??!
3 photos
TP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800

TP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800

3.1 from 16 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Excellent modem/router

Used to replace my Billion 8800NL and whilst it didn't increase the VDSL speed - assume as they both have the Broadcom chipset, the wi-fi is vastly improved with both 2.4 and 5.0 available. Not as many detailed stats as the Billion but enough to keep you informed.

Another poster stated they had problems operating this unit with TP Link powerline adaptors. No problem here and it's just a guess on my part but from memory the powerline adaptors from TP Link run on the same IP as the modem/router namely 192.168.1.1. Simply changing those adaptors to 192.168.1.2 worked. So no problems here.

Overall, this is an excellent product.

Purchased in June 2018 at Officeworks for $351.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
ISPTPG Broadband
ModemTP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Doesn't give advertised wifi speeds, but good connection, reliable, easy to use.

I purchased this modem for a FTTN connection. It achieves close to the speeds I am paying for (46-48 mbps for a 50mbps connection). The wfi signal is quite strong and reaches every room in the house easily. (3 bedroom single storey house) Myself and my partner can be using multiple devices while downloading or streaming without noticeable slowdowns or dropouts on any devices.

However the router advertises speeds of 2133 gps, but these are not available as the router firmware does not support the 160 mhz channel width, and an update has not been released despite the router being available for years.

It is a solid router however I dislike how they advertised speeds that are not possible, and have not provided any update to enable the advertised speeds. If you're after very high speeds you might want to get a router that actually provides the speeds it advertises.

Purchased in March 2019 at MSY Technology SA, Adelaide CBD for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISPAussie Broadband
ModemTP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Great modem on adsl

Been using this modem about a week ago lm using it on adsl with Mate easy setup and no dropouts. great wifi signal never had issue with modem. Just want to know when i move to NBN in 3 weeks time can i use this modem router on nbn Hfc

Purchased in March 2019 at Kogan.com.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
ISPMate ADSL
ModemTP-Link AC2800 Archer VR2800
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Internet frequently drops out. Previous modem router (Billion) did not have such error with the same ISP.

Set up was easy, but internet drops out frequently (several times per hour). Searched the internet and found it is a common error with TP-Link modem routers.

Stay away from TP-Link products.

Purchased in March 2019.

Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Very Unstable, Frequent Drop-Outs

Unfortunately this VR2800 is an expensive piece of junk. Although the ISP and Router Logs indicate a constant connection the connectivity to the internet both Wifi and LAN drop-out many times throughout the day - where at time we are even unable to even access the router software (192.168.1.1). 50% of the time the conenction is still down after 5-10minutes and requires a reboot - even though the LED's and Router software (when able to access it) say we are still connected to the internet with no errror in the log. Obviously a device model fault as I have previosuly used TP-Link (mid grade modems) with no problems. I have been sending the Support various logs and screen captures but am not getting anywhere productive. Please save your money and look elsewhere - this may looks the part, but has too much 'tech' and buzz words built into it that they have forgotten to do the basic function of conenctivity..

Purchased in January 2019 for $295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ISPTPG Broadband ADSL
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Daily dropouts, do not buy

My internet connection drops out daily, sometimes multiple times a day, since installing this product. A bit of Googling shows this is a common issue. TP-Link have been unable to resolve the issue, and their support has been quite slow to respond. I am returning this product as faulty under consumer law.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Perfect modem router

Previously had an ASUS AC88U which gave me nothing but grief, returned and replaced with the TP link archer and have had it for two months now with not a single issue. I have 6 wireless devices connected and running FTTN! I would never buy an ASUS or Netgear networking device ever again

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Great modem for family.

If you have a big family with lots of device this is a modem you should go for, it's very reliable. It's very easy to setup with the instructions given in the box. Although it's big and bulky as long as it has a good connectivity, I have no complaint about that.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Replaced the rsp supplied fixed issues immediately

I purchased the tp link archer vr2800 to replace the sagemcom modem that was supplied. Previously I couldn't access animelab, Iview or sbs on demand through the TV apps even though Netflix YouTube ten play etc all worked the others would just show the load screen when you selected content. Purchased modem and was flicking through the apps and decided to give it a try content loaded and played almost immediately. Speed remains constant and consistent whereas before it would drop to sub 3mbps momentarily constantly. Since install I've had consistent connection.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

A lot of money and a big waste of time

I bought this modem on Tuesday. Worked great on Tuesday and Wednesday, today (Thursday) we have internet for 1-2 minutes and then it's gone. Settings are all fine, exactly the same as Tues and Wed, yet it keeps dropping out. Reading other people's reviews tells me why - this is a big waste of money. Going into the store tomorrow to return it!

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Great Modem router

This is a great modem/router with a very easy user interface and easy wizard or quick step. It has a nice look about it and comes with all the latest wifi technology it is more than suitable for a multi level property. the only thing I fins a little awkward is the LED displays are on top so you have to be above it to see the leds.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Flakey Shaky piece of !!!

