4 photos
SsangYong Rexton
3.8 from 91 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for SsangYong? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (12)
  • Braking
    4.0 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (11)
  • Suspension
    3.6 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (11)
  • Handling
    3.7 (11)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (11)
  • Features
    4.3 (11)
Previous
Next
Rod
RodGippsland, VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lack of after sale service

published

The Rexton is a nice car. The diesel tows our 2.5 tonne van with ease. Had three services done, NONE were as per Ssangyong 777 service guide. Spoke Ssangyong Australia they say what do I head office to do and talk to the dealer. I have been waiting for new replacement wheels under warranty, I contacted the dealer and they said they are waIting for Ssangyong. Would I buy again NOT LIKELY.

Purchased in June 2020 at SsangYong Dealers for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jonathan I.
Jonathan I.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Good sturdy option with a lot of bells and whistles

published

Purchased in December 2020 at SsangYong Dealers for $32,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jonathan I.
Jonathan I.

Update Console problem was my fault had internal shelf in wrong, fuel cap no worries. All fine.

Teacherman
Teachermanmelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Driving the new Rexton Ultimate

published

Driving the new Ultimate and it’s extremely nice to drive and rides well. So much cheaper than the market leaders, which are no more reliable these days. If your a Toyota badge snob you’ll pay a lot more and it won’t tow like the Rexton, you don’t even know your towing most of the time. Engine and transmission are efficient and super quiet. The Rexton has so many extras for the price and a 7 years nationwide warranty and roadside so you have piece of mind all over the country.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Rexton compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve
Steve
  • 26 reviews
  • 49 likes

Dont believe the recent fake whitewash reviews

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
KB nsw
KB nswHunter Region, NSW

By far the most reliable car I have owned

published

2005 2.7 ltr diesel owned since new and had for 15 years is by far the the most reliable car I ever owned .only let down is the lack of service /dealers knowledge & back up. Hence why have done services and all repairs myself .
Towed duel axle 19 foot caravan & off-road 4wding including doing the skytrek with ease.

Will be sad to let it go but only replacing as decided after 15 years of Trouble free motoring was time to upgrade to a new rexton ultimate

Would highly recommend to anybody. And a very under rated car.

Purchased in August 2005.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
downunderdaz
downunderdazSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I'm so glad SsangYong is back in Australia, they are Great Cars !

published

Purchased in July 2019 for $5,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
MichaelH
MichaelHSouth East Queensland, QLD

Good equipment levels and build quality but let down by ride and fuel economy

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Cricks Ssangyong Sunshine Coast for $52,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ted
Ted
  • 22 reviews
  • 48 likes

Miss it a lot

published

Purchased in November 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
AaJjSs81
AaJjSs81Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

The bargain family SUV

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Rexton compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Murrumbung2
Murrumbung2Bairnsdale

Over 90 cars, and finally found the best

published
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Drive4WD
bob
bobHervey Bay , Qld ,Australia
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good vehicle.

published

Usually only two people ride in our vehicle, but twice a year on holidays we have seven riding well, used for general family use, shopping, outings, holidays, would be driven three times a week at least, wonderful to ride in, driving is excellent, reasonably cheap to own and run, nice quiet 4WD.

BadgeRX270 Limited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2006
pcraig8100
pcraig8100Mandurah, Western Australia
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Hello Mr Ssangyong (Double Dragon)

published

After many Rexton's, I have now designed the best Rexton for you!! SPR with the independent rear end with a Dobbinson lift kit, the Mistsi Turbo 2700cc 5 cylinder and with 5/6 speed manual or with the new 8 speed Merc Auto transmission. Yes and do a dual cab with a 1000 kg back end. You will sell a shed load, all very reliable and great fuel economy. The biggest problem with SsangYong Australia was you did not believe in your own product. Dirt poor after sales service!!

BadgeRX270 XVT SPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
pcraig8100
pcraig8100Mandurah, Western Australia
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Drove the rest and bought New Rexton

published
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
David
DavidPerth, WA

More reviews of the same vehicle.

published
BadgeRX270
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
David
David
David
David
not happy jan
not happy janGippsland, VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Showed early promise BUT,

published
BadgeRX270 XVT SPR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how SsangYong Rexton compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

ben
benasked
Rexton

Can the new Rexton 2021 model be purchased with only 5 seats does anyone know? thanks!

1 answer
Rod
Rod

No but I would think hard about buying a Ssangyong with their bankruptcy

Ewen K.
Ewen K.asked
Rexton Y200 / Y220 (2003-2006)

I need a fault code reader for my 2006 rexton it in not obd2 compliant I hear you need a Delphi one any help?

No answers
Steph
Stephasked
Rexton

Hello i bought my Rexton last week (2008) and have hardly driven it. Now the esp and hdc lights have come on. Any idea why? Esp is orange, hdc is red.

No answers
See all SsangYong Rexton questions

Get an answer from our members

SsangYong Rexton

Details

Compare all 11 SsangYong Rexton
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolDieselDiesel
Wheels20" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy16" Alloy
Fuel Consumption8.3 L/100km10.4 L/100km8.3 L/100km9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 70 L70 L70 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.2L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.2L5 Cylinder 2.7L
Max Power133kW @ 4000rpm165kW @ 5500rpm133kW @ 4000rpm121kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque420Nm @ 1600-2600rpm350Nm @ 1500-4500rpm420Nm @ 1600-2600rpm340Nm @ 2400rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg2,300 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)3 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance224 mm203 mm224 mm
Release dateJan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2018Jan 2008
Discontinuation dateDec 2012
Compare all 11 SsangYong Rexton
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.