??!
2 photos
Sunbeam Big Fill Toastie GR6250

Sunbeam Big Fill Toastie GR6250

MPN: GR6250
3.0 from 19 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
5
1 star
5

ibfragalot

ibfragalotVictoria

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

PERFECT - No mess, cuts, cleans easy, crispy cheese.

published

1. Effortlessly cuts your sandwitches in half
2. NO small areas for cheese to get stuck (this is by far the best feature!)
3. NO spillage. Using normal bread, there was plenty of room for cheese to squirt out and bake crisp, so no mess created.
4. True Non-Stick. First time at least, everything including baked cheese lifted off without effort.
5. Seems well built. I have no idea how someone broke theirs, must have been forcing incredibly hard.

My sandwitch isn't soggy, and I put LOADS of butter top and bottom of every piece.

I'm using cheap white bread with kraft singles style cheese - of course, the gold standard!

Whoever at Sunbeam designed this - well done!

Purchased in August 2019 at Amazon for $59.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi ibfragalot
Thank you for the fantastic review. This unit is one of our best sellers and it so easy to use. Kind Regards, Sunbeam


jkefa

jkefaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 34 reviews
  • 5 likes

Makes toasties...nothing special but that's why we bought it

published

Purchased at Big w .

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi jkefa
Thank you for the great review!. Your points and advice have been passed onto our product manager. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Brad M.

Brad M.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Terribly disappointed

published

Terrible product , should have read reviews here first but I trusted the sunbeam brand. Does not toast sandwiches they end up soggy no matter how long I let it preheat for.

Purchased in March 2019 at Big W for $39.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Brad M.
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. So sorry to hear of this. Please return this to Big W with your purchase receipt for a replacement. Kind Regards, Sunbeam.

djerry

djerryCentral, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great & easy to clean

published

This toastie is so easy to clean after use. I hated using my old one as the food would stick, but this one is easy to wipe clean. It toasts our sandwiches fine, but I find it doesn't cut the sandwiches very well across the diagonal like the old one did. I have to use a knife on the cutting board after cooking to cut.

Purchased in June 2019 for $39.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi djerry,
Thanks for the great review!
Kind Regards Sunbeam


Kaye

KayePerth

Very disappointed too

published

I totally agree with the review from "So bad I returned it". Exactly the same experience with this product. Did not cook and turn it into a toasted sandwich. Have had so many Sunbeam products over the years and this is the worse. Had toaster sandwich makers before. This definitely left the sandwiches soft n soggy. I also bought mine from Big W. Will take it back tomorrow and look for another brand.

Purchased in November 2018 at Big W.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Kaye,
Thank you for your review. Please be assured I will pass this onto our product team for valuable feedback. Kind regards, Sunbeam


Bree

Bree

  • 23 reviews
  • 10 likes

So bad I returned it

published

I'm really disappointed to say how bad this was. This machine doesn't 'toast' sandwiches, it steams them. I gave it a few good go's on the off chance it would somehow improve. Last straw was my steak and cheese sandwich that fell to soggy pieces as I tried to lift it out of the toastie maker. I returned it quick smart and was grateful for big w's great return policy as I had thrown away the receipt. I like the brand...I have a toaster that is still going strong after 18 years so I know they can do better, but was surprisingly disappointed with this purchase.

Purchased in March 2019 at Big W for $36.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Bree,
So sorry to hear of this and please be assured I will be passing this onto our product team. Kind Regards,
Sunbeam


Blake73763

Blake73763

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Does not get hot enough. Leaves bread soggy

published

Had this a year or two and finally gave it to vinnies. Just didn’t get hot enough and seemed to shut itself off before sambo crispy. Bought breville normal size and I’m loving toasties again. Now adding words in an attempt to reach fifty. Forty six, forty eight, now fifty

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Michael R

Michael RCentral West, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great toasties, but seriously flawed design

published

We love this machine, it makes great sandwiches, but needs a re-design........It is the second unit we have owned & unfortunately, the plastic handles are not up to the rigors of compacting the sandwich.
In both cases the handles have shattered when pressing down the sandwich, I suspect the plastic gets brittle with the heat of the element!
It is clear that the problem is deep-set, as we have been especially careful since the last handle broke, this unit has only lasted 4 months! - they really should use the same metal handle as they use in their Cafe press, it is metal!!!!!
A sad review, as we love all the other features & it always produces a great yummy sandwich!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Michael. Thanks for your feedback! We have sent you a private message.

