?
? !
1 photo
Smeg TRA90

Smeg TRA90

MPNs: TRA90BL9 and TRA90WH9
3.6 from 29 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.6

29 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (13)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (13)
  • Product is used
  • Safety
    3.6 (12)
  • Preheating Speed
    3.7 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Arthur

ArthurGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Buyers beware

published

We have had this oven for two months and it has stopped working, very disappointed as we payed a premium price, for what turns out to be an inferior product.
This was our first Smeg product and will definitely be our last.

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aughrim12

Aughrim12Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Smeg rusting - replaced and great service!

published

Cooker itself is great, self cleaning function didn’t work, and it looks lovely. Splash back did start to rust and peel, I contacted Harvey Norman who were unhelpful and quite rude. I posted on here and smeg contacted me within 24 hours and a service provided contacted me within 3 days locally and my splashback was replaced last week :). Great service and very happy! Harvey Norman - not helpful and rude! Smeg were great:)

Purchased in September 2017 at Harvey Norman for $5,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Carole

CarolePerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Poor design, poor quality

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Freestanding Ovens

Find out how Smeg TRA90 compares to other Freestanding Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Linda

LindaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified

TRA90BL

published

I would be all for a class action against Smeg. They sell themselves as an high end product.
We have had it for not quite 4 years and it looks crap. The back splash and the stove top terrible quality, paintwork is chipping and scratching. I beg anybody not to buy this sub standard product. Called Smeg and l was just dismissed. Come back St.George

Purchased in October 2016 at The Good Guys for $4,667.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Linda
Linda
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Dear Linda,
Have you emailed Steve directly as requested so he can assist you with your problems?
Regards
Smeg

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bill42

Bill42South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified

This appliance along with matching range hood looks magnificent

published

Purchased in May 2020 at The Good Guys for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ben

BenGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified

Smeg warning! oven cookers major problems with electrics and rust on products see all reviews please google Smeg Rust!

published

Major problem with Smeg Products for rust and electronics breaking down within a couple years of purchase . I’d like to see a class action against Smeg for defective products. Don’t buy

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2018 at Harvey Norman for $8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Smeg appliances

published

Paint chipping off the back of stovetop and on door of the front of the oven, disgusted with product as only have it with 4 years!! Looks awful. Used to love a meg products and appliance had the grey cooker for nearly 10 years before this and never had a problem. Please be warned and don’t buy the black appliance and no support or come back

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Annie

AnnieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Very easy to use

published

The oven is very functional, easy to use, self cleaning, cooks in no time all round rather than having to turn the pan around to cook. Fanforced makes it very easy.

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jonathan D

Jonathan DGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified

Smeg are disingenuous regarding cashback offer

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $3,400.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Freestanding Ovens

Find out how Smeg TRA90 compares to other Freestanding Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alison C.

Alison C.Perth, WA

Fantastic oven

published

I purchased a smeg Victoria tra 90 black stove I love it not only does it loook impressive it cooks really well I would recommend this oven to anyone one happy customer

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for $4,590.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Elizabeta Z.

Elizabeta Z.Perth, WA

  • Verified

After paying over $4500 for this oven - Not worth it!

published

Problem with this oven when just coming out of box and plugging in.
Technician said - clock issue. That was fixed.
After doing burn off as required. I Started cooking normally and realised after taking meal I cooked out, metal particles on the base of oven and some kind substance coming out of fan and back panel.
Technician came out - he said burn out not done properly or it’s the grease from my cooking.
Manager rings me and said it was my cooking
So will not replace.
After cooking I found the cooking is not even. It cooks more on one side than the other. So you have to turn around.
I am so angry and will never buy a Smeg product again. I have been more happier with cheaper ovens.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $4,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sharin I.

Sharin I.Launceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Has taken our kitchen to the next level

published

Fantastic oven, cooks evenly and looks amazing, we could not be happier with our choice. Easy to clean and excellent functions, the gas cooktop is well set out and the soft close door is a bonus

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Smeg
Chris NSmeg

Sharin, fantastic to hear good news from our customers. Enjoy your SMEG cooking experiences every day!!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Natalie

NatalieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Highly Recommended!

published

Not only is this oven good to look at in the kitchen, but works amazingly. Great size oven that fits large trays (which are included). Very easy to use. Cleans well with a warm cloth. Oven works so well and cooks everything equally. Highly recommended! Heaps of family and friends have purchased this oven and have not one word of complaint!

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoff G

Geoff GWentworthville

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Great Oven

published

Love this oven.
Cooks well.
Has double fans.
Cooks evenly for a large bake.
The gas cook top is excellent.
Ezy to clean.
A trouble free oven.
Would buy this again.
Bought at Harvey Norman as a package deal with matching Range Hood.

