??!
4 photos
Stihl BG 86 C-E

Stihl BG 86 C-E

3.6 from 23 reviews

See the Best Petrol Blower Vacuums in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
5

I don't care what others say!

published

I don't care what others say... this is five star all the way, and the gutter kit is totally awesome! Sure you and buy an Asian brand online BUT... service, I read a review that the closest service center was a 400 mile drive for a top selling Asian brand, you can't ship products that you have put gas in. What good is a warranty if the drive is 800 miles round trip for service :( Gas... why do customers use bad gas then write bad reviews... I use ethanol free True Fuel, it's the best... found out ethanol kills small engines... five star all the way!!!


john

john

  • 2 reviews

Rip off

published

I too was a dealer for stihl for over 25 years and found the same dramatic drop in quality without a drop in the price from stihl, especially since most parts are made in china now. Very disappointing from stihl as they are abusing peoples trust in their quality, which is now no better than all the other chinese equipment you can buy on ebay ( but which is much cheaper than stihl equipment). Have shifted to selling Japanese brands which have always been great but not well known due to lack of advertising and promotion which is the only thing that stihl has done well ( but without product quality to back up their quality claims)

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers

Really Stihl..... Really

published

I've been in business 23 years and I've always used Stihl blowers and trimmers. I'm a one-man operation . You used to be a great company that made things that last now you're lucky if you get one and a half two years out of them. Got a blower in 2016 that froze up and 1 in 2017 that froze up on me today. I always use the same gas oil mixture. I still have blowers from 10 or more years ago that still run as long as you play with the choke while running it... But it runs!!!

Date PurchasedJun 2017
aumegm

aumegmAdelaide, South Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Stihl BG 86 C-E

published

Have used the Stihl BG 86 C-E commercially, often up to 8hrs per day without any issues.

Suitable for use in very dusty areas, thanks to the HD2 filter. With STIHL anti-vibration, Easy2Start, 2-MIX engine and locking throttle. The BG 86 C-E is the professionals choice for clearing large areas.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Stihl BG 86

published

Just bought a new BG 86 after my old one of about ten years died. Yes the new one is easy to start but has half the power of the old one. I have had it back to the dealer twice and they claim this is the best it will run. And the best part is I have had this blower for a little over a month and the return policy is seven days. So looks like I have to eat the $250.00

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Paddy

Paddy

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best petrol powered blower around

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018

My old one was better

published

I purchased my second Stihl BG86 about 6 months ago. The biggest problem I've had with it is the muffler screws keep coming loose and snap off, I've taken it back to the Stihl shop to be fixed twice now, but the same problem continues, also it seems a lot harder to start and warm up compared to my other one. I think i'll try Husqvarna next.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Mike

MikeShepparton

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

A Good Blower with a SideStep

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Tim Pearson

Tim PearsonPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

Average

published

A good lightweight blower I guess. It mostly starts on the first pull. However it warms up like some medievil tractor and the carby fuel adjustments are factory locked. The unit has a high centre of gravity, once placed on unusual terrain it tips over on as little as 5-10 degrees. It struggles to get power. The first top range blowers used to have an electric switch. They foolishly did away with that award winning design and replaced it with levers. The throttle set lever is good but when you try to turn that feature off you end up turning the blower off completely. So its a good lightweight blower that doesn't stand upright, with some levers, rest in peace award winning design.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Yunnos

YunnosGold Coast

Early days, but plenty of grunt

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Dave H

Dave HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 31 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

much better than the Ryobi petrol I owned for 2 months then returned

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Stihl product problems

published
Date PurchasedJun 2013

Stephen

StephenSydney

  • 8 reviews

A step up from my last Sthil Blower

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

BPOz_12

BPOz_12NSW, 2450

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Early days but worth every cent

published

The BG 86 C-E starts easily every time, revs easily, but still moves small sticks and leaves easily. We have a large cement driveway and heaps of eucalypts and it moves the twigs and wet leaves easily. Have owned less than a week but very happy. After slaving away trying to start and use a 5 in 1 slasher/trimmer from Yukon, the BG86 is a dream.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Cadillac of Leaf Blowers

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Pat B

Pat BNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews

Blow hard.

published

MRG

MRGNorthampton

Hopeless

published

I had a BG86C for several years which was powerful until it finally gave up, so I bought another, this time a BG86C E. It would seem that this machine has lost its power all in the name of emissions. It is hopeless compared to the older model. I took it back to the dealership who told me that they are now made with very little adjustment so it simply won't do what the old one did. Don't buy one, this is a premium over priced product with cheap product output. Stihl seem to be loosing the plot in their complacency.


