??!
1 photo
Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520

Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520

4.2 from 32 reviews

Slow Cookers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of slow cooker would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.2

32 reviews
5
(15)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
    Previous
    Next
    Ray K

    Ray K

    • 2 reviews

    This cooker is extremely disappointing

    published

    This cooker failed after 2 years moderate use. Surely we can expect a longer and more reliable performance than 2 years. Although worked well initially it’s features are very ordinary.We will never buy a Sunbeam product again. Quality and reliability is non- existent. It is unfortunate that we can’t trust established brands anymore. Looking elsewhere in future.

    Date PurchasedJul 2016
    Great Bargain

    Great BargainSydney

    • 6 reviews

    Affordable but not great

    published

    For its price, it's alright because it does the job but it cooks slower than the times indicated in recipes.
    Takes a very long time for the temperature to heat up and cook food.
    The size is very decent and can cook for a family for 4-6 well.
    Easy to clean.

    Date PurchasedNov 2017
    Sue

    SueSydney

    • 4 reviews

    Big enough for a family of 4

    published

    I bought this slow cooker to make my life in the kitchen a little easier. It is a perfect addition to my kitchen appliances and the size is large enough for a family of 4. We have been very satisfied with the results and tried a variety of meats and sauces. It is very easy to clean and care of, nothing sticks to the bottom, perfect results.

    Date PurchasedJul 2017
    Slow Cookers

    Find out how Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 compares to other Slow Cookers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Adoyle235

    Adoyle235Port Macquarie

    • 8 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Love it

    published

    This slow cooker is big enough to cook a generous family meal. The results are always good but I find a longer slower cook preferred. I sometimes put it on late a night on low and let it cook through the next day. This is great for fall apart pulled pork or beef. It's easy to clean but the ceramic cooking bowl is quite heavy.

    Date PurchasedFeb 2008
    Maddy

    Maddy

    • 5 reviews

    Simply Great

    published

    Such a great appliance to have, just set and forget really. I find while im preparing my ingredients have the cooker on warm then when you put everything in it starts cooking straight away then I just leave it on low all day as im a full time mum it makes getting dinner ready for my husband easy. So easy to clean just washed out, i would highly recommend it.

    Date PurchasedAug 2017
    Eco Living

    Eco Livingbrisbane

    • 6 reviews

    Made my life so easy!

    published

    I love my slow cooker - easy and no fuss about it.
    Allow me to cook soup, stew, curry as a super chef.
    The only thing was the cable that got damage and could not find replacement - luckily hubby took care of it, does not look good, but still do the job.
    The size suits more when I cook for 4 or plus people.

    Date PurchasedApr 2015
    Vanessa

    VanessaAdelaide

    • 8 reviews
    • 10 likes

    Easy to use, heavy to move.

    published

    Works great. Haven't had any issues and feel safe leaving this on all day while not home. Originally was for my mother however it was a bit too big and heavy so score for me. If you have trouble lifting heavy things then I would suggest a smaller one

    Date PurchasedDec 2016
    Hollie

    HollieAU

    • 4 reviews
    • 1 like

    good slow cooker

    published

    Bought from Good Guys and am very happy with purchase. Good size - have been able to make a lot servings in the dish. My Only complaint is the dish is hard/awkward to clean being the shape, size and weight. All in all good product which gets the job done.

    Date PurchasedMar 2017
    Wendy

    WendyAdelaide

    • 49 reviews

    good product

    published

    I love this slow cooker you just chop up everything you need and place inside and walk away . it cooks everything perfectly . my family are very fussy eater and love the meals cooked from the slow cooker ,it is great for the busy lifestyle and is so easy to clean I would defiantly recommend this slow cooker to anyone

    Date PurchasedMay 2017
    Slow Cookers

    Find out how Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 compares to other Slow Cookers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Jay G

    Jay GRocklea

    • 3 reviews
    • 1 like

    Cant Live without it

    published

    Slow cookers are perfect for entertaining or people with busy lifestyles.. Chop everything up, put it in the pot and walk away.. I can't go past my sun beam, I also had a Kmart version as well, yet the I couldn't grasp the heat settings, where as my Sunbeam slow cookers is spot on everytime.

    Date PurchasedJan 2012
    Yang

    Yang

    • 5 reviews
    • 1 like

    Nice cooker!

    published

    I am quite happy with the cooking result. I usually use this to cook rice and the whole family are satisfied with the quality it cooked. It not that hard to wash just need use water to float it and leave it to dry. The features are a bit simple but already good enough to fit all the requirements in the daily life.

    Date PurchasedMar 2017
    Deb

    Deb

    • 5 reviews

    Great cooker

    published

    Cooks meats very well very easy to clean one dish to clean. Everything is done as a one step cooking process. Very safe to use put it on and go to work meal cooked when you come home. Very easy to use no complicated dials and buttons just one dial for settings.

