??!
1 photo
Suncorp Clear Options Platinum

Suncorp Clear Options Platinum

2.7 from 9 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • 50,000 Bonus Points on offer

  • Earn 1.25 Rewards points per dollar spent

  • Complimentary International Travel Insurance and Extended Warranty Insurance

Cons

  • $129 Annual Fee

  • 3.4% International Transaction Fee

  • Balance Transfer Rate reverts to high Cash Advance Rate of 21.99% after 14 months

Details

CategoryFrequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards, Balance Transfer Credit Cards and Rewards Credit Cards
Card TypeVisa
BenefitsComplimentary Travel Insurance, Introductory Interest Rate and Reduced First Year Annual Fee
Minimum Credit Limit A$6,000
Maximum Credit Limit A$30,000
Rewards ProgramSuncorp Rewards
Points Earn Rate 1.25 points per $1
Points Conditions
  • 1.25 Rewards points per $1 spent
Contactless PaymentsApple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate20.74% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee3.5%
Late Payment FeeA$30
Annual FeeA$129 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 3.4%
Interest Free Period 55 days
Cash Advance Rate21.99% p.a.
Introductory Offers
Sign-Up Bonus

Receive 50,000 bonus Suncorp Credit Card Rewards Points when you spend $3,000 within the first 90 days from approval.

Release dateSep 2009

Visit official website

Reviews

2.7

9 reviews
  • Transparency
    3.3 (7)
  • Customer Service
    2.9 (7)
  • Rates and Fees
    2.9 (8)
  • Rewards
    3.3 (7)
  • Online Experience
    2.6 (8)
  • Application Process
    2.7 (7)
Previous
Next
Yvonne

YvonneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

never had the issues with other credit cards

published

Have used credit card for more than 20 years and never had the same problems as Suncorp credit card. We applied the cards due to change the home loan to Suncorp, so many troubles since applying. Asked the documents again and again when we already got home loan approved.

Then, we found the weird interest, and its for cash in advance, and we never used cash in advance. Called them, and then they said its sellers' problem, which is not at all. We still try to call them, and just no one pick the phone or transfer your call to somewhere else.

We really consider to get rid of this card and apply other one.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateOctober 2020
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

No Apple Pay no Google Pay!

published

No Apple Pay no Google Pay! It’s almost 2021 and this feature still does not exist. Just ridiculous! Don’t bother.
Yet description in product review still says it has these features.

Rewards
Online Experience
Incentivised ReviewNo
AJT

AJTQueensland

Beware this card is actually Citi NOT Suncorp

published

BEWARE - This is actually citi in disguise - Citi has poor customer service, they rely on a computer algorithm to determine credit limit. Poor communication. Lengthy delays and no real accountability or answers. They provide generic email correspondence. Sad that Suncorp a company which has generally high levels of customer service would rely on such a substandard organisation (Citi) to provide credit. They can't even get with the digital age and use Apple Pay - yet Suncorp's own cards do (go figure).

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateDecember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how Suncorp Clear Options Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
koolala

koolalaQLD, 4000

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

works fine 99% of the time

published

It works fine 99% of the time as any other cards do. However, as far as I know, beware Suncorp's credit card is actually issued and managed by Citibank, so when you have problem or request, there might be delay, and of course Citibank in background has no motivation to try to make Suncorp's customer happy, for example Suncorp's own debit card has Apple Pay, Citi' own credit card has Apple Pay, but Citi managed Suncorp credit card ,has nothing in 2019. Anyway, time to leave for good.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateDecember 2013
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
aussiewill

aussiewillQLD, 4350

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

An average card

published

The points are ok but this card is from CitiCorp so you don't get points on govt transactions. Card is not compatible with apple pay but does work with samsung pay. There is limited access to the card features in the suncorp app.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

KPoss

KPossGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great product with nice perks!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

High interest rate

published

I was offered this card as part of my homeloan package. The interest is very high, although there are interest free days, so I avoid using unless required. The points can be redeemed for flybuys which I like

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJuly 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
cdbstock

cdbstockSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

A good credit card

published

changed from a Citi card to this as my dispute with Citi went nowhere
my experience with Suncorp has been excellent- rewards are good
I see the 4 major banks as un-trustworthy
I support Suncorp Bank as it has Queensland roots

Rates and Fees
Rewards
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateAugust 2016
See all answers
Tim M

Tim MSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Basic rewards program, no real benefits.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateNovember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how Suncorp Clear Options Platinum compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Carol A

Carol Aasked

I am interested in using the travel insurance option that come with this card. Has anyone used the travel insurance for their overseas trips and if so did it meet all expectations?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Suncorp representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.