BoofsaDog

BoofsaDogSydney, NSW

  • 68 reviews
  • 58 likes

Gr8 Blower

published

gardener george

gardener georgeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 67 reviews

very good, and they've improved on their old modal

published

i owned the old BG 85 for 12 years as a contractor, and in the last months it was still powerful, but sometimes not a reliable starter, so i gave it to my brother in-law,
bought the new Stihl BG86, and it seems a little quieter and to run more smoothly, you have to get used to starting it, but once you get used to the choke and when you should use it, it's very good, and even starts when pulled straight out of my hot tool box on the back of my ute, like the new controls, how the choke automatically switches off, on starting, and how the stop lever works, so you don't have to switch the blower back on, just pull the start rope.
I'm impressed and recently went and purchased the Stihl SH 86 blower/vacuum


jase1987

jase1987AU

  • 23 reviews
  • 9 likes

Cheap brands are just as powerful.

published

Bought stihl bg 86 after my old blower is starting to get abit old ( 10 yrs ) i had a GMC and it worked great, was just alittle loud and sometimes didn't like me. had a test with this model bg 86 in the shop, and thought was way more powerful than the gmc, got it home and it's no better at all and for $400 VS $90 i am very shocked!
Works and blows
Bogs down, expensive, doesn't have as much power as it says!


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Dave D

Dave Dasked

The casting under the flywheel is held on to the blower unit by 3 flat head bolts. My BG 86 C was making a rattling noise and it seemed like something was loose, though it still ran. After a minute or two the rattling got louder and then seized. I could not pull the recoil so I took it to the local Stihl dealer and for $50 they would diagnose it. They said the engine was probably seized though I was skeptical because it still ran while it rattled. Instead of leaving the blower with them I decided to see if I could trouble shoot it myself. I took off the fly wheel and found several pieces of casting laying underneath the flywheel and when I looked at the back side of the flywheel several fins had been cracked off. Was it a bad casting? No. Upon further inspection I saw one of the 3 bolts holding the below casting had either vibrated loose or had not been torqued correctly and had risen up and was chipping the fins as the flywheel spun. And the seizing was not the engine but most likely these loose pieces of the flywheel jamming. Is this a fairly common problem with this BG 86 C blower? I am replacing the cracked flywheel and will use high temp LocTite on the three screw and expect to have it up and running like new. Please respond if anyone else has had this experience. The blower is 2 or 3 years old. Thanks,

2 answers
belladonna
belladonna

i have had my bg86c for about 4 yrs. the first time it seized up (second season of ownership) i was told the screw came loose, scored the fly wheel and broke off fins, i had a new wheel put on costing $100.+. second time which was last week it seized up again... and yes, loose screw. this time no damage to the wheel, just a$50 bill a nd a sales pitch to buy a new one because the dealer said it is a problem with the blower and it will happen again. so, i guess im going to have to learn how to open this baby up and periodically tighten the screws. im sad though, i thought a stihl product was a quality product. a $300. purchase was significant to me. but alas just another cheap piece of crap that will end up in a landfill.

belladonna
belladonna

One week later, follow up after second repair. The pull cord seized up again. I was told it would be another $60 part and he couldnt guarantee a permanent fix. Im done!


Grahame B.

Grahame B.asked

How to unblock

No answers

blower

blowerasked

Do you have a pull start recoil for Stihl BG 86/c blower?

1 answer
Pat B
Pat B

Sorry I have never needed any parts for this blower. Try Outdoor King on the net. Not sure if anyone makes aftermarket parts for these.


Get an answer from our members and Stihl representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.