??!
5 photos
Toyota C-HR

Toyota C-HR (2017-2020)

Also referred to as: Toyota C-HR 2019 and Toyota C-HR 2021. 2WD, AWD
4.6 from 23 reviews

Reviews

4.6

23 reviews
5
(18)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (13)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (13)
  • Handling
    4.8 (12)
  • Braking
    4.9 (13)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (13)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (12)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (13)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (13)
  • Features
    4.5 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (13)
Previous
Next
Kass P.

Kass P.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Best car

published

Purchased my Koba 3 weeks ago , best decision ever ... fuel economy is fantastic easy to drive , looks amazing on the road , real head turner ... love the look and feel of my new ride

Purchased in March 2020 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Phillip S.

Phillip S.Far North Queensland, QLD

Basic but cheap to buy

published

I've been driving this as a work vehicle for a while including a few long trips. The ride and drive around town is ok. The model I have doesn't have android auto or apple CarPlay. Just a basic unit with poor quality reversing camera. The fuel consumption is high for the performance and size of the vehicle and the CVT is ordinary with no manual mode. I find the seats are very uncomfortable on longer trips. The cargo area is rather shallow and the rear seat is ok if you don't use it. The interior fit and finish is poor, big gaps and sagging bits. Only 1 usb socket in the head unit and 1 12v accessory power in the centre console.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Charles D.

Charles D.

  • 2 reviews

It and me were meant to be!

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Patterson Cheney Dandenong.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Toyota C-HR compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TOMY

TOMYSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Toyota CHR a small good car

published

I have using this car for 6 months. It is a powerful, stylish and economic car. I use it for every day commuting. So far could not find any issue with the car. some people feel clastrophobic while travelling in the rear seats due to the small windows.

Purchased in May 2019 for A$37,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Darrin H.

Darrin H.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not Happy

published

Had surging and misfiring issues since brand new. Reported to dealer numerous times and am told its normal. Took car for service today and said, can I test a new one. Toyota have finally agreed that my car has a problem. They are trying to find the issue and they cant. I am very upset about the whole situation. I feel like I do not even want the car anymore. Had times when I think the car is going to break down, even on the freeway. I am a Toyota lover and this is the first time I have had a Toyota issue.

Purchased in February 2018 for A$41,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Anastasia Confos

Anastasia ConfosSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing!!!

published

I absolutely LOVE this car!!! I have a two tone Koba it is White with a Black Roof and looks amazing. Its super smooth to drive especially for long distance drives, I only spend around $60 AUD a fortnight on fuel and I travel around Sydney quite a bit. Its pretty nippy too since its got a turbo engine.

Purchased in August 2019 at Sydney City Toyota for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mapman

mapmanPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Nice drive

published

Had this as a loan car. Amazing to drive, comfortable seats, nice interior design, smooth gutsy engine. The only thing I don't like is the rear end look and lack of leg room in the back seats. Good for singles and couples but not a practical family car.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mrbmd05

mrbmd05Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great car but lacking power

published

This car has great features similar to what you would find in a high end Mercedes!
We use this car for everyday commuting.
We will service this car once a year.
Fun little car that is great on fuel.

Purchased in July 2019 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cindy

CindyTasmania

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

So Many extras!! Love it

published

I love the look of this new car. I was out looking for something completely different and fell in love. it has so many extras. Auto lights, auto wipers, auto handbrake, lane departure warning, adaptive cruise( which i love so much! no turning it off and on when the car in front is slow), rear cross traffic alert (i had to google this, it tells me when im backing out if a car is coming), blind spot warnings, rear camera, GPS, bluetooth for phone, list goes on and on. So cheap to run compared to my last car, with the option to put in sports mode or ECO.

Purchased in November 2018 at gowans for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Toyota C-HR compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike B 2012

Mike B 2012Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Excellent compact SUV, Superb silent drive, economical and family friendly!

published

Love this car, have had one for an year. It drives very well, is good for a small to medium family, and very good features packed together in the basic Koba model.