    Date PurchasedMay 2016
    Lidya Lau

    Lidya LauAU

    • 5 reviews

    Very safe to use it

    published

    I got this from my friend for christmas present. Is so easy to use and the result is unbelievable. Being a busy mum never got time to cook properly, thanks to slow cooker now i don have to worry too much about cooking. Just put the meat and veggies and sauce in the morning then nearly dinner, everything is ready. Wow... so handy and more time to spend with my kids. Love it so much. cant live without slow cooker. Good brand, great product , and makes great food.

    Date PurchasedMar 2013
    Ebony Guyton

    Ebony GuytonBaldivis

    • 2 reviews

    Excellent addition to my kitchen

    published

    So happy with my new slow cooker, I've always thought it was a lazy way to cook but it is amazing!
    The cleaning is so simple, it is one pot and that's it, you can even sear things on the stove gas top so literally one dish to clean.
    I find that Sunbeam to be a reliable and excellent addition to anyones home.

    Date PurchasedAug 2016
    Charlie

    Charliemelbourne

    • 2 reviews

    Limited number of recipies

    published

    Using the slow cooker is easy to use however struggle to find ideas on what next to cook. A cook book in the box would be a great idea for more meal ideas. Online i can only find "Easy slow cooking recipes" where instead i would like to more advanced recipes.

    Date PurchasedJun 2017
    Slow Cookers

    Find out how Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 compares to other Slow Cookers

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Ali J

    Ali J

    • 15 reviews
    • 1 like

    Good size

    published

    Found this on special at Harvey Norman and for a family of 5 it is the perfect size. I also love the oval shape and easy to use functions. I can cook almost anything in this.
    It doesn't have the features of the more expensive models and brands but a good basic start to really see whether you would use it or not and maybe upgrade in the future to have more features such as timer etc

    Date PurchasedJul 2017
    Chelsea

    ChelseaAdelaode

    • 6 reviews

    You need to invest in one of these babies!

    published

    gets the job done with minimal effort, this product was only $35 from the good guys and has not let us down yet! We use it nearly every night, and it is the most reliable appliance in my kitchen, the whole family can use it and I would change it for any other expensive brand! It gets the job done!

    Date PurchasedApr 2017
    Maritz

    MaritzMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

    • 13 reviews

    Can't live without it!

    published

    Love making soups or casseroles! As I'm a shift worker, I can put this on during the day and have a meal ready by the end of the day for my family and something for me for when I go to work. Very convenient, easy to clean.
    I'm very much a sunbeam fan

    Date PurchasedJun 2017
    Nannylynners

    NannylynnersNaracoorte

    • 4 reviews

    Love my slow cooker❤❤

    published

    I love that it does the job perfectly without the aid of too many confusing options. Just low, high and keep it warm. It's really easy to clean and it's dishwasher safe. It's big enough to cook for a family without taking up too much bench space. It would make a great gift too.

    Date PurchasedMay 2017
    kbkb

    kbkbAU

    • 7 reviews

    A kitchen must

    published

    I bought this show cooker about 2 years ago and it's been wonderful. Perfect size for up to 8 people, it cooks well and is easy to wash. I use it mostly in winter and love the results i get. The little instructions booklet that comes with it has some good tips and recipes in it.

    Date PurchasedJan 2016
    Page 1 of 2
    See all Sunbeam SecretChef HP4520 / HP5520 reviews

    Questions & Answers

    janetau

    janetauasked

    SecretChef HP4520

    Most Important: Is the Ceramic Coating Lead and Cadmium FREE in the Sunbeam Slow Cookers?

    Slow Cooking can be Healthier for us (the Celsius being lower than a Gas Stove) but it becomes TOXIC when Lead and/or Cadmium are used in the glaze that coats the Ceramic Bowl OR Nasty Tephlon is used. Stainless Steel would be great - it's Good to have Options.

    In the interest of Good Information Practices and Good Health, companies should always state on the package and advertisements if Ceramic Bowls, Oven Dishes, Cups and Plates are Lead and Cadmium FREE. This is a must in manufacture and buying practice for consumers. I have Oven Casserole Ceramic Dishes from a company overseas that openly state this Vital Info on the products. (Researcher 20+ Yrs)

    3 answers
    Brushy26
    Brushy26

    I do not know. At the same time I am old enough for it to be irrelevant.

    Sunbeam
    Customer C.Sunbeam

    Hi Janetau. All of Sunbeam's slow cooker inserts meet the necessary requirements.

    dcrocket
    dcrocket

    @Customer C. That is fine for you to just say that, though it needs to be backed up with verifiable test reports supplied to the customer. I asked for the documented test reports and was told they aren't available.

    Mike S

    Mike Sasked

    SecretChef HP4520

    Do the sides of the slow cooker get hot and if so is this a hazard?

    1 answer
    Sunbeam
    Brendan K.Sunbeam

    Dear Mike S,
    Thank you for contacting us!
    The sides of the slow cooker will get hot, please handle the cooker using the handles on the cooker.
    Should you wish to discuss further, please contact us on: 1300 881 861.
    Kind Regards
    Sunbeam

    Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.