Well easy to set up, worked a treat for 2 months then just started to drop out. ADSL is on iiNet and it keeps the link up, but no traffic from the net ! Says please set DNS manually (even though it can see iiNet DNS), you do works for a minute then flakes out again. Disconnected it and put BoB2 back on and no problems now. I do not recommend buying this device.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Great promise, troubles with firmware

Top of the range router, easy to setup, lots of different options can be managed by mobile app.
As a combined modem/router supports vdsl/adsl/cable so futureproof for nbn. broadcom chipset should be compatible.
Does not support g.fast for some fttn connections
However I'm using it on an adsl connection, and experiencing problems with connection flooding where only one device can upload/download and will lock out other devices. This seems to be a firmware problem, as other modems have not had this issue.
Support has been slow in responding and I'm still waiting.
For the price it might be worth thinking about an asus.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Absolute dud

Bought a new TP Link Archer 2800, thought I would get an access point for the bedroom. Connected my D Link bridge no issues for the printer, reckon I could get TP Link to talk to TP Link via WPS not a hope. 4 hours online with TP Link not a chance. They tried to help I'll give them that but no go. Avoid this absolute time chewing monster absolute waste of time and money it is now in 8 pieces in the bin where it belongs.

fast & furious

guys it is really one of best modem routers for FTTN NBN. purchased online with 25% discount $280. can get 46 mb download and 37 mb upload(NBN FTTN 40-100 mb speed limit,aussie broadband plan)all around our 3 bedroom house. The range much better than other modems I have used in the past. Would highly recommend this product

Date PurchasedOct 2017

The best NBN modem-router of 2017 (so far).

After a dreadful experience with the Archer VR2600 (see my separate 1-star review), I defied my fear-avoidance instinct and had another gamble on a TP-Link product.

TP-Link can be a bit hit-and-miss. The hardware is nearly always good, but when the firmware is buggy it is too slowly fixed (when it is fixed at all). On the other hand, if you get something that works properly out of the box, it can be a very good value performer. This, I'm happy to say, applies to the VR2800.

The VR2800 marries a 'wave 2' 802.11ac router with a VDSL2+ modem, which will work happily on Australia's Fibre-to-the-Node (FTTN) broadband network. One exception is Telstra, which insists on connections using the Annex B protocol. Most TP-Link modems sold in Australia support Annex A only, which is similar but not strictly compliant. It's the result of lazily re-selling products designed for the UK, without releasing localised firmware.

Another consequence of selling UK products here is that the wifi channels are restricted, compared to the range permitted in Australia. The older 2.4 Ghz channels are no different, but on 5 Ghz the VR2800 misses channels 149-165. I've asked TP-Link if they'll issue new firmware to enable those channels, but there's been no reply. Experience tells us that with TP-Link, no news is NOT good news.

Now for the positives. The VR2800 is a smooth, quick and reliable modem-router. Its all-Broadcom chipset works a lot more happily than the VR2600's rocky marriage between Broadcom modem and Qualcomm routing and wifi chips. In a solid month of observation there have been no reboots, hangs or even niggles to suggest any bugs.

Build quality and performance are substantially better than the VR600, which looks similar in photos but is a much smaller, hotter running unit in real life. The VR2800 runs lukewarm, which is within expectations for a well designed modem-router. Its weight hints at decent heat-sinking underneath the perforated top rear cover. In short, it looks and feels like it's built to last.

Setup and configuration follows the 'new' TP-Link user interface. If you haven't experienced it, a fair summary is that it achieves simplicity by not offering advanced settings. Most wouldn't have a problem, but advanced users looking to tweak the finer points won't be happy. For example, MU-MIMO - a wifi feature of dubious benefit - cannot be toggled on/off at all. It possibly hasn't been implemented yet. That shouldn't worry you, but if it does, don't buy a VR2800 with an expectation of prompt firmware updates.

On my FTTN testing, the VR2800 took its time to achieve sync on a moderate quality (about 45 mbps max downstream) line. However, once it did so, it held sync more reliably and quickly than the older Broadcom based modem I'd been using on the same line. Routing tasks have been quick and dependable, with uPnP and other network functions all working the way they're supposed to.

My wifi testing proved the benefit of 'Wave 2' devices over the mainstream crop of AC1900, 802.11ac modem-routers. The VR2800 has beam-forming and MU-MIMO, but in reality it's the 4x4 transmission and reception array that pushes the data further and faster. Power amplifiers for the normally weaker 5 Ghz signal gave it a long reach, about equal to the 2.4 Ghz signal.

In mid 2017 there are now many routers with superior 'Wave 2' wifi, but surprisingly few modem-routers. The VR2800 therefore steals a march on Asus and other rivals. The price - about $380 at the time of writing - is about right for the features. But for the disappointing lack of customisation for Australian consumers, I'd have given it 5 stars.

If you're living in anything bigger than an apartment, and want a modem-router than can transmit NBN's fast data around your home with aplomb, this is worth getting. If your needs aren't immediate, you could try waiting for the much-anticipated Asus equivalent, the DSL-AC88U - although it'll be hard pressed to match the bang for the buck that the VR2800 offers.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Details

AC2800 Archer VR2800
Product TypeModem and Router
Modem CompatibilityADSL2+
Wi-Fi Type802.11 a, 802.11 n and 802.11 ac
Band TypeDual Band
Ethernet Ports4

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.