??!
4 photos
Suzuki DR650SE

Suzuki DR650SE

4.2 from 41 reviews

See the Best Trail Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
24
4 star
11
3 star
0
2 star
4
1 star
2

gtp

gtp

  • 5 reviews

Good at most things

published

Purchased in June 2014 at Suzuki Dealers for $7,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mileage 15,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

blown up gearbox

published

this a 3year bike with 38,000 km no sign is was going to destroy it self left me stuck in the bush miles from nowhere not good for a adv bike steer clear from them 2 off my mates have had the same problem at 10,000km and 19,000km. not happy

Purchased in July 2016 for $8,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mileage 380,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

If you could only own one bike........

published

The DR650 is a great bike but it needs a few mods to make it an exceptional all rounder.
1 - chuck the standard seat away (the further away the better)
2 - chuck the standard muffler away (as above)
3 - 20 litre acerbis fuel tank
4 - carb rejet with procycle jetting kit plus mods to the carb & airbox as per Full Force Racing Video. (BETTER MPG than stock set up + more power !!!!)

Sure the DR650 is a bit on the porky side and the suspension may need a bit of tweaking but it is the best adventure bike you can buy for the money - Basic & reliable with little to break when you fall off (which you will if you use it to get off the beaten track)

There is a good reason why the DR650 has legions of diehard fans.....

Purchased in February 2014.

Henry

HenryMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

One of the best all round bkes ever made

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Love the bike.

published

I bought the bike with 5000ks on the clock. I have now done 13000k.
The bike does every thing I want it too for how I use it,which is more road than dirt. The bike sits on 100kmr without a problem.Also as I am getting older I wanted a more lighter bike with less maintenance and the DR is perfect. I service the bike myself. I still have the standard tank on it and I get about 250km between fills depending how I ride it .Only vice is the seat it’s a bit hard on the backside but a lambs wool fixes that.Recomend the bike to any one.

Date PurchasedJul 2014

steve

steveToowoomba

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Simplicity at it's finest.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

JK1190

JK1190Brisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

This bike is fantastic to ride. Purchased one earlier this year. Love that it's simple to tinker around with too. Unlike other bikes, this one is easy to make any adjustments or repairs to. This bike has been ridden both on road and off. When riding on road once it reaches about 80 kilometres per hour it starts to get a bit reckless. This I have attributed to it's dirt tyres. When off road this bike makes everything a breeze. Even beginner riders are able to test out and build skills off road without coming off. This bikes balance is fantastic considering it's height and weight.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

scott

scottalice springs

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great highway bike that doubles as a dirt bike

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2012

Not just a motorbike. , forget dogs being mans bestfreind, your dog will come second to one of these

published

Very great motorcycle. 1. Cheap. You can pick a used one up very cheap.
2. Build any bike. They are a platform for a great adventure tourer, daily commute, heavy dirtbike, supermotard, tractor to tow a plough.
3. Lots and lots of ome and aftermarket parts and accessories.
4. Loves to wheelie.
5. Bulletproof

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Michael Czajka

Michael CzajkaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 24 reviews
  • 1 like

DR650SE (2012)

published
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Awesome bike. So good I bought two.

published

I bought an 04 model and thrashed it unmercifully for 5 years. I still have it and it goes great. I crashed and drowned it but it always came back for more. I bought another 2012 model and put 40'000 km on it in 3 years. Solid, dependable and tough. I will buy another when I wear this one out. There is a great range of aftermarket accessories available for them. If they fix the neutral sender unit issue and make the seat more comfortable it would be nearly perfect.

Date PurchasedSep 2013

dr650se

published

used a courier bike 95,oookm no problem at all, great on fuel, long power range through gears, comfortable seat, front shockers alittle small , great all round bike , oil cooled and no water or radiator was a bonus less trouble, use the clutch and dont break gears dude and ride properly. couldnt say more about it. love to own another one .

