??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Mini Bake & Grill BT2600

Sunbeam Mini Bake & Grill BT2600

MPN: BT2600
2.8 from 49 reviews · View Statistics

Benchtop and Toaster Ovens Buying Guide

Everyone loves a good, home-cooked meal - crispy-crust pizza, anyone? A benchtop/toaster oven is a mini, portable oven that sits on your kitchen counter and achieves delicious results. Read on for more information about whether a toaster oven is right for you.

Read now

Reviews

Previous
Next
Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 76 reviews
  • 32 likes
  • Verified purchase

Compact, yet suitable

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$59.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
FSRS

FSRSPerth

  • 7 reviews

Most used appliance in the kitchen

published

This little gem is used constantly!

Our other oven is far too big for day to day cooking (great for roasts and dinner parties though!). Grill, toast and bake, the 'on' feature (rather than timer) mean we can use this to slow cook too over the day.

I'll never be without one!

Purchased in February 2019 at Myer for A$65.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi FSRS,
Thanks for the great review!
Kind Regards Sunbeam

pincarto

pincartoSouth East Queensland, QLD

dissapointed

published

i had a mini grill 20yrs before i had to replace it,[wonderful little kitchen appliance, ] i then replaced it with a new mini grill,BT2600, 7mths ago i purchased a new mini grill, got it home plugged it in, dead on arrival, took it back, 35klm drive as i live in a small town, changed it for a new one, the store were great never quibbled, ive had the second one for 7mths and it has died , so ill move on to another brand, the comments here [ and my personal experience] lead me to believe that it is 'hit and miss' with this appliance.

Purchased in December 2018 at HOME HARDWARE.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi pincarto,
sorry to hear that, will pass your feedback on

Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Sunbeam Mini Bake & Grill BT2600 compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
IreneF

IreneFVictoria, 3136

  • 56 reviews
  • 26 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very Handy

published

I use this oven quite a lot, mainly for toasted sandwiches or English muffins and it heats up really quickly. It's easy to clean with the removable tray at the base. My son uses it to heat up sausage rolls as it's quicker to use instead of the big oven.

Purchased in May 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$44.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Hilarys_Dad

Hilarys_Dad

  • 32 reviews
  • 33 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent value for money though with some minor flaws

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for A$68.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Hillarys_Dad,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. Thank you for the great feedback. Your suggestions regarding the door and the warning annotation especially noted and will be passed onto out product team. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

u453902

u453902Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Don't Buy, it's junk.

published

I had an earlier model and was great until element failed. I got this new model and set as per instructions and it does not toast the bottom of the bread. I rang Sunbeam and they sent a replacement. Same thing. They sent me another one and the 3rd one did not toast properly either. Sunbeam have stopped answering my emails. I asked them to test the last one before shipping, but that did not happen.

Purchased in March 2019 at Amazon for A$52.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi u453902,
So sorry to hear of your experience with this product and contact from our customer service team. Please contact us on 1300 881 861 for further assistance.
Kind Regards, Sunbeam

u453902
u453902

Well I rang Sunbeam as suggested and they would like me to ship it back to them at my expense, so they can test it. Then they would probably say it worked OK. So I will get a further test done locally to back my claim.

Monty

MontySydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

Short lived

published

This is my third one from this same series. First one barely made it to 1 year before plastic handle melted and came off. 2nd one lasted just a bit longer than 1 year and stopped heating. 3rd one now has to go back for return as it keeps smoking and doesn't stop. This brand has very short life span. Very unhappy and will be last time I purchase another Sunbeam product again.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Rach

RachBatemans Bay

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good product

published

I love this mini oven. I've had mine for almost 10 years and it still works perfectly. I first bought it when I moved into a rental properly and their oven didn't work. This mini oven did the job and cooked well. I still use it to this day cooking up my daughters food or smaller meals as opposed to heating up a big oven.