Only drawback, a poor Toyota software (GPS) system, and Boot not powered, only a manual option.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Schi

SchiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 11 reviews

Amazing

published

A beautiful easy and comfortable ride. Love my car
Yearly service
No issues what so ever. Nice easy features. Toyota feels safe and reliable and great service at heidelberg.

Thank you Toyota

Purchased in December 2017 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 60 reviews

What a great car!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at OldMac Toyota.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sue

SueAU

  • 2 reviews

Love my new CH-R Koba

published

What an eye turner. I purchased a White one with black roof. Almost got the yellow one, but glad I didn't. Matt at Toyota Croydon couldn't have been more helpful. The turning circle is amazing, and with all the bells and whistles, and yes, like a previous reviewer has said, it feels like I'm driving a Lexus.

BadgeKoba AWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Dia

DiaSunshine coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love toyota

published

Purchased a 2018 toyota koba teal with white roof, sooo many people keep stopping and telling me love your car its certainly an eye stopper. Love the style, the automatic hand brake, vears me back if i accidentally go over a white line, side mirrors fold back when locked, everything is accessible on the steering wheel, have always driven Toyota's but this car is unbelievable, love love my Toyota.

BadgeKoba 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Bluebottle

BluebottleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Slated at launch for being slow—but this car is surprisingly zippy!

published

Got down to two choices; the Mazda CX3 and the CHR. After first testing the CX3, expected the CHR to lack the same grunt, but this car really surprised. Also more advanced in technology and safety, and somehow seemed more roomy inside, and in the hatch area. Great cornering too. So far (one year) nothing has gone wrong. Love driving this car.

BadgeKoba 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Toyota C-HR compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
grandman

grandmanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

A Lexus with a Toyota badge

published
BadgeCVT 2WD
TransmissionCVT
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Danger

DangerMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful yet fast

published

I love this car, it handles so well on the roads and has really decent speed for a SUV turbo. Very quiet on the road, and a very smooth drive even over bumpy surfaces. I love the smooth line diamond detailing interior and the added safety features including lane departure alert. It's not a big SUV but it isn't overly small either so it makes for great driving in the cbd area. Running costs are great for a yearly service capped at $195 every year for the first 5 years. Beautiful sleek design that doesn't make it look like a boring family car. What's there not to love.

BadgeKoba 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Mish

MishMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

The best

published
BadgeCVT 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
LisaP68

LisaP68Illawarra, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 1 like

This car turns heads! I feel so safe in this car! Love it!!

published
BadgeCVT AWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Tarasak

TarasakMerrylands

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

The best car ever...I’m in love with it

published

Driving it is smooth and it will make you wanting to take the longer way to get home from work. I got it in black and yellow and it looks like bumble bee.. and it affordable, it’s around $30k - $40k, it also uses premium petrol, petrol tank is a good size.

BadgeKoba 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Vinny

Vinnyasked

C-HR (2017-2020)

I’m looking to buy a new car and the CH-R KOBA is on my list. However, I’ve heard it’s quite slooooww...any feedback on this ?

2 answers
Charles D.
Charles D.

Hello. It isn’t a high performance car, and I cannot comment on the Koba as it is fitted with a CVT. However, based on my C-HR manual, I think it goes quite well. Performance was a concern for me too. I would advice you to take one on a good long (and hilly) test drive. Good luck.

Vinny
Vinny

Thanks for replying !
Yes I’ve heard uphill it can struggle !

Mohammad G.

Mohammad G.asked

C-HR (2017-2020)

whats differenc between NGX50 and NGX10

No answers
frank b.

frank b.asked

C-HR (2017-2020)

is this car petrol

3 answers
Anastasia Confos
Anastasia Confos

Yes

TOMY
TOMY

Yed

TOMY
TOMY

Yes

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.