??!
4 photos
Sony MDR-E9LP

Sony MDR-E9LP

MPN: MDRE9LPWI
3.3 from 19 reviews

See the Best Wired Headphones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
7
2 star
2
1 star
2

Ajay

Ajay

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

What's the point of earphones if you still need to talk into the phone? Theres no mic!

published

Bought these headphones from JB Hi Fi for a 40% discount. I must admit they sit and stay in the ears fairly well and they are loud... However! There is no mic included so while talking to someone on call you still have to speak directly into the phone! So what's the point? I personally wouldn't recommend this set of earphones to my friends.

Purchased in July 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $8.97.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

LHR

LHRSydney

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good simple and durable headphones

published

These are basic and inexpensive headphones. The sound quality is basic too, but it is ok for listening to podcasts or watching videos. They are probably not good enough for listening to music on a regular basis. The main selling point for me is their durability. I am pretty rough with headphones, but these Sony headphones last for months before breaking. Every other inexpensive headphone I have used breaks quickly. I now only buy these ones because I know I can shove them in my bag and rely on them to last a decent amount of time.

Purchased in March 2019 at Woolworths for $10.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers
katie

katieQueensland

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great value

published

It is a really cheap headphone, the sound is good and it is also easy to carry around. No need to be so careful to take care it as it is at around 10 bucks only.

Purchased in November 2018.

Terribly Cheap

published

They work fine, but sound super tinny. No sign of bass just highs with minimal mids.

I purchased these thinking that they’d be better than the cheap Chinese $2.50 earbuds, but they sound very much the same.

Purchased in March 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $10.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

Lawrence J.

Lawrence J.Perth, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best Headphones Ever - Great Sound Quality

published

These headphones are the best ever!! They look great, are shaped weird just for your ears and they work like a charm. They even have the best quality sound I have ever heard and they are doing cheap for their quality. I highly recommend these great headphones; I even think they are better than the Apple ones.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Katie

KatieSydney

  • 4 reviews

The cheapest earphones ever

published

I bought it at a really low price as there’s a discount and i got a gift voucher, so it’s actually free! I love how there’s that much colour you can choose from, I picked the white one! The sound quality is okay and it’s acceptable due to the really cheap price
Do not expect too much!

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Siva

SivaAuckland

Sony ! Please maintain your reputation !

published

I bought this unit for my daughter earlier today and after reading both side of its reviews, I decided to try it out first before giving it to her. Luckily I tried, the sound was total flat!!!!!!! I can't believe this is Sony product. To the Sony management - have your R&D team made a thorough testing on its design and bass output quality??? It was so bad that I will be returning it tomorrow to the retailer and request for refund. For those keep on arguing i may have bought an imitation, you are wrong - this is an original product.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Julie

JulieMerrylands

  • 5 reviews

Not a good fit

published

I found these did not fit in my ears properly and the sound quality was very poor indeed. I am disappointed as Sony is such a good quality product and well known household brand. I am still searching for the enigma that is perfect head phones. I am sorry these were not it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Sandy D

Sandy DBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Average option

published

Thought these would be good option based on brand name. Not as sturdy as I would have thought. Found ear pieces too big for my ears. Good sound and even across both ear pieces. Cord is good length. I wanted them for working out but they were falling out lots. Average option for earbud type of headphones.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Rickey L

Rickey LLaunceston

  • 4 reviews

Nothing special but decent

published

These earphones are decent. For under $10 they work really well and the sound is pretty decent. They don't have a mic or a play and pause button but that's to be expected at the price point. My pair lasted for about 3 months with rough usage so if you take care of them they should last longer. I'd recommend them if you just need a cheap pair and aren't expecting much.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Ben

BenMildura

  • 4 reviews

Perfect for the price

published

Really good cheap headphones that normally last me a year before breaking. The sound is pretty good guess it could be better but for the cheap price it is great.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

ktalice1213

ktalice1213Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Ok for basic headphones

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Uzair

UzairSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Light and Cheap

published

Very cheap headphones by Sony. Comes with multiple colors to choose from. Very good sound quality for the low price stereo headphones with more than a meter long cable. There is one main problem with them though, due to the general round design, keeps falling off during exercise, which is very annoying, but for using in a still position it's a very good choice.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

N I

N ISydney

  • 7 reviews

great for the price!

published

I use these earphones when I exercise and they are very affordable and have crystal clear speakers. The only drawback and issue with these earphones are the fact that they lack ergonomics and are somewhat big for my ears thus making them uncomfortable, annoying, and irritating after 20mins+ of wear.Overall I think that for the price, they do the job.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Sabrinna

SabrinnaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good sound quality

published

I bought this from JB Hi-Fi after my cheap junk ones died. The sound quality was noticeably much better. They don't have a speaker to talk into so I have to use my phone speaker but they're more confortable in my ears than the samsung ones that came with the phone. I get sore ears from thos because they're too big. These are marginally smaller but have a more rounded shape which doesn't press against one point bruising it like the others.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Whxtdxnm

WhxtdxnmPerth

  • 4 reviews

Alright and cheap

published

These earphones are fairly affordable being $7 on jb/hifi. They're good to go and are easy to use with decent quality. However, the sound tends to leak quite a lot and the top is fragile. The head easily detatches, having to put it back on multiple times. For the price though, it's quite good.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Sarah Smith

Sarah SmithMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Simple and cheap

published

I've bought these earphones for years now there simple and cheap and come in a few colors which make them look pretty they also come with another pair of cotton buds to put over the earphones the only down side is they get tangled easy which after time ruins them and you end up only being able to hear out of one earphone.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Hamza S

Hamza SSydney

  • 4 reviews

Decent earphones

published

These earphones are okay for the cheap price that the have. Don't have any special features or extra bass or anything but simply for listening to music or a video on the train to replace broken ones temporarily. The quality of the material is quite cheap and they are very big canals. Also have no noise cancellation and heaps of audio leak

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Mary

Mary

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Go to earphones

published

Great earphones especially considering its relatively low price
Does not cancel out background noise but is great for work
Replaced my previous one (same model) after using it for 1.5 years almost daily so very reliable
Wires do get tangled, could use a stopper in the middle to help prevent this

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Sony representatives

Details

CategoryWired Headphones
Price (RRP) $14.95
TypeIn-Ear
Colour / Finish Black, White, White/Blue, White/Pink
Weight30 g
Jack Plug3.5mm
Cord Length 1.2 m
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 4905524731675
  • MPN: MDRE9LPWI

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.