??!
7 photos
Subaru XV

Subaru XV

G4X, G5X
3.6 from 139 reviews

Reviews

3.6

139 reviews
5
(51)
4
(36)
3
(15)
2
(14)
1
(23)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (25)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (21)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (25)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (22)
  • Handling
    4.2 (22)
  • Braking
    4.7 (22)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (21)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (22)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (21)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (22)
  • Features
    4.1 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (22)
Previous
Next
racered

raceredSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Cold start issue

published

Great car.. owned 6 yrs since new... never had an issue .. only just replaced the battery... last 2 months it has on a cold start, started, then stuttered and almost stalled, then within 1or 2 seconds revs increse back to normal.. has 60000km on it.. 2014 model... wondering if it is fuel injectors needing a service...due for a car service soon...

Purchased in February 2014 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
Peterrob

PeterrobSouth East Queensland, QLD

OK, but...

published

Bought the XV new from local dealer July 2019. Test drove their demo model first, couldn't find any faults. BUT, my car has what seems to be typical Subaru CVT issues. If there was such a thing as kangaroo petrol, I've got it. The car very quickly exhibited jerky acceleration, would shudder when going around 60kmh. Took it back to the dealer, who told me it will settle down. Wrote to Subaru who deftly shunted me sideways to the dealer, whose last words to me were 'drive it hard'. Now the behaviour has shifted to not so subtle roughness when accelerating, so still faulty. It's a real shame, because otherwise it's not bad a s a compact SUV. Total travelled is 7K. I drive our other car in preference to the XV. Won't repeat hit purchase.

Purchased in July 2019 for A$39,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Raj

RajSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great car, Subaru is excellent

published

Good car, drives well . Commuting to and fro from work, occasional weekend use. Good driving position and technology has been updated for car play. Recommend as Subaru has less breakdowns in the long run

Purchased in June 2019 at Subaru Dealers for A$40,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Subaru XV compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
tan l.

tan l.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Subaru XV 2012 - CVT Transmission issue and will cost $10000 to replace

published

I took my Subaru XV 2012 for a checkup due to abnormal noises under the bonnet and was told that I needed a new transmission. It was going to cost me $10,000. I thought that Subaru cars were reliable, but unfortunately I was very wrong. It was reliable in the past, but not in this current market. The USA Subaru offers extended warranties on 1.5 million automatic transmissions, but the Australian Subaru doesn't. I think that this is very sad. I definitely will never buy another car from Subaru again.

Purchased in March 2012 at Subaru Dealers for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2012
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
disappointed

disappointedDarling Downs, QLD

  • 3 reviews

transmission fails at 120,000kms

published

Subaru XV all warning lights came on. tracked to a failed solenoid in autotransmission. car 2013 model but only done 120,000kms and serviced religiously. car used around town with regular long distance driving. hoped to have this car for 20 years but this is the second issue with car {last was wheel bearings one week after a Subaru service}. is going to cost over $4,000 to fix.

Purchased in December 2012 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
vrxbeachboy

vrxbeachboy

  • 18 reviews

Important Features I did not realise before my purchase. I thought Subarus Were better.

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Suttons for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @vrxbeachboy, were so sorry to hear you had a bad experience when purchasing your XV. Please be assured that your feedback is appreciated, and we will be sure to pass it on to our Product and Planning team. Thank you.

Peter H.

Peter H.South East Queensland, QLD

Failure

published

We bought a XV in 2013 for wife and have since sold to daughter after we purchased another XV (2018) believing we had a good run with first one. We did all the servicing at the dealership then at approx 140000km the problems started. Using oil, sensor issues and CTV failure. Americans have two of these issues fully repaired under warranty and/or court order but not here. Subaru have offered to pay for 80% parts but no labour for CTV problem. The engine oil use is of more concern as this could end up costing a whole lot more for a problem that i'm told they where aware of (and repaired under warranty in America).
Buyer beware!!!!

Purchased in December 2012 for A$29,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Another CVT Transmission Failure

published
BoughtNew
Year2013
3 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Martin
Martin
Martin
Martin
Itempany

ItempanyFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Ancap 4 well worth it

published

Purchased in January 2015 at Subaru Dealers for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Subaru XV compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Buckwheat

BuckwheatPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car - goes anywhere with a small boot.....

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
4 comments
Buckwheat
Buckwheat
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Buckwheat
Buckwheat
Warren

WarrenMacArthur 2904, ACT

  • 8 reviews
  • XV
  • Verified purchase

Quality and safety excellence

published

Have always loved Subaru and purchased new in May 2018, this car doesn't disappoint. Has all the bells and whistles that make it easy to drive. Lots of safety features. It is not speedy car but is excellent for around town driving and comfortable on the highway. Really good fuel economy as well.

Purchased in May 2018 at Subaru Dealers for A$36,500.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018

Ok but not great!

published

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jane M.

Jane M.The Mallee, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Extremely Impressed!

published

I had never owned a Subaru before and cannot be happier with my purchase, I'm so impressed! The price point is amazing for all the features. We test drove other makes and models with the same features we were looking for but they couldn't beat or even come close to the price of the XV. Love Love Love my Subaru!!

