??!
1 photo
Toyota 86 ZN6 GTS

Toyota 86 ZN6 GTS (2012-2020)

Also referred to as: Toyota 86 ZN6 GTS 2019 and Toyota 86 ZN6 GTS 2021. Manual, Automatic
4.2 from 20 reviews

Reviews

4.2

20 reviews
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    5.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (2)
  • Features
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
ninkasi

ninkasiMelbourne

  • 18 reviews
  • 20 likes

Amazing 'bang for buck'

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Halo

HaloPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Serious fun. Reliability not to Toyota standard.

published

Bought this car as a toy in 2012. Does everything a classic sports car should. You won't win every drag at the lights but you'll have the biggest smile on your face when you get out. Had some issues with oil leaks. Only minor but annoying. Some fixed by Toyota others not. Seems all good now. It's noisy. Engine noise is what you want, but lot of road noise. If you want to travel long distances buy something else.

Purchased in December 2012 for A$39,600.00.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
vicsatester

vicsatesterSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Battery is faulty and Toyota's attitude is deplorable

published
BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Sports Cars

Find out how Toyota 86 ZN6 GTS compares to other Sports Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carbarandmar

CarbarandmarNSW, 2560

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best sports car on the road

published

Driving long distances, I needed a reliable car. I used to drive a Toyota Celica, but opted to update to a 2017 model Toyota 86. So glad I did. It's a little ripper... it's KY daily commute to and from work, and it's so comfortable I hardly know I'm driving a sports car. The seat warmers are a nice change on a cold winters morning while driving to work. There has been no recalls on this car so far..

BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Mary

MaryGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

lacking Oomph

published

I thought it would be more powerful considering all the hooha that was made about it & being a Japanese company. I had a hatchback that had more power than this car. I will say that it is a solid car made by good quality material, sturdy. Just lacking power for a sports car.

BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Amy

Amyperth WA, 6038

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love this car <3

published

Love this car! Its a Toyota so it will last forever!
Travel everyday from alkimos to FSH in it.
I has had a good run so far, and will hopefully last a very long time.

Running costs = very cheap for fuel, fuel lasts a long time in it.

Interior = the leather in my steering wheel is coming off which is the only down fall.

BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Carrie.chen

Carrie.chenSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect first car

published

Purchased the car in 2015 and I love it a lot. The car handles well and is good with fuel mileage too. However, the only downside is the small back seats and boot space. Not very functional if you want to carry 4 passengers around as it can get quite tight.

BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Leo

LeoSydney

  • 4 reviews

Perfect Car

published

This is my first Sport Car. I am very happy with its performance. Price is reasonable as well. However there is no spare tyre. It happened once not long after my purchase that one of the tyres was broken and the repair kit did not work. Finally the car had to be towed for tyre replacement.

BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
ValW

ValWAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute pleasure car - fantastic!

published

For what it is, it gives you all the fun and pleasure without the expense of bigger cars. If you are looking for a practical family car this isn't for you. Its a car for people who don't care about having more than 1 passenger. It's not a car for the kids or grandkids - it's a car for you! The handling in corners and in the wet is fantastic. It has everything you need in the interior. If you haven't had seat heaters, try them - they are amazing! I absolutely love this car!

BadgeGTS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Sports Cars

Find out how Toyota 86 ZN6 GTS compares to other Sports Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matty

MattyCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Fun Fun Fun

published

If you are looking for a speed machine, this car is not for you. If you are looking for a cheap and affordable sports car that will give you a genuine driving experience than this is the car for you. Definitely isn't slow and you could easily still lose your licence. As you would expect from a 2L, it is very efficient on fuel even when you push it hard.

They have come down in price these days, definitely a buy <3

BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015
KezzaH

KezzaHHobart, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 15 likes

What a fun car!

published
BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Michael H

Michael HMelbourne, Victoria

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Handling

published

The handling creates a brilliant driving experience and the GTS model comes loaded with all the features you could ever need. The back seats fold down which allows for plenty of cargo room and even fits my snowboards. Back seats are usable for those 5 foot 10 and under. Very good on fuel (averaging 7.5 liters per 100km) but there is a fair bit of road noise due to little sound insulation.

BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Geena

Geenahawthorn

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

i love this car

published

This is a sport car so dont expect it has all functions. I love this car as it is sporty and affordable. Not overly expensive and meets all criteria of a sport car. Even though it has the same as Subaru, i think it worth more than Subaru BRZ. Never regret.

BadgeGTS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Edgar

EdgarMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Toyota 86 experience

published

Bought this car and can I say it's amazing. Performance is better than expected and handling is a dream come true. Able to do twist and turns with ease on the mountains. Downside is the torque dip on 3rd gear but this can be fixed with a custom tune. Dashboard can be a bit better as well as it is laggy. Running costs is not that cheap if you are tracking it or driving like a race car. If a daily car, you will probaly average around 9L per 100km. Overall for the price range, I would recommend if you are looking for a budget NA sports car.

BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2015
East86

East86Melbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Grown Ups Go-Kart

published
BadgeGTS
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Sports Cars

Find out how Toyota 86 ZN6 GTS compares to other Sports Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rob

RobGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Packed with features, fun to drive, reliable & cheap to run. Just wish it came in other colours!

published

Not the fastest car on the road but geez its fun to drive! Guaranteed to put a smile on any driver that loves a good drive. Blackline Edition only comes in white with black striping. Just wish Toyota had a couple more colour options for this particular limited edition model

BadgeGTS
TransmissionAutomatic
Paul H

Paul H

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Thougths after 30k (18 months) auto GTS

published
BadgeGTS
MsJanette25

MsJanette25AU

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great value for money

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeGTS
1 comment
Rob
Rob
Tuz

TuzBendigo

Overrated and underpowered.

published
BadgeGTS
1 comment
Rob
Rob
sierra

sierra

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Exceeded my already high expectations

published
BadgeGTS
1 comment
wilkolhb2444
wilkolhb2444

Agree 100% with this review........ 86 is B R I L L I A N T for $32k (GT). Rear vision is better than my last 2 Celicas as no rear spoiler... not a problem really.

See all Toyota 86 ZN6 reviews

Questions & Answers

Hannah N.

Hannah N.asked

GTS Manual (2012-2020)

Hey guys.

I'm looking at buying a Toyota 86 GTS manual.
It has a fair few extras on it and it sounds a great.
It's only got just over 70 000 km on it and it looks like it's in really good nic.

I have done so much research on them but to sum it up the Toyota 86 GTS is not like a Hilux it hasn't been around for years and years so it's hard to try find the long-term practicality or full engine life.

When we went to test drive the car yesterday afternoon we found out that the guy who owns it has thrashed it in the time that he has had it.

My partner and I have researched them and we have read that on the racetrack those models get absolutely thrashed and they will have a lifespan of a round 150 000 to 175 000 km if looked after well and his seems to have been looked after.

Now I fell in love with this car when I took it for a test drive but because it was driven pretty hard I'm just not sure of its reliability.
Obviously Toyota have a great reputation for reliability in general again this is a relatively new car.

Just wanting to hear your opinions out there obviously it's more like a sports car so it's meant to be driven a bit more hard than your general Toyota Camry or something, but should I be worried if I continue treating it well will it last me 2 to 3 years or more?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.