??!
1 photo
Suzuki DR-Z400E

Suzuki DR-Z400E

4.6 from 28 reviews

See the Best Enduro Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

Chris S.

Chris S.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best bang for your buck

published

The mighty DRZs are popular for a reason. They're cheap, reliable and do everything reasonably well. They are a light weight dual-sport with hundreds of mods available on the net. There is nothing outstanding about them, but reasonable everything that gives you great bang for your buck whether you are trail riding or adventure riding. There is nothing else that offers better value in a light weight package for the money.

Purchased in May 2015 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mileage 16,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

The Gill Man

The Gill ManSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

The Swiss army knife of duel sports

published

The DRZ400E is as reliable as they come. Yes, not perfect by any means but will get you there and back.
All of the fixes can be found on thumper talk but there are not that many anyway.
Buy a set of supermoto 17" wheels and you have two bikes in one.
Various sprockets are needed for the street and dirt.
Only 40hp but long service intervals mean more riding and less wrenching.
Cheap to buy, registration and insurance.
So many after market parts that it can be customised for everyone's needs.
Every bikes a compromise but this one ticks most of the boxes.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Matt

MattAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

The bike that does all. :) 2007 Modal

published

What a fun bike. :)
Take it offoad, beach, Mud, to work, around town. No worries.
Starts first time,all the time. :) My 2006 KLX250 took a little bit of effect to start on cold starts. Drz justs goes.

I bought aftermarket seat (seat concepts) as i do a bit of highway too. Changed gearing to 15/47 to 15/44 and love it. The stock gearing if fine, but sits better on highway with 44t rear. I also added lightbar, rad guards..etc

Bought it with 5,000kms, now has 12,000kms. :) No issues, just servicing..etc

Still own it, and love it. :)

Date PurchasedApr 2015

Great all round bike will take any thing you throw at it very reliable

published

Great bike with a few upgrades bigger tank bash plate radiator guards case savers 43 tooth rear sprocket for road use
Just did a 2500km ride through sand and rocky and main highway two Drz 400E one brand new and a 2007 model started from Wentworth NSW as far as QLD Innamincka back down through Broken hill and back to Wentworth over nine days two bikes unsupported and packed with tents swags tank bags rear racks panniers the bikes went through 35-38 degree days hot and dusty conditions handled sand riding and rocky surfaces we covered 600 km in one day with out any problems great reliable bikes good value go any where with some modification's

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Phillip

PhillipSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

A bike with great potential, comes great as-is

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Chris P

Chris PMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 18 reviews
  • 9 likes

Get Off Your 250 cc

published
Date PurchasedMar 2014

Andrew L

Andrew LSydney

  • 4 reviews

A cheap and reliable ride

published

I've owned my DRZ for over a year now and still thoroughly enjoy riding it when I get the chance.
The bike is a great piece of machinery, it can handle short journeys on the road easily and will still be able to tackle most off road use. I've spent a lot of time working on and with this bike, it's a great bike for beginners although you might find it a bit tall if you're under 5'9".

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Liberty

Liberty

  • 5 reviews

I’m extremely impressed with this bike

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
David Clift

David CliftAdelaide S. A.

Only problem for me is a hard seat.

published

I've had the bike just over a year with no problems, the only problem I can say is the seat is a bit narrow and I get numb nuts after a ride, but really it's a nice bike. The only thing that I had to do was put a 1 tooth bigger sprocket on the front that has stopped it revving too hard at 60 kms.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Gary C

Gary C

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great bike

published

I know they're not KTMs or any of the sought after European style bike, but they're great fun, inexpensive & very reliable.
The rear suspension probably lets it down if it had to nit-pick, but it's easily rectified.
Looking forward to doing some bush trips in the Flinders Ranges & beyond.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Steve . Plumber

Steve . Plumber

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Loving my Drz

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Bungle

Bungle

  • 20 reviews
  • 33 likes

Great compromise between highly strung and low maintenance

published

Great bike as per other reviews. A decent yet low maintenance (but slightly heavy) enduro bike. Just make sure you get the suspension properly sorted to suit your weight. Standard settings are for a 73kg rider and way too soft for most riders. Lots of aftermarket parts to customise and it has been in production for 17 years and counting. Post 2005 have had the bugs ironed out.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Bobby Downing

