??!
2 photos
Sunbeam SecretChef Electronic 5.5L

Sunbeam SecretChef Electronic 5.5L

HP5590, HP5580
2.8 from 88 reviews

Slow Cookers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of slow cooker would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

2.8

88 reviews
5
(17)
4
(15)
3
(14)
2
(15)
1
(27)
  • Build Quality
    1.4 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (7)
Previous
Next
Nat L

Nat LSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews

First Use Fail

published

Bought this 2 days ago, first use today. Digital display has turned off 4 times already and keeps doing so, I'm waiting for it top blow my house fuses now! Should have read reviews before buying. Will be returning tomorrow asap.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$79.99.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Keeps Turning off

published

I just purchased the Sunbeam 5.5L slow cooker and the first time I am using it, it keeps turning on and off. Can I return it. I have had a Breville slow cooker for years and just replaced it and not happy. So far my meat has been on for a few hours and turned off three times

Purchased in May 2020 at Myer Online Store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Dodgy digital display

published

Sadly the digital display was missing a segment out of the box. We did try it twice and it cooked well, but took it back before it got worse and the warranty ran out like it has for many others. Bought a Crockpot instead, still made by Sunbeam Corp it seems. Seems strange that Sunbeam would waste a good product with a probable saving of a dollar for a better digital display mechanism.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$64.00.

Build Quality
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Tardrew H.
Tardrew H.

Crockpot is good so far! Thanks

Slow Cookers

Find out how Sunbeam SecretChef Electronic 5.5L compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jenma

JenmaLaunceston, TAS

Digital timer issue

published

Very disappointed. Now out of warranty and the digital display is not working
It was a gift to me and I am extremely disappointed
When it was working I was very happy with it

Greg.R

Greg.RSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Poor digital display panel

published

this slow cooker work well when its new. most people don't use these on a regular basis, so after being used for approx 25 times and when the warranty runs out, the segments on the digital display start to fail. seems like a poor quality product. I would not recommend to buy this model and will purchase the manual one instead.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Don't waste your money on this one.

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Miche,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. We are so sorry to hear of this. Your experience will be passed onto our product manager for feedback collation. Kind Regards Sunbeam

Alipoo

AlipooGosford

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed!

published

After a great start and lovely even slow cooking, the appliance started to fail about 6 months after the Warranty period ended. Seems to be an issue with the electronics. I contacted Sunbeam but they weren't interested in helping as it was out of the 12 month warranty period. I had expected the appliance to last for years, and am very disappointed. I've made a complaint via NSW Fair Trading and will steer clear of Sunbeam products from now on.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Alipoo, sorry to hear.

GA8611

GA8611

  • 2 reviews

Another one bites the dust

published

Have had this slow cooker 2 years and have used it about 20 times. As stated in lots of other reviews, the electronic panel on our cooker now doesn't work. Sunbeam have damaged their reputation with us on this one; we won't be buying another. Sunbeam should not continue selling this product with this very common fault.

Purchased in October 2017 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi GA8611,
Thank you for your feedback. We do take it seriously and ensure it is passed on to our product team. Kind Regards,
Sunbeam

Pynewood

PynewoodHunter Region, NSW

Slow cooker 5.5 litre (master series)

published

Purchased a sunbeam slow cooker 5.5 litre master series which would have been used 6 times through last winter only. The digital display has packed it in. So it is unable to be used. It is 4 months out of warranty. After speaking with customer service got the brush off, won’t put me through to a supervisor. With such a brand name as this I would have expected more. Very disappointing

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Pynewood,
So sorry to hear of this. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our product and technical teams.
Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Slow Cookers

Find out how Sunbeam SecretChef Electronic 5.5L compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
The Armsstones

The ArmsstonesGOLD COAST

  • 5 reviews

Just shorted out my unit!!!

published

My slow cooker was amazing until the front panel casing decided to disintegrate on the inside and now the whole bit is hanging loose and when I turned it on it flicked my electrical safety switch, I realise its now 3 years old but the fact it is only used in cooler months and I live in QLD that's not so often and that it is kept in a cupboard how the casing can do that is beyond me. Very dangerous if I was not at home like all slow cookers are really designed for.

Purchased in September 2016 for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi The Armsstones,
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with your slow cooker. Please be assured all customer feedback is taken seriously and your comments will be forwarded on to our development and technology teams.

Greg A

Greg ASydney Surrounds, NSW

Failure and no spare electronic module

published

The slow cooker worked great, just one problem the electronic module has failed, it’s 3 years old. As an electrician I’m very disappointed the electronics module is not available as a spare part. We are going to dump this one and buy another brand.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Greg A,
Sorry to hear of your experience with your slow cooker. We do take feedback seriously and I will be sure to pass this onto our design and tech teams.

