14 photos
Toyota C-HR

Toyota C-HR (2017-2022)

Also referred to as: Toyota C-HR 2021 and Toyota C-HR 2023. 2WD, AWD (See All)
4.6 from 31 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

4.6
31 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (21)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (20)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (20)
  • Braking
    5.0 (20)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (20)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (17)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (20)
  • Handling
    4.8 (20)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (21)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (21)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (21)
  • Features
    4.7 (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
deandownunder
deandownunderSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 39 reviews
  • 40 likes

Not perfect but has unbeatable Toyota reliability

published

Purchased in February 2021 at Toyota Dealers for $40,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bridget
Bridget
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful!

published

Car used for family transport, 3 or 4 times a week. Had it for 2 years now. Good value, light on petrol, has all the mod cons and more! I love it! serviced once a year.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vicky
VickyMelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love love love this car

published

Bought this car new in the middle of COVID lockdown 2020. Drive to work everyday both highway and city. This car is the perfect size. Not too big or small - just right.

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Corne T.
Corne T.
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

I love my little car!

published

Purchased in February 2021 at Toyota Dealers for $40,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Toyota C-HR compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Li1
Li1Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Almost perfect with one unforeseen issue

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MinLea28
MinLea28Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 18 reviews
  • 15 likes

Toyota KOBA C-HR Kicked Goals

published

Love @ a glance, sold on three test drives. I did test drive several other small SUV’s. However the build quality, comfort & safety factors placed KOBA 1st for my purpose. Bought a yellow Koba with optional black roof, tinted front windows, clear UV screen on rear with paint & interior protection. I use the car mainly around metro with some steep hills & haven’t had any issues. Great on petrol, had a day trip with combined metro & regional area around 165 kms, car purred with ease, comfortable to drive, Apple CarPlay invaluable. The “hold” feature once set is great on long drives, there’s no need to sit with yr foot constantly on the brake till yr clear to move on.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2020 at Jarvis Cars.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
kate
kate
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Perfect car to drive

published

i love Chr hybrid good on fuel fill up every three weeks had it 5 months now excellent safety features easy to keep clean Toyota service excellent very helpful ? Would recommend to buy a Toyota then any other car great to drive

Purchased in March 2020 for $38,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Micky22
Micky22Melbourne
  • 18 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great car that I’m happy with.

published

Had my Koba Hybrid for a week already. My previous car, a Mazda SP23 2004 model was a 55 litre fuel tank and got me around 530km to the tank.
My new Koba is a 43 litre tank and so far I’ve gotten 430km on half a tank. Fuel economy is great. Love the look of this vehicle as well, and the inbuilt technology is fantastically. 4 star rating only because the engine is a bit grumbly when running I thought.

Purchased in June 2020 at Le Mans Tottenham .

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kass P.
Kass P.Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car

published

Purchased my Koba 3 weeks ago , best decision ever ... fuel economy is fantastic easy to drive , looks amazing on the road , real head turner ... love the look and feel of my new ride

Purchased in March 2020 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Toyota C-HR compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phillip S.
Phillip S.Far North Queensland, QLD

Basic but cheap to buy

published

I've been driving this as a work vehicle for a while including a few long trips. The ride and drive around town is ok. The model I have doesn't have android auto or apple CarPlay. Just a basic unit with poor quality reversing camera. The fuel consumption is high for the performance and size of the vehicle and the CVT is ordinary with no manual mode. I find the seats are very uncomfortable on longer trips. The cargo area is rather shallow and the rear seat is ok if you don't use it. The interior fit and finish is poor, big gaps and sagging bits. Only 1 usb socket in the head unit and 1 12v accessory power in the centre console.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charles D.
Charles D.
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It and me were meant to be!

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Patterson Cheney Dandenong.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tomy G
Tomy GSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Toyota CHR a small good car

published

I have using this car for 6 months. It is a powerful, stylish and economic car. I use it for every day commuting. So far could not find any issue with the car. some people feel clastrophobic while travelling in the rear seats due to the small windows.

Purchased in May 2019 for $37,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Toyota C-HR compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Darrin H.
Darrin H.Hunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not Happy

published

Had surging and misfiring issues since brand new. Reported to dealer numerous times and am told its normal. Took car for service today and said, can I test a new one. Toyota have finally agreed that my car has a problem. They are trying to find the issue and they cant. I am very upset about the whole situation. I feel like I do not even want the car anymore. Had times when I think the car is going to break down, even on the freeway. I am a Toyota lover and this is the first time I have had a Toyota issue.

Purchased in February 2018 for $41,000.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anastasia Confos
Anastasia ConfosSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing!!!

published

I absolutely LOVE this car!!! I have a two tone Koba it is White with a Black Roof and looks amazing. Its super smooth to drive especially for long distance drives, I only spend around $60 AUD a fortnight on fuel and I travel around Sydney quite a bit. Its pretty nippy too since its got a turbo engine.

Purchased in August 2019 at Sydney City Toyota for $36,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mapman
mapmanPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nice drive

published

Had this as a loan car. Amazing to drive, comfortable seats, nice interior design, smooth gutsy engine. The only thing I don't like is the rear end look and lack of leg room in the back seats. Good for singles and couples but not a practical family car.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Abdul M.
Abdul M.asked
C-HR (2017-2022)

Which fuel should i use in toyota chr turbo 1.2?

2 answers
Vicky
Vicky

Premium Unleaded

Bridget
Bridget

unleaded 95 or 98

Douglas S Stiles
Douglas S Stilesasked
C-HR 2WD Koba 1.8L Hybrid (2020-2022)

How do you get your front automatic collision avoidance to work without cruise control on

No answers
Kim J.
Kim J.asked
C-HR (2017-2022)

Just had my 15000 service, went to drive tonight and hazard light no longer illuminated neither does the steering wheel lights, any advice? Obviously I'll contact service but is there something I'm missing

No answers
See all Toyota C-HR (2017-2022) questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota C-HR (2017-2022)

Details

Compare all 8 Toyota C-HR (2017-2022)
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $40,490.00$37,890.00$41,990.00$34,990.00
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeHybridPetrolHybridPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 5555
Seats 5555
Fuel Consumption4.3 L/100km6.4 L/100km4.3 L/100km6.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 43 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.2L
Engine Code2ZR-FXE8NR-FTS 2ZR-FXE8NR-FTS
Max Power90kW @ 5600rpm85kW @ 5200-5600rpm90kW @ 5600rpm85kW @ 5200-5600rpm
Max Torque142Nm @ 3600rpm185Nm @ 1500-4000rpm142Nm @ 3600rpm185Nm @ 1500-4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)600 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance137 mm137 mm
Release dateJan 2020Jan 2017Dec 2020Dec 2020
Compare all 8 Toyota C-HR (2017-2022)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.