??!
3 photos
Stihl BG 56

Stihl BG 56

3.8 from 62 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.8

62 reviews
5
(33)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (5)
  • Safety
    4.8 (4)
Previous
Next
Blane F.

Blane F.Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Works well

published

Yeah works great brought 1-2years ago and it still last good
They showed me how to start it happy with it
Now brought a stihl hedge trimmer and gonna see how that works

Purchased in April 2019 at GYC for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Rocketman

RocketmanHamilton

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

OK for about 4 years but Stihl agent did not service well.

published

Purchased in January 2011 at Stihl Dealer for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Gavin V.

Gavin V.Perth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Entry level blower

published

The blower itself is a little disappointing in power. It also does not come with a flat nozzle. It does excel in its design features with the adjustable choke and carby adjustments.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 56 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

PaulSydney

  • 23 reviews
  • 17 likes

Awesome little blower!

published

This blower has paid for itself again & again! I have used it since 2011 as a contract cleaner (cleaning gutters, car parks, you name it, it’s done it) without one problem. Never changed the spark plug, starts nearly first pull every time. Its weight and balance in operating the machine is perfect. Always use ear muffs as they are alittle on the loud side. The plastics used and internal components in this model are made to a very high standard. It’s been dropped numerous times (accidentally) sometimes 5-6meters and nothing has ever broken on it. It just works. It’s Simply an Awesome little blower! When it eventually dies, I will back for another for sure. Thank you Stihl

Purchased in January 2011 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
GrillaBBQ

GrillaBBQBrisbane

  • 26 reviews
  • 27 likes

Less than 12 months and on my third repair!

published

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Stewart's handyman servi

Stewart's handyman serviFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

6years of contracting use and still going strong

published

Bought this back in 2013 , never had an issue. I use it up to a couple of hours daily to finish off lawn mowing jobs and couldn’t be happier with it.
I wire brush the spark arrestor every few months to get rid of carbon build up and that’s it for maintenance
Was thinking about getting a new one soon and will definitely be going for a stihl

Purchased in February 2013 for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Sam

SamCanberra

  • 58 reviews
  • 48 likes

Works well, starts easy

published

It's reasonably light and easy to use, provides plenty of blowing power that gets the job done, I use it for grass trimmings, leaves and also for our 20mm gravel driveway clean-up so it has enough power to blow the gravel back where it's supposed to be. The only thing that makes me wish I had bought the model up from this one is the anti vibration that this unit lacks, you don't really notice the vibration too much though (until you try the better model and you can barely tell its running from the feel of it).

Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Bob41

Bob41Southern and Hills, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

So Far So Very Good

published

I Do Believe I Have Finally Bought a Blower that Will Keep The Wife Happy for a Decent Time Lets Hope So. After Two Bad Experiences with other Brands, It is Light weight Powerfull, quiet & Well Balanced Very Happy to this point with it, I should have bought a stihl in the first place

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Do Not Buy

published

That starter spring is extremely weak be prepared to spend $35.00 for repairs or learn how to replace the $2.00 starter spring on a regular basis, you must barely pull the starter or it will bend every time, just kicked mine to the curb. This unit is NOT Stihl quality.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 56 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peeved

Peeved

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Build fault

published

Have had two of these one to blow the leaves and the others to vacuum and mulch. Works okay but both have developed fault that causes the engine to die when revved up. The fault is almost as expensive as a new one to fix. I will look at alternative brands.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
george

georgeSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 144 likes

Sh*t

published

bought what i thought was a good blower, Brand new from Stihl Dealer took it home started it, used it for approx 10mins put it in the shed went to use it about 3 weeks later & it refused to start. Followed starting instructions as per the manual. It just refused to start. I have tried about 6 times since to start it, it kicks, idles for about 3 seconds then cuts out. Took it back to the dealer who said it was my fault that it wouldnt start,(typical) the dealer tried starting it & it refused to start. Bull shi*ted to me & Wanted to charge me to fix it biggest piece of sh*t i have bought, Threw it in the shed & went & bought a cheap Ryobi from Bunnings. that has not let me down.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
denis

denisPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good shop

published

Stihl Malaga sell good quality equipment and a reasonable price. I have been going there for 15 plus years and still have the products I bought then. I get lawnmower, whipper snipper and edger serviced at Stihl in Malaga. Good customer service. I will be going back again this week.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
mrpatto

mrpattoSydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 14 likes

Excellent Blower

published

This is my first ever blower. Wish I had bought one years ago! So easy with this petrol blower. Easy to start. Very strong blow! Very lightweight and easy to carry around. Came with a free vacuum kit that is very handy in the garage! Very well built product. I’ve been using for s month now and I would say that my clean up time after mowing takes only 10 minutes when it used to take hours!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Drew t

Drew tQueensland

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent

published

Love this machine starts well all the time i have a vacuum kit for it it works well it cost me $269 yet again i love this machine would recommend this product to any one i use it after a storm iot works well i use it almost every day

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Theos62

Theos62AU

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

At last no powercords. Powerful and easy to use.

published

Starts easily and powerful. Used to have a 240v unit and it was a pain to get the power-lead out and then put away. Also have a battery one but that is OK for a light clean. The Stihl BG 56 gets the job done and is quick and easy to use. It also came with a free vac kit, but probably wont the vac.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 56 compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Nothing better

published

I bought my BG 56 C-E in 2011. It has been everything it was advertised to be. Starts easy, runs strong, blows hard and never needed anything but regular maintenance per the book.
Yesterday someone stole it. They must have heard how good it was and decided they deserved it more than me.
I will be going to my Stihl to get another one as soon as the police have had a chance to check the pawn shops.

Date PurchasedApr 2011
jasey88

jasey88Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome Tool

published

The Stihl BG 56 is great for cleaning up around the carport,driveway and garden.Saves me a lot of time,easy starting and very efficient.
I use it to clean the fallen bird seeds in my alfresco now instead of sweeping, makes it so much easier and its so powerful that it blows the pebbles as well.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Ply313

Ply313

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Average at best

published

Used one for over a year in my lawn business.
Starts great from cold, rarely starts easily when hot and an absolute pig to start in very hot weather. Out of six or so different machines I use its the only one that gives me grief.
Power is ok once going but I want something I dont have to pull 5 times to start..

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Tony

Tony

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant

published

The Stihl BG 56 is great for cleaning up around the carport,driveway and garden.Saves me a lot of time,easy starting and very efficient.My neighbour borrowed it one day and was thoroughly impressed by being lightweight and its efficiency,didn't take much convincing,to talk him into buying his own. He is a another happy customer.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Scott

ScottCentral West, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic garden tool

published

The Stihl BG56 is a great tool for cleaning up around the garden and also the carport and shed. Its fast light wieght and starts easily. I would definitely recommend this product for people who want to make their lives easier without the need for long extension cords the need for a power point.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Philo

Philoasked

Unusual situation. The blower has worked well for 12 years. Today , for an unknown reason the blower shaft literally blew off. Trying to reattach it did not work, unless I held it in place. Any explanations or suggestions? Thanks

1 answer
Rocketman
Rocketman

Hi Take it to your nearest Stihl dealer, Im sure they will reinsert it for no charge.

Glenn C.

Glenn C.asked

Approximate price

1 answer
Rocketman
Rocketman

$400AU

andrew

andrewasked

how do you atatch vacuum,please

1 answer
GrillaBBQ
GrillaBBQ

Hi Andrew you need a flat screwdriver, turn the sthil on it's side white air intake upwards. Locate the slot that you can insert the screw driver to release the cover. Pull cover back and look for the imprinted arrows on the side of the intake and the large tube which will suck up the leaves, line them up and twist the sleeve to lock the two together. Repeat the same for the bag collector. There might be a video on youtube?

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Blower Vacuums
Price (RRP)249
TypePetrol
Maximum Air Velocity230
Weight4.2
Vacuum FunctionNo
Release dateFeb 2010
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.