Purchased in December 2015 at Harvey Norman for $6,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chadd Martin

Chadd MartinPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Crap quality finish that apparently they can’t control

published

Works well as an oven but still ongoing after 5 months to have repairs done. Oven was damaged in the box when new. Have had the service guy here 4 times to repair it and every time he come with new parts that are also damaged under the packaging. Have rang head office in Sydney and they say they can’t control the quality of products smeg is sending. So if you want a good oven that looks like it’s been through the wars and doesn’t compliment your kitchen in anyway. And have spare time to keep letting the service guy come around, Buy a smeg or avoid if you’re not prepared for all the hassle that comes with it

Date PurchasedJune 2018
1 comment
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Freestanding Ovens

Find out how Smeg TRA90 compares to other Freestanding Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mary

Mary

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can’t get any better than this

published

Looks so good and works like a charm. I can not fault it at all. Oven works efficiently and is great . Cleaning is very easy and doesn’t take much time. I am very happy with my purchase should of done it sooner. Maybe my cooking will now improve, I have the tool

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Susan

SusanCanberra

  • 16 reviews
  • 15 likes

We love our SMEG oven!

published

We bought this model mainly for its good looks, as it works well with our black and white, retro-styled kitchen. We are new to fan-forced cooking, but found it works like a dream — we don't need to switch baking dishes around, and we can bake bread and roast vegetables at the same time without flavours transferring. The gas burners are very clean and efficient, and are graded in size for different styles of cookware.

The only drawback, as with the other SMEG products we bought at the same time, is that the instruction manual could have been a lot clearer.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lou

LouSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Best value for money!

published

Not only does this oven look the part it also works like a dream! I can not fault it at all. Oven works superbly & fits 4 standard trays for baking. Great for parties & social events. Cooktop is easy to clean & heats up really well. Best value for money!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Smeg
Steve C.Smeg
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jake b0b

Jake b0bBallarat

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great if the power goes out

published

Most of the house appliances are electric these days and it was sooo hard trying to find a gas burner so pleased when found this as it also matched the dark colours in the new kitchen Reno we done. The heat is great and the nobs are all a very good size and turn very well

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Raf

RafCranbourne East

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great.... Then good... And getting worse.

published

We bought this oven mid last year to replace the oven that was put in the house originally.
It has been great most of the time.
The oven does seem to be uneven, and it is something that is getting worse.
My wife uses this oven almost daily to bake various things, so it's a real workhorse.
However, it always seemed a little uneven. But lately we've noticed it more and more at one side is much hotter than the other.
If we put a tray that is covered the full width with cookies, one side is starting to burn while the other is raw.
We've been rotating the tray to achieve an even bake, but probably have to have it looked at if the trend continues.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
3 comments
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg
Raf
Raf

Thanks. Will do.
Is it best to reach out to Harvey Norman (where we bought it) or to Steve direct?
Appreciate the response.

Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Hi Raf,
Please contact Steve direct.
Regards
Smeg

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Karen R.

Karen R.asked

Hi, I have purchased a SMEG and had it installed yesterday. The gas/plumber who installed the appliance is advising that our new kitchen cupboards installed above the freestanding stove are not compliant. This is due to the Instruction Manual which came with the stove stating on pg 23, chapter 5 s5.1 A 600mm (Overhead) measured from the highest part of the highest burner and 750mm for an exhaust fan. We do not have an exhaust fan, however do have a rangehood. He states we mustt comply with exhaust fan distance. Can you please advise what the manufacturers recommendation clearance is from stove to rangehood for the TRA90BLP9? Thanks for your response, Karen

1 answer
Smeg
Lesley R.Smeg

Hi Karen. Thank you for reaching out can you kindly email us direct; techsupport@smeg.com.au with a screenshot of this review so we can confirm with you in writing re the compliance. Kind regards Smeg Australia

Ursula

Ursulaasked

Hi. We purchased the black Smeg stove approx one year ago. When looking at the backsplash from a particular angle we can see that one side has tiny scratches/cracks all over it. Almost like it can’t handle the heat of the hob nearest it? Any ideas?

3 answers
Smeg
Rodney M.Smeg

Dear Ursula,
Thanks for your enquiry. Could you please email service@smeg.com.au with your name, address and contact number along with a photo of the splashback and mark it to the attention of Lesley. Once she has this information, she will be in direct contact with you.
Regards
Smeg

Carole
Carole

Hi there.
Yeah I had that also happen to my backsplash. Seems like crackled paint?
Reach out to SMEG. They may look after you like that did with me :)

Ursula
Ursula

Thank you, I have submitted an email to Smeg. Regards

GGG

GGGasked

How to remove the bottom storage drawer. Have got some baking trays stuck being which I need to remove as drawer will not close.

No answers
See all Smeg TRA90 questions

Get an answer from our members and Smeg representatives

Details

CategoryFreestanding Ovens
Price (RRP) $4,999.00
Oven FuelElectricity
Type Convection
Capacity126L
FeaturesCooling Fan and Pyrolytic (Self-Cleaning)
Colour / FinishBlack
Dimensions 910 x 900 x 600 mm
Cooktop TypeGas
Number of Burners/Zones 5
Wok Burner Yes
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8017709184766 and 8017709236977
  • MPN: TRA90BL9 and TRA90WH9

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.