Sarah

Sarah

  • 2 reviews

Don't waste your money!

published

I bought an HP5590 in December 2016. Within the first year the digital display failed and the unit was replaced under the 12 month warranty. The digital display in the replacement unit has also failed. In addition, there is an issue with the unit intermittently turning off shortly after being turned on when selecting the temperature and cooking hours.
I contacted Sunbeam who advised that the 12 month warranty is only valid from the original purchase date, so the replacement unit isn't covered even if it less than 12 months' old.
Buy another brand and don't waste your money on this Sunbeam product!

Date PurchasedDec 2016
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Sarah
Sarah

Hi Sunbeam, thank you for replacing the unit.

Not good

published

I have had this slow cooker for 5 months, it worked well for 2 months then it started to burn the sides and dry out the tops of the meals. I even put a timer on the plug and set it to come on To low a3 hours before I get home and it is still as bad as what it was when leaving it in all day. Not recommended, as it should be called a fast cooker not slow cooker!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Sorry to hear of the issues you are having. Please call our customer care team on 1300 881 861for assistance.

Display becomes fault over time

published

Sunbeam kindly replaced my first sunbeam slow cooker hp 5590 when the display unit stopped working as it was less than a year old. The replaced slow cooker's display unit now stopped working, sadly its out of warranty, its 2 years old. I only use it once a month (if that), so have to say not impressed. Anyone else experienced this ? or any suggestion on a new one to buy with no display unit. I hate waste and the environmental impact of disposing of two in 3 years !

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi molly,
Sorry to hear about the display function. Please call our Customer Care team to discuss further on 1300 881 861

Fade out

published

Agree with the the Stoka on this problem Cant fault the cooking results. Easy to use however the letters have all faded and the led board has crashed so its a hit and miss when programming the time. Anybody know if led boards are available as spare parts or should I just purchase a new one. Different make maybe?

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Slow Cookers

Find out how Sunbeam SecretChef Electronic 5.5L compares to other Slow Cookers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cat

CatSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

So easy, love it!

published

This is a 5.5 Lt machine, so it's quite large therefore it's great for freezing leftovers! The setting are very reliable, I always coat the meat first in a little flour and seal it slightly in a fry pan. Then everything goes in. I do check on it to make sure there is enough water as recipes vary, we all know that. Once I'm happy with the consistency, I can go out for a few hours & come home to a beautiful smelling home & delicious dinner for the family. It's easy to clean, looks great & has a home near my cupboard door! I always look forward to the cooler months so Ii can explore the many options possible with this machine!

Date PurchasedJun 2015
4 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Cat!! Our resident home economist Jill will be delighted to see your tip on flouring and searing meats first as she is forever telling us this is a necessity!!

Cat
Cat
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Sounds great Cat!!! Now you're making me hungry!! Feel free to send some of the leftovers to Sunbeam LOL!!!

The Stoka

The StokaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Rubbish rippoff

published

Label writing on buttons wears off within a month so you do not know how to use item and now digital timer is losing letters and it seems from other reviews this will not last long . Sunbeam is a company that has no shame in making a product last for only a year .

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hey The Stoka.....sorry to hear about the decals on the slow cooker, give us a call on 1300 881 861 and the guys in the team may be able to assist you

Debbie

Debbie

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Control panel fell off.

published

I was really happy with this slow cooker which I bought in April 2017. I used it about 20 times last winter. When I took it out of the cupboard recently the control panel had fallen off; was hanging by a couple of wires and dangerous to use. I rang Sunbeam and the girl gave me a reference number and told me to take it back to David Jones for a replacement, even though it was 2months out of warranty. Luckily I had kept my receipt. DJ’s didn’t have any similar models in stock, but gave me a refund. Was surprised that this cooker broke down so quickly. I had looked after it and there’s no reason the plastic control panel should have perished. Won’t buy the same brand again.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
KiwiAron

KiwiAronMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Timer lasts less than a year

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
sparky

sparkyCastle Hill

THIS SLOW COOKER HAVE A USED BY DATE?, & FEW NUMBER OF TIMES YOU CAN ONLY USE IT?

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Jay

Jayasked

SecretChef Electronic 5.5L

Our brand new sunbeam slow cooker is extremely hot to touch is this normal

1 answer
The Armsstones
The Armsstones

Yes it gets really hot on the outsude

Kww

Kwwasked

SecretChef Electronic 5.5L

Why isn’t the light working on my slow cooker it seems to be cooking but the light isn’t working ?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI Kww, no straight forward answer with this. If still under warranty please return to store or call us on 1300 881 861...

Robyn

Robynasked

SecretChef Electronic 5.5L

My slow cooker has turned off half way through cooking. I had to turn it back on again.
Could you advise why this has happened? It is only second time I have used it.

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Robyn, I'm not sure why it would turn off. It should go to Keep Warm. Just check you have the hours programmed correctly but if it does it after checking, please return to store for a replacement...

Robyn
Robyn

Thank You. I will return to store as I did have correct time for cooking.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.