??!
1 photo
Solar-Breeze Automatic Pool Skimmer

Solar-Breeze Automatic Pool Skimmer

2.9 from 12 reviews

Reviews

2.9

12 reviews
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Consumer1969

Consumer1969Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good but won't replace your normal cleaner

published

Have had the NX for about 5 years. The battery is now dead and only one end of the device (rollers and paddle wheel) works but it still does an OK job when the sun is shining. Plan to replace with NX 2. Overall whenI have run this when working fully about one third of debris end up in the device, one third in skimmer box and one third on pool floor , so it won't replace a robotic floor cleaner but may mean you can use it a little less often. The main advantage is that I run my filter at night (off peak) and in some seasons I get a lot of small leaves and flower debris on the surface during the day - Running the Solar breeze keeps the pool surface crystal clear.

Purchased in January 2015 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Polly

PollySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Lasted 14 months. In Australia the dealer offers only one year warranty

published

The plastic is not uv rated as noted by many others.
The gear train failed and would have been under warranty in the USA. But not in Australia.
I was mailed spare parts which did take a few hours to repair. The switch has now failed.
This is a great concept but the first model I have is under engineered.
Perhaps they will improve as they learn from their mistakes.
Perhaps the company should offer half price new units to owners of the dud earlier models.

Purchased in December 2018 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
See all answers
Gaz

GazSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lasted less than 2 weeks.

published

Got my Solarbreeze on the 2nd of January 2020. Yesterday, the 13th of January it died. Up until that time it worked perfectly. We have a small L shaped pool and don’t generally have a large leaf problem, but we do have lots of small debris which tends to collect in one spot in the pool. The Solarbreeze cleaned the pool brilliantly, until it died. I’ve had no success contacting the company. My phone calls appear to divert, possibly to the U.S, and my email enquiry has gone unanswered. If this is the best service they can offer, then I’d steer well clear. Hopefully I’ll be able to provide a positive update shortly.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Small
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
See all answers
2 comments
Gaz
Gaz

Just a quick update. I’ve heard from Solarbreeze and will be getting new parts AFTER Jan 29. I’ll have to fit them myself, but I’ve seen the how to video, and it looks very easy. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Gaz
Gaz

Update no 2. I received a brand new unit yesterday, which is working perfectly, as it should. After the initial problems contacting Solarbreeze Aust, they have been excellent to deal with.

Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Solar-Breeze Automatic Pool Skimmer compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave

DavePerth, WA

Great product hopefully price will fall as they sell more

published

My third solar breeze - first model awesome. Second model a disaster but NX2 working a treat. We have massive leaf debris problems. No solar breeze does the work and skimmer box empty. I budget for one lasting three years so still a bit pricy. Hopefully as they sell more the prices will come down.

  • Verified purchase

Solar Breeze changed my life

published

I've had this for two years now and its still going strong. It looks like earlier models broke down but the bugs have been fixed in the newer models.

We get heavy leaf drop from two HUGE gumtrees above our pool. The solar breeze works hard from about lunchtime when the sun hits the pool and goes until 10pm at night.

I need to empty the big catcher everyday and sometimes twice a day.

The only downside to the "robot" as we call it, is the tray. It's a bit of a poor design the way it slides in and out and sometimes it falls into the pool while cleaning and dumps all the waste back into the pool. Prob happened 5 times in 2 years.

Without this "robot" I would probably concrete my pool over.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
BryonJ

BryonJ

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great help for surface debris

published

The Solar-Breeze skims along the surface of my pool and keeps all of the surface leaves, pollen and other debris from entering my skimmer filter. It works from just after sunrise all day. I’ve had it for two years and am impressed with the support I’ve received from Solar-Breeze Australia. I don’t remove it when I swim, but lifting it out is so easy so it wouldn’t be a problem.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Yiayia

Yiayiamelbourne

  • Verified purchase

Great to begin with, didn't last 12 months

published

Awesome when I first got it, did everything that was promised. By month 11, making loud noise & one side motor / belt not working. Shipped at my expense, although still under warranty to the only repairer in australia, to another state. After 3 frustrating months, it was returned, broken casing & not fixed!

Called Solar Breeze in the US, they couldn't car less......posted on their FB page & comments DON'T show up. I'm guessing negative ones only! Never buy one again!!!!!!

Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Great

published

The Solar-Breeze NX revolutionises pool cleaning in a smart, simple and sustainable way. Pools collect leaves, dust, pollen and other debris all day long. Debris typically floats for 3-4 hours before it decays and sinks to the bottom. By then, it has already produced the bacteria that feeds the growth of algae in your pool. So why wait for all that debris to sink?

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Lasted one swim season for $500!! Should have got 10 years

published

Battery failed after 1 season with warranty rejected so was replaced at my expense. I tried leaving it in the sun more to charge even when out of the pool. The result a further 12 months later was a completely ruined main body of the unit. No UV stability at all!! The body literally decade away into powder till it cracked and crumbled to bits!! Absolutely bin worthy after two years when for $500 should have lasted 10 years. If I could give a zero rating I would.
And I'm not hard to please and don't usually bother writing reviews on anything, but felt the need to try and save some people from a terrible product that is sold at a premium price!

Date PurchasedJan 2014
Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Solar-Breeze Automatic Pool Skimmer compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jenny

JennyBrisbane, Qld

An absolute waste of money!

published
bcc

bccAU

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Poor build quality. Now just a paperweight.

published

This was an excellent product to start with. Cleaned well & off-loaded the main pool filter system incredibly. However, the plastic discoloured after a few months & I thought it was just dirt. Turns out that the plastic wasn't properly UV protected & the whole top has completely disintegrated. This product wasn't made to last in the sun!

The switch has also corroded, so it wasn't made for water either!

The importer has retired & the parent company has stopped responding to emails, so my chance of having any recompense is about zero.

This was a marvellous product with great potential, let down by poor build quality. It's now a useless product. Do not buy!

eod-engineer

eod-engineerTownsville, 4818

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Solar-Breeze Solar Pool Skimmer

published

This solar pool skimmer is an excellent product. As this product is solar it runs 24/7, as long as it has sunlight. It will run and charge at the same time. The only maintenance required is to empty the skimmer box.

I cannot recommend this product enough. It will assist you to look after your pool.

I brought this product from eBay; however, there are some companies that sell in Australia.

1 comment
eod-engineer
eod-engineer

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.