Purchased in May 2018 at Innes Motors for A$41,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Scotty74

Scotty74South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Love this car

published

After driving so many SUV vehicles and weighing up vehicle features, cost and best value for money the XV wins hands down. We purchased the top of the range for under $40,000 fitted with tow bar, roof racks, floor mats, alloy pedals and a few other accessories. It’s fitted with all the tech you’d find on vehicles worth $60,000. Do yourself a favour, take it for a drive and you leave the dealership with a contract signed for purchase. I am a Subaru convert and it will be hard to get me away from being a brand loyalist

Purchased in July 2018 at Key star Subaru Rothwell for A$37,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Please think carefully before buying this car!

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Subaru XV compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sweetsunset

sweetsunsetSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Excellent response CTV failure on XV Subaru from Subaru

published

Recently wrote about failure on the CTV on my XV Subaru with 135000 kms on the clock. Apparently this is not unusual after further investigation on my part. However Subaru have agreed to replace the failed part at their cost. Certainly worth asking the question.

Purchased in December 2014.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
CM

CMSydney

  • 5 reviews

2018 XV disappearing phone favourites- now fixed

published

I wrote about this previously some time last year on my 2018 XV
Whenever I saved phone favourites on the head unit they would disappear the next day!
I have just downloaded and self installed the latest 2019 software and navigation update which was released 17 June 2019
The first test to see if Subaru have fixed this issue.Happy to advise that it now works perfectly and the phone favourites stay in the head unit contacts.
Much easier ,and safer now to make a call touching favourites instead of scrolling through the contact list while trying to keep your eyes on road!

Purchased in August 2018.

Suzanne Gaffney

Suzanne GaffneySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

CTV Transmission failure - again

published

Bought a brand new Subaru XV in 2014, have it serviced regularly and female driver. Suddenly after 135,000kms the dashboard lights up like a Christmas tree. After taking it to the local Subaru dealer was told CTV (Continuous Transmission Variable) would need to be replaced as a cost of $5000 , however they are seeking some relief from Subaru Japan. In the meantime turned on social media to find that it is an ongoing problem with the transmission and Subaru are very familiar with the issues surrounding the technology. Have refused to do a recall and leave their brand in tatters and the owners looking elsewhere for a different car. Be very wary when SUV shopping - stay away from Subaru

Purchased in December 2014 at Tynan Motors.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
1 comment
Suzanne Gaffney
Suzanne Gaffney

Since posting my review, Subaru have agreed to replace the Transmission at their cost and the job has been completed successfully.

Simon D

Simon DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for small family or single people

published

I use this car for daily transport to locations and road trips but not off roads too much. The car is very comfortable, the seat are well put together so sitting for long period of times does not impact your body as much as other cars. It is also very fuel efficient if you drive long distance and smooth, you don't feel the car switching gears or hear any sounds as it is quiet.

Only down side to this is boot space, it doesn't have enough space to fit more than 2-3 peoples worth of luggage depending on how much you bring as it got compensated for bigger room space for the people in the back seat

Purchased in January 2015 at Subaru Dealers for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Janelle

JanelleIllawarra, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Great little car

published

I needed a high wheel base vehicle. I bought a demo model that had all the safety tech. It is a smooth ride, my dad loves it, even my Euro car fan beloved loves it. I would like a little better fuel efficiency and the Carplay only works intermittently but otherwise I really like this car. Never had anything so new and hi tech!

Purchased in October 2018 for A$34,800.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Ash

Ashasked

XV

Hi Im looking to buy a Subaru XV 2.0i-S G4X. 2014, 60,000kms. Are they good reliable cars.

5 answers
Peter H.
Peter H.

Hi Ash, I would advise to do a google search as they are having some issues with transmission. We love our xv's and have recently bought another for wife (daughter has old one) and Subaru has help repaired our transmission on older xv 2012. My only beef is that The Americans have received full warranty (10 years 160km) for these problems and we haven't in Australia. Do some searches mate

Ash
Ash

Hi Peter,
Will do, Thank you for taking the time to respond.

sweetsunset
sweetsunset

seems to be the 2010 to 2016 models are the duds. They have updated the technology in later models (so I'm told) I had problems with the transmission and had have a part replaced to do with the ATS system and now the CV joints are playing up. On reading online I am not the only one,

Michelle B.

Michelle B.asked

XV

Loud clicking noise coming from my passenger front wheel when I steer right. What is it subaru xv my 2016

No answers
Toni W.

Toni W.asked

XV

Removing the key from the ignition when I have parked. Key is now not releasing without a struggle. ?? Anyone else have this problem, It's only started happening in the past week with no apparent reason. Car is firmly in Park but key still not pulling out of the ignition.. ??

6 answers
Tom
Tom

Yes, the same problem has just occurred in our XV (2012) - very frustrating. No solution yet - going to pursue it this week.!

Leanne J
Leanne J

Yes, same problem XV 2016, that was two weeks ago and on the weekend can't put the car in Reverse or Park, stuck in Neutral and Drive, needs a screw driver into the shift area and push down to get the car into Reverse or Park (RACV helped out here). Towed away this morning to find out what is happening as no indicators as well.

Leanne J
Leanne J

Still at Subaru being repaired one and half weeks later, replacing different area's but still have not come up with a reason and I haven't heard from them since last week. Car has only 22000 kms on clock and no service car replacement, we are having to plan our work travel commitments, sport, shopping for two with one car left to share.

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.