??!
5 photos
TP-Link AC1900 Archer C9

TP-Link AC1900 Archer C9

4.2 from 14 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1

Brekel

BrekelHobart

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Works well

published

I've had this running for 3 years now on our FTTP NBN connection without any issues. In that three years, I've only once had to reboot the router to restore connetion. Wifi range is good, we use it with 2.4 and 5GHz, plus sometimes guest network.
Easy