??!
4 photos
SsangYong Rexton
3.8 from 90 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (11)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (11)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (11)
  • Braking
    4.0 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (10)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (10)
  • Handling
    3.6 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (10)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (10)
  • Features
    4.4 (10)
Previous
Next
Teacherman

Teachermanmelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Driving the new Rexton Ultimate

published

Driving the new Ultimate and it’s extremely nice to drive and rides well. So much cheaper than the market leaders, which are no more reliable these days. If your a Toyota badge snob you’ll pay a lot more and it won’t tow like the Rexton, you don’t even know your towing most of the time. Engine and transmission are efficient and super quiet. The Rexton has so many extras for the price and a 7 years nationwide warranty and roadside so you have piece of mind all over the country.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Steve

Steve

  • 22 reviews
  • 32 likes

Dont believe the recent fake whitewash reviews

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
See all answers
KB nsw

KB nswHunter Region, NSW

By far the most reliable car I have owned

published

2005 2.7 ltr diesel owned since new and had for 15 years is by far the the most reliable car I ever owned .only let down is the lack of service /dealers knowledge & back up. Hence why have done services and all repairs myself .
Towed duel axle 19 foot caravan & off-road 4wding including doing the skytrek with ease.

Will be sad to let it go but only replacing as decided after 15 years of Trouble free motoring was time to upgrade to a new rexton ultimate

Would highly recommend to anybody. And a very under rated car.

Purchased in August 2005.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2005
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Rexton compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
downunderdaz

downunderdazSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I'm so glad SsangYong is back in Australia, they are Great Cars !

published

Purchased in July 2019 for A$5,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
mario

marioHobart, TAS

SSangong Rexton Tow Car review 2019 model

published

Purchased in June 2020 at POWELL MOTOR GROUP for A$47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
MichaelH

MichaelHSouth East Queensland, QLD

Good equipment levels and build quality but let down by ride and fuel economy

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Cricks Ssangyong Sunshine Coast for A$52,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Ted

Ted

  • 22 reviews
  • 41 likes

Miss it a lot

published

Purchased in November 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
AaJjSs81

AaJjSs81Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

The bargain family SUV

published

Purchased in March 2019 for A$3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Murrumbung2

Murrumbung2Bairnsdale

Over 90 cars, and finally found the best

published
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Drive4WD
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Rexton compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bob

bobHervey Bay , Qld ,Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good vehicle.

published

Usually only two people ride in our vehicle, but twice a year on holidays we have seven riding well, used for general family use, shopping, outings, holidays, would be driven three times a week at least, wonderful to ride in, driving is excellent, reasonably cheap to own and run, nice quiet 4WD.

BadgeRX270 Limited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2006
pcraig8100

pcraig8100Mandurah, Western Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Hello Mr Ssangyong (Double Dragon)

published

After many Rexton's, I have now designed the best Rexton for you!! SPR with the independent rear end with a Dobbinson lift kit, the Mistsi Turbo 2700cc 5 cylinder and with 5/6 speed manual or with the new 8 speed Merc Auto transmission. Yes and do a dual cab with a 1000 kg back end. You will sell a shed load, all very reliable and great fuel economy. The biggest problem with SsangYong Australia was you did not believe in your own product. Dirt poor after sales service!!

BadgeRX270 XVT SPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
pcraig8100

pcraig8100Mandurah, Western Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Drove the rest and bought New Rexton

published
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
David

DavidPerth, WA

More reviews of the same vehicle.

published
BadgeRX270
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
2 comments
David
David
David
David
not happy jan

not happy janGippsland, VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Showed early promise BUT,

published
BadgeRX270 XVT SPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Peter

PeterIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great performer and very under rated

published
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Rexton compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A perfect towing vehicle

published

I bought the vehicle to replace an elderly Jeep. I use it almost exclusively for towing my 1300 kg caravan around the State and it really is the perfect choice. It is the first diesel I have ever owned and I still find the smoothness, comfort and quietness when travelling at 100 km/hour very impressive. So far nothing has misbehaved and it pulls the caravan without effort.
The cost was a fraction of what I would have paid for the competition and I was able to find a 2007 manual example! With only 135,000 km currently on the clock, I hope to keep it for a long while.

BadgeRX270 Sports
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016

The allmost perfect car. Great buy

published
BadgeRX270 Xdi AWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Emir

EmirSarajevo

Just an underdog that is a real gem inside

published
BadgeRX270 XVT SPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2013
not happy jan

not happy janGippsland, VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great value for money

published
ray

raycorowa nsw

spear tyre

published

if you were to get a puncture were do you stow the flat tyre when in side of rexton is full and it don't fit under car ????reliability great 7.5 lts to 100klm. performance great 5 speed auto very good I had a 6 speed auto actyon ute was always changing gear.interior good

Badgewould buy again my 3rd ssangyong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Ruben

Rubenasked

Rexton

Hi everyone, hope you are all well and keeping healthy. I drive through some heavy rain the other night and now the car starts and idles perfectly but as I move from park to reverse gear the engine stalls. It's a 2005 ssangyong rexton 2.7tdi automatic. At first I suspected my alteranator was the culprit as it might have taken some water but the alternator people told me it was 100% fine. Took of the belt, started the car to see if it still stalls when going to reverse and its not resolved. Not sure if this is electrical or if it's water that got sucked up somewhere it shouldn't have but I don't even get a engine fault. I'm so lost at this point. If water has penetrated the air or fuel systems how is it starting so well. If it's a connection or sensor issue why do I have no engine light.

No answers
Ross S.

Ross S.asked

Rexton

I have a 2008 2.7 Rexton, when we put the computer on it, it shows only 5 volts max ???. When you start the car or turn the headlights on the voltage doesn't change. When we put a meter on the battery with the engine running it shows 13.6 volts. Cheers Ross

No answers
Bradley J I.

Bradley J I.asked

Rexton

2014 rexton W 4x4 when pushing the gas pedal down their is no increased speed it's very slow goes threw gears but no speed what is the problem

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 11 SsangYong Rexton
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolDieselDiesel
Wheels20" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy16" Alloy
Doors5555
Seats777
Fuel Consumption8.3 L/100km10.4 L/100km8.3 L/100km9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 70 L70 L70 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.2L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.2L5 Cylinder 2.7L
Max Power133kW @ 4000rpm165kW @ 5500rpm133kW @ 4000rpm121kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque420Nm @ 1600-2600rpm350Nm @ 1500-4500rpm420Nm @ 1600-2600rpm340Nm @ 2400rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Heated Steering Wheel
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance224 mm203 mm224 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg2,300 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2012
Compare all 11 SsangYong Rexton

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.