4 photos
Stihl BG 86 C-E

Stihl BG 86 C-E

3.8 from 33 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Blower Vacuums in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Stihl

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (10)
  • Safety
    4.2 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Stihl BG 86C blower/vacuum shredder

published

Purchased at Stihl Dealer.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael
MichaelHunter Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Not a good shredder

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Stihl Dealer for $400.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Stihl 86 hand blower

published

I owned and operated lawn care service over 20 years: always used Stihl products. I believe I have bought my last new one. this new one was the hardest to start new . Clerk had difficulty first time starting. I used it lightly for ten minutes, did not idle start then die. New one did not perform like the previous ones I bought. I buy Stihl products because they have been superior to other brands I have used. I have changed my mind I will try other brands. More money for Stihl products, The quality seems to be lacking

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jimbo
JimboPerth, WA
  • 56 reviews
  • 34 likes

Good for old arms

published

I had a BG85 for many years but the starting was getting too hard for me and the vibrations meant I had to swap hands. The easy start on this is excellent and the anti vibration mounted on rubber motor means I don't have to worry about swapping hands at all. It is also much quieter than the old blower, this makes you think its not as powerful but in fact its slightly better.

Purchased in July 2021 at Stihl Dealer for $399.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 86 C-E compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lyell A.
Lyell A.Perth, WA
  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Awesome bit of kit!

published

Great addition to the garden power tools. Upgraded from an electric blower and I'm happy I did. Way more power and ease of use! I'll be sure to invest in more Stihl gear at this rate

Purchased in March 2021 at Northside Pet Superstore for $379.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Phil Mc Cracken
Phil Mc CrackenAU
  • 2 reviews

Awesome blower Stihl BG86

published

What can I say about this blower, except it's fantastic so smooth and powerful the anti vibration is amazing so comfortable to use.
It has a fair bit more power than my previous echo which was also an outstanding machine.
It's easy to start,idles great and will get more power once engine loosens up.
As with any quality machine use good oil (Stihl ultra HP 50:1) and do a bit if maintenance every so often and it will last a very long time

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020 at Stihl Dealer for $379.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Chinajunk

published

This thing is an absolute turd, we have an older one at work that says made in Germany and it is a beast, this one says "Made from global components" which means it's built in a sweatshop in china by 10 year olds, it has at best 25% of the power of the older version. Absolute utter and complete junk.

Purchased in November 2020 for $250.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
damo t.
damo t.Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Excellent machine starts easily

published

This blower vaccum is reccomended for lighter to medium commercial use. It has a lot of blowing power for a handheld and the anti vibration is great. If you are a homeowner this machine has more than enough power to get the job done. I would highly recommend it. Alot better than buying husqvarna a Chinese brand or echo you need to get one of these.
Great as a vaccum too

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Juan G.
Juan G.Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect Blower for my usage needs meets my gardening power tool requirements

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $349.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 86 C-E compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bbrrrr
BbrrrrSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Wow so easy to start!

published

Strongly agree with scot m 5 star all the way! Never a problem with stihl use blowers and trimmers and have a small HSA 25 which has ample power. Have a 94 RCE and is great. Easy to start..... Super easy to start have to put in no effort at all and like the cruise control and shut off lever. So power full had an older model and I think that one was bit more powerful but this has plenty. Also very quiet don’t even need earmuffs. So good
#loveit

Purchased for $350.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I don't care what others say!

published

I don't care what others say... this is five star all the way, and the gutter kit is totally awesome! Sure you and buy an Asian brand online BUT... service, I read a review that the closest service center was a 400 mile drive for a top selling Asian brand, you can't ship products that you have put gas in. What good is a warranty if the drive is 800 miles round trip for service :( Gas... why do customers use bad gas then write bad reviews... I use ethanol free True Fuel, it's the best... found out ethanol kills small engines... five star all the way!!!

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
john
john
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rip off

published

I too was a dealer for stihl for over 25 years and found the same dramatic drop in quality without a drop in the price from stihl, especially since most parts are made in china now. Very disappointing from stihl as they are abusing peoples trust in their quality, which is now no better than all the other chinese equipment you can buy on ebay ( but which is much cheaper than stihl equipment). Have shifted to selling Japanese brands which have always been great but not well known due to lack of advertising and promotion which is the only thing that stihl has done well ( but without product quality to back up their quality claims)

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 86 C-E compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Really Stihl..... Really

published

I've been in business 23 years and I've always used Stihl blowers and trimmers. I'm a one-man operation . You used to be a great company that made things that last now you're lucky if you get one and a half two years out of them. Got a blower in 2016 that froze up and 1 in 2017 that froze up on me today. I always use the same gas oil mixture. I still have blowers from 10 or more years ago that still run as long as you play with the choke while running it... But it runs!!!

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
aumegm
aumegmAdelaide, South Australia
  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Stihl BG 86 C-E

published

Have used the Stihl BG 86 C-E commercially, often up to 8hrs per day without any issues.

Suitable for use in very dusty areas, thanks to the HD2 filter. With STIHL anti-vibration, Easy2Start, 2-MIX engine and locking throttle. The BG 86 C-E is the professionals choice for clearing large areas.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Stihl BG 86

published

Just bought a new BG 86 after my old one of about ten years died. Yes the new one is easy to start but has half the power of the old one. I have had it back to the dealer twice and they claim this is the best it will run. And the best part is I have had this blower for a little over a month and the return policy is seven days. So looks like I have to eat the $250.00

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

aquitania
aquitaniaasked

Is this Stihl model BG86 CE, a blower and vac or just blower?
Im also looking at the SH56 CE which I believe is both.
Thanks for any info

No answers
Martin
Martinasked

Hi my BG 86 has started periodically Rattling But still starts, took all covers off but think it’s internal. Any ideas?

No answers
John R.
John R.asked

Have others here had the muffler screws shear off? How is this fixed? Extracting broken screws looks difficult. Muffler just blew off on year old machine.

2 answers
damo t.
damo t.
John R.
John R.

I had a go at fixing it myself as the Stihl shop said they couldn't . How do others do it? This method worked for me. https://youtu.be/M_HT575ilv4

See all Stihl BG 86 C-E questions

Get an answer from our members and Stihl representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Blower Vacuums
Price (RRP)549
TypePetrol
Maximum Air Velocity248
Weight4.5
Vacuum FunctionYes
Release dateFeb 2010
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.