??!
1 photo
Telstra Gateways Frontier

Telstra Gateways Frontier

3.9 from 27 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
5

Jlaw1968

Jlaw1968Melbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good modem

published

We received this modem when we signed up with Telstra. It's worked as promised and there has been no real major problems since. We don't get drop outs and the connectivitiy seems to be pretty good. It sits under the kitchen bench and the wifi reaches all parts of the house, even in the garden. It was pretty easy to set up along with the NBN, just plugged it in. I will probably upgrade the modem when and if i resign to Telstra.

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

shan

shanCronulla

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best modem ever

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Telstra.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 25 devices
ISPOptus Mobile Broadband
ModemHuawei B525
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Tim e

Tim eGoulburn Valley, VIC

Piece of fkn crap

published

Only 2 out of 10 of our devices connect via wifi and the 5g wifi does not work and all devices that have lan capabilities don't work on it the phone has slight static when using it and 4g is slow but has full signal. The modem itself is too screwed down and can't shut down telstra air access on it. I rate it -10 out of 10

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ModemTechnicolor dja0230
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Outdoor E.

Outdoor E.Southwest, VIC

  • 11 reviews

Good Gateway

published

This modem has been used for a few months and we find it to be very fast after it is powered on. It has never given us any troubles and never cuts out. Very easy to setup both from startup and with wifi connection which we usually have 3 devices connected to it.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband ADSL
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

eastwest101

eastwest101Townsville

  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Gateway Modem itself okay but landline handset phone pretty rubbish

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Sewsoau

SewsoauAdelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • 17 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best Telstra Modem yet

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Hera

HeraMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can’t believe it’s easy!

published

Ordered and came to my house in the next two days! Was so fast and easy to set up! Literally can get my 6 year old to set up lol works wonderfully I love how they will let me know prior if the systems going to be down, I’m saying that they work on the networks when we’re most probably sleeping. I haven’t had any problems with the modem or Telstra so far, so here’s hoping we won’t need to call them. However it’s great I actually love it and don’t think I’ll be changing anytime soon

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Michael

Michael

  • 3 reviews

Money grubbing dogs

published

Don't even get me started on this, I moved to Telstra a few weeks ago and everything seemed to be woring fine, the wifi was fast and good, until my modem kept automatically going into 'back up mode', i called Telstra several times seeking help and they would say the same damn thing, 'there has been an outage in your area causing this', and honestly, if that were true, than how the hell is it possible that Telstra had 30 outages in 3 weeks? I ended up moving to Optus and my life couldn't be better, i suggest you all do the same.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Ben

BenSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Backup facility no longer gives a reasonable speed.

published

I moved to Telstra specifically because of the backup facility on the modem as my NBN line is unreliable. For the first 6 months it would fall over to backup at around 6mb. Now it falls to backup at about 0.5mb.. ie. unusable. Telstra phones in the house give 50Mb plus (we're in a high coverage area). Telstra won't address this issue although I follow the proper channels. They are clearly throttling due to too many people on it and an unreliable NBN and can't let it saturate the cellular network... but this is *the* reason I moved to them. Oh, and the modem (made by Technicolor) has a poor range and is not 100% standard so isn't compatible with certain printers, my Mitsubishi air con and a Samsung TV.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

So far so good ...

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018

Self Funded Retiree

Self Funded RetireeQLD, 4740

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good NBN Modem

published

The modem is easy to setup. Essentially all you have to do is plug it in.
I did find that I had to also purchase the Telstra smart wifi boosters to get good coverage around the house. The house is a single story L shaped house with the modem in one end of that L.
The NBN speeds are very poor but that is Telstra, not the modem. As for being able to switch over to mobile data when NBN is not available. Well that does happen.......but whilst it uses 4G coverage. Mobile speeds are limited to 6/1 Mbps speeds.

Overall one of the better modems that I've owned.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

StephM

StephMTownsville

  • 5 reviews

Good modem

published

I'm very satisfied with the connectivity, drop outs are covered by 3g making it a lot less frustrating. Was easy to set up and manage. Wish we had got one sooner. Downside is it's a little large which means the places it can go at out house are limited. Overall a great modem.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Bernie

BernieDJIRU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This looks so cool!

published

I've been using this router for a year and it feels great, the signal is very stable, it doesn't drop the line for no reason, and it's very easy and very simple to debug. It's just a fool's job. There's no burden to set up and manage a router.If I buy it again, I'll follow. It will choose it!

Date PurchasedAug 2017

RCB

RCBHobart

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works very well, easy to use.

published

Despite having some issues with the service provider, this modem has been an exception. In terms of design, it is sleek, stylish and does not stick out like a sore thumb in a room. Buttons are clearly labeled and work as they should. It comes with a long length of cable which allows for it to be placed just about anywhere too. Installation went smoothly, and set up was simple thanks to the provided instructions. We have had no issues with the service provided by this modem, it’s reliable and strong! Notable that the modem itself has not been affected by the several losses of power we’ve had over the past year: no electronics issues or anything like that. Pretty happy with this.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
BUGBUYER

BUGBUYERHunter Region, NSW

  • 32 reviews
  • 28 likes

EXCELLENT MODEM TO FIX DROP OUT PROBLEMS

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
AFK

AFKPeel, WA

  • 50 reviews

Very good telstra modem

published

Finally the nbn came to our door, and fibre to the kerb which is great. The cynic in me says that our adsl2 was deliberately being slowed down so we would be hanging out for the nbn connection....we certainly were so that bit probably worked. Telstra contacted us about the nbn being available and we signed up, got a good deal on evening std with gateway and modem router supplied promptly as promised. Followed all the simple instructions to connect and within 10 minutes up and running..very good modem and hook up was simplicity in itself...couldnt have been easier..works well, can run 2.4ghz or 5.3ghz, 2.4 ghz works fine. We are very happy with the whole setup. Its basically plug and play, no problem af all so far.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Taj

TajPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Happy surfing

published

Looks beautiful..works great..but sometimes getting on and off due to weather and power fluctuations other than that it s performance good and easy to set up .it comes with all details inside box..so we installed on our own.. no man power needed..only need assistance from technical support when connecting...thanks ..simply superb design..

Date PurchasedApr 2018

therevills

therevillsAdelaide

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Telstra Modem

published

We changed from ADSL to Telstra Cable as we were sick of waiting for NBN to be available in our area. We have not had an issues as yet with the modem and it seems to be working really well.

It was easy to set up which is always a good thing. The wi-fi is really good throughout the house too.The modem looks modern and clean, with no aerials or bits sticking out, bonus!

The speed has been great, we are very impressed with that. Also if cable is down, we have the back up of the 4G network.

We have had no issues with this modem, it works perfectly and we are very happy with it's performance.

Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Kto Z

Kto ZSydney

Just stopped working - so much for 4G backup

published

The usual Telstra customer service joy (not) was somewhat offset by this clever solution. 4G was only answer while Telstra took 2 months to deliver us the ADSL we purchased. So 6 mbps download through 4G was OK as a standby and we finally got our 12 mbps ADSL 2+ for a month before the modem failed including 4G backup. Took 90 minutes over 2 phone calls to get them to acknowledge that modem had failed and would be replaced. Stand by to see where this ends up....

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Kto Z
Kto Z

Snoopy

SnoopyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to set, no glitch, fast

published

Switched from Optus to Telstra when we moved house. I am not tech savvy and therefore pleasantly surprised how easy it was to set this up. Used it for 3 months, no complaints, no delay in watching HD movie on laptop or iPads, even when all 5 gadgets were connected.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Kathryn O.

Kathryn O.asked

where is the WPS button on this dwvice

1 answer
shan
shan

Just above the power button from memory.


Judith Hudson

Judith Hudsonasked

Why is the signal light on the top of the Gateway Frontier modem always orange? Should this be green?

3 answers
Sewsoau
Sewsoau

Hi Judith, I might be wrong but if you are connected and the modem is working it might be to indicate that it is connected to the telstra towers and not the nbn. The modem has that feature as a backup if the nbn is not connected

Judith Hudson
Judith Hudson

Telstra has told us that we are connected to the nbn now so maybe I should contact them direct.

Shan
Shan

Turn it off and back on. Worked for me


Lyn S

Lyn Sasked

Can we refuse (or not switch over) to 5G, or will it be automatic? In my settings I cannot turn off 'connect automatically' on the 5G link.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Telstra representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.