??!
7 photos
Subaru XV

Subaru XV

G4X, G5X
3.6 from 134 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
49
4 star
35
3 star
15
2 star
14
1 star
21

vrxbeachboy

vrxbeachboy

  • 16 reviews

Important Features I did not realise before my purchase. I thought Subarus Were better.

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Suttons for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Peter H.

Peter H.South East Queensland, QLD

Failure

published

We bought a XV in 2013 for wife and have since sold to daughter after we purchased another XV (2018) believing we had a good run with first one. We did all the servicing at the dealership then at approx 140000km the problems started. Using oil, sensor issues and CTV failure. Americans have two of these issues fully repaired under warranty and/or court order but not here. Subaru have offered to pay for 80% parts but no labour for CTV problem. The engine oil use is of more concern as this could end up costing a whole lot more for a problem that i'm told they where aware of (and repaired under warranty in America).
Buyer beware!!!!

Purchased in December 2012 for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Another CVT Transmission Failure

published
BoughtNew
Year2013
Itempany

ItempanyFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Ancap 4 well worth it

published

Purchased in January 2015 at Subaru Dealers for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Buckwheat

BuckwheatPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good car - goes anywhere with a small boot.....

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Warren

WarrenMacArthur 2904, ACT

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Quality and safety excellence

published

Have always loved Subaru and purchased new in May 2018, this car doesn't disappoint. Has all the bells and whistles that make it easy to drive. Lots of safety features. It is not speedy car but is excellent for around town driving and comfortable on the highway. Really good fuel economy as well.

Purchased in May 2018 at Subaru Dealers for $36,500.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018

Ok but not great!

published

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jane M.

Jane M.The Mallee, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Extremely Impressed!

published

I had never owned a Subaru before and cannot be happier with my purchase, I'm so impressed! The price point is amazing for all the features. We test drove other makes and models with the same features we were looking for but they couldn't beat or even come close to the price of the XV. Love Love Love my Subaru!!

Purchased in May 2018 at Innes Motors for $41,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Scotty74

Scotty74South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this car

published

After driving so many SUV vehicles and weighing up vehicle features, cost and best value for money the XV wins hands down. We purchased the top of the range for under $40,000 fitted with tow bar, roof racks, floor mats, alloy pedals and a few other accessories. It’s fitted with all the tech you’d find on vehicles worth $60,000. Do yourself a favour, take it for a drive and you leave the dealership with a contract signed for purchase. I am a Subaru convert and it will be hard to get me away from being a brand loyalist

Purchased in July 2018 at Key star Subaru Rothwell for $37,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Please think carefully before buying this car!

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

sweetsunset

sweetsunsetSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Excellent response CTV failure on XV Subaru from Subaru

published

Recently wrote about failure on the CTV on my XV Subaru with 135000 kms on the clock. Apparently this is not unusual after further investigation on my part. However Subaru have agreed to replace the failed part at their cost. Certainly worth asking the question.

Purchased in December 2014.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)

CM

CMSydney

  • 5 reviews

2018 XV disappearing phone favourites- now fixed

published

I wrote about this previously some time last year on my 2018 XV
Whenever I saved phone favourites on the head unit they would disappear the next day!
I have just downloaded and self installed the latest 2019 software and navigation update which was released 17 June 2019
The first test to see if Subaru have fixed this issue.Happy to advise that it now works perfectly and the phone favourites stay in the head unit contacts.
Much easier ,and safer now to make a call touching favourites instead of scrolling through the contact list while trying to keep your eyes on road!

Purchased in August 2018.


Suzanne Gaffney

Suzanne GaffneySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

CTV Transmission failure - again

published

Bought a brand new Subaru XV in 2014, have it serviced regularly and female driver. Suddenly after 135,000kms the dashboard lights up like a Christmas tree. After taking it to the local Subaru dealer was told CTV (Continuous Transmission Variable) would need to be replaced as a cost of $5000 , however they are seeking some relief from Subaru Japan. In the meantime turned on social media to find that it is an ongoing problem with the transmission and Subaru are very familiar with the issues surrounding the technology. Have refused to do a recall and leave their brand in tatters and the owners looking elsewhere for a different car. Be very wary when SUV shopping - stay away from Subaru

Purchased in December 2014 at Tynan Motors.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
1 comment
Suzanne Gaffney
Suzanne Gaffney

Since posting my review, Subaru have agreed to replace the Transmission at their cost and the job has been completed successfully.


Simon D

Simon DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for small family or single people

published

I use this car for daily transport to locations and road trips but not off roads too much. The car is very comfortable, the seat are well put together so sitting for long period of times does not impact your body as much as other cars. It is also very fuel efficient if you drive long distance and smooth, you don't feel the car switching gears or hear any sounds as it is quiet.