Bobby Downing

  • 18 reviews
  • 16 likes

Bulletproof Bush Pig

published

Geoff B

Geoff BCanberra

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great all round bike with modifications

published
Tim

TimCentral West, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 18 likes

Great reliable work horse

published
Bryn

Bryn

  • 2 reviews

mmmmm meh

published

my dad, uncle and my dads friend all got one at the same time because they all recommend it for a first bike. But no way would I recommend for first bike. Heavy as led bad handling not a good bush bike only good for long distance trips wouldnt recommend for people going up bush


BigBertha

BigBerthaWarana

Great Allrounder

published

Great all rounder

published

New handlebars, bark busters,50 tooth rear sprocket, B&B bash plate, redo the front springs,remove stand switch, remove clutch switch, Radiator guards, Yosi power pipe and you,ve got a good bike. Mines great now but look at what I,ve had to do! Still not finished.


Bullet proof

published

Overall excellent, highly recommend MSC damper and raiser, bash plate, bark busters, radiator guards. Suspension too soft if you are over 100kg. 15/47 gearing pretty good all round. Need to put loctite on front sprocket and primary nut under clutch casing to avoid vibrating loose. Have had, XR 650, CRF450X previously, would suggest if buying new have a close look at KLX450, also a great trail but needs aftermarket, pipe, bars, bashy and fuel tank which starts to add up given price difference, however has better gear ratios and awesome broad power right thru. DRZ is awesome if you want a great bike without tying too much coin if you are weekend warrior
Robust, strong and low maintenance
Gearing to low and a little bit heavy


scoota

scoota

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Bulletproof, solid fun bike that will do everything

published

Ive had these things for the past 10 years. I only sold my first one for financial reasons and now that ive bought a second one it will never leave me. If you want a cheap, fun solid bike that you can use for EVERYTHING get one! Ive sucked water all through the motor-my fault-and you can get them going on the trail.
Get the usual bash plate, gaurds etc and a lithium battery, new handlebars and your away. On my 2 bikes i have done 70,000km with no issues. get one
price, usability
handlebar position, weight, some poor quality parts, needs 6th gear, fuel injection


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Eli

Eliasked

Why is Suzuki only selling the E version nowadays?

Is the DRZ400E of 2018 the same as the one from 2012? Can someone explain this to me please?

1 answer
The Gill Man
The Gill Man

Suzuki make the DRZ400E Dual sport and DRZ400SM supermoto versions for the Australian market.

The DRZ400E came out in 2000 and is largely unchanged in 2019.

Thumper talk has a lot of information in this model.


Paul

Paulasked

Good bike but a cold starter, need to choke it in central queensland and still takes a while to warm up after choke is taken off, let sit for 5 or so hours have to use choke again. Is this normal? What are my options?

3 answers
Phillip
Phillip

Hi Paul, it depends.

I use the choke when starting it if I've left it for more than a few hours, but my idle drops back down after a few seconds (maybe 5-10) back to normal.

If I leave it overnight or a few days, it takes a minute or so but I leave it for another 30 seconds or so to warm up so the throttle is reliable.

Chris P
Chris P

Yes Paul it's normal because of electronic ignition mapping and /fuel injection. It's the way they're set up. Turning off an engine kills it. Hotter oils probably won't make a difference and neither will short rides. .

Phillip is correct. It should fall to idle almost immediately. Air cooled singles don't operate that much hotter than other configurations but they use less oil. So after you turn them off a breeze can cool them. If the bike has an oil cooler then it runs cooler quicker.

If you got a carby engine
1) run choke on full for 30 seconds then lower to half for 30 then turn off. If it idles run for 30 seconds see if motor revs freely.
2) run full choke then lower to quarter - so it will idle then ride off. Turn choke off after a kilometre.
3) try starting it without the choke. Give it a couple of throttle twists and hit/kick the starter. Good for XRs .

ronin
ronin

how much horsepower the engine


Cam

Camasked

Hello, would anyone out there know the exact weight of the DRZ400 engine?

4 answers
David Clift
David Clift

No, nothing in the owners manual, but in the supplementary owners manual the curb mass is 138kg ~ 304lbs.

David Clift
David Clift

On the Drz400, there is no mention of the weight on the engine only the mass weight of the whole bike.

Cam
Cam

Yes you are. Irrect


Get an answer from our members and Suzuki representatives

Details

CategoryEnduro Bikes
Release dateMay 2007

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.