??!
3 photos
TP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800

TP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800

3.0 from 15 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
6

Ben S.

Ben S.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Doesn't give advertised wifi speeds, but good connection, reliable, easy to use.

published

Purchased in March 2019 at MSY Technology SA, Adelaide CBD for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPAussie Broadband
ModemTP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

David

DavidSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great modem on adsl

published

Been using this modem about a week ago lm using it on adsl with Mate easy setup and no dropouts. great wifi signal never had issue with modem. Just want to know when i move to NBN in 3 weeks time can i use this modem router on nbn Hfc

Purchased in March 2019 at Kogan.com.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ISPMate ADSL
ModemTP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Internet frequently drops out. Previous modem router (Billion) did not have such error with the same ISP.

published

Set up was easy, but internet drops out frequently (several times per hour). Searched the internet and found it is a common error with TP-Link modem routers.

Stay away from TP-Link products.

Purchased in March 2019.

Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Tim M

Tim MSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very Unstable, Frequent Drop-Outs

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ISPTPG Broadband ADSL
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Gavin

GavinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Daily dropouts, do not buy

published

My internet connection drops out daily, sometimes multiple times a day, since installing this product. A bit of Googling shows this is a common issue. TP-Link have been unable to resolve the issue, and their support has been quite slow to respond. I am returning this product as faulty under consumer law.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Perfect modem router

published

Previously had an ASUS AC88U which gave me nothing but grief, returned and replaced with the TP link archer and have had it for two months now with not a single issue. I have 6 wireless devices connected and running FTTN! I would never buy an ASUS or Netgear networking device ever again

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Sam B

Sam BMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great modem for family.

published

If you have a big family with lots of device this is a modem you should go for, it's very reliable. It's very easy to setup with the instructions given in the box. Although it's big and bulky as long as it has a good connectivity, I have no complaint about that.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Steve v

Steve vForster

Replaced the rsp supplied fixed issues immediately

published

I purchased the tp link archer vr2800 to replace the sagemcom modem that was supplied. Previously I couldn't access animelab, Iview or sbs on demand through the TV apps even though Netflix YouTube ten play etc all worked the others would just show the load screen when you selected content. Purchased modem and was flicking through the apps and decided to give it a try content loaded and played almost immediately. Speed remains constant and consistent whereas before it would drop to sub 3mbps momentarily constantly. Since install I've had consistent connection.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Martina Mc

Martina Mc

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A lot of money and a big waste of time

published

I bought this modem on Tuesday. Worked great on Tuesday and Wednesday, today (Thursday) we have internet for 1-2 minutes and then it's gone. Settings are all fine, exactly the same as Tues and Wed, yet it keeps dropping out. Reading other people's reviews tells me why - this is a big waste of money. Going into the store tomorrow to return it!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Alex Port macquarie

Alex Port macquariePort Macquarie

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great Modem router

published

This is a great modem/router with a very easy user interface and easy wizard or quick step. It has a nice look about it and comes with all the latest wifi technology it is more than suitable for a multi level property. the only thing I fins a little awkward is the LED displays are on top so you have to be above it to see the leds.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

A Tired Customer

A Tired CustomerPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Flakey Shaky piece of !!!

published

Well easy to set up, worked a treat for 2 months then just started to drop out. ADSL is on iiNet and it keeps the link up, but no traffic from the net ! Says please set DNS manually (even though it can see iiNet DNS), you do works for a minute then flakes out again. Disconnected it and put BoB2 back on and no problems now. I do not recommend buying this device.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Ben K

Ben KAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great promise, troubles with firmware

published

Top of the range router, easy to setup, lots of different options can be managed by mobile app.
As a combined modem/router supports vdsl/adsl/cable so futureproof for nbn. broadcom chipset should be compatible.
Does not support g.fast for some fttn connections
However I'm using it on an adsl connection, and experiencing problems with connection flooding where only one device can upload/download and will lock out other devices. This seems to be a firmware problem, as other modems have not had this issue.
Support has been slow in responding and I'm still waiting.
For the price it might be worth thinking about an asus.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Absolute dud

published

Bought a new TP Link Archer 2800, thought I would get an access point for the bedroom. Connected my D Link bridge no issues for the printer, reckon I could get TP Link to talk to TP Link via WPS not a hope. 4 hours online with TP Link not a chance. They tried to help I'll give them that but no go. Avoid this absolute time chewing monster absolute waste of time and money it is now in 8 pieces in the bin where it belongs.


Nick

Nickadelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

fast & furious

published

guys it is really one of best modem routers for FTTN NBN. purchased online with 25% discount $280. can get 46 mb download and 37 mb upload(NBN FTTN 40-100 mb speed limit,aussie broadband plan)all around our 3 bedroom house. The range much better than other modems I have used in the past. Would highly recommend this product

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Dandemon

DandemonSydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 40 likes
  • Verified purchase

The best NBN modem-router of 2017 (so far).

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and TP-Link representatives

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $349.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+ and VDSL2
Number of USB 3.0 Ports2
Dimensions 37.3 x 263.8 x 197.8 mm
NBN CompatibleYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.