?
? !
5 photos
Sony X7000E Series

4K TV Buying Guide

4K, OLED, HDR, what does it all mean? Read our 4K TV buying guide to help clear up the marketing jargon so you can make the best purchasing decision and enjoy 4K movies, Netflix and more.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (11)
  • Sound Quality
    2.5 (11)
  • Software
    1.7 (11)
  • Picture Quality
    3.5 (11)
Previous
Next
Doug chetwynd

Doug chetwyndMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Short life span

published

Picture quality is great, fast processing time when opening apps from first turn on. However after 18 months a line of broken pixels appeared 10cm from the top of the screen. Exactly 3 years of ownership & now the bottom 16cm of the screen glitches has developed large pixelated lines & whole screen imaging glitches making it impossible to watch TV.
After spending over $2600 to have the TV the needing repairs (quoted $700) & unusable in the meantime we are extremely disappointed!
Do not recommend.

Purchased in January 2018 at Harvey Norman for $2,650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Himura94

Himura94Central, SA

Great Tv for ps4 pro

published

I bought the Tv strictly for my ps4 pro, and lemme tell ya it looks awesome. With xreality pro enhancements and HDR compatibility, this 4k tv pushed my pro to its limit. Last of us 2 looks awesome!

Purchased in February 2018 at Sony Physical store for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst than my analogue watch

published

How could sony manufacturer this kinda joke. Unbelievable! Worst ever. Not a android by any means, only a very few number of apps. Even Software update didnt improve its quality!!!

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X7000E Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Too many crashes, now internet's died.

published

Crashed a lot! now after a year and a half there's no internet connectivity at all - wifi and LAN have died. Has put off Sony TV's unfortunately. Looks nice and had a very nice picture, and I enjoyed the features - when they were working.

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hifi Home.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Dreadful Android Operating System

published

This set has continually malfunctioned since being purchased. The Android system is truly horrible and extremely slow. Despite 3 major software updates and twice being back to the repair shop there are still ongoing issues which Sony can't or won't fix. The brilliant screen is the only thing to recommend it. Sound system awful, Android system worse than awful. It is not the only Sony product that is rubbish. Sony now ranks as a third tier TV manufacturer charging first tier prices.

Purchased in July 2016 for $2,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jon

JonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointing product, has turned us off Sony TVs.

published

As a TV: fine. As a smart TV: bad. Cant add new apps, Netflix and Stan crash weekly, sometimes apps wont start until you turn the tv off at the wall for 40 seconds. Limited settings for apps, support page is a joke, just suggests "try apps later" if they dont work. Other times the picture freezes and power button wont work, have to turn off at wall.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steven R.

Steven R.Victoria

Not a true smart TV

published

Despite what Sony wants you to think this is not a smart TV. Yes it connects to the internet (whoot) but my garage light is connected to the internet. What they don't tell you is that you can only use apps they want you to use. Netflix, great. Stan also good. You Tube, Thank you. However the third biggest streaming platform Disney Plus is not available. I get how HBO is Australia is not avalibe however Disney. And no you cannot down loads other apps. For this you need an "Android TV". As for me my brand new $1000 plus tv went straight back to where it come from and i now have a true smart TV and not some technicality on what qualifies to be considered smart.

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tyson B.

Tyson B.Southeast, SA

  • 2 reviews

Can’t download apps, software is poo

published

First off you can only use the pre installed apps, for a new smart TV thats ridiculous
The software is crap, you have to exit any apps back to love tv to do things like turn on the sleep timer.
Wish I could get my money back, the whole system is poo and I have to use my PS4 with it, might as well have not brought a smart TV

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
member_id_413615

member_id_413615Banks 2906, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Absolutely terrible "smart" TV

published

This TV is a lemon. The software/firmware that drives it is absolutely poor and shocking. Nobody should have to put up with this "bait and switch".

It runs Linux for the smart TV instead of Android (which happens to also be Linux but this is Sony distinguishing them).

Want to stream to the TV from your devices? Hah good luck.

The USB media option is bad.

If you managed to get a junk TV like this, get an Xbox or PS4 or something to deal with the absolute shockingly crap software.

Honestly shame on Sony for selling this junk. I'll never touch a Sony TV again.

Purchased in November 2017 at Sony Online store for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X7000E Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jddt

jddt

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Sony x7000 tv

published

I bought this tv in late 2017. The screen is great, with vivid enough colours. What is bad though is the YouTube app-it often freezes and will not refresh itself. The easiest fix is to change between the guest account and my personal YouTube account. This is a bit disappointing.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

pixel issues

published

I've had the same problem with dead pixels, bought at harvey norman with extended warranty, complaint goes to a company aligned to sony, they tell me they're going to replace the TV, Sony say re[place the screen???? i go to harvey norman and they talk to the 3rd party, harvey norman stand by replacement, tmrw i should get a call. 25% of the reviews are 3 stars and below

Purchased in May 2018 for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ferrett

FerrettCentral West, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

I will stay with SONY now.

published

Great model TV. Has excellent picture quality it’s also a nice looking set and has a cool looking stand. Will definitely stick to buying the Sony Brand now. Happy customer

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
superalex999

superalex999meblourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

youtube software need to be upgraded

published

brought this TV from costco last year. Great smart TV, good build quality as you can expect from any other Sony product.
The only problem and the biggest problem of it is, I am no long able to use my smart phone to connect the TV and play youtube in the TV.
I have reset the TV but it just doesn't work. this is my second Sony smart TV by the way,
Other than that, when it comes to purchasing TV, Sony is always my number choice.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AAY

AAYMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

Ok TV

published

TV is ok. Picked Sony due to brand loyalty however I find the TV average with performance slower than expected. Was expecting the youtube button but remote that came with the TV had the google play button instead, which differed from the shops. Find operating system slow with direct wifi connection with laptop slow beyond comprehension. Other functionality works fine.