Date PurchasedJan 2008
Hello Kitty

Hello KittyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Works Very Well

published

It grills my chops well. The temperature control does go on and off all the time. I suppose when it heats up to the required temperature then it turns itself off to avoid going over that temperature. It could have been made slightly larger as it is a little too small, but it is very convenient and I use it all the time. Don't even use my oven any more as I find I don't need it. Would buy one again if required.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Sunbeam Mini Bake & Grill BT2600 compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carmen

CarmenAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

I would not recommend this one

published

The temperature control is shocking - when I turn the oven on, the heat light keep coming on and off. Not sure what’s going on , I set it at 90c and put my oven thermometer in it. Within 10 mins the temperature in the oven reached 120c and keep going up while the heat light keep turning on and off itself. There are smoke coming out from the oven , NOT from where the cooking tray / heat element are, but from the inside ( mechanical part) of the oven. And there is some burnt smell too . ( I only put the thermometer on the cooking tray in the oven and nothing else and my thermometer is not burnt. ) Worried that this may be a fire hazard I turned the oven off immediately. I think I will return the oven .....

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Ginny

GinnyPerth

  • 2 reviews

Good Oven

published

This little oven helps me a lot. I use it every day for warming my bread. I even used it to bake my favourite banana cake, muffins, pizza, lasagna, chicken dishes... it never made me disappointed. For such a little oven, can use to cook so many different dishes. It is amazing. Together with the perfect size and the economical price, I think it is worth to own one. As it is a small oven, the light goes on and off quite often. Once the temperature heat to the set level, it will be off to keep the temperature in that level. While the temperature drops, it will automatically on again. I think it is normal. I have been using it for over two years, never have any problems at all.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
HT

HT

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Doesn't last

published

It's a good little oven and convenient to heat up food and toast bread. But similar to other users, the problem is it doesn't last. Always dies right after the one year mark. This is my second unit, thinking that maybe the the first was something QC might have missed. But didn't know they were so good at their job that it is perfectly timed to kick the bucket as soon as the warranty runs out.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
lee

leemelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Ervery home must need one of the product like this.

published

Basically it works five times everyday since 8 months. It has not burned yet( the past 10 machines I use only last 6 months ).
The annoy thing is that you only have one choice, either grill or toast( cant turn the knob too much otherwise it won’t work the next morning ).
Another thing is that the heat is not consistent. With the same types of bread, exact same time, one day it is not crunchy and other days it burns, so we basically have to adjust by standing next to it.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
lynbo

lynboAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

wish I'd bought one sooner

published

Excellent little oven which is perfect for 1 or 2 people....although could well be useful for side dishes, desserts etc. for families too. It is really great that because of the small size it heats up very quickly. (about 2-3 minutes to get to 180º) I find it good for toasting too, as you can actually see how brown the bread is getting.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
2 comments
lynbo
lynbo

18 months later I am still loving my little oven. Use it a lot for cooking meals, reheating, small batches of muffins, and making toast. Really great for cheese melts. One of the best kitchen appliance purchases I have made!

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Lynbo,
Thank you for reviewing. It is a perfect size for those not wanting to use a big oven....

good for 12 months then doesn't work properly lost top element

published

very good for it's function..ideal, cooks most meals to perfection, great for for pizzas, chips, nacho's, cakes ,even roasts just doesn't last very long, I would think at least 3years of service, less than 2, not long enough at all..20 months, come on hey, you would expect a little more than that wouldn't you
cheers

Date PurchasedSep 2015
Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Sunbeam Mini Bake & Grill BT2600 compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lilyzone

lilyzoneSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job.

published

This is the second one of these I've owned, the original one lasted about 3 years. It is adequate for toasting, but agree you must watch it carefully. It is excellent for grilling small things, eg tuna melts, roasted red peppers. It is also fine for reheating, but again I feel that it would not be good to walk away & forget! I use it every day, with no problems.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
BABS

BABSSydney

  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

Cheap product with a relatively short life span and a bit clunky construction

published
Date PurchasedJan 2011
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Didn't even last a year

published

Item gifted to me brand new. I used this 1-2 times a week, whether toasting or grilling/oven. The last 2 times I have used the oven, it has burnt the tops of my food to a crisp - like I have had the toast selected.

