?
? !
7 photos
Subaru Forester S5 2.5i-S

Subaru Forester S5 2.5i-S (2018-2021)

Also referred to as: Subaru Forester S5 2.5i-S 2020 and Subaru Forester S5 2.5i-S 2022.
4.1 from 9 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.1

9 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (6)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (7)
  • Braking
    5.0 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.8 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (5)
  • Handling
    4.8 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (5)
  • Features
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next
Squiggles

SquigglesCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

"IT'S A CHARASTERIC OF THE VEHICLE" - REALLY!!!

published
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Oldsalt

OldsaltMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Car, a few fixable issues that they will not fix?

published

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Oldsalt
Oldsalt
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brendoon

BrendoonPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The extras make it

published

After driving for a month in both city and higher speed have found the Forrester very comfortable. All the extras on the S model make it easy when you get going, auto seat & mirror reset are great. Warning alarms though some may think annoying are just a reminder we are human and make mistakes or misjudgments.

Fuel consumption is good and though driving in the fuel efficient mode has still fast pick up when required. Engine shutdown when stopped saves an amazing amount of fuel. Startup is less than a second so no delays

Room through out is good as have been passenger in front & back ,only thing missing is phone charger but has many USB outlets

Previous car was current model XTrail and Subaru wins hands down.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Brendoon
Brendoon

Subaru team, 7 months on and still love the Forrester, a few little quirks but that’s why every car is upgraded to improve on what is a good car.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S5 2.5i-S compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wes_l

wes_lSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family car

published

So far so good, though we've only had this car about 6 months, it's a fantastic vehicle to drive. No problems with driving in a bit of mud or snow either.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ray

RayMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Dashboard rattle, dealer can’t fix

published

Dashboard is rattling crazily since new and already been to dealer 3 times. They can’t fix it.
When the weather is cold, it make one noise. When it is hot, it make another rattling noise!
Small rock got inside the driver side door panel every time I travel on gravel road!
The dealer removed the rocks but never fix it so rocks still get inside every time!
Passenger seat squeak!
Driver side mirror rattle!

The car drive smooth but all the crackling and rattling noise is driving me crazy!
Build quality on this car is equivalent to something you order from Wish website.
Happy to trade in my 8 months old car now at a lost!
Ohhh it will constantly beeping at you for no reason!

Purchased in September 2019 for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
5 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Ray, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Subaru. Our Customer Relations Team is available on 1800 226 643 or feedback@subaru.com.au if you would like to discuss further. The Subaru Team.

Ray
Ray
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeanette

JeanetteGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very comfortable fabulous safety features,

published

Easy to get in and out of, very comfortable, great colour range, best of all the excellent safety features. Easy to read large infotainment screen. plenty of leg room in the back. Excellent visibility. Love it

Purchased in March 2019 at Subaru Docklands for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Melmain

MelmainPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Incredible value for money

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Evonne

EvonneSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

It is great as a car, but not as a mobile entertaining tool.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Subaru Dealers for $37,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Martin

MartinSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love our new car!

published

True, we are only 5 days into our new Forester 2.51 S but wow! Silky smooth to drive, plenty of power, amazing technology covering everything you could need. Real luxury car feel with soft leather and great finishes. Traded in an xc90 and loving our experience.
Did lots of research before buying looked at xc60, x3, discovery sport (awful reliability), Honda CRV, Mazda X5...the Subaru came out on top for us with plenty of space, awd, latest release and features, great price compared to all the others.
So far so great!

Badge2.5i-S
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
DriveAWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester S5 2.5i-S compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Subaru Forester reviews

Questions & Answers

Grime

Grimeasked

Forester S5 2.5i-S (2018-2021)

I have heard that the latest release coming in last quarter2020 is increasing the tow bar load to 1800kg, has auto door locking and front corner parking assist as standard on the S version.Is this true,should I wait for this release as we like to tow a van and the 1500kg is a bit light on?

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Grime, There is the possibility that there will be changes to the Forester but we do not have any confirmed specs as of yet. Please keep an eye on our website for any new vehicle announcements. The Subaru Team.

See all Subaru Forester questions

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Subaru Forester S5 2.5i-S (2018-2021)

Details

Compare all 18 Subaru Forester
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $47,958
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 63 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power136kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque239Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance220 mm
Release dateSept 2018
Compare all 18 Subaru Forester

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.