to fix these problems. Regards, Steve Cullen

Worth buying

Very good oven considering the price. Previously had a blanco and that was the worst oven/stove ever, it was part of package with builders on our new home and it lasted the longest from all the blanco appliances, blanco oven lasted just over two years and I replace it with smeg oven and the smeg is heaps better considering the smeg is cheaper. The oven heats up so quickly in half the time compared to the blanco. Gas top stove work well

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Good value for your money

Oven is great in the aspect it does exactly what it says with all features. Food is always cooked really well however sometimes it cooks quicker then the recipe says (this is not a complaint). Heats up quickly but takes a while to cool down. Would recommend this oven to anyone.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Smeg absolute garbage

What a shocker. Oven fan conked out twice. Different burners sometimes impossible to light. Many times burners would turn themselves off. Could not cook anything that required time without monitoring the burners in case they went out. Waiting for Smeg technicians to come was like waiting for Godot. Never again will I consider buying a Smeg product.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
1 comment
Hi Momotaro, could you please email our National Service Manager, steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your details and the problems you are experiencing with your cooker. Once he has this information, he can ascertain how to best rectify the problem. Regards Smeg

Smeg never again

Moved into a brand new house as the first occupance 4 yrs ago. Every year someone has had to come and fix my wok burner. Now my fan oven has packed it in. Called to book repair $110 call out. $33 every 15 mins plus parts. Don't think I will bother. Think I'll purchase a better brand. I have a suspicion this was a reject stove/oven to begin with.

Date PurchasedApr 2013
1 comment
Dear Peg peg, I am the National l Service Manager for Smeg and I would like to assist with this problem, could you please email me direct at steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your details and also copies of invoices. Once I have this information I will be in a position to ascertain what to do to fix these problems. Regards, Steve Cullen

Cooks great

This is my second Smeg oven and I'm pleased with the upgrade.
As with all ovens it takes time to no where the cold spots are and when to turn the tray.
The gas stove top is brilliant and it looks great in the kitchen.
Couldn't be happier with this model!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Oven stopped working after 10 months

We previously had the equivalent Smeg stove for 12 years without problems. It eventually stopped working so we replaced it with another Smeg. Last night I had guests for dinner, put the food in the oven, it hadn't preheated, stone cold. No matter what we did, couldn't get it to work. The stove is 10 months old. Very unhappy.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Love my new Smeg!

I purchased my freestanding SA9065XS in January '16 but did not have it installed until a few weeks ago by which time I had read many reviews and wondered if I had wasted my money. So, prior to installation I sent an email to Steve (his details were on many reviews) to see if there was any advice he could give about the electrical issues. Within an hour or two, I received a phone call from the Smeg local agent in Tasmania, Suzanne who was extremely helpful and sent me an email shortly after to confirm our conversation. When our electrician arrived he said he'd installed many of the same Smeg cookers and never had an issue which thankfully was the same for us. The clock and the oven worked perfectly and the oven heats up in about the same time as my previous oven which I'm happy about. The size is amazing and coming from an electric cooktop, I'm over the moon with gas. This is the first product review I have ever written but I thought it was only fair to say my dealings have been very good with Smeg and to thank Steve and Suzanne for being so attentive. I'll try to do another update in a few months to see if I still feel the same, fingers crossed.

May 6th 2017 Update: Still loving my Smeg!

This is an update on the review I wrote in October 2016 about my Smeg which I have now been using for nearly 12 months and I'm still loving it. The instructions are clear and it is easy to clean which is one of the reasons I liked the look of this model. As this is my secondary oven, I haven't used it many times because I find the wall oven has better access without having to bend but it is excellent when I'm baking on bigger trays, there is so much capacity. The cook-top has been great too and also easy to clean, overall I'm still very happy with this product.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Owen Not Working

Just moved into this place fitted with a brand new Smeg SA9065XS.
The stove works but the owen nor the clock not working. really frustrating as cannot cook anything in the owen.
I see Steve Cullen is the sales manager
Could you please call me on 0466322952
Thank you
Prakash Monteiro

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Totally Annoyed

I bought this dual cooker last Monday had it installed Tuesday. Gas fitter no problems electrician couldn't get the oven or clock working. Smeg had a 2 week wait for tech to come out! So organised replacement oven that came today. Had the gas and electrician install again same problem!!! If Smeg knows of this problem take them off the market. I have had to have time off work for all the installations and am now back to square one. No oven. The Good Guys have had excellent post product service but Smeg to fix this.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Dear Lilac, I am the National l Service Manager for Smeg and I would like to assist with this problem, could you please email me direct at steve.cullen@smeg.com.au with your details and I will arrange to have this problem fixed without delay. Regards, Steve Cullen

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Hi - am not sure which of the two 9065 models I have - but please don't laugh at me when I admit that I only just discovered (from another page) that the bottom tray comes out for cleaning - and then to my absolute horror I saw what was under the bottom elements - 11 years of build up which needs to come out ASAP - so please tell me the best way to do that - can I take the elements out first to clean it - and also did I read somewhere that the top one comes out too (the roof?) and that I can take the door off to clean it easier??? Where has all this information been. Also as a side note - we purchased this oven in 2007 and have not regretted it once - I LOVE LOVE LOVE my oven, although the door has never closed properly and when it was installed we were told that is the way the door sits - but from reading above it appears we just need to have a new seal fitted - would that be correct? thank you kindly for responding Cathie
No answers

I have just purchased a FS9606XS and un packed it yesterday and I have noticed that the door seal, bottom center is deformed. I have replaced NUMEROUS seals on my previous oven and I am concerned that this is defective. What can you do to help?
2 answers
hello From the description of the problem,can only recommend that you call (02) 8667 4833, to arrange for a service call.Is there a melbourne service centre?

My SMEG sa9065x was installed in mid December. I find that the ring/skirt around the burner gets discoloured very quickly and its hard to clean. Could you please recommend on how to maintain this, the stainless steel skirt looks ugly.
3 answers
Hi Reju the best way to clean the burner skirts is with Gumption and a green scourer pad. Regards ChrisI used gumption and a scourer pad, but it dulled the chrome finish on the surround.Why not try the good old way of using white vinegar and bicarbonate of soda mixed together. It's cheap, effective and does not have any effect on the environment and I have found it better than anything else. Leaves it completely shiny and no scratch marks!

Details

SA9065XSSA9065X
Width900mm900mm
Price (RRP) $3190
Height900mm925mm
Depth600mm600mm
Capacity126L126L
Cooktop FuelGasGas
Oven FuelElectricElectric
Pyrolytic NoNo
Number of Functions55
Weight7474
Release dateApr 2008
Replaced bySmeg SA9065XS

Visit official website - Download manual

Similar listings