??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Mini Bake & Grill BT2600

Sunbeam Mini Bake & Grill BT2600

2.8 from 48 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
5
3 star
5
2 star
5
1 star
19

FSRS

FSRSPerth

  • 7 reviews

Most used appliance in the kitchen

published

This little gem is used constantly!

Our other oven is far too big for day to day cooking (great for roasts and dinner parties though!). Grill, toast and bake, the 'on' feature (rather than timer) mean we can use this to slow cook too over the day.

I'll never be without one!

Purchased in February 2019 at Myer for $65.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi FSRS,
Thanks for the great review!
Kind Regards Sunbeam


pincarto

pincartoSouth East Queensland, QLD

dissapointed

published

i had a mini grill 20yrs before i had to replace it,[wonderful little kitchen appliance, ] i then replaced it with a new mini grill,BT2600, 7mths ago i purchased a new mini grill, got it home plugged it in, dead on arrival, took it back, 35klm drive as i live in a small town, changed it for a new one, the store were great never quibbled, ive had the second one for 7mths and it has died , so ill move on to another brand, the comments here [ and my personal experience] lead me to believe that it is 'hit and miss' with this appliance.

Purchased in December 2018 at HOME HARDWARE.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi pincarto,
sorry to hear that, will pass your feedback on

IreneF

IreneFVictoria, 3136

  • 56 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very Handy

published

I use this oven quite a lot, mainly for toasted sandwiches or English muffins and it heats up really quickly. It's easy to clean with the removable tray at the base. My son uses it to heat up sausage rolls as it's quicker to use instead of the big oven.

Purchased in May 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for $44.00.

Hilarys_Dad

Hilarys_Dad

  • 28 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent value for money though with some minor flaws

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee Online store for $68.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Hillarys_Dad,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. Thank you for the great feedback. Your suggestions regarding the door and the warning annotation especially noted and will be passed onto out product team. Kind Regards, Sunbeam


u453902

u453902Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Don't Buy, it's junk.

published

I had an earlier model and was great until element failed. I got this new model and set as per instructions and it does not toast the bottom of the bread. I rang Sunbeam and they sent a replacement. Same thing. They sent me another one and the 3rd one did not toast properly either. Sunbeam have stopped answering my emails. I asked them to test the last one before shipping, but that did not happen.

Purchased in March 2019 at Amazon for $52.00.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi u453902,
So sorry to hear of your experience with this product and contact from our customer service team. Please contact us on 1300 881 861 for further assistance.
Kind Regards, Sunbeam

u453902
u453902

Well I rang Sunbeam as suggested and they would like me to ship it back to them at my expense, so they can test it. Then they would probably say it worked OK. So I will get a further test done locally to back my claim.


Monty

MontySydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Short lived

published

This is my third one from this same series. First one barely made it to 1 year before plastic handle melted and came off. 2nd one lasted just a bit longer than 1 year and stopped heating. 3rd one now has to go back for return as it keeps smoking and doesn't stop. This brand has very short life span. Very unhappy and will be last time I purchase another Sunbeam product again.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Rach

RachBatemans Bay

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good product

published

I love this mini oven. I've had mine for almost 10 years and it still works perfectly. I first bought it when I moved into a rental properly and their oven didn't work. This mini oven did the job and cooked well. I still use it to this day cooking up my daughters food or smaller meals as opposed to heating up a big oven.

Date PurchasedJan 2008

Hello Kitty

Hello KittyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Works Very Well

published

It grills my chops well. The temperature control does go on and off all the time. I suppose when it heats up to the required temperature then it turns itself off to avoid going over that temperature. It could have been made slightly larger as it is a little too small, but it is very convenient and I use it all the time. Don't even use my oven any more as I find I don't need it. Would buy one again if required.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Carmen

CarmenAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

I would not recommend this one

published

The temperature control is shocking - when I turn the oven on, the heat light keep coming on and off. Not sure what’s going on , I set it at 90c and put my oven thermometer in it. Within 10 mins the temperature in the oven reached 120c and keep going up while the heat light keep turning on and off itself. There are smoke coming out from the oven , NOT from where the cooking tray / heat element are, but from the inside ( mechanical part) of the oven. And there is some burnt smell too . ( I only put the thermometer on the cooking tray in the oven and nothing else and my thermometer is not burnt. ) Worried that this may be a fire hazard I turned the oven off immediately. I think I will return the oven .....

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Ginny

GinnyPerth

  • 2 reviews

Good Oven

published

This little oven helps me a lot. I use it every day for warming my bread. I even used it to bake my favourite banana cake, muffins, pizza, lasagna, chicken dishes... it never made me disappointed. For such a little oven, can use to cook so many different dishes. It is amazing. Together with the perfect size and the economical price, I think it is worth to own one. As it is a small oven, the light goes on and off quite often. Once the temperature heat to the set level, it will be off to keep the temperature in that level. While the temperature drops, it will automatically on again. I think it is normal. I have been using it for over two years, never have any problems at all.