martind57

martind57Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 33 reviews
  • 19 likes

OK when it works

published

Coming up to 12 months and have now had our second toastie maker fail! First one lasted six months then blew up in spectacular fashion with sparks and smoke. Was replaced under warranty and the second one broke several days before the anniversary of initial purchase with a failed clip on the handle which locks it closed. It makes fine toasties but there are some very serious problems with quality control at Sunbeam when a device only lasts for 10 or 12 uses.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi martind57, please contact us on 1300 881 861 so we can try to assist you furhter

  • Verified purchase

Doesn’t cook properly

published

I bought this maker 2 weeks ago. It heats fast, seals the edges BUT it doesn’t brown the bread, it’s like eating a soggy piece of toast, was so excited to get this at a good price, but now I’m disappointed with it. I will probably take it back for a refund.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Joanne. Depending on what ingredients you are filling the toastie with, as well as the amount of ingredients, you will see different results. Try reducing the amount of ingredients for a better result.


Stuart

Stuart

  • 8 reviews

Great toasted sangers

published

Bought this 2 months ago after looking at Google reviews online. Was going for famous brand but reviews sent me to buy this one. Great apparatus, more fillings to enjoy, cuts sandwiches cleanly, fast heat up ans so easy to clean. Glad i did my homework and bought the BEST

Date PurchasedJun 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Stuart!!

Stuart
Stuart

Sunbeam Official. Definitely credit where credit is due. My Big Fill is just ace.


Tim

TimMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Perfect everytime!

published

I was reluctant to buy this because of negative reviews, but wanted to get something different because I wasn't a fan of the last breville we had.

This one is so much better. We just use normal Coles or woolies brand breads and it works perfectly everytime. The kids love it. We put in mainly just use it for ham and cheese, but have also put tomatoes and egg sometime.

It's easy to clean by just waiting for it to dry, then wiping it down. The trick is to butter the bread on the sides that go on the machine so it doesn't stick. Very happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Abby

Abby

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Definitely worth it

published

I love this sandwich press! It works really well, the last sandwich press I had was tiny and spilled everywhere.

The only downfall is that it only cuts down the middle properly about 50% of the time. Not really an issue though as it only takes 2 seconds to fix where it didn’t completely cut.

I’d definitely recommend this one.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Peter

PeterBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Bread size not an issue

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
monaromonaro

monaromonaroMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 37 reviews
  • 26 likes
  • Verified purchase

Bread size was not a problem

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Marleneann

MarleneannAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just didn't live up to Sunbeam quality.

published

It doesn't brown the bread no matter how long I left it to do the job. Filling ran out and made a mess. I usually like Sunbeam products... and my last Sunbeam Sandwich toaster was great. This modern product is really bad. Please Sunbeam take it off the market and design a better product.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Not hot enough

published

We bought one of these - works OK but not hot enough to brown the bread. It's 1000 watts.
No matter we left the sandwich in the Toastie, it would not brown the bread - NOT HOT ENOUGH.
After multiple attempts, we stopped using it.
Now we will buy the Sunbeam cafe press sandwichmaker - it's up to 2400 watts.
Maybe lucky this time.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Martishar

Martishar

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Very good quality - good price

published

Recently needed to update my old breville toaster so looked around for similar product at a reasonable price. The Sunbeam Big Fill Toastie ticked all the boxes, the quality of the non stick surface is superior to others in the same price range (under $40 @ Big W) It heats up fast, is easy to clean and compact enough for a smaller kitchen. The finished toastie does have a wider seal than my old machine did but it holds a lot of filling. My favourite toastie? Banana, honey and peanut butter finished with cinnamon sugar yum!

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Gazzasbees

GazzasbeesAnna Bay

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Looked ok but broke within 8 weeks

published

Usually I only write positive reviews but this item was a shocker.
It worked OK and just OK for approximately 8 weeks then with no warning the bottom handle completely snapped off, leaving a sharp edge on the broken piece and the main part of the machine.
Maybe it was just a bad one but never will I again look at one of these.
I purchased it from Billy Guyatts , and to their absolute credit sent me a parcel point return number on a Saturday and I just dropped it off at the local newsagency.
Just be aware this unit may have a weak point.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategorySandwich Makers
Price (RRP) $49.95
Type2 Slice

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 9311445019498
  • MPN: GR6250

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.