3 photos
TP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800

TP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800

MPN: VR2800
3.0 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Modems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by TP-Link

Reviews

3.0
21 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (10)
  • Number of Connected Devices 7.375 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    4.5 (10)
  • Reliability
    2.9 (10)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.5 (10)
Previous
Next
Don W.
Don W.
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Ours works fine.

published

Had to get a new router after the last one was zapped by lightning. This one was was easy to set up and has superior wifi coverage through our house compared to the last one. I contacted our ISP Aussie Broadband to check it was totally compatible with their systems, and the technician I spoke to guided me through a couple of tweaks to the settings which gave us a bit more download/streaming speed.

Purchased in June 2020 at Officeworks.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
TP-Link
Sean F.TP-Link

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate it, thanks for choosing TP-Link products!

HappyMrC
HappyMrC
  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

Works Perfectly! Reliable! Thank You!

published

Upgraded my system and changed service providers recently because I had so many problems with Telstra and their unstable network because they did not fix problems, which needed to be under NBN Specifications. Aussie Broadband had problems fixed immediately with best Customer Care. Thank you ABB.

So happy with this product and works as intended (Using as modem only at present).

Good quality and reliable which is all you need. Sync rates constantly better than my plan speeds.

I have a TP-Link Deco M5 System connected as WIFI Router as needed extra WIFI Coverage than normal customers due to external office location.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
TP-Link
Sean F.TP-Link

Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review and glad you are getting reliable performance from the VR2800 (and the Deco M5s too). Thank you for sharing your experience. Kind Regards, TP-Link Australia.

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Bill
BillSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolute PO S. Constant drop outs. Original unit replaced under warranty and the replacement is almost as bad.

published

Purchased in March 2020 at aus pc market for $317.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
TP-Link
Sean F.TP-Link

Overpriced and unstable router

published

Worst purchase! I bought it because I’m using nbn HFC network and needs Vland tagging. But it gives me so much frustration! Practically have to reset it every single day!

Purchased in July 2020 at Officeworks for $349.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Modems

Find out how TP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BMT
BMTVictoria
  • Verified

VPN feature is useless

published

Purchased in February 2020 at eBay for $271.50.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Sanning
SanningSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Get the settings right before judging, esp on NBN. I nearly sold mine but glad I didn't.

published

After getting NBN, make sure you follow the instructions on this page about half way down. https://community.tpg.com.au/t5/Broadband-Internet/TPG-NBN-FTTP-settings-for-TP-Link-Archer-VR2800/td-p/34022

After I did that the difference was light years ahead of the factory settings for NBN. This is why I gave it 4 stars, it's 5 stasr after this recommended tweak (we're with TPG obviously) but very poor before the tweak. Hope this helps :)

Purchased in November 2019 at Umart Online for $300.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ben S.
Ben S.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Doesn't give advertised wifi speeds, but good connection, reliable, easy to use.

published

Purchased in March 2019 at MSY Technology SA, Adelaide CBD for $299.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Next
David
DavidSydney, NSW
  • 17 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified

Great modem on adsl

published

Been using this modem about a week ago lm using it on adsl with Mate easy setup and no dropouts. great wifi signal never had issue with modem. Just want to know when i move to NBN in 3 weeks time can i use this modem router on nbn Hfc

Purchased in March 2019 at Kogan.com.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Internet frequently drops out. Previous modem router (Billion) did not have such error with the same ISP.

published

Set up was easy, but internet drops out frequently (several times per hour). Searched the internet and found it is a common error with TP-Link modem routers.

Stay away from TP-Link products.

Purchased in March 2019.

Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Modems

Find out how TP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tim M
Tim MSydney
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very Unstable, Frequent Drop-Outs

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $295.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Gavin
GavinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Daily dropouts, do not buy

published

My internet connection drops out daily, sometimes multiple times a day, since installing this product. A bit of Googling shows this is a common issue. TP-Link have been unable to resolve the issue, and their support has been quite slow to respond. I am returning this product as faulty under consumer law.

Date PurchasedSept 2018

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Perfect modem router

published

Previously had an ASUS AC88U which gave me nothing but grief, returned and replaced with the TP link archer and have had it for two months now with not a single issue. I have 6 wireless devices connected and running FTTN! I would never buy an ASUS or Netgear networking device ever again

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Modems

Find out how TP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam B
Sam BMelbourne
  • 5 reviews

Great modem for family.

published

If you have a big family with lots of device this is a modem you should go for, it's very reliable. It's very easy to setup with the instructions given in the box. Although it's big and bulky as long as it has a good connectivity, I have no complaint about that.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Steve v
Steve vForster

Replaced the rsp supplied fixed issues immediately

published

I purchased the tp link archer vr2800 to replace the sagemcom modem that was supplied. Previously I couldn't access animelab, Iview or sbs on demand through the TV apps even though Netflix YouTube ten play etc all worked the others would just show the load screen when you selected content. Purchased modem and was flicking through the apps and decided to give it a try content loaded and played almost immediately. Speed remains constant and consistent whereas before it would drop to sub 3mbps momentarily constantly. Since install I've had consistent connection.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Martina Mc
Martina Mc
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A lot of money and a big waste of time

published

I bought this modem on Tuesday. Worked great on Tuesday and Wednesday, today (Thursday) we have internet for 1-2 minutes and then it's gone. Settings are all fine, exactly the same as Tues and Wed, yet it keeps dropping out. Reading other people's reviews tells me why - this is a big waste of money. Going into the store tomorrow to return it!

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members and TP-Link representatives

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $349.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas, Mobile App Control, Parental Controls and Quality of Service
Maximum Wireless Speed2,167 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2
Number of USB 2.0 Ports0
Number of USB 3.0 Ports2
Dimensions 37.3 x 263.8 x 197.8 mm
NBN CompatibleYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 6935364096090
  • MPN: VR2800

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.