1 photo
Suzuki DR-Z400E

Suzuki DR-Z400E

4.6 from 29 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.6

29 reviews
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Mileage 16,000 km
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Jacob
JacobSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

The thing doesn't stop ever.

published

Have taken it thru hard enduro, the occasional ride to work and through trails and haven't yet found anything to stop.

Just dont put the thing anywhere near a highway. The gearing is more tailored for the trails. It can be fixed but I find the stock gearing good for the tight single trails.

Would also be nice if it came with a rad fan. But there's definitely no shortage of parts or mods.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Chris S.
Chris S.Hunter Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best bang for your buck

published

The mighty DRZs are popular for a reason. They're cheap, reliable and do everything reasonably well. They are a light weight dual-sport with hundreds of mods available on the net. There is nothing outstanding about them, but reasonable everything that gives you great bang for your buck whether you are trail riding or adventure riding. There is nothing else that offers better value in a light weight package for the money.

Purchased in May 2015 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Enduro Bikes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
The Gill Man
The Gill ManSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

The Swiss army knife of duel sports

published

The DRZ400E is as reliable as they come. Yes, not perfect by any means but will get you there and back.
All of the fixes can be found on thumper talk but there are not that many anyway.
Buy a set of supermoto 17" wheels and you have two bikes in one.
Various sprockets are needed for the street and dirt.
Only 40hp but long service intervals mean more riding and less wrenching.
Cheap to buy, registration and insurance.
So many after market parts that it can be customised for everyone's needs.
Every bikes a compromise but this one ticks most of the boxes.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Enduro Bikes

Find out how Suzuki DR-Z400E compares to other Enduro Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt
MattAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

The bike that does all. :) 2007 Modal

published

What a fun bike. :)
Take it offoad, beach, Mud, to work, around town. No worries.
Starts first time,all the time. :) My 2006 KLX250 took a little bit of effect to start on cold starts. Drz justs goes.

I bought aftermarket seat (seat concepts) as i do a bit of highway too. Changed gearing to 15/47 to 15/44 and love it. The stock gearing if fine, but sits better on highway with 44t rear. I also added lightbar, rad guards..etc

Bought it with 5,000kms, now has 12,000kms. :) No issues, just servicing..etc

Still own it, and love it. :)

Date PurchasedApr 2015

Great all round bike will take any thing you throw at it very reliable

published

Great bike with a few upgrades bigger tank bash plate radiator guards case savers 43 tooth rear sprocket for road use
Just did a 2500km ride through sand and rocky and main highway two Drz 400E one brand new and a 2007 model started from Wentworth NSW as far as QLD Innamincka back down through Broken hill and back to Wentworth over nine days two bikes unsupported and packed with tents swags tank bags rear racks panniers the bikes went through 35-38 degree days hot and dusty conditions handled sand riding and rocky surfaces we covered 600 km in one day with out any problems great reliable bikes good value go any where with some modification's

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Phillip
PhillipSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

A bike with great potential, comes great as-is

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Chris P
Chris PMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 22 reviews
  • 10 likes

Get Off Your 250 cc

published
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Andrew L
Andrew LSydney
  • 4 reviews

A cheap and reliable ride

published

I've owned my DRZ for over a year now and still thoroughly enjoy riding it when I get the chance.
The bike is a great piece of machinery, it can handle short journeys on the road easily and will still be able to tackle most off road use. I've spent a lot of time working on and with this bike, it's a great bike for beginners although you might find it a bit tall if you're under 5'9".

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Other Enduro Bikes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Liberty
LibertyGreat Southern, WA
  • 6 reviews

I’m extremely impressed with this bike

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Enduro Bikes

Find out how Suzuki DR-Z400E compares to other Enduro Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David Clift
David CliftAdelaide S. A.

Only problem for me is a hard seat.

published

I've had the bike just over a year with no problems, the only problem I can say is the seat is a bit narrow and I get numb nuts after a ride, but really it's a nice bike. The only thing that I had to do was put a 1 tooth bigger sprocket on the front that has stopped it revving too hard at 60 kms.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Gary C
Gary C
  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great bike

published

I know they're not KTMs or any of the sought after European style bike, but they're great fun, inexpensive & very reliable.
The rear suspension probably lets it down if it had to nit-pick, but it's easily rectified.
Looking forward to doing some bush trips in the Flinders Ranges & beyond.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Steve . Plumber
Steve . Plumber
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Loving my Drz

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Bungle
Bungle
  • 24 reviews
  • 46 likes

Great compromise between highly strung and low maintenance

published

Great bike as per other reviews. A decent yet low maintenance (but slightly heavy) enduro bike. Just make sure you get the suspension properly sorted to suit your weight. Standard settings are for a 73kg rider and way too soft for most riders. Lots of aftermarket parts to customise and it has been in production for 17 years and counting. Post 2005 have had the bugs ironed out.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Bobby Downing
Bobby Downing
  • 24 reviews
  • 33 likes

Bulletproof Bush Pig

published
Other Enduro Bikes

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Geoff B
Geoff BCanberra
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great all round bike with modifications

published
Enduro Bikes

Find out how Suzuki DR-Z400E compares to other Enduro Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Travis_w
Travis_wasked

Hi, I have a 2014 drz400e which needed inner clutch cover to be replaced and now putting new one on I have noticed that the old one had a washer come away with it and I have no idea where that washer goes. Can anyone help me please? Not sure how to upload photo if even possible sorry.

No answers
Luke B.
Luke B.asked

Hi, I’ve put my after market slip on back on my 2009 Suzuki Drz 400e (non Ca.)and was hoping to find a stage 1 jet kit to suit but can’t find any references for the E model. Only s /sm. Any ideas would be appreciated.

No answers
Tony
Tony asked

Just bought brand new drz400e 2020 model,only done 400km ,tiny bit of black sludge noticeable on engine seal,front end of bike above crank case,I think,is this normal?

No answers
See all Suzuki DR-Z400E questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryEnduro Bikes
Release dateMay 2007
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.