?
? !

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (15)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Nat Wisha

Nat WishaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Really great value

published

We really like our machine and so much so our friends who used it over summer bought one for themselves. I love you can do a short 15 minute wash. Washing on cold is very good.
Great value for money. Takes a while to get used to the programs and not have things wash for hours but lots of short wash choices that do a good job
We have had for just under a year.

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
ALDI
Residentia Group SupportALDI
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
HappyWasher

HappyWasherPerth, WA

Love this machine

published

Mixed colour wash is 1.18mins, which is only 10 mins longer than my last top loader. Energy rating and water rating is a great mean we don't spend extra on the wash. By far the best front loader I have used and previously owned LG, Simpson and Fisher and Paykel front loaders. The only CON I have is that the end tune is not very loud, but my last washer beeped every five minutes until the door was opened so I am readjusting.

Purchased in November 2020 at ALDI for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John E.

John E.Sydney, NSW

Dead out of the box

published

We recently purchased an ALDI 9kg front loader, as we don't have a car we had to pay for someone to help pick up and deliver to our apartment. Unfortunately it doesn't work and the water pumps straight to the drain without washing. Rang the service provider to be told to return to the shop for a credit/refund. They weren't interested in a replacement or servicing it.
No other option available. Now we're going to have to pay for the delivery guy to come back and help us return to the store, also then we won't have a washing machine for several more weeks. Not a great option for us. We expected better ALDI.

Purchased in December 2020 at Bing Lee Online store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how ALDI Front Load compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vin

VinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best Price

published

The installation and setup of the machine is simple. Gets the job done very well with our daily clothes and office attire. Washing Features were all present in this unit. i think the cleaning cycle time is not accurate. The warranty period is very long given that this is the cheapest among other 7.5kg model. Lastly, the size is only good for small family.

  • Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
ALDI
Residentia Group SupportALDI
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charlie

Charlie

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great basic Front Load Washer

published

Really happy with this washing machine. It's quite basic, but very easy to use and cleans very well. It looks and feels like a high quality build too. Quite a lot of wash settings too (23!) and i like the extra rinse option which you can add on. Great appliance!

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
ALDI
Residentia Group SupportALDI
Charlie
Charlie

Still really happy with this Washing Machine. Easily as good as the major brands! Thanks for the response to my review too- nice touch!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sharon N.

Sharon N.Darling Downs, QLD

It's ok, but would be better if it spun for longer.

published

We just wash normal clothes, not overly dirty. My husband is visually impaired, so wanted something he can easily set to use. Many of the new models in electrical stores have flat touch screens now, which are useless to him. This machine has an easy dial and buttons to alter other settings, making it easy for him to use.
The machine seems to clean and freshen the clothes nicely, but does not spin for very long even on the longer wash cycle and fastest spin setting. The clothes take much longer to dry than our older machine.

Purchased in July 2020 at ALDI for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
ALDI
Residentia Group SupportALDI
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Patricia

PatriciaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good washer

published

Awesome cleans whites to whites if I didn’t get this washing machine I would highly still be using my old clunker.very happy with my purchase i totally recommend this machine.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Abc

Abc

  • 2 reviews

Great

published

Sometimes needs to reset dial by spinning three times for some reason. Other than that very happy about it thank you also this was a great washing machine and for a great price

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Broken Glass

Broken GlassGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Broken Glass

published

I purchased this washing machine for my holiday home 31/012/2019. Being in a holiday home the machine has had very little use. I have recently arrived home from an overseas trip and need to self quarantine for 2 weeks. As such I arrived at my holiday home with a suitcase full of dirty washing only to find a hole in my washing machine door with a large section of glass on the drum. The home has been vacant and no one has access to the home and as such the glass was not damaged by human intervention. Being in quarantine I cannot return the machine to Aldi and I cannot purchase a new machine.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Roasebud for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how ALDI Front Load compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vincent

VincentMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Stirling 8kg front load washing machine

published

Once I adjusted the balance the machine worked fine. It washes clean.
The shirt cycle is excellent. I am pleased with the number of washing cycles. The spin speeds enable to select for quick drying or minimise creasing with slower speeds. Value for money

Purchased in February 2020 at Churchill Centre Kilburn for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KTP

KTPSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

Best Wash Machine Ever

published

Bought a 8kg front load Black edition wash machine in mid January 2020 for a bargain.
Turned out to be the best wash machine we ever had
.
Only critique: Aldi should consider a delivery option in their bulky items on sale.

Purchased in January 2020 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Thomas

ThomasMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Super washing machine.

published

Great washing results, with all types of fabrics. Love the 8 kg saves a lot on water. Extremely quiet during washing cycle.
The only negative point everything comes out very wrinkled.