Only down side to this is boot space, it doesn't have enough space to fit more than 2-3 peoples worth of luggage depending on how much you bring as it got compensated for bigger room space for the people in the back seat

Purchased in January 2015 at Subaru Dealers for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Janelle

JanelleIllawarra, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great little car

published

I needed a high wheel base vehicle. I bought a demo model that had all the safety tech. It is a smooth ride, my dad loves it, even my Euro car fan beloved loves it. I would like a little better fuel efficiency and the Carplay only works intermittently but otherwise I really like this car. Never had anything so new and hi tech!

Purchased in October 2018 for $34,800.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Donna G

Donna GSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great driving

published

New to Subaru, great driving so far, however, very new so no apparent issues currently. Would like to see automatic lock feature, always appreciated that in my previous car. Only local driving to date, used for business, planning a small road trip to test more features.

Purchased in April 2019 at Von Bibra.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Lini

LiniSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great buy

published

I commute to work and drive close to 100kms a day. Smooth drive and love its intelligent cruise control. Not a great fan of the lane assist due to the fact that it only detects solid lines on the road. Very very fuel efficient.

Purchased in January 2019 for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Thought Subaru was a good car

published

We purchased ourXV brand new in 2013 and has been a good car till the oil burning issue became aware to us when the oil light came on 2000k before the service ! Then came the left CV failing at 120k now for the big one the CTV has failed at 180k
This car has always had log book service
Used everyday commuting to work by my Wife
I had a 2001 Subaru Outback before it did over 300k and only thing that I replaced was the front CV’s at 280k
I would not recommend a new generation Subaru

Purchased in November 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

saigon

saigonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 13 likes

Jerking transmission. Be Warned!

published

Bought Subaru XV 2013 brand new. The first issue I want to address is the jerking of the transmission at low speed as many XV owners have experienced, I informed Subaru within the warranty period and was told it's the car's characteristic. I just can believe 5 years later Subaru still have not sorted it out.

Other issues include noisy engine, very high rev when engine is cool/cold, aircon kicks in and out even when the outside temperature is 2 degree. I reported the issues with Subaru Dockland and was told they are characteristics of the car

I just hate driving this car, I would not recommend anyone to buy this car.

Purchased in February 2013 at Subaru Dockland for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

JDP

JDP

  • 7 reviews

Great car, bit small for a family

published

Great car, moves well. Nice to drive unless hill assist is on then very sluggish. Pity it doesn't come in turbo diesel. Auto cruise control is great. Crash assist sometimes pulls the car up unessecary which can be frustrating

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Ash

Ashasked

Hi Im looking to buy a Subaru XV 2.0i-S G4X. 2014, 60,000kms. Are they good reliable cars.

3 answers
Peter H.
Peter H.

Hi Ash, I would advise to do a google search as they are having some issues with transmission. We love our xv's and have recently bought another for wife (daughter has old one) and Subaru has help repaired our transmission on older xv 2012. My only beef is that The Americans have received full warranty (10 years 160km) for these problems and we haven't in Australia. Do some searches mate

Ash
Ash

Hi Peter,
Will do, Thank you for taking the time to respond.

sweetsunset
sweetsunset

seems to be the 2010 to 2016 models are the duds. They have updated the technology in later models (so I'm told) I had problems with the transmission and had have a part replaced to do with the ATS system and now the CV joints are playing up. On reading online I am not the only one,


Michelle B.

Michelle B.asked

Loud clicking noise coming from my passenger front wheel when I steer right. What is it subaru xv my 2016

No answers

Toni W.

Toni W.asked

Removing the key from the ignition when I have parked. Key is now not releasing without a struggle. ?? Anyone else have this problem, It's only started happening in the past week with no apparent reason. Car is firmly in Park but key still not pulling out of the ignition.. ??

3 answers
Tom
Tom

Yes, the same problem has just occurred in our XV (2012) - very frustrating. No solution yet - going to pursue it this week.!

Leanne J
Leanne J

Yes, same problem XV 2016, that was two weeks ago and on the weekend can't put the car in Reverse or Park, stuck in Neutral and Drive, needs a screw driver into the shift area and push down to get the car into Reverse or Park (RACV helped out here). Towed away this morning to find out what is happening as no indicators as well.

Leanne J
Leanne J

Still at Subaru being repaired one and half weeks later, replacing different area's but still have not come up with a reason and I haven't heard from them since last week. Car has only 22000 kms on clock and no service car replacement, we are having to plan our work travel commitments, sport, shopping for two with one car left to share.


Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.