1 photo
Sunbeam Verve Max Glide SR6851

Sunbeam Verve Max Glide SR6851

MPNs: 3258, 35904785 and SR6851
2.2 from 15 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Sunbeam

Reviews

2.2
15 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.3 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Safety
    3.7 (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Lory
LoryMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 20 reviews
  • 10 likes

Ok..now I'm mad!

published

I wrote a review not long ago saying I loved this iron.. now I'm mad at it.. JUST out of warranty by a couple months.... it takes too long to heat up now, and it will not steam!! To make it steam I have to shake the iron. I've tried cleaning it and descaling it, nothing works! Now if it has under half a tank of water it will no longer steam. So I have to fill the tank each time and shake the iron like a rattle toy to make it steam, even after tank is full it just makes popping sounds and won't steam properly. I have now purchased a new and different brand iron.. and this heap of rubbish sunbeam is going in the bin. Sunbeam has gone down hill badly, even their other products are now rubbish. No more sunbeam for me thanks

Build Quality
Value for Money
ladyj
ladyj
  • 48 reviews
  • 19 likes

Disappointed

published

I have used Sunbeam irons for many years and when my old one started to die (after about 8 years) I looked for an upgrade. For the first few months this iron was great. Now I find that it takes forever to heat up and then does not steam as it used to. There is an alarm which sounds for no apparent reason and I have to turn the iron off for 10 minutes before trying again. Sunbeam used to be a great appliance brand so I'm not sure which corners they decided to cut in terms of manufacturing but their reputation is taking a big hit. Will need to look for alternatives - very disappointing.

Purchased in May 2020 at The Good Guys for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
CJH
CJHSouthern and Hills, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointed

published

I purchased this iron in March 2020. To begin with I loved it, although the steam dial is extremely difficult to move because its quite stiff and in an awkward place.
I can iron any type of fabric with it without any sticking or scorching.
My problem is that it has stopped steaming properly. The shot of steam works ok but I ironed for half an hour today with the temperature on cotton/linen and maximum steam and barely used any water.
So frustrating, because I actually like this iron.

Purchased in March 2020 for $95.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Sunbeam Verve Max Glide SR6851 compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Enik
EnikSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • Verified

SUNBEAM VERVE 68 RESILIUM II IRON SR6851

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2020 at GOODGUYS for $109.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Enik
Enik
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Maddym
MaddymSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Dissapointed sunbeam buyer

published

I have always only ever purchased sunbeam irons for 44 years but no more. I bought the top of the range one yet again and steam only works for a short period of time. And yes I have cleaned it but still doesn't work. Same thing happened to my last 2 irons. So no more sunbeam for me.

Purchased in August 2018 at The Good Guys for $139.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
JSB
JSBSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 33 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified

Love love love!!

published

Ok so my husband bought a Russell Hobbs iron and it was terrible - it actually DID NOT iron our clothes so I went out and got a refund and paid extra to get the Sunbeam Verve Max Glide Gold Resilium iron, and we absolutely love it!! I feel like I can make a job of ironing for others with this iron. It is SO easy to use, suits all fabrics (that we have anyway), it’s hot enough to iron your clothes pretty quickly and it’s so smooth when using. It looks beautiful, has a long cord and many different functions. I do wish it had the secret compartment to tuck away the cord when not in use (the Russell Hobbs has this and it was awesome) but other than that, I can’t fault the iron. I definitely recommend paying extra for this iron.

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys for $95.20.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rini
RiniGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst iron ever I have bought

published

The dial control spins to lower heat continually while in use, the steam is great for about 3 minutes and then peters out, even though there is plenty of water left still. It does not seem to get hot enough for ironing cottons. I paid a lot for this and I am unhappy with it.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $130.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Rini,
So sorry to hear of your experience with your iron. Your feedback has been passed onto our product team. Please return the iron to the store .

Rini
Rini

Thanks for your response. Are you saying that my local Harvey Norman will accept it as a return? Kate.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Rini,
Correct. It is covered by a 2 year warranty.

Rina
RinaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

It leaks badly...

published

I was so excited to use this iron since we bought it, but because we have to moved in other country I didn’t tried it right away for the sake of unpacking & packing again. After 2 months the day we bought it I finally used it & i was so disappointed because the water leaks right away. Its leaking a lot, that the water just be gone quickly. But despite its leaking,i have to used it because that that only iron we have that time. And it got to the point that i got burned skin because its leaking hot water.. one thing i have regret that i didn’t tried it before we have moved to other country. we could have returned it or get fixed.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Dan
DanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Great Steam Iron

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Dan,
Super happy you love the iron and thanks for great review!!!!!

Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Sunbeam Verve Max Glide SR6851 compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
El Hodgetts
El HodgettsCairns
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Smooth and Steamy!

published

Wow! Hadn’t realized how irons have improved since buying my last one a decade ago. Should have bought one sooner. This is so steamy and smoothes out strong cottons in one glide. Definitely saves time in the mad morning rush to work. My son is even keen to have a go himself. Excellent!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Jennifer Smiles
Jennifer SmilesKerikeri
  • 2 reviews

Best Iron I have owned

published

Heats up fast, temperature seems correct, the steam is amazing, I am a Pomme so I do a lot of ironing, it is a bit heavier than I am used to but glides over clothing so easy that it is a pleasure to iron and not so much a chore.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Not A Domestic Goddess
Not A Domestic GoddessSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Don't buy this product ....

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2015

Sunbeam Gold solid CRAP

published

My wife bought the Sunbeam Gold iron, only days ago, it is without doubt the worst Iron I have ever used in my 50 odd years of being a domesticated male.. it simply does not perform as it should, god knows they have had sooooo long to get it right, it is a total rip off BTW purchased at 2nd World Cremorne at the recommendation of some creepy saleman.

Date PurchasedSept 2016

Extremley poor product

published

I purchased this iron on Saturday 4/6/2016. Absolutely hate it, it does not iron out creases. I constantly need to re iron the same spot time and time again and it still does not give results I'm happy with. My previous iron was brilliant and I will be purchasing another one of those today. For the price I paid for this I feel ripped off. It's not faulty it's just a very poor item. Spoke to Sunbeam customer care. The gentleman there was less than helpful, I am returning this iron to the retailer today and for an extra $10 will buy a Braun that has been given top rating by Choice magazine. Shocked at such a poor Sunbeam product

Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
crafteecc
crafteecc
  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Another Sunbeam failure!

published
Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Sunbeam Verve Max Glide SR6851 compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Donna G
Donna Gasked

My brand new Verve max glide is almost unusable. From the very first use it gets an area of "burnt scale" like something has been stuck to it (which it has not) just below the top holes. It then grabs on the whatever I am trying to iron and will ruin fine fabrics. I have always used a Sunbeam iron and have never had this problem before.

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Donna G,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. This is highly unusual for this model. So sorry to hear of this. So sorry to hear of this. If purchased with in the last 24 months and you have your receipt please return it to the store of purchase. Kind Regards Sunbeam

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategoryIrons & Steam Generators
Price (RRP) $139.00
FeaturesAuto Shut Off, Drip-Stop and Vertical Steam
CordlessNo
Steam GeneratorNo
Water Tank Capacity300 ml
Cord Length2.5 m
Steam Output38 g/min
Power2,400 W
Weight1.85 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhite
Release dateJan 2014
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 3258, 35904785 and SR6851
  • GTIN13: 9311445021163

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.