??!
4 photos
TP-Link AC1200 Archer C5

TP-Link AC1200 Archer C5

4.0 from 27 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
12
4 star
8
3 star
4
2 star
1
1 star
2

Scott

ScottMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

If you have any problems dealing with tech support is terrible

published

This modem only seems to work for some types of connections. Ie you usually can use WIFI by itself to access the internet, however if you connect to the ethernet ports the WIFI stops accessing the internet.
Tech support is a complete waste of time. They don't seem to be able to understand basic English & constantly answer your questions with laughable/ infuriating statements. Stuff like don't connect your ethernet cable to the NBN wall socket after being repeatedly told that it's connected to an ethernet socket in the wall. They don't understand basic networking terms.
The level of frustration is unbelievable. Buy their products at your peril.

Purchased in September 2019 for $270.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 8 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Mara

MaraPerth

  • 17 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

Nice and Easy

published

Being new to modem shopping I went with this as it was technically one of the cheaper products. I found set up was really easy to do for someone not so tech minded and it offers a decent signal range.

Only downside is if you somehow forget your modem login details you are required to reset the modem to new and set up as new. Real pain in the behind and with how advanced technology is these days you think there would an easy reset via email or whatever.

Purchased in February 2019 for $166.00.

Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
Pottering11

Pottering11Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

A good solid performer for NBN FTTP (without VOIP)

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Mark505

Mark505MELBOURNE

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

great router for NBN FTTP

published

Great router for 3 bedroom house.
Easy setup. good range. functional. reliable.
Its not going to blast signal to the end of the street, But for what you pay for is a simple straight forward easy to use router that is highly recommended for NBN FTTP
Just make sure you have lan cable plugged into the right port on the wall NBN Modem.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Owen

OwenBARDEN RIDGE

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great router!

published

Previously I was using my carrier's cable modem / wireless router. Besides the fact it was considerably slower the router often dropped my connections. I just assumed it could be because a lot of people in my area have the same carrier / router so they may be interfering with each other with channel interference, etc.I highly rate this wireless router. It's fast, never has issues with connectivity, and it was easy to setup.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Mandir Rooprai

Mandir Rooprai

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Its Alright

published

The modem isn't too bad. Good for the price you pay for. If I had the money I would definitely buy a netgear. The modem tends to sometimes turn it self off. It this is my third one. I will probably get a better one down the track but for now it does the job.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

vic

vic

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

perfect

published

perfect for my needs . my old modem was very old and this new tp modem is strong and fast for my 2 bedroom unit. of course by help of Myra from spintel connected easy. thanks again from Myra . it took 45 minutes and she was very friendly with lots of paeshent with a 76 year old person.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Luis

LuisGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good value for money

published

Is coming with a telstra internet with is also one of the best of the market, due to range of network and effective wifi, the TP-Link AC1200 Archer C5 give the necessarily support to your internet and allow also to connect a telnet yellow cable to computer for faster internet

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Zenina

ZeninaSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

FANTASTIC MODEM!

published

I got this modem recently when transferring my NBN over to Kogan. It has been super-fast, has a great range, and is compact. It is small enough to leave on top of my keyboard and doesn't take up much room.

It also is really easy to set up. Took less than 2 minutes to get out of the box and running!

Highly recommend.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
John L

John LBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Not really impressed by it's performance

published

I thought this router will work better than the previous single band that was replaced by my provider. The first one was so slow but this router is the worst.

The internet speed always drop especially on the 5Ghz band.until there's no connection at all. I have to reset or restart the router to get back to NBN speed however it will come back again to it's disappointing state.

I am thinking of calling back my provider and request for another one but with different model.

I won't recommend this router. It will just bring disappointments.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Jozef Warren-Smith

Jozef Warren-SmithAdelaide, South Australia

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good quality modem

published

I have been using this modem for about a month and it has worked fine. It has good features and set up was easy. It is pretty good value for money, but I wish the wifi range was extended a little bit further. Overall it is good value, and a quality product.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Andy

AndySydney

  • 5 reviews

Eh, maybe look else where

published

This little piece of plastic came as a bundle with our NBN package (wasn't an option) and based on other reviews, I got lucky cause some people got worse bundled modems.

It worked pretty well for a month, then we started having issues, but we discovered that the constant cut offs were due to interference from our google device and wasn't isolated to just our model (thank goodness).

Since installing an updated custom firmware (no DD-WRT here sorry) it has been chugging along fine.
The signal strength is more than adequate to go up 3 stories (this includes the 5ghz) so I can't complain.

I foresee this router going the distance.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Nicole L

Nicole LAU

  • 4 reviews

Great value for money

published

After doing plenty of research for a midrange device from a reputable brand and nbn compatibility we purchased this TP-Link Archer router which has two speeds and is great for long range internet. It was simple to set up. The password for internet is preassigned and is found underneath the device. We've had this installed for four months and it's been quite consistent and there hasn't been any issues so far. It was only $80 and has a three year warranty.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Ash B

Ash BMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Reliable, fast modem

published

I bought this very cheap ($70) from MSY. I've been very happy with it, it has excellent coverage all over my house, doesn't drop out at all, and it looks nice and sleek. It works with NBN HFC and does not cause any bottlenecks with 25/5 speed. I highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Fantastic low cost router , with good performance

published

Fantastic product by tplink , Great router, good budget price , no drop outs , just works , using this with the nbn works like a dream , would recommend this router. running dual band ac wifi , you can’t go wrong , nice as fast even for the kids and netflix

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Yol

YolSydney

  • 4 reviews

good product for small house

published

recently purchased this modem, the internet signal was good in general, however, I think this product is only suitable for small household. I have a two level house and placed the router at the lower level, the internet signal was good and reliable downstairs. the signal upstairs is not that reliable though, one of the rooms can't get signals at all.
I understand the product limitation. However I think it will be good if the user manual can include some technique to increase signal range, for example I searched google says there is a way to use two routers to extend the network range. it will be nice if it is on the user manual.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Nadine

NadineMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Excellent Wireless Router

published

This router performs really well. Because of our house layout and the NBN connection, we have to keep this router in a pretty inconvenient part of our house, but we still get great signal through multiple walls and a floor, and we still reach good speeds. We've been very happy with it.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Chris C

Chris CMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Good basic router with speed control

published

This router is functional and stable. It supports NBN, 2.5GHZ and 5GHZ bandwidth. However it can be quite hot when using all it's features and ports. The speed control are fine and interface is user friendly.

The range of this router is quite small, can barely work with 2 walls and less than 15m. This will not be ideal for large household.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Cher

CherSunnybank Hills

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good signals

published

Bought this as a replacement for my Netcomm, which died suddenly. It has done the job thus far, with no dropouts, disconnection and maintains good Wifi signal for our various machines around the house. Everything was easy to setup and there has not been a problem since start up. It's a nifty machine that performs well.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Omar

Omar

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job

published

I have a modem from Optus, and it can't cover the whole house. I have tried different products and non of them was transmitting the wifi signal as it is.

This one transmitt the signal and it has 2 frequencies: the 5g and the 2g

I recommend it if you want to boost the wifi signal

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and TP-Link representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.