12 photos
Honda CR-V

Honda CR-V

RM, RE, RD7, etc...
4.2 from 312 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Honda

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (104)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (102)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (97)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (101)
  • Braking
    4.5 (100)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (100)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (87)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (98)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (104)
  • Handling
    4.4 (101)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (103)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (102)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (103)
  • Features
    4.2 (101)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
HaleyJ1008
HaleyJ1008Great Southern, WA
  • 20 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love it!

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Honda Dealers for $39,131.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jey T
Jey TSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Maintains the Quality offering with a soften 'look'

published

Searched for SUV that is affordable, Quality built with reasonable resale value and the 2021 CR-V came on top of our list. Spacious inside with the standard inclusions. Acceptable power and comfort for a medium size SUV.

Purchased in April 2021 at Honda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
cath
cathdenman
  • 16 reviews
  • 4 likes

A great choice

published

Purchased to replace an ageing captiva. The Honda was being compared with other 5 seater SUV s on the market. We use this as our family car and have 2 young adult children and ageing parents so back seat room was important.
The wider opening rear doors are great.The ride is quiet and smooth.
Excellent fuel economy and leather seat a luxury we can't live without.
Only downside is, like every new vehicle on the market, sooo many bells an whistles.Fortunately in the Honda they are easily disabled if you wish.

Purchased in March 2021 at Honda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Honda CR-V compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Ok, but not what Honda used to be.

published

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Worse car

published

I bought CRV2020 , just within first 2 years it had trouble with electrical fault and oil leaking .
I do book service often by Western highway honda.
I don’t recommend to buy CRV

Purchased in August 2019 for $48,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
David
David

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Joey
JoeyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Back seats leaves little head room, constant whistling noise

published

So far I havr enjoyed my time driving the car however noticed some glaring issues in my first week

1. Constant whisting noise on the passenger side of the car. When I hit 60+ the noise comes. I have doubled checked that the passenger side door is shut. Very annoying

2. The back seats have little to no head room for adults! Is there an aftermarket seat mechanism that gives some more headroom? I am 180cm and just about hit the roof!

Incentivised Review No
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
consumer
consumerMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

A good compromise for a family midsize SUV

published

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Chris
ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great car with a weak air conditioner

published

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
allan
allanPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Satilite Navigation

published

I purchased a 2018 top of the range CRV but am extremely disappointed with the Satilite Navigation system. The system can update on traffic but is way out of date

Purchased in February 2019 at Honda Dealers for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
allan
allan

Thanks, have had one upgrade, was told that all that was available but did not update some of basic map data, streets / locations that have existed for years

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Honda CR-V compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
me&you
me&youGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A few issues

published

I've had this car for 1.5 years and have done 14,000km and I've had a few issues, the head unit went crazy and started doing random phantom button presses, the head unit was replaced.
The tailgate hatch developed loud squeal from the hatch strut that was replaced, the hatch strut was replaced.
About to take the car back due to high fuel consumption 9.8 l/100km, it has never gone below 9.7 even after 800 km of freeway driving and the emergency braking will sometimes slam the brakes on when the cars sees road markings for a bus ahead

Purchased in September 2019 for $42,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wen G.
Wen G.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Too many issues with this car seriously

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
HylandRoad
HylandRoadSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lots of rattles and lots of features removed compared to overseas models

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $44,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Manny
MannyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Winner on Paper but packed with cluster of issues from parts to customer service to overall quality.

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Manny
Manny
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
W Turvey
W TurveySouth East Queensland, QLD

Love It

published

Primarily my commuter car (3days a week), but also great to take the family out on weekends. I love the responsiveness of the engine and the feel of the drive which reminds me more of a sedan than a standard SUV. Can't comment on service as yet as it is under 1 year old but so far everything is ticking along nicely with no servicing needs at all.

Purchased in December 2019 at Westpoint Autos for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

W Turvey, Thank you for taking the opportunity to post your review on your Honda CR-V! We love that the CR-V has adapted so well to your life style with great responsive power. Wishing you many years of great motoring Thanks Kiara

Govind
GovindSydney, NSW

Sensors are not functioning

published

CR-V parking sensors both at the front and rear are not functioning after a year of purchase. Both sensors have gone quiet when parking and one of the rear sensors fell inside because it was not glued well I think. During the first month of service after purchase itself, one of the rear sensors fell off its pocket and the service person fixed it. Parking sensor issues are ongoing for the Honda CR-V I currently own

Purchased in February 2019.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Honda CR-V compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

mwaanga t.
mwaanga t.asked
CR-V RD1 (1997-2001)

Are fuel injector nozzles for Honda CRV DR1 1996 same as those of Honda CRV DR1 1997?

No answers
sammy m.
sammy m.asked
CR-V RD7 (2002-2006)

Honda crv rd7 automatic 4wheel having problems with changing gear, what could be wrong?

No answers
Nick
Nickasked
CR-V

Hi. Would you recommend to buy honda crv vti-L 2015 2.0L . Or it better to avoid and consider 2.4L. Any advice please

No answers
See all Honda CR-V questions

Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Honda CR-V

Details

Features

The CR-V line up starts with the $34,849.00 Vi model, and prices through to the top of the range VTi L7 priced at $48,318.00.

Standard features you’ll find on the base CR-V includes:

  • 17 inch alloy wheels.
  • Apple CarPlay and Android Auto and a 7 inch infotainment display.
  • Reversing camera.
  • Dual-zone climate control.
  • USB ports.
  • 522L of boot space, total boot space of 1084L.

You have a choice of two engines:

  • 113kW, 189Nm naturally aspirated petrol four cylinder.
  • 140kW, 240Nm turbocharged petrol four cylinder.

And, you have a choice of just 2WD or 4WD drivetrains.

Points of Praise:

  • Comfortable to drive, as well as to ride in as a passenger.
  • Good fuel consumption.
  • Reliable with long service intervals of 10,000kms between services.
  • A responsive engine, which helps getting the CR-V up to speed and out of tight corners.
  • Rear seats fold flat, which meant one of our reviews found it easy to transport a full kitchen set from IKEA.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

Honda took home the 2021 Award for its CR-V SUV. Our reviewers reported on how they favour the CR-V’s responsive motor, modest fuel consumption, interior and exterior design.

Compare all 12 Honda CR-V
Honda CR-V RW Vi
  • Award Winner 2021

Honda CR-V RW Vi (2017-2021)

4.0
(5)
Honda CR-V RW VTi
  • Award Winner 2021

Honda CR-V RW VTi (2017-2021)

4.8
(28)
Honda CR-V RW VTi-E
  • Award Winner 2021

Honda CR-V RW VTi-E (2017-2021)

4.8
(4)
Honda CR-V RW VTi-L
  • Award Winner 2021

Honda CR-V RW VTi-L (2017-2021)

4.0
(18)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $30,990$33,590$34,490$38,990
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.6 L/100km7 L/100km7.3 L/100km7.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 57 L57 L57 L57 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power113kW @ 6500rpm140kW @ 5600rpm140kW @ 5600rpm140kW @ 5600rpm
Max Torque189Nm @ 4300rpm240Nm @ 2000-5000rpm240Nm @ 2000-5000rpm240Nm @ 2000-5000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,000 kg1,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)600 kg600 kg600 kg600 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 12 Honda CR-V
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next
See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.