Purchased in December 2019 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Max cook

Max cookSouth Australia

  • 18 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great and dose not use a lot of water and it's got the time and everything else

published

Great great great great washing machine and dose not use a lot of water and it's got the time and everything else and catches all the dust from the clothes

Purchased in August 2019 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cheryl

CherylMurray Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great machine

published

Only had this machine a couple of months and absolutely love it. Easy to use, lots of options. Only fault is spin cycle can be a bit loud, but got used to it in a couple of days. Washes just as well as the more expensive ones. Would highly recommend

Purchased in September 2019 at ALDI for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
ALDI
Residentia Group SupportALDI
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Regine

RegineSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not recommendable

published

Used for linen and mixed clothing . Worked at the beginning, but washing ended with wet item, no spin... gentle washing to all item... the circle times are underestimated... after 12 month of purchased the technician has to come first time... two month later the machine shows an error of E33, according to Sterling Manufacture unrepairable... it lasted all up 14 month . Refund received in our account same day...
Product bad, customer service very good...

Purchased in July 2018 at ALDI for $372.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how ALDI Front Load compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
beth ss

beth ssRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good front loader for medium/small loads

published

The 6kg barrel will 'just' wash a large queen sized blanket but not a queen sized quilt unfortunately.
It can wash a load of clothes in 15 minutes which is super helpful for people short of time and can heat up the wash water to 60 degrees for a more through and hygienic wash. Lots of wash cycle options and ability to add a custom wash programmed to your settings.

The spin cycle is quite loud (runs up to 1200 rpm) ,but apart from that and the smaller barrel size, the ALDI warranty guarantee is what sold me on the well priced and modern looking machine. Looks more expensive than the $349 I paid for it and I have no regrets.

Purchased in July 2019 at ALDI for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
ALDI
Residentia Group SupportALDI
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lisha_gal

lisha_galSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 122 reviews
  • 36 likes

Great washing machine. Awesome warranty offered

published

We purchased from aldi. Great machine. Large enough for our family of four. Quick wash cycle works well and I find it easy to use. I had a small issue with the machine and it was repaired in my home in a timely manner and fixed well. Price was great at $499. I would recommend this machine. Excellent A+++

Purchased in May 2014 for $499.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Rubbish

published

Cheap yes but try and get it fixed when it breaks down that's when they palm you off. Error E62 RRR Never heard of that, must be technical. No hot water and over 2 hours to do a wash. Worked fine until about 4 months out of warranty. Not worth fixing even if I could find out what was wrong with it

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great machine

published

I bought a Sterling front end loading washing machine from Aldi in 2009 and cost me half of what the going price was for the front end loaders in the electrical stores. I love it. Cleans the clothes very well. Yes, I have had a couple of problems with it but lets face it, you are going to with any washing machine.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Hardly German Quality

published

A terrible disappointment! Yes it was cheap, and that is about it. It does not wash clothes properly and even on longer cycles, clothes do not look washed at all. Clearly misrepresentation of product. It sells as a washing machine, and performs as a water and power waster. I would have expected more from Aldi as their food is good, but their white goods sometimes miss the mark. This one certainly did. Just a hassle to try to return it again as it is a large object and the service for Stirling white goods is appalling! There is no after sales service. The company is called Tempo and they offer little to no assistance at all.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Natalina W.

Natalina W.asked

No answers
Jodie B.

Jodie B.asked

Stirling 8kg STR-FL80 (Nov 2019)

Could you put 4kg Simpson dryer sitting on top of the 8kg front loader washing machine. Is the washing machine frame strong enough.

1 answer
John E.
John E.

Should be ok if you have an anti vibration mat on top of your washing machine

Noah F

Noah Fasked

Stirling 8kg STR-FL80 (Nov 2019)

Coming up with u4 and the door won’t open anyone know how to fix?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Yes

See all ALDI Front Load questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ALDI Front Load

Details

Compare all 9 ALDI Front Load
CategoryFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $379.00$499.00$499.00$499.00
Capacity7.5 kg7.5 kg7.5 kg7.5 kg
Household Size 2-3 people2-3 people2-3 people2-3 people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating3.5 star(s)4 star(s)
Water Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless SteelStainless Steel
Colour / FinishWhiteWhite
Dimensions 850 x 600 x 615 mm850 x 596 x 600 mm
Motor TypeDirect Drive (Inverter)Direct Drive (Inverter)
Max Spin Speed 1,400 rpm1,200 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds44
Number of Wash Cycles16
Temperature Settings 55
Weight72 kg71 kg
Special Buy Dates
  • 28 Jul 2018
  • 26 Dec 2013
  • 15 Feb 2014
  • 13 Jan 2011
  • 22 Jan 2009
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJuly 2018Dec 2013Jan 2011Jan 2009
Discontinuation dateJuly 2018Feb 2014Jan 2011Jan 2009
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual and manual 2Download manual
Compare all 9 ALDI Front Load

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.