Item gifted to me brand new. I used this 1-2 times a week, whether toasting or grilling/oven. The last 2 times I have used the oven, it has burnt the tops of my food to a crisp - like I have had the toast selected.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
netmedic

netmedicDevonport

  • 17 reviews
  • 22 likes

If you get one that works, they're brilliant

published

After reading the reviews, I was cautious about buying one. The price point is obviously bottom dollar, so you can't expect miracles, just something which is safe.
Mine turned out to be spot-on and works perfectly. Does everything it says in the manual! It's a low cost item and you might need to return it if it has a fault. Just bear that in mind.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
netmedic
netmedic

I think it's excellent value for money, but I do hope you've looked into the quality control issues which some people seem to be having.

fanaticcook

fanaticcookGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 29 reviews
  • 21 likes

a littel gem

published

i have been lucky; every 5 years, i purchase a replacement and have been using this oven for the over 15 years. i absolutely love it! it completely serves the purpose for us, takes up hardly any space and so easy to bake small lots. the only complaint is once the back gets splattered, you can't clean it and the stains remain forever.

sunbeam, will you produce once with a teflon lining so that it can all be easily wiped off? i really wouldn't mind paying extra for this feature.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Beth B.

Beth B.asked

Can you tell me if we can get another tray for this oven, we use our "little" oven almost every day. We love it but really need a new tray.

6 answers
IreneF
IreneF

I had a tray from a previous toaster oven so I haven't needed to look for another.

Beth B.
Beth B.

Unfortunately you having a tray from a old one doesn't help me, and yes I've checked my cupboards and nothing else I've got will fit

Mike D.
Mike D.

hi beth, sorry about the delay, computer crashed, i enquired about a tray but unfortunately it is not possible to buy it separately,,, [corporation , profiteering ]

Anne

Anneasked

Not toasting on bottom. Is there one or two elements on bottom. Only one at back of bottom is heating up

2 answers
pincarto
pincarto

hi anne, there are 2 elements on the bottom, both elements heat up when [ toast ] setting is picked,

Bushrat
Bushrat

Country Of Manufacture:
MADE IN CHINA

PRO's:
Size 9 Litres so good for snacks or single meals
Footprint reasonable size, fits well on Kitchen bench
Styling is OK, modern appearance
Weight is very light and easy to move
Easy to clean
Non slip feet work really well
Well Packed with no transit damage

CONS:
1: BUILD; Oven door has no "stop"on it, and the instructions warn not to let the door drop open as this will distort the doors sealing capability. Has a baking dish/tray that sits on a rack, so one would not be able to grill in the usual manner without getting grease and droppings all over the bottom part of the unit (if the tray was not used) The top rear element seems to glow bright red, the top front dull red, and the bottom two elements get hot but no radiant heat at all (see *2 below)
2: COOKING; I bought one yesterday, and bottom elements get warm but not glowing hot enough to toast. Had a pie in the oven for 25 minutes, (cold but not frozen ) as a test, and it was only just warmed. not hot, so I had to finish it off in my large oven. Tonight I baked a potato ( cut into smallish pieces of about 35mm) for the required time at the suggested setting, cooked, but outside was a brown rubbery leather like disaster. During the last 10 minutes took out the spud, and attempted to grill a lamb cutlet and a rissole, again following settings stated in book, some parts burned black, some parts cooked ok. Edible, but only just, took a LONG time and had to be watched at all times. Last test, a slice of toast - set it up as per instructions for toast and stood and watched as the toast cooked (very slowly) to perfection, alas, only on one side.
3: Elements turn on and off constantly, even when on "grill" setting, giving very uneven cooking.

I will not be wasting any more time on this, as in my experience, having been cooking well for over 60 years, it is not anywhere near up to scratch and it will be returned for a refund.
So heartily fed up with buying things that do not work, and then having to go to the trouble and expense of driving back to the store to return them, I have been using Sunbeam appliances for most of my life, but will not be buying anymore .... I at least discovered that my dog enjoys bread toasted on one side.......Zero Stars I am afraid!

Vijay T.

Vijay T.asked

Can you please let me know the price of Mini Bake & Grill BT2600

1 answer
pincarto
pincarto

75$

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategoryBenchtop / Toaster Ovens
Wattage1400W
Capacity9L
Price (RRP) $59.95
Release dateMar 2007

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 09311445013045
  • MPN: BT2600

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.