2 photos
SsangYong Korando

SsangYong Korando

C200, Y250, C300
4.0 from 59 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for SsangYong? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (3)
  • Handling
    3.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Andrew
AndrewVictoria
  • 4 reviews

Overlooked gem waiting to be discovered in the mid-size SUV mine

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2021 at SsangYong Dealers for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Marcus777
Marcus777Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 61 likes

Woeful Transmission Warranty

published
Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Marcus777
Marcus777

It is a good honest car

published

On long trips we get 7 to8 lt per 100k. The acceleration for a small diesel is good the suspension is the only thing that needs some work as there are no after market shocks the two rextons that we had were fitted koni shocks and were very good vehicles to drive.

Purchased in January 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Korando compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bruce
BruceSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Bad Six Speed Transmissions

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

So many problems

published

First year car was great. Then timing belt had to be replaced, which was done in about 2 weeks. Then check engine light came on, was told I needed a new battery, cost $370. Next day check engine light on again took 4hrs to diagnose that i now need a sensor which is about $250 + labour. OMG when will it end.

Purchased in July 2018 for $20,000.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Sal
SalSouth East Queensland, QLD

Timing chain went and done the head

published

Engine light came on - timing chain stretched and done the head. Over 6 weeks and still haven't got parts. Had to pay for hire car as car can't be driven. Loved the car until now - Sangyong need to have parts available if selling these vehicles in Australia. Problem not with the local service department. Problem is Sangyong!!!

Purchased in February 2016.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Maria B
Maria BPenrith

Bad Ssangyong experience

published
BadgeS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014

Bad Ssangyong experience

published

I brought my Ssangyong in 2014 with 15000kms still holds new car warranty was running really great couldn't fault anything in late June2018 l hopped in my car to go to work and it wouldn't start my mechanic looked at the car which was parked in my driveway and said found the problem of slip timing chaining so then l took car to dealership they replaced timing chain and now saying my car might have blown head gasket but car had never over heated
Now I'm starting to think Ssangyong are trash car my advise never buy Korean car Ssangyong dealerships are fools and will try to get out of fixing there dodgie engine they built

BadgeS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2014

Great car

published

Korando S 2.0 petrol love the car I purchased 2 nd hand with26000km 2015 still under new car warranty it. Has been back to dealer for. Noise issues which were water pump making a grinding noise and noise in rear bearing of alternator both replaced and car runs brilliantly averages
8.5 l per 100 km

BadgeS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Korando compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great car

published

Diesel engine has plenty of power
Handles very well
Tows camper trailer effortlessly
Auto headlights,wipers and rear vision mirror work brilliantly
Very reliable 30000ks not one problem
Averages 7.5 litres per 100 km
Engine noise isn’t bad a bit noisier
than the petrol engine
I would recommend this car to anyone.

BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Sevy Serena
Sevy SerenaThornlands 4164
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Yes it is no bad car. BUUUUUTTTT, if you consider to tow a trailer, the transmission is not good. Ac

published
BadgeS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Singh
SinghAuckland
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent service from staff of Takanini Ssangyong.

published

My korando drives quite well but the 2.0 litre engine lacks the punch when taking off. Steering response is bit slow and handling on motorway speed needs extra caution. Seats are very comfortable. Enterior feels modern and soft touch areas makes the enterior more comfortable. Leg room at the back row with flat floor is an excellent point.

BadgeS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Brett
BrettBaldry

Ssangyong korando 2013.

published

I love my ssangyong korando 2013. 115,000 kms.
Having trouble starting it via ignition. I push start it. It starts immediately.
Runs perfect. Top gear. Put your foot down and engine light comes on. I have replaced fuel pump/filter and injectors. Winds over but no start. Does anybody have solutions

BadgeS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Middlo
MiddloPerth Western Australia
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car for the price. Vibration 85-95 kmh

published

Had mine for 5 years and travelled 60000km. Great car, good level of power and pulls a load well. Fuel economy is no where near stated but it does improve a bit once fully run inc city 8.5 - 9.2 l/100km - Highway 7.5 - 8.5 //100km, 10.8 l/100km when towing a load. The interior is a bit cheap and prone to squeaking and rattling if the road is not smooth but what can you expect for a budjet priced car..

I have noted several people online mentioning the AWD having a vibration or shimmy in the drive line at around 90-100kmh. I have this issue it seems more pronounced when the car is cold or does not have a load in the back.. I have reported this to the dealer at every service but they can never find the issue. I guess tie will tell.

BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Chris
Chris
  • 17 reviews
  • 18 likes

2012 2WD Diesel is a beauty but

published

It took me a while to buy one but I'm sure glad I did.

It drives really really nicely and has every feature under the sun that the big boys have....however

The fuel consumption is 580kms from a tank of fuel (57 litres). Not entirely happy about this considering it is driven carefully and it's diesel. Is anyone else getting better economy ?

BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2011
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Korando compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

David E.
David E.asked
Korando

Why does my dashboard clock jump forward an hour on every start up?

No answers
Paul W.
Paul W.asked
Korando C200 (2011-2016)

Hey friends got a 2012 ssangyong korando losing power going up hill drop 40 in 2nd and does it on fstraights with no hills..gearbox seems ok just stuck on what could cause it

No answers
James Malcolm S.
James Malcolm S.asked
Korando C200 (2011-2016)

I have just had the regular yearly service for my 2015 (50,000k) SUV and was informed by the mechanic that a diagnosed whining noise in the engine is the timing chain, it may be twisted and repair costs are total $2200, labour $1200 & parts $1000. Has anybody else had this issue and what did you do and what was the price to repair.

No answers
See all SsangYong Korando questions

Get an answer from our members

SsangYong Korando

Details

Compare all 3 SsangYong Korando
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
TransmissionAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors 5
Seats 5
Fuel Consumption7.7 L/100km
Engine4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power120kW @ 5500rpm
Phone ConnectivityAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and Bluetooth
Security FeaturesImmobilizer
RoofHard-Top
Companion App No
Keyless Features
Keyless Locking/UnlockingYes
IgnitionKeyless Start/Stop
BootAutomatic Open
Headlights
TypeLED
Headlight FeaturesAuto High-Beam Dip and Automatic On/Off
Safety Features
CamerasRear
Cruise ControlAdaptive (ACC)
Parking SensorsFront and Rear
Hazard PerceptionBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
Lane AssistanceLane Departure Warning (LDW) and Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
Speed Sign RecognitionNone
Driver Information
GaugesDigital Only
Built-In Navigation SystemNo
Heads Up DisplayNo
Voice ControlNo
Release dateJan 2019Jan 2004Feb 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2006Dec 2016
Compare all 3 SsangYong Korando
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.