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Iritz

Iritz

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good image and functions

published

The TV has a really good image and connect you directly to youtube, netflix, internet etc.
The tv is pretty user-friendly that my 6yo and 46yo can use it easily without asking for help all the time.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Sony X7000E Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ann

AnnPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Its the best T.V.!!!!

published

This TV is the best I've ever purchased. The picture quality is perfect. The surround sound is fantastic! It has enough ports. Wireless connection is perfect. Bluetooth works perfectly as well. The apps work great. I can't find any faults, am so happy with my purchase of this television. Its the best I've ever had!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris Player

Chris PlayerSydney

  • 3 reviews

Great tv, intuitive and good picture.

published

The smart tv is far superior than on our Samsung tv. Easy to use and better functionality in comparison.

Love the quick buttons to Netflix, makes it easier for the old folks.

For our needs the tv has plenty of HDMI ports. Enough for the PlayStation, Apple TV and Foxtel.

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike

MikeSydney

  • 2 reviews

Superb TV all round

published

Really easy to set up, very happy with it's ease of use from Netflix to On-Demand and USB-hard drive connections.
Plenty of ports for what we need, remote is easy to use and the buttons aren't too cramped (although could be a little small for elderly fingers). Easy to connect to WiFi and utilise the Smart ability of the TV. Perfect picture and great sound.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ishu

IshuNSW, 2150

  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Awesome 4K TV | Sony is the best

published

This Sony model is a Smart TV and highly easy to use with remote control. Performance of the TV is nice but if internet speed is slow then works slow in the browsing. Its even easy to use wireless connectivity for internet and that makes life easy from having wires around the TV. This unit comes with 5 HDMI/Display port. Music quality is also best.

I am using Sony from last 15 years and this is my 3rd tv so i recommend Sony TVs and this is the cost effective and best model

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Johnnycake

JohnnycakeBunbury

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great TV but watch out for sonys very poor screens

published

This should be a really good TV but after almost one year I began to see a few small black dots. Took photos and been told they are dead pixels and had my TV replaced but with one in even worse condition! I now have been refunded because the third one they showed me in store still has a few dots and even Harvey normals manager said this is now the Norman for Sony TVs which I think shouldn't be the case!

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Florence Y.

Florence Y.asked

KD-55X7000E (55")

I have a thin green line on the RHS of my screen. The software is up to date and I have turned it off and on - it’s still there? Any suggestions or has this happened with others?

No answers
Mark

Markasked

KD-55X7000E (55")

Hi could anyone tell me if Kayo sports was built into this tv?

No answers
Joe F.

Joe F.asked

KD-49X7000E (49")

Dear Sir,
Just recently . My Sony TV -You tube cannot be connection with internet/wifi and the screen shown unable to find as request service, what is the problem ???

TQ

Regards
Joe Foo

No answers
See all Sony X7000E Series questions

Get an answer from our members

Sony X7000E Series

Details

Compare all 4 Sony X7000E Series
Sony KD-43X7000E (43")
  • Discontinued

Sony KD-43X7000E (43")

3.9
(15)
Sony KD-49X7000E (49")
  • Discontinued

Sony KD-49X7000E (49")

3.4
(29)
Sony KD-55X7000E (55")
  • Discontinued

Sony KD-55X7000E (55")

4.0
(41)
Sony KD-65X7000E (65")
  • Discontinued

Sony KD-65X7000E (65")

3.7
(24)
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) $1,299.00$1,399.00$1,599.00$2,799.00
Screen Size 43"49"55"65"
Screen TypeLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCD
Type of TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TV
Wireless OptionsWi-FiWi-FiWi-FiWi-Fi
Refresh Rate 50/60Hz50/60Hz50/60Hz50/60Hz
Number of HDMI Ports3333
Number of USB Ports3333
Wall MountableYesYesYesYes
Weight9.3 kg11.4 kg17.7 kg20.9 kg
Operating SystemSony Internet TV (Sony Apps)Sony Internet TV (Sony Apps)Sony Internet TV (Sony Apps)Sony Internet TV (Sony Apps)
Dimensions (without stand) 571 x 971 x 70 mm646 x 1102 x 70 mm722 x 1238 x 58 mm840 x 1454 x 44 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 620 x 971 x 242 mm694 x 1102 x 252 mm775 x 1238 x 252 mm905 x 1454 x 266 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Replaced bySony KD-43X7000F (43")Sony KD-49X7000F (49")Sony KD-55X7000F (55")Sony KD-65X7000F (65")
Compare all 4 Sony X7000E Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.