??!
4 photos
Stihl BG 86 C-E

Stihl BG 86 C-E

3.7 from 27 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (4)
  • Safety
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next
  • Verified purchase

Chinajunk

published

This thing is an absolute turd, we have an older one at work that says made in Germany and it is a beast, this one says "Made from global components" which means it's built in a sweatshop in china by 10 year olds, it has at best 25% of the power of the older version. Absolute utter and complete junk.

Purchased in November 2020 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
damo t.

damo t.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Excellent machine starts easily

published

This blower vaccum is reccomended for lighter to medium commercial use. It has a lot of blowing power for a handheld and the anti vibration is great. If you are a homeowner this machine has more than enough power to get the job done. I would highly recommend it. Alot better than buying husqvarna a Chinese brand or echo you need to get one of these.
Great as a vaccum too

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Juan G.

Juan G.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Blower for my usage needs meets my gardening power tool requirements

published

Purchased in January 2020 for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 86 C-E compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bbrrrr

BbrrrrSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Wow so easy to start!

published

Strongly agree with scot m 5 star all the way! Never a problem with stihl use blowers and trimmers and have a small HSA 25 which has ample power. Have a 94 RCE and is great. Easy to start..... Super easy to start have to put in no effort at all and like the cruise control and shut off lever. So power full had an older model and I think that one was bit more powerful but this has plenty. Also very quiet don’t even need earmuffs. So good
#loveit

Purchased for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

I don't care what others say!

published

I don't care what others say... this is five star all the way, and the gutter kit is totally awesome! Sure you and buy an Asian brand online BUT... service, I read a review that the closest service center was a 400 mile drive for a top selling Asian brand, you can't ship products that you have put gas in. What good is a warranty if the drive is 800 miles round trip for service :( Gas... why do customers use bad gas then write bad reviews... I use ethanol free True Fuel, it's the best... found out ethanol kills small engines... five star all the way!!!

Incentivised ReviewNo
john

john

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rip off

published

I too was a dealer for stihl for over 25 years and found the same dramatic drop in quality without a drop in the price from stihl, especially since most parts are made in china now. Very disappointing from stihl as they are abusing peoples trust in their quality, which is now no better than all the other chinese equipment you can buy on ebay ( but which is much cheaper than stihl equipment). Have shifted to selling Japanese brands which have always been great but not well known due to lack of advertising and promotion which is the only thing that stihl has done well ( but without product quality to back up their quality claims)

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Really Stihl..... Really

published

I've been in business 23 years and I've always used Stihl blowers and trimmers. I'm a one-man operation . You used to be a great company that made things that last now you're lucky if you get one and a half two years out of them. Got a blower in 2016 that froze up and 1 in 2017 that froze up on me today. I always use the same gas oil mixture. I still have blowers from 10 or more years ago that still run as long as you play with the choke while running it... But it runs!!!

Date PurchasedJun 2017
aumegm

aumegmAdelaide, South Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Stihl BG 86 C-E

published

Have used the Stihl BG 86 C-E commercially, often up to 8hrs per day without any issues.

Suitable for use in very dusty areas, thanks to the HD2 filter. With STIHL anti-vibration, Easy2Start, 2-MIX engine and locking throttle. The BG 86 C-E is the professionals choice for clearing large areas.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Stihl BG 86

published

Just bought a new BG 86 after my old one of about ten years died. Yes the new one is easy to start but has half the power of the old one. I have had it back to the dealer twice and they claim this is the best it will run. And the best part is I have had this blower for a little over a month and the return policy is seven days. So looks like I have to eat the $250.00

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 86 C-E compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paddy

Paddy

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best petrol powered blower around

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018

My old one was better

published

I purchased my second Stihl BG86 about 6 months ago. The biggest problem I've had with it is the muffler screws keep coming loose and snap off, I've taken it back to the Stihl shop to be fixed twice now, but the same problem continues, also it seems a lot harder to start and warm up compared to my other one. I think i'll try Husqvarna next.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Mike

MikeShepparton

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

A Good Blower with a SideStep

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Tim Pearson

Tim PearsonPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Average

published

A good lightweight blower I guess. It mostly starts on the first pull. However it warms up like some medievil tractor and the carby fuel adjustments are factory locked. The unit has a high centre of gravity, once placed on unusual terrain it tips over on as little as 5-10 degrees. It struggles to get power. The first top range blowers used to have an electric switch. They foolishly did away with that award winning design and replaced it with levers. The throttle set lever is good but when you try to turn that feature off you end up turning the blower off completely. So its a good lightweight blower that doesn't stand upright, with some levers, rest in peace award winning design.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Yunnos

YunnosGold Coast

Early days, but plenty of grunt

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 31 reviews
  • 25 likes
  • Verified purchase

much better than the Ryobi petrol I owned for 2 months then returned

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Petrol Blower Vacuums

Find out how Stihl BG 86 C-E compares to other Petrol Blower Vacuums

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Stihl product problems

published
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Stephen

StephenSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

A step up from my last Sthil Blower

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
BPOz_12

BPOz_12Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Early days but worth every cent

published

The BG 86 C-E starts easily every time, revs easily, but still moves small sticks and leaves easily. We have a large cement driveway and heaps of eucalypts and it moves the twigs and wet leaves easily. Have owned less than a week but very happy. After slaving away trying to start and use a 5 in 1 slasher/trimmer from Yukon, the BG86 is a dream.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Cadillac of Leaf Blowers

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Pat B

Pat BNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Blow hard.

published
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

aquitania

aquitaniaasked

Is this Stihl model BG86 CE, a blower and vac or just blower?
Im also looking at the SH56 CE which I believe is both.
Thanks for any info

No answers
Martin

Martinasked

Hi my BG 86 has started periodically Rattling But still starts, took all covers off but think it’s internal. Any ideas?

No answers
John R.

John R.asked

Have others here had the muffler screws shear off? How is this fixed? Extracting broken screws looks difficult. Muffler just blew off on year old machine.

2 answers
damo t.
damo t.

Take it back to the stihl dealer you bought it from if it is still under warranty and they should fix them. I work at a stihl dealer and have never seen that issue on a bg86c before. But I have seen it on a br600 and bg85 which is the older one. You should never fix at home if it is still under warranty.

John R.
John R.

I had a go at fixing it myself as the Stihl shop said they couldn't . How do others do it? This method worked for me. https://youtu.be/M_HT575ilv4

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Blower Vacuums
Price (RRP)549
TypePetrol
Maximum Air Velocity248
Weight4.5
Vacuum FunctionYes
Release dateFeb 2010
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.