Date PurchasedJan 2007

Pasty

PastyHobart

  • 8 reviews
  • 12 likes

Suzuki DR opens many doors

published

Outdoors_Guy

Outdoors_GuySydney, NSW

  • 33 reviews
  • 36 likes

Great Budget All Rounder

published

Fooled by good reviews

published

Brand new 2015 DR650 review.

published

Just clocked 1200 klms and put bike in for its first service. I complained about a bad rattling, clanging and banging noise when the bike was under load or with two up. The dealership said it was normal. I have owned motorcycles all my life and I have never heard noises come from a bike like that before. I was worried that the bike was faulty. I would not recommend purchasing this motorcycle. Its down right embarrassing riding down the street rattling and clanging and banging like that.


Trial run

published

Just bought a new 2015 DR as well. Still running in (220k) but a bit if pinging and tapping at cruising speed (60-80ks). Is that normal? Great bike but sometimes noisy and not sure if that is normal i.e the sounds. I love the DR but not good enough to know the right or wrong noises.


Suzuki#7

Suzuki#7ipswich

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Be Aware Of Gearbox Issues

published

Sarge18

Sarge18Hobart, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 17 likes
  • Verified purchase

Simply the best.

published

Cruising49

Cruising49Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ready for Adventure

published

What a versatile motorcycle. Have recently purchased a brand new 2015 DR650SE with the free Enduro pack that Suzuki presently has on offer. I have also had the optional lowering kit fitted to make it more user friendly for all our family. Quite a light bike for a 650cc which makes it easy to ride as a commuter and still very happy to cruise at the legal speed limit on open roads. Changes in the future - perhaps the seat which is a little hard and also a larger tank for longer trips out west. This bike is a keeper!


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

old FT

old FTasked

Can you fit a v storm 650 xt seat to a DR 650 se

1 answer
Henry
Henry

No.


Hilux1369

Hilux1369asked

Hi what type of oil do I use in my DR650SE 2010 mod?

3 answers
Henry
Henry

I use Penrite HPR Diesel 15 15W/50 Semi Synth in all my bikes. The 10L drums are often on special at Supercheap too.

steve
steve

Depends on the climate/riding conditions and what sort of money you want to spend on oil. Check out manufacturer JASO or API oil spec for your bike and try googling the dr650.zenseeker webpage for a wealth of informative info. I have got nearly 50 thousand on mine and have had no problems using Motul 5100 and Penrite MC 4stroke 10W40 ester based oils. Have also used Penrite MC 10W40 full synthetic in it when it comes on special and roughly 5000km between oil changes.
DON'T use ordinary car engine oils with friction modifiers in them as they can cause havoc with the wet clutch in the DR and you should have no problems.

Gulf western syn-x 3000, 10w40 semi synthetic works fine in a dr650 , or any wet clutch motorcycle , there are no friction modifiers in it , and you can pick it up on special for as low as $15.00 for 5 lts .


Dude

Dudeasked

Can I be a little over the high mark on oil inspection window?

1 answer
scott
scott

I personally wouldn't go over the high mark. But remember to have the bike perfectly straight to read it correctly. If it's only over by 1 or 2 mm, then it won't matter. But 5 or more mm over could cause issues with power and seals. Eventually causing leaks and oil burn. It will also create more fuel consumption as engine works harder in a higher than recommended level of oil. The same reason oil viscosity should be a manufacturer specifications.
So remember that it's actually ok to have a engine at halfway fill level. But check the oil 10 minutes after a ride. As need to know warm levels. Usually it's similar to cold but not always.
My DR650 was always at 3/4 or just below full line. I would lean it up against a wall to point it was about to fall off the wall.
Also I always added moreys or similar oil stabilizer. 25%. Supposed to help prevent wear on cold starts but I used it because hot weather here is over 40 Celsius.
Another great addition is to get oil temp gauge or temp gauge to the engine block. I was amazed at times how hot it seemed to get. Especially on 40 plus days with just air cooled engine! !
I loved the dr650. But sold it for more light weight bike because had too many river crossings by myself and picking it up was just getting too hard


Get an answer from our members and Suzuki representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.