??!
5 photos
Sony MDR-XB550AP

See the Best Wired Headphones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
9
4 star
12
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0

John

JohnPerth

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Great sound produced

published

Got this in Jb hifi for my mother in law's birthday present as she loves enjoy music during her spare time. It was on special and I can tell that she loves it very much because she told me she uses it every day!

Purchased for $63.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

JT boy

JT boyPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Simply the best feel head set I’ve bought

published

Good for the personal space listening with real Bass Response with attitude ..!
These fully enclose your ears and have ergonomic comfort even when running :-)
Watch .. you will blast off into your own space though they are mesmerizing ..!

Purchased in January 2019 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Pinkay

PinkayGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews

Good sound quality

published

My friends bought this for me as a birthday gift and i love this so much! The sound quality is great and it is convenient to bring it around. Would definitely recommend it!

Purchased in July 2018 at JB Hi-Fi.

Arawinkumaar Selvakkumar

Arawinkumaar SelvakkumarSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Excellent bass and sound quality

published

Purchased in March 2018 for $59.90.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

Charlotte

CharlotteMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

loves it

published

the sound is really good in quality, especially sound in base, I use it everyday as it is quite convenient. But one of the thing is that is is a bit heavy, it makes my neck hurt sometimes, would recommend to people who does not want to buy a too expensive one. I like how it looks, it's with a simple and modern design which I loves it. The price is also very reasonable.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Nick H

Nick HPerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great sound and quality

published

A great set of headphones at an excellent price! We use them all the time to listen to records and also when playing our digital piano. Have found the sound to be good across various genres of music from heavy to laidback stuff and the bass is particularly impressive. They fit well and the quality is what you would expect from a Sony product.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Maharshian

MaharshianAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

One of the best in the price range.

published

I have been using this headphones for around a year now, and it has became an essential part of my travelling. The noise quality is very good. Also, it is very comfortable to wear. However, sweating at the area under the headphones been the biggest problem for me about this headphones. Other than that it is been a great pair of the headphones.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Kathy

KathySydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect headphones for my teenager

published

These are perfect headphones for my teenager, the price is good and the cords seem to be durable enough not to snap after a couple of months. The sounds quality is great and they are really built to last. They are comfortable on the ears and no issues using them at all.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Blue_Daisy

Blue_DaisySydney

  • 4 reviews

Comfortable and releiable

published

I love these headphones, they are very comfortable on the ears, they do not pull and sit on the ears nice and snug. I do not get tired of wearing them for a long time and I cannot feel that they are pulling down with their weight. The quality of the sound is good, however, I am not sure if they have any noise canceling capabilities. I would recommend them.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Sonia

SoniaSydney

  • 4 reviews

Good quality and built to last

published

I did some research online before buying these headphones, however, when I went o JB HiFi the range was very good and I could talk to a consultant there and selected eactly what I needed. I like that these are very durable and also very comfortable on my ears, they have a good sound as well and no disturbances. I would gladly recommend them.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Suzy

SuzySydney

  • 4 reviews

Comfortable and durable

published

I bought these mid-range headphones for my 9-year-old son who likes to play Roblox and watch you-tube. He keeps using phone compatible headphones for a long time and the cords always used to snap and break within a matter of a couple of months. These are more durable and will not break that easily. They are also very comfortable the way they sit on his ears.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Johan1

Johan1Geelong

  • 4 reviews

Quality Sony Headphones

published

These lovely mid range Sony headphones really suit me. I wear headphones a lot so physical comfort is important to me and these are very light which is good. Sound quality is a nice blend and tuning is not to much empasis n bass which is good as it can get a bit tedious. They are Sony quality so I expect many years use.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

banban

banbanSydney

  • 4 reviews

Decent headphones: great sound for price but a little uncomfortable.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Yee

Yee3012

  • 5 reviews

This is perfect!

published

Nice audio, feels nice when listening to music. The bass is the best and and has a really deep bass lines. The ear pads are really soft and comfortable to wear for a long period of time. The design of the flat cable is really clever because it prevents tangling which is quite a problem with other headphones.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
karis

karis

  • 4 reviews

good headset

published

good noise cancelling headset, the ear pieces kind of hurt my ears after a couple hours. so i wouldn't use it for longer than that. Which is kind of annoying when you want to sleep with them on an airplane. Ithe sound quality is really good for the price I would recommend this.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Alex

AlexSA, 5000

  • 4 reviews

It is OK

published

Well, considering its price I think it works OK. The feeling of the plastic building is not very comfortable but still acceptable. Anyway, cannot expect a cheap headphone do more than what that price offers. It is fair to give an OK comment about this product, that is my personal opinion.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Ricky ticky

Ricky tickyIdk

  • 4 reviews

Reliable is all that is needed to be said

published

This specific brand of Sony is trustworthy and great. The headset is light and has great audio quality for the prices available. If you want to watch videos, listen to music, talk to friends, play games, it can do all of that. It may not be turtle beach or hyper X or beats but it does a great job. I have had these for a couple of years now and I've never had a problem with quality. It is a tad loose but that's just me being clumsy hear and there.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

KJ23

KJ23Melbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for kids and adults

published

We bought these for our son as we travel a lot and wanted something that would last and that would be comfortable for long flights. These headphones have been fantastic and out 3.5 year old. Son loves them. They are a great size for kids and adults and are very comfortable on your head.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Lilya

LilyaSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good sound and they are built well to last

published

I am happy with the headphone, THese Sony headphones are built to last, the Quality is good and the sound is great as well. The price is ok but could have been better. I have purchased them from JB HI-FI and I am happy with my purchase. I have used them almost every day since the day I purchased them and they are still the same. They are a good purchase.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Luke K

Luke KPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent sound quality and comfortable wear for its price!

published

I purchased these headphones 3 weeks ago and am extremely happy with my purchase. I paid a little over $60 at JB Hi-fi when it was on special, and am very impressed with the sound quality and how comfortable it feels around my ears and head. These headphones have padding at the top of the head and are padded well for the ears, which is something I usually have trouble with. You won't be disappointed in purchasing these headphones, they are well worth the investment.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Sony representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.