??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Verve Max Glide SR6851

Sunbeam Verve Max Glide SR6851

MPN: 35904785
2.2 from 9 reviews

Worst iron ever I have bought

The dial control spins to lower heat continually while in use, the steam is great for about 3 minutes and then peters out, even though there is plenty of water left still. It does not seem to get hot enough for ironing cottons. I paid a lot for this and I am unhappy with it.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $130.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Product is used: Weekly
Clothing Material Cotton
3 comments
Hi Rini, So sorry to hear of your experience with your iron. Your feedback has been passed onto our product team. Please return the iron to the store .Thanks for your response. Are you saying that my local Harvey Norman will accept it as a return? Kate.Hi Rini, Correct. It is covered by a 2 year warranty.

It leaks badly...

I was so excited to use this iron since we bought it, but because we have to moved in other country I didn’t tried it right away for the sake of unpacking & packing again. After 2 months the day we bought it I finally used it & i was so disappointed because the water leaks right away. Its leaking a lot, that the water just be gone quickly. But despite its leaking,i have to used it because that that only iron we have that time. And it got to the point that i got burned skin because its leaking hot water.. one thing i have regret that i didn’t tried it before we have moved to other country. we could have returned it or get fixed.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Great Steam Iron

Been using this steam iron for 2 years and haven't had any issues with it. It's pretty dumb proof as it beeps when you're doing it wrong. Have a new housemate that doesn't wait for it to heat up and uses the steam function so it beeps really annoyingly to let the user know not to use it yet.

It heats up pretty well and maintains that heat as well. The steam is great when ironing clothes that have been stored for a while. Removes the smells as well but the steam also removes the smell of the fabric softener.

You can use it as a hand steamer for other garments but the water reservoir is limited. Good functionality though.

Only qualm is that for the price we paid for this iron, it doesn't have a self cleaning button for calcium build up. So there's white residue on the steam holes now on the plate that needs to be rinsed under a running tap.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
1 comment
Hi Dan, Super happy you love the iron and thanks for great review!!!!!

Smooth and Steamy!

Wow! Hadn’t realized how irons have improved since buying my last one a decade ago. Should have bought one sooner. This is so steamy and smoothes out strong cottons in one glide. Definitely saves time in the mad morning rush to work. My son is even keen to have a go himself. Excellent!

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Best Iron I have owned

Heats up fast, temperature seems correct, the steam is amazing, I am a Pomme so I do a lot of ironing, it is a bit heavier than I am used to but glides over clothing so easy that it is a pleasure to iron and not so much a chore.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Don't buy this product ....

I am writing this review with jaw clenched and temper hot after finishing my weekly ironing with my Sunbeam Max Glide - for the last time. Without doubt this is one of the worst irons I have ever used - it worked fine for a month or so after I bought it; it then started dripping water on my clothes, even on the hottest setting, leaving dirty marks on some items which required re-washing, to the point I avoid ever ironing expensive or delicate items with it. It doesn't work hard - it is used for mostly tee shirts, jeans, and pillow slips, yet it has performed consistently poorly even though I have always cleaned it regularly, emptied water out of the reservoir when not in use, and stored upright in a cool, dry cupboard. I have persevered with it for far too long, and recommend that any readers of this review don't buy one of these irons. I used to have an Australian made Sunbeam "Shot of Steam" iron back in the early 1980s - despite being heavy (solid metal in those days folks!) it worked beautifully and lasted for years. I don't recommend Sunbeam products any longer. I'm 'retiring' this frustrating article and buying another iron before next wash day.

Date PurchasedJul 2015

Sunbeam Gold solid CRAP

My wife bought the Sunbeam Gold iron, only days ago, it is without doubt the worst Iron I have ever used in my 50 odd years of being a domesticated male.. it simply does not perform as it should, god knows they have had sooooo long to get it right, it is a total rip off BTW purchased at 2nd World Cremorne at the recommendation of some creepy saleman.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Extremley poor product

I purchased this iron on Saturday 4/6/2016. Absolutely hate it, it does not iron out creases. I constantly need to re iron the same spot time and time again and it still does not give results I'm happy with. My previous iron was brilliant and I will be purchasing another one of those today. For the price I paid for this I feel ripped off. It's not faulty it's just a very poor item. Spoke to Sunbeam customer care. The gentleman there was less than helpful, I am returning this iron to the retailer today and for an extra $10 will buy a Braun that has been given top rating by Choice magazine. Shocked at such a poor Sunbeam product

1 comment
Hi Sunbeam Never Again, I do apologise for the issues you encountered with one of our Sunbeam products. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be passed onto the product team. Kind Regards Sunbeam

Another Sunbeam failure!

I bought this iron to replace my Sunbeam Verve 68 Resilium (which replaced the Tefal Aquaspeed) At first it was OK, although it didn't seem to produce as much steam as I expected. A good feature with an automatic turn off after a certain amount of time, but very annoying that it continuously beeped to let you know it had turned itself off - just a few beeps would have been OK Mr Sunbeam, then it could happily turn itself off completely! After a few months of operation, when the iron was upright, I noticed water would bubble out of a tiny hole in the flap/cover where you fill the iron, and dribble down the handle (this would happen even when the water reservoir was half empty) I wasn't going to wait to find out if any electrical connections were in the handle. I decided to return it after only 8 months use. I have reverted back to using my very old Sunbeam Ultura 5500 - it goes through the water quickly when using steam, but at least it doesn't leak!

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Details

Sunbeam Verve Max Glide SR6851
CategoryIrons & Steam Generators
Price (RRP) $129
Water Tank Capacity300ml
Release dateJan 2014

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: 35904785
  • GTIN13: 9311445021163

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.