Date PurchasedApr 2015

HT

HT

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Doesn't last

published

It's a good little oven and convenient to heat up food and toast bread. But similar to other users, the problem is it doesn't last. Always dies right after the one year mark. This is my second unit, thinking that maybe the the first was something QC might have missed. But didn't know they were so good at their job that it is perfectly timed to kick the bucket as soon as the warranty runs out.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

lee

leemelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Ervery home must need one of the product like this.

published

Basically it works five times everyday since 8 months. It has not burned yet( the past 10 machines I use only last 6 months ).
The annoy thing is that you only have one choice, either grill or toast( cant turn the knob too much otherwise it won’t work the next morning ).
Another thing is that the heat is not consistent. With the same types of bread, exact same time, one day it is not crunchy and other days it burns, so we basically have to adjust by standing next to it.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

lynbo

lynboAU

  • 3 reviews

wish I'd bought one sooner

published

Excellent little oven which is perfect for 1 or 2 people....although could well be useful for side dishes, desserts etc. for families too. It is really great that because of the small size it heats up very quickly. (about 2-3 minutes to get to 180º) I find it good for toasting too, as you can actually see how brown the bread is getting.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
2 comments
lynbo
lynbo

18 months later I am still loving my little oven. Use it a lot for cooking meals, reheating, small batches of muffins, and making toast. Really great for cheese melts. One of the best kitchen appliance purchases I have made!

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Lynbo,
Thank you for reviewing. It is a perfect size for those not wanting to use a big oven....


good for 12 months then doesn't work properly lost top element

published

very good for it's function..ideal, cooks most meals to perfection, great for for pizzas, chips, nacho's, cakes ,even roasts just doesn't last very long, I would think at least 3years of service, less than 2, not long enough at all..20 months, come on hey, you would expect a little more than that wouldn't you
cheers

Date PurchasedSep 2015
lilyzone

lilyzoneSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job.

published

This is the second one of these I've owned, the original one lasted about 3 years. It is adequate for toasting, but agree you must watch it carefully. It is excellent for grilling small things, eg tuna melts, roasted red peppers. It is also fine for reheating, but again I feel that it would not be good to walk away & forget! I use it every day, with no problems.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
BABS

BABSSydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Cheap product with a relatively short life span and a bit clunky construction

published
Date PurchasedJan 2011
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Didn't even last a year

published

Item gifted to me brand new. I used this 1-2 times a week, whether toasting or grilling/oven. The last 2 times I have used the oven, it has burnt the tops of my food to a crisp - like I have had the toast selected.

Item gifted to me brand new. I used this 1-2 times a week, whether toasting or grilling/oven. The last 2 times I have used the oven, it has burnt the tops of my food to a crisp - like I have had the toast selected.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

netmedic

netmedicDevonport

  • 12 reviews

If you get one that works, they're brilliant

published

After reading the reviews, I was cautious about buying one. The price point is obviously bottom dollar, so you can't expect miracles, just something which is safe.
Mine turned out to be spot-on and works perfectly. Does everything it says in the manual! It's a low cost item and you might need to return it if it has a fault. Just bear that in mind.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
netmedic
netmedic

I think it's excellent value for money, but I do hope you've looked into the quality control issues which some people seem to be having.


fanaticcook

fanaticcookMelbourne

  • 28 reviews
  • 18 likes

a littel gem

published

i have been lucky; every 5 years, i purchase a replacement and have been using this oven for the over 15 years. i absolutely love it! it completely serves the purpose for us, takes up hardly any space and so easy to bake small lots. the only complaint is once the back gets splattered, you can't clean it and the stains remain forever.

sunbeam, will you produce once with a teflon lining so that it can all be easily wiped off? i really wouldn't mind paying extra for this feature.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

DIFFICULT TO SERVICE >>>PLANNED BY THE DESIGN TEAM???

published

DIFFICULT TO SERVICE >>>PLANNED BY THE DESIGN TEAM???
Trying to remove the casing to check a fault with the elements.....lots of Phillips Head screws which is good...but then I strike two screws needing an Allen Key ...annoying and there is no reason for these. THEN I strike two POP RIVETS !!!! ...these need to be drilled out.....once again there is no reason for these ....PH Screws would have worked just as well.
Who are the B@#$%s who design these things? Obviously they don't want us to try and repair /recycle these appliances ....do they think I would buy another one of these ? Peter Schuitemaker 18 May 2016

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Ros G

Ros Gasked

Why does it not toast properly on the bottom and why does the window fog up with condensation? Unit is brand new.

2 answers
Hello Kitty
Hello Kitty

I don't know why it's not toasting equally on both sides. Maybe move your toast down one level or maybe your unit is faulty? Condensation is caused when moisture is released when food is heated up, especially in the case of frozen items. You cannot stop that.

Monty
Monty

You need to ask engineers that question. All I can tell you is it took a lot longer to heat up on even the high settings on temperature knob than my previous model before this one. I had it on really high to heat up a meal that was in fridge ( not the ice freezer ) and after more than 45 minutes it was just barely luke warm. My older model was much better. But none of them lasted very long which was a complete waste of money. As far as condensation, it had smoke coming out of it for quite some time before even putting any food in it and also the following day. Maybe it was a faulty model, but after so many of them having issues and not lasting very long I will not be buying this brand again.


Guo L

Guo Lasked

Where can I buy a reversible wire rack?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Guo L. You can purchase a reversible wire rack (BT26101) from Big Warehouse Spares @ www.bigwarehouse.com.au.


Kayla Chau

Kayla Chauasked

hi
can i bake cupcakes on here?
like will it fit a cupcake pan?

thanks

2 answers
fanaticcook
fanaticcook

if the cup cake pan fits, sure, but cook on a shorter time and check as it is hotter than regular oven.

ChezzaBee74
ChezzaBee74

Hi Kayla, the 12 cupcake pan I have fits in here - it is an old pan though, was my grandmothers. So I hope it fits for you


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.