Thermann X Hybrid Heat Pump

Thermann X Hybrid Heat Pump

 Verified
Thermann X Hybrid Heat Pump
2.9

17 reviews

PositivevsNegative
47% · 88 · 47%

Build Quality
2.4
Value for Money
2.4
Cleaning & Maintenance
2.6
Noise Level
3.5
Temperature Consistency
3.4
Heating Speed
3.4

Reviews

17 reviews
Stephen T.
Stephen T.6 posts
  300L

Noisy. Avoid

Noisy. Noisy. Noisy!
Typing this at 4.30am after the heat pump on our new build yet again has woken us all.up. Reece says this is just how they are. Also dumps water all over ground from outlets (cement already stained) and have to run about 3L of water before hot comes out.. Reece also says this is normal. Will be replacing with a traditional electric hot water unit. Thanks for the money down the drain Reece. Show details
Thermann
Thermann   DM   
More
PREMG
PREMGPerth, WA
  300L

unit is performing well

So far so good, unit is performing well, hardly uses any electric and we have never run out of hot water even with 8 people visiting/ staying in our house. These are brilliant if sized correctly and installed correctly. I am a plumber and have installed this at my own property. We did away with the gas feed to our property as we have no demand for gas anymore. Highly recommended, so far no issues. I bought thermaan as I hope parts will be available in the 'long run' which I don't suspect will happen if you buy a cheap Chinese version Show details ·  1
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
David F.
David F.Mid North Coast, NSW
  Verified 220L

Would be a five-star but required a warranty repair

Unit installed mid 2022 and no problems at all until recently. Very efficient for our small household and has kept my power bill down. Unfortunately, there was a faulty electronic temperature control component. The handling of my warranty claim was very, very good. Fixed within 48hrs of my initial phone call. Great customer support (a rare thing nowadays). Thanks also to the diligent technician. Happy to recommend. Show details ·  1
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
wchin
wchinCanberra 2600, ACT
  220L

Works great when it actually works

This unit was put in my new build in late 2018. The first break down was 2021 (rubber ring issue), march 2023 (computer replacement and tpr valve) and again oct 2023 (element boost replacement) and AGAIN dec 2023 (BOTH sensors replaced). 3 MAJOR breakdowns and issues in 1 year is alot for a $4,000 unit.

My front neighbor has the 330 unit and have had 4 repairs so far.

I do not recommend this unit. I am lucky to have contact with Reece's hot water pump plumber so my repairs are done within a few days. Show details

Thermann
Thermann   DM   
More
David
DavidCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC12 posts
  300L
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
Thermann
Thermann   DM   
More
Mel
MelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  300L
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Thermann
Thermann   DM   
More
David
DavidMetropolitan Adelaide, SA3 posts
  300L

noise level

Replaced a noisy Rheem hot water system with what I was guaranteed by a local plumber was one of the quietest on the market, I had not found any reviews on the Thermann prior to the purchase. Seems to be a good product so far, the only complaint is the noise level which drones through our home, would have gone solar instead. In high density housing that occurs in suburbs now, like some air conditioning systems not a neighbour friendly item. Unfortunately unable to download recordings.
, Show details
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
Thermann
Thermann   DM   
More
Bax
BaxGoulburn Valley, VIC3 posts
  Verified 300L

Efficient but has had some reliability issues

Installed September 2019 and has broken down twice.
Electronic side appears to be the unreliable component of what seems to be an otherwise good product.
Thermann have been good with repairs out of warranty. Show details ·  1
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mark Robinson
Mark Robinson
  300L

We have 2 Therman x Hybrid Heat pumps installed to separate units

One of the heat pump units is extremely noisy to the other.suspect a problem with fan! Would appreciate a serviceman from Therman take a look please.My contact is 0408387984 Mark. Show details ·  1
Overall
Noise Level
Functionality
Rebecca
RebeccaSydney, NSW
  300L

You have been warned

High expectations for this German heat pump that have been crushed with 3 system failures in 3.5 years. Installed for our new build in February 2019, first service call Dec 2020 - element replaced. Second service call December 2021 - faulty unit replaced with new unit. Third service call Nov 2022 - element on new unit replaced. Update: Originally advised that this is not covered under warranty. Contacted by Thermann through this review for mediation, who have now decided to cover repair costs. Show details
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
Thermann
Thermann   DM   
More
Warren
WarrenHunter Region, NSW7 posts
  300L

A few years in and still working perfectly

We bought this unit after our Gas Storage System failed. The Thermann X is a great Hot Water Heater. We have a family of 5 and have never run out of hot water. Currently set to run whenever it needs to but will be changing to run only when Solar is Generating Electricity. Anyone done this? Show details ·  1
Brad G
Brad GGippsland, VIC
  300L
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
Thermann
Thermann   DM   
More
Mark
Mark3 posts
  300L

Faulty unit keeps breaking down

Installed in a new house build December 2018. It has been serviced/fixed 5 times since installation. It has had parts replaced each time and the service agent stated they are a poor unit as they have to attend to many complaints with these units. When it works is a good unit but should NOT have to have it fixed this many times. Would definitely steer clear of buying this model. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Thermann
Thermann   DM   
More
Bruce
Bruce11 posts
  300L

Effective and efficient hot water system

Hard to evaluate as it is used conjointly with two quantum systems. Therefore there over 900 litres of hot water to service 7 motel rooms. Only ever ran out , when the unit tripped the circuit breaker. Show details ·  1
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Justin Glass
Justin Glass2 posts
  300L

Efficient but unreliable

My unit is cheap to run but needs fixing about once per year, which is disappointing for an expensive hot water system. There’s a lack of plumbers with the right gear to fix it to and when you do get hold of one they mention that the faulty parts are a common design issue for the units. Show details
Overall
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Functionality
Thermann
Thermann   DM   
More

Questions & Answers

Joanna S.
Joanna S. · X Hybrid Heat Pump

Have a new 300 hybrid unit installed for 2 weeks - tonight no hot water be code 512 and displaying a spanner…. For $5k I would have thought we would get a bit more than 2 weeks before a cold shower…..any tricks to fix it while we wait for a service person - looks like it’s a while from other posts….

Thermann
Thermann   DM   
Joanna S.
Joanna S.  

Thanks for your reply!! I was onto Reece first thing this morning and then your office reached out, we have a tech coming in the morning. Let’s hope it’s a 1 off issue.

Peter K.
Peter K. · X Hybrid Heat Pump 300L

I am so over this rubbish, 9 days out from christmas and 7 extras coming to stay and it has crap itself again, 3rd or 4th time in not yet 4 years. same issue, seal in top element gone.
last time took about 3 weeks to fix. When it works it is great but this issue is beyond a joke. who is going to pay when it runs out of warranty, refused to discuss this last time it failed.
Not good enough Stiebel Eltron, about time you sorted this recurrent issue permanently.
I would not recommend these to anybody.

Thermann
Thermann   DM   
Chantel P.
Chantel P. · X Hybrid Heat Pump

We have just purchased 2 weeks ago at Thermann hybrid 220l. We are getting a fault code 512. Any advice

Thermann
Thermann   DM   

Details

Compare all Thermann X Hybrid Heat Pump listings
CategoryElectric Hot Water Storage SystemsElectric Hot Water Storage Systems
Price (RRP) $4,025.88$3,393.71
TypeStorageStorage
Dimensions 1913 x 690 mm1545 x 690 mm
Capacity300.00L220.00L
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.