??!

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

3.1

29 reviews
5
(6)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (12)
Previous
Next
Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best Price

published

The installation and setup of the machine is simple. Gets the job done very well with our daily clothes and office attire. Washing Features were all present in this unit. i think the cleaning cycle time is not accurate. The warranty period is very long given that this is the cheapest among other 7.5kg model. Lastly, the size is only good for small family.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Charlie

Charlie

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great basic Front Load Washer

published

Really happy with this washing machine. It's quite basic, but very easy to use and cleans very well. It looks and feels like a high quality build too. Quite a lot of wash settings too (23!) and i like the extra rinse option which you can add on. Great appliance!

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for A$379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeEsatto EHPD7
See all answers
Sharon N.

Sharon N.Darling Downs, QLD

It's ok, but would be better if it spun for longer.

published

We just wash normal clothes, not overly dirty. My husband is visually impaired, so wanted something he can easily set to use. Many of the new models in electrical stores have flat touch screens now, which are useless to him. This machine has an easy dial and buttons to alter other settings, making it easy for him to use.
The machine seems to clean and freshen the clothes nicely, but does not spin for very long even on the longer wash cycle and fastest spin setting. The clothes take much longer to dry than our older machine.

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for A$379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how ALDI Front Load compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Patricia

PatriciaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good washer

published

Awesome cleans whites to whites if I didn’t get this washing machine I would highly still be using my old clunker.very happy with my purchase i totally recommend this machine.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Abc

Abc

  • 2 reviews

Great

published

Sometimes needs to reset dial by spinning three times for some reason. Other than that very happy about it thank you also this was a great washing machine and for a great price

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Broken Glass

Broken GlassGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Broken Glass

published

I purchased this washing machine for my holiday home 31/012/2019. Being in a holiday home the machine has had very little use. I have recently arrived home from an overseas trip and need to self quarantine for 2 weeks. As such I arrived at my holiday home with a suitcase full of dirty washing only to find a hole in my washing machine door with a large section of glass on the drum. The home has been vacant and no one has access to the home and as such the glass was not damaged by human intervention. Being in quarantine I cannot return the machine to Aldi and I cannot purchase a new machine.

Purchased at Roasebud for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Vincent

VincentMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Stirling 8kg front load washing machine

published

Once I adjusted the balance the machine worked fine. It washes clean.
The shirt cycle is excellent. I am pleased with the number of washing cycles. The spin speeds enable to select for quick drying or minimise creasing with slower speeds. Value for money

Purchased in February 2020 at Churchill Centre Kilburn for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
KTP

KTPSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Best Wash Machine Ever

published

Bought a 8kg front load Black edition wash machine in mid January 2020 for a bargain.
Turned out to be the best wash machine we ever had
.
Only critique: Aldi should consider a delivery option in their bulky items on sale.

Purchased in January 2020 at ALDI for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Thomas

ThomasMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Super washing machine.

published

Great washing results, with all types of fabrics. Love the 8 kg saves a lot on water. Extremely quiet during washing cycle.
The only negative point everything comes out very wrinkled.

Purchased in December 2019 at ALDI for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how ALDI Front Load compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Max cook

Max cookSouth Australia

  • 18 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great and dose not use a lot of water and it's got the time and everything else

published

Great great great great washing machine and dose not use a lot of water and it's got the time and everything else and catches all the dust from the clothes

Purchased in August 2019 at ALDI for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Cheryl

CherylMurray Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great machine

published

Only had this machine a couple of months and absolutely love it. Easy to use, lots of options. Only fault is spin cycle can be a bit loud, but got used to it in a couple of days. Washes just as well as the more expensive ones. Would highly recommend

Purchased in September 2019 at ALDI for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Regine

RegineSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not recommendable

published

Used for linen and mixed clothing . Worked at the beginning, but washing ended with wet item, no spin... gentle washing to all item... the circle times are underestimated... after 12 month of purchased the technician has to come first time... two month later the machine shows an error of E33, according to Sterling Manufacture unrepairable... it lasted all up 14 month . Refund received in our account same day...
Product bad, customer service very good...

Purchased in July 2018 at ALDI for A$372.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
beth ss

beth ssRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good front loader for medium/small loads

published

The 6kg barrel will 'just' wash a large queen sized blanket but not a queen sized quilt unfortunately.
It can wash a load of clothes in 15 minutes which is super helpful for people short of time and can heat up the wash water to 60 degrees for a more through and hygienic wash. Lots of wash cycle options and ability to add a custom wash programmed to your settings.

The spin cycle is quite loud (runs up to 1200 rpm) ,but apart from that and the smaller barrel size, the ALDI warranty guarantee is what sold me on the well priced and modern looking machine. Looks more expensive than the $349 I paid for it and I have no regrets.

Purchased in July 2019 at ALDI for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
lisha_gal

lisha_galSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 122 reviews
  • 36 likes

Great washing machine. Awesome warranty offered

published

We purchased from aldi. Great machine. Large enough for our family of four. Quick wash cycle works well and I find it easy to use. I had a small issue with the machine and it was repaired in my home in a timely manner and fixed well. Price was great at $499. I would recommend this machine. Excellent A+++

Purchased in May 2014 for A$499.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Rubbish

published

Cheap yes but try and get it fixed when it breaks down that's when they palm you off. Error E62 RRR Never heard of that, must be technical. No hot water and over 2 hours to do a wash. Worked fine until about 4 months out of warranty. Not worth fixing even if I could find out what was wrong with it

Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how ALDI Front Load compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great machine

published

I bought a Sterling front end loading washing machine from Aldi in 2009 and cost me half of what the going price was for the front end loaders in the electrical stores. I love it. Cleans the clothes very well. Yes, I have had a couple of problems with it but lets face it, you are going to with any washing machine.

Hardly German Quality

published

A terrible disappointment! Yes it was cheap, and that is about it. It does not wash clothes properly and even on longer cycles, clothes do not look washed at all. Clearly misrepresentation of product. It sells as a washing machine, and performs as a water and power waster. I would have expected more from Aldi as their food is good, but their white goods sometimes miss the mark. This one certainly did. Just a hassle to try to return it again as it is a large object and the service for Stirling white goods is appalling! There is no after sales service. The company is called Tempo and they offer little to no assistance at all.

Ree

Reebateau bay

waste of money

published
Hel

HelSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

No after sales service!

published

My machine is not holding the softener back until last rinsing cycle.
Softener disappears with first washing cycle.
Tempo, a contractor to ALDI should handle after sales and warranty issues.
After explaining my problem Tempo declared this as a NONE fault and as a normal behavior of this particular machine.
ALDI customer service is repeating this unprofessional diagnose after I complained the unprofessional behavior of Tempo.
End of story for ALDI but not for me.
I logged now a complaint with NSW Fair Trading.
I will never buy anything of value from ALDI again!

Mach1

Mach1AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Broke down 6 months out of 2 yr warranty

published
7 comments
Mach1
Mach1

In the review I said top loader and must have been having a brain melt down - the machine is a FRONT loader.

edd7139
edd7139

The Cotton Cycle does take 1hr 37min if you make sure the temp is set to cold.

mach114
mach114

Well well. Thanks for that - will check it out.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Steve

Steveasked

Front Load

Has the 9kg front washer have
different load sizes to select from?
E.g., small medium or large wash ?

No answers
Jennifer B.

Jennifer B.asked

Stirling 8kg STR-FL80 (Nov 2019)

My machine washes well and I'm pleased with it except that some items of clothing (singlets, nylon work shirt, T shirts) come out smelling. They didn't smell when I put them in the machine. The smell is like the item has been on the line in the rain for weeks. A horrible musty smell. Has anyone else experienced this?

1 answer
maryska
maryska

Need to clean out the rubber seal on the door as it traps moisture thus creating mould. youtube videos explain how to do this.

Kani K

Kani Kasked

Front Load

twin had a heart attack last Friday .. In order to keep the
frustration of her current machine, leaking and doing damage to the property she’s renting, I thought i would try and buy her a front loader. Is it still possible to buy the 7.5 kg Stirling washer for $349 https://www.productreview.com.au/listings/stirling-aldi-str-flw75-july-2018
Thankyou sincerely for reading my request... kani

2 answers
Charlie
Charlie

Unfortunately not. They only seem to do this promotion once a year. Sorry!

Kani K
Kani K

Thankyou for answering my question, it is very much appreciated...
Regards
Kani

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 9 ALDI Front Load
CategoryFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) A$479.00A$379.00A$499.00A$499.00
Capacity9 kg7.5 kg7.5 kg7.5 kg
Household Size 3-4 people2-3 people2-3 people2-3 people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof) and Reload/Add WashDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating4 star(s)3.5 star(s)4 star(s)
Water Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Colour / FinishWhiteWhiteWhite
Dimensions 850 x 635 x 600 mm850 x 600 x 615 mm850 x 596 x 600 mm
Motor TypeDirect Drive (Inverter)Direct Drive (Inverter)
Max Spin Speed 1,400 rpm1,400 rpm1,200 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds644
Number of Wash Cycles1416
Temperature Settings 55
Weight70 kg72 kg71 kg
Special Buy Dates
  • 14 Nov 2020
  • 28 Jul 2018
  • 26 Dec 2013
  • 15 Feb 2014
  • 13 Jan 2011
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateNov 2020Jul 2018Dec 2013Jan 2011
Discontinuation dateNov 2020Jul 2018Feb 2014Jan 2011
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual and manual 2
Compare all 9 ALDI Front Load

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.