3 photos
Stihl BG 56

Stihl BG 56

3.8 from 65 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Blower Vacuums in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Stihl

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (8)
  • Safety
    4.1 (7)
Previous
Next
Slazmo
SlazmoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 243 reviews
  • 242 likes
  • Top Review

Hard on the hands and good on the leaves...

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kristo
KristoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect tool for annoying the neighbourhood, and target the clean drive or pathway right next-door to your own.

published

Weight not too heavy, but heavier than some cheaper brands, power lasts well for small jobs. Haven't had any issues with it, does what I need of it and of course the neighbours.

Purchased in October 2021 for $279.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

it will start up on a cold start first pull but after use go and start it takes 6 7 pulls

published

its good enough for anything.small stone leaves dirt its not the best blower i will not buy another stihl product it broke down with not even 2 hrs on it i have a weedeater brand blower 8 years old no issues and only 65 bucks and is more powerfull

Purchased in April 2021 at colsons for $158.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Blane F.
Blane F.Sydney, NSW
  • 14 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works well

published

Yeah works great brought 1-2years ago and it still last good
They showed me how to start it happy with it
Now brought a stihl hedge trimmer and gonna see how that works

Purchased in April 2019 at GYC for $250.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rocketman
RocketmanHamilton
  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

OK for about 4 years but Stihl agent did not service well.

published

Purchased in January 2011 at Stihl Dealer for $500.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 56 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rocketman
RocketmanHamilton
  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

Light, Powerful, but had a few issues

published

Purchased in January 2013 at Stihl Dealer for $450.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gavin V.
Gavin V.Perth, WA
  • 17 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Entry level blower

published

The blower itself is a little disappointing in power. It also does not come with a flat nozzle. It does excel in its design features with the adjustable choke and carby adjustments.

Purchased in June 2019 for $249.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul
PaulSydney
  • 23 reviews
  • 20 likes

Awesome little blower!

published

This blower has paid for itself again & again! I have used it since 2011 as a contract cleaner (cleaning gutters, car parks, you name it, it’s done it) without one problem. Never changed the spark plug, starts nearly first pull every time. Its weight and balance in operating the machine is perfect. Always use ear muffs as they are alittle on the loud side. The plastics used and internal components in this model are made to a very high standard. It’s been dropped numerous times (accidentally) sometimes 5-6meters and nothing has ever broken on it. It just works. It’s Simply an Awesome little blower! When it eventually dies, I will back for another for sure. Thank you Stihl

Purchased in January 2011 for $299.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
GrillaBBQ
GrillaBBQBrisbane
  • 35 reviews
  • 33 likes

Less than 12 months and on my third repair!

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stewart's handyman servi
Stewart's handyman serviFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

6years of contracting use and still going strong

published

Bought this back in 2013 , never had an issue. I use it up to a couple of hours daily to finish off lawn mowing jobs and couldn’t be happier with it.
I wire brush the spark arrestor every few months to get rid of carbon build up and that’s it for maintenance
Was thinking about getting a new one soon and will definitely be going for a stihl

Purchased in February 2013 for $249.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 56 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam
SamCanberra
  • 59 reviews
  • 50 likes

Works well, starts easy

published

It's reasonably light and easy to use, provides plenty of blowing power that gets the job done, I use it for grass trimmings, leaves and also for our 20mm gravel driveway clean-up so it has enough power to blow the gravel back where it's supposed to be. The only thing that makes me wish I had bought the model up from this one is the anti vibration that this unit lacks, you don't really notice the vibration too much though (until you try the better model and you can barely tell its running from the feel of it).

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob41
Bob41Southern and Hills, SA
  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

So Far So Very Good

published

I Do Believe I Have Finally Bought a Blower that Will Keep The Wife Happy for a Decent Time Lets Hope So. After Two Bad Experiences with other Brands, It is Light weight Powerfull, quiet & Well Balanced Very Happy to this point with it, I should have bought a stihl in the first place

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Do Not Buy

published

That starter spring is extremely weak be prepared to spend $35.00 for repairs or learn how to replace the $2.00 starter spring on a regular basis, you must barely pull the starter or it will bend every time, just kicked mine to the curb. This unit is NOT Stihl quality.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 56 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peeved
PeevedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Build fault

published

Have had two of these one to blow the leaves and the others to vacuum and mulch. Works okay but both have developed fault that causes the engine to die when revved up. The fault is almost as expensive as a new one to fix. I will look at alternative brands.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
george
georgeSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 155 likes

Sh*t

published

bought what i thought was a good blower, Brand new from Stihl Dealer took it home started it, used it for approx 10mins put it in the shed went to use it about 3 weeks later & it refused to start. Followed starting instructions as per the manual. It just refused to start. I have tried about 6 times since to start it, it kicks, idles for about 3 seconds then cuts out. Took it back to the dealer who said it was my fault that it wouldnt start,(typical) the dealer tried starting it & it refused to start. Bull shi*ted to me & Wanted to charge me to fix it biggest piece of sh*t i have bought, Threw it in the shed & went & bought a cheap Ryobi from Bunnings. that has not let me down.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
denis
denisPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good shop

published

Stihl Malaga sell good quality equipment and a reasonable price. I have been going there for 15 plus years and still have the products I bought then. I get lawnmower, whipper snipper and edger serviced at Stihl in Malaga. Good customer service. I will be going back again this week.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Philo
Philoasked

Unusual situation. The blower has worked well for 12 years. Today , for an unknown reason the blower shaft literally blew off. Trying to reattach it did not work, unless I held it in place. Any explanations or suggestions? Thanks

1 answer
Rocketman
Rocketman

Hi Take it to your nearest Stihl dealer, Im sure they will reinsert it for no charge.

Glenn C.
Glenn C.asked

Approximate price

1 answer
Rocketman
Rocketman

$400AU

andrew
andrewasked

how do you atatch vacuum,please

1 answer
GrillaBBQ
GrillaBBQ
See all Stihl BG 56 questions

Get an answer from our members and Stihl representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Blower Vacuums
Price (RRP)249
TypePetrol
Maximum Air Velocity230
Weight4.2
Vacuum FunctionNo
Release dateFeb 2010
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.