??!
11 photos
Honda CR-V

Honda CR-V

RM, RE, RD7, etc...
4.2 from 305 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (98)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (96)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (91)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (95)
  • Braking
    4.6 (94)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (94)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (81)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (92)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (98)
  • Handling
    4.5 (96)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (97)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (96)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (97)
  • Features
    4.2 (95)
Previous
Next
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car with a weak air conditioner

published

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
allan

allanPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Satilite Navigation

published

I purchased a 2018 top of the range CRV but am extremely disappointed with the Satilite Navigation system. The system can update on traffic but is way out of date

Purchased in February 2019 at Honda Dealers for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
allan
allan

Thanks, have had one upgrade, was told that all that was available but did not update some of basic map data, streets / locations that have existed for years

me&you

me&youGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

A few issues

published

I've had this car for 1.5 years and have done 14,000km and I've had a few issues, the head unit went crazy and started doing random phantom button presses, the head unit was replaced.
The tailgate hatch developed loud squeal from the hatch strut that was replaced, the hatch strut was replaced.
About to take the car back due to high fuel consumption 9.8 l/100km, it has never gone below 9.7 even after 800 km of freeway driving and the emergency braking will sometimes slam the brakes on when the cars sees road markings for a bus ahead

Purchased in September 2019 for $42,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Honda CR-V compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wen G.

Wen G.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Too many issues with this car seriously

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
HylandRoad

HylandRoadSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lots of rattles and lots of features removed compared to overseas models

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $44,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Manny

MannyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Winner on Paper but packed with cluster of issues from parts to customer service to overall quality.

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Manny
Manny
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
W Turvey

W TurveySouth East Queensland, QLD

Love It

published

Primarily my commuter car (3days a week), but also great to take the family out on weekends. I love the responsiveness of the engine and the feel of the drive which reminds me more of a sedan than a standard SUV. Can't comment on service as yet as it is under 1 year old but so far everything is ticking along nicely with no servicing needs at all.

Purchased in December 2019 at Westpoint Autos for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

W Turvey, Thank you for taking the opportunity to post your review on your Honda CR-V! We love that the CR-V has adapted so well to your life style with great responsive power. Wishing you many years of great motoring Thanks Kiara

Govind

GovindSydney, NSW

Sensors are not functioning

published

CR-V parking sensors both at the front and rear are not functioning after a year of purchase. Both sensors have gone quiet when parking and one of the rear sensors fell inside because it was not glued well I think. During the first month of service after purchase itself, one of the rear sensors fell off its pocket and the service person fixed it. Parking sensor issues are ongoing for the Honda CR-V I currently own

Purchased in February 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Sandra E

Sandra EMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • CR-V
  • Verified purchase

Love this car.

published

I bought this car to travel upon retirement.i did 17,000 kms the first 6 months throughout central Australia.it ran perfectly,good fuel consumption,and everything worked as it should.
I had no need for the roadside assist at all,I did stay mostly on sealed roads,however at times left for unsealed roads.
I use the car almost daily in the city ,for my needs and to help move grandchildren around.
The car is now 12 months,had all its scheduled services With no issues found.
Love this car

Purchased in July 2019 at Dave potter honda for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Honda CR-V compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love this car so much

published

We drive this car daily. We use it around town as well as take it on trips. It is comfortable to drive as well as ride in as a passenger. It is serviced every time it is due and apart from a recent minor recall,we have never had a problem with it.

Purchased in February 2019 at Honda Dealers for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Thanks for the time in posting your review on your CR-V Patrick. We are so happy you love your vehicle, comfort on daily commuting is so important when deciding on a vehicle of choice! Wishing you many years of happy motoring, thanks Kiara

Tanya scott

Tanya scottQueensland

Welcoming outstanding sevice

published

To and fro for work on road 30 km everyday
6 days a week
Every 10,000 k no problems ,all good excellent, tyres good Ladies so nice and helpful happy in all with my car and the service

Purchased in January 2020 at Townsville honda.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jan

JanPerth, WA

Very impressed

published

Family and general home servicing.holidays.health Used every day. Every 10000 kms. Could do with lane assist on the right side and gps speed indicator on the gps screen Good turning circle

Purchased in February 2020 at Burswood Honda for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Jan
Jan

Is it possible to put another camera on the right hand side?

Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Hi Jan, No sorry, lane assist is not an option for right hand side, as majority of drivers are able to use the side mirror or head check. We acknowledge however, your feedback on the option of both side of the vehicle. All the best, Kiara

Veronica A.

Veronica A.Lyneham 2602, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Love this car! Nice to drive, nice internal finishes and design. Amazing interior space!

published

I use it everyday for work, shopping, picking kids from school, camping, interstate travel. Nice exterior and interior design, plenty of leg room for tall people in front and rear seats. Really love it and highly recommend it. Our family has two CRV’s, I have the CRV Vti and my husband has the AWD ( different colours lol!)
We love the cars, we find them good value for money for a Japanese brand.

We bought a full kitchen in IKEA and it fitted perfectly in one CVR , the back seat fold down completely flat! The magic seats only Honda has!
Thank you very much

Very happy with our CRVs!!

  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Rolfe Honda .

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Vic

VicMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

All round good car

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Vic
Vic
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

We appreciate your response Vic, I will be sure to pass a copy of your comments for review internally. Regards Kiara

Wandi653

Wandi653Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great car / good service

published

Great family run around - used daily both long & short distance trips @ around 25k per year - economical for size of vehicle - Serviced regularly according to log book with Honda dealership - around 50k so far

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Honda CR-V compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Driving Good Fuel Terrible

published

Drive to work go visit family and friends going out to places on weekends. We use the car every day. We service the car when it’s due the mechanic says it’s in good working order the only thing I do not like about this car it’s a petrol guzzler.

Purchased in December 2019 at Honda Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Lisa

LisaSydney, NSW

THIS IS PERFECT. GREAT drive.

published

Commuting to work, service after school such as nanny work and leisure transportation.
I use the car daily. I have only had the car serviced once for the complimentary service for a new car. No issues with the car at this point.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
sugi

sugiSydney, NSW

It's good but it's still not perfect

published

I used it for working and family transportation every day, we services as manufacture plan or every 10000 kms as it's still new we are waiting to service for 10000 km to see what the Honda mechanic says.

Purchased in January 2008 at Toyota Dealers for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Hi Sugi, Thanks for your post on your Honda CR-V. It is great to hear with commuting daily and transporting the family, you find the CR-V a great car. Wishing you many more years of happy motoring. Thanks Kiara

M turps

M turpsGoulburn Valley, VIC

Love it best car ever

published

Great family car that handles like a dream, it goes on all kinds of roads surfaces and handles great. It gets serviced ever 10000 km, never skipped a beat, would buy another in a heart beat.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Tim L Bendigo

Tim L BendigoCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Love our CR-V

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Tim L Bendigo
Tim L Bendigo

Getting it looked at next week whilst they fix the Recall on the fuel pump

Page 1 of 16

Questions & Answers

David M.

David M.asked

CR-V

I've just sold my 2016 CR-V VTi Limited edition 2.4l which I loved, so I'm now in the market for a new vehicle.
I'm considering the 2020 CR-V VTi X MY21 with the 1.5 turbo but I'm reading lots of reviews about engine problems , vibrations, oil dilution.
Honda dealer said the issue is only in USA but it is the same engine.
Has anyone had any issues with this vehicle.

1 answer
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Hi David, Thanks for your post on your Honda 2016 CR-V, we are pleased to hear on how much you loved your vehicle. In reference to the oil dilution concern, we would like to offer the following advice;

We have received advice from Honda Motor Japan that last year Honda China issued a local recall action for the CR-V Turbo model manufactured in China. The recall addresses an issue that develops when the vehicle is driven for short distances in very cold environments (such as minus -20c) and the engine does not have time to sufficiently warm up. Under these conditions, the result is that fuel can enter the engine and mix with the engine oil. Please be assured Honda Australia has not received any reports of this condition in this country and in particular, we do not experience such extreme climate conditions in this country. If you have an opportunity, perhaps look at some of the positive reviews that our customers have posted on their CR-V purchase. We hope to have you return to the family.
Thanks Kiara

Milord

Milordasked

CR-V

We have the current generation Honda CRV, topping range with a panoramic roof but only with Apple Car-play, so no Android-auto.

The issue I have is that every day, hot or cold, no matter what time of day; the car's brakes squeal? Has any one experienced this with theirs?

We have complained about this to Honda and they say after each and every service, they have not found this problem. I have also noticed some strange noises with the steering column.

Thanks in advance.

1 answer
Sandra E
Sandra E

No I have never had this issue and also connects to either android or apple.good luck squeaking noises are very irritating

Jashi T.

Jashi T.asked

CR-V

Has anyone have their fuel tank leaked mine is leaking under the car talked to dealer getting towed on Monday.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Details

Features

The CR-V line up starts with the $34,849.00 Vi model, and prices through to the top of the range VTi L7 priced at $48,318.00.

Standard features you’ll find on the base CR-V includes:

  • 17 inch alloy wheels.
  • Apple CarPlay and Android Auto and a 7 inch infotainment display.
  • Reversing camera.
  • Dual-zone climate control.
  • USB ports.
  • 522L of boot space, total boot space of 1084L.

You have a choice of two engines:

  • 113kW, 189Nm naturally aspirated petrol four cylinder.
  • 140kW, 240Nm turbocharged petrol four cylinder.

And, you have a choice of just 2WD or 4WD drivetrains.

Points of Praise:

  • Comfortable to drive, as well as to ride in as a passenger.
  • Good fuel consumption.
  • Reliable with long service intervals of 10,000kms between services.
  • A responsive engine, which helps getting the CR-V up to speed and out of tight corners.
  • Rear seats fold flat, which meant one of our reviews found it easy to transport a full kitchen set from IKEA.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

Honda took home the 2021 Award for its CR-V SUV. Our reviewers reported on how they favour the CR-V’s responsive motor, modest fuel consumption, interior and exterior design.

Compare all 11 Honda CR-V
Honda CR-V RW Vi
  • Award Winner 2021

Honda CR-V RW Vi (2017-2021)

4.0
(5)
Honda CR-V RW VTi
  • Award Winner 2021

Honda CR-V RW VTi (2017-2021)

4.8
(28)
Honda CR-V RW VTi-E
  • Award Winner 2021

Honda CR-V RW VTi-E (2017-2021)

4.8
(4)
Honda CR-V RW VTi-L
  • Award Winner 2021

Honda CR-V RW VTi-L (2017-2021)

4.0
(15)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $30,990$33,590$34,490$38,990
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.6 L/100km7 L/100km7.3 L/100km7.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 57 L57 L57 L57 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 1.5L
Max Power113kW @ 6500rpm140kW @ 5600rpm140kW @ 5600rpm140kW @ 5600rpm
Max Torque189Nm @ 4300rpm240Nm @ 2000-5000rpm240Nm @ 2000-5000rpm240Nm @ 2000-5000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Safety Features
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,000 kg1,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)600 kg600 kg600 kg600 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 11 Honda CR-V

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.