??!
2 photos
Sony Xperia XZ Premium

Sony Xperia XZ Premium

MPN: KHSONXXZP64PNK
4.3 from 42 reviews

See the Best Mobile Phones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
26
4 star
9
3 star
4
2 star
1
1 star
2

Brett

BrettPerth, WA

Do not buy this phone!!

published

After 18 months this phone encountered battery charging problems. Initially it wouldn't charge fully then stopped charging altogether. I tried the software resets as advised on the Internet without success.I sent it back to be repaired but the problem wasn't resolved as it continued to have problems charging. In addition the selfie camera stopped working and the earphone jack malfunctions continually ( no it's not a cable problem). The volume for Google directions is barely audible despite all volume controls at max. I am looking forward to moving on. This phone is a dud. Don't say you weren't warned.

Purchased in May 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Peter J.

Peter J.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does it all.

published

Comfortable in the hand, fast responsive, brilliant graphics, great screen. Strong connectivity, simple to use. I've yet to have a troublesome isdue with an app due to phone issue..

Camera is simple to use or if your into it has the bells n whistles.

Volume is satisfactory for most uses. Though in noisy places can be hard to hear load speaker.

Purchased in May 2018 for $799.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Billy.D

Billy.DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Very Solid Performance the XZ Premium.

published

Have owned the xz now for 16months.Solid build. Fantastic Screen quality. Fast browsing but sound quality OK but could be better. Camera is very good, love this phone.
Would recommend this as the battery can last me up to 3-4 days with moderate use.
Better than my previous Samsung phones.
The only problem l had was the volume when very low for a week. But was fixed with a reboot.

Purchased in April 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Low sound performance

published

-Low sound performance compared to other phones(Samsung, Apple, Huawei,...)
-Had a problem with the original headphone, everytime it moves, the played music, video, or whatever plays on the phone stops.
- White marks on the sides of the screen after falling down or strong pressure on the screen.
- Easy for some apps to send pop-up ads
- difficulties to manage the apps icons
- Good browsing performance.
- Good and big screen
-Stylish

Purchased in July 2017 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

As-it-is

As-it-isPerth

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Brilliant and Efficient

published

I have had this phone for a year now and I really love it. Never thought I would say that after owning a iPhone for many years, but it's been a joy to use.

Purchased in February 2018 for $899.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Sylvia

Sylvia

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Large Phone with Outstanding Display and Cameras

published

The design is modern and unique, very sharp and contemporary. It is large and a little heavy but you do feel its quality. The 4K display is a gem, but could be bigger considering its size. Rear camer is 19MP with slightly wider angle, taking very awesome pictures and videos, but the auto focus is not as fast as Samsung. The frone facing camera is a must for every selfie lovers or vloggers, 13MP and 22mm wide angle plus great stabilisation. Only downside is the rear camera doesn't have as good stabilisation as Samsung, and the size of this phone struggles to be mounted on a gimbal.

Purchased in May 2019 at eBay.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Ben

BenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Decent phone with a few issues

published

Purchased in July 2018 at eBay for $500.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Disappointed after little over one year

published

The sad thing is that this phone ran smoothly for about a year and once the warranty expired surprise surprise the issues starting arising. First there were problems with the call audio, then it started overheating. Now it won't even start it up now. I bought this phone partly to be cost efficient, but end up costing me 900AUD for a year!! I'll be staying away from Sony phones.

Purchased in November 2017 for $900.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Courtney

CourtneyCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good, Not Great

published

I find the camera quality to be quite poor, photos don't turn out very well.
Sound on the phone is also quite poor unless listening through headphones.
The screen quality when watching Netflix on here is fantastic.
Relatively good battery life.
Only OK, not the phone for me at all.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Samina Munshi

Samina MunshiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Audio recorder feature is not there and lack of great quality photos

published

The phone lacks clicking better quality photos compared to any other mobile phone. Also, there is no audio recorder available on the phone. The only one is on WhatsApp App, I can use. Sony is well known for its music sound but this feature is weak on this handset. Can do better.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Melony

Melony

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic phone!

published

The camera on this phone is amazing, has HD video and 22 megapixel photos plus a 4k screen! What more could you ask for when taking photos and videos?
The phone is much like a Samsung or similar to use so going from one brand to this is easy.
The quality of the phone is what you would expect from SONY!
Has no trouble running apps or browsing the web and call quality is exceptional.
You won't be disappointed with this phone!

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Phil

PhilEbor nsw

  • 21 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best phone i've ever had

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Mark And

Mark AndPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love my Xperia

published

This is the second Xperia for me and I am totally satisfied, it does everything you want and more and the camera is fantastic, I can get through 2 days without charging, the customer service help is also very good, I thoroughly recommend this phone, I use the dual sim function and have loaded a 59gb sim to store all my music.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Auric

Auric

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Pretty good phone

published

Great phone. My only issue has been with the alarms - they can't be set to go for under 5mins, and they don't autostop after an amount of time. I've been driving and had an alarm go off - had to stop to turn it off otherwise it would've just gone for the full 5 mins. From what I remember this wasn't the case with my LG G4.

Battery life is great, and being able to add a microSD card means not having to worry about running out of space.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Possum

PossumDeniliquin

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sony Success

published

Upgraded to this phone from an earlier Sony and I have found several positives. The quality of the camera is a pleasant surprise, photos are clear and can be printed and enlarged without losing clarity. Movies can be made of photos and the editing is easy. Internet browsing is fast with easy connection. Overall I really like this phone, so much that I refused to upgrade my plan to a newer model this month!

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Suzy S

Suzy SMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Strong performance

published

The phone has a strong performance and battery life. Unlike previous phones, I can easily get through the day of using Facebook, texting, calls and games without having to charge my phone. Photo quality is high and predictive capture is great when trying to get a photo of the kids.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

maca

maca

  • 2 reviews

i love it

published

its very easy to use , I love texting with it , takes clear photos , apps run great , the display is beautiful , checking sports results , I love using the google , the phone is nice and light , I love the ring tone , I only have to charge it about 2 or 3 times a week

Date PurchasedAug 2018

jaidavinci

jaidavinciBallarat

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Easily the best phone I've ever had

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Karen Z

Karen ZSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Stable and battery is good

published

Brought this new mobile phone earlier this year. Very happy about the performance. It’s stable and the battery can last longer than the old model Xperia Z. It got all the popular functionality, and the photos took by the phone were clear and colourful. And it’s kind of splash proof. The defect is no radio.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

HayleyJ

HayleyJWestern Australia, 6157

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not Complicated

published

The most easy to use Smart Phone Ive had next to the Samsung Note. I was due to update my contract, didn't want to go with Apple and the new Note wasnt out yet so I went with the Sony Xperia. It's sleek, bright, thin enough to keep in your purse. The only thing that is a little annoying is trying to find the unlock/activation button in a hurry (its on the side) and this is from being used to a central front button. I like Sony products as a whole, so more than happy with this phone.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Colleen J

Colleen Jasked

Why does my new Sony Xperia xz freeze all the time?

2 answers
Milord
Milord

I noticed this question when logging on... 6 months+ overdue.

I just wanted to ask, what sort of ZX Sony do you have? Is it a Premium or something else?

And what where you doing when it freezes?

Thanks.

Zak.
Zak.

What Android version is the latest on this phone, on Telstra / unlocked?


Get an answer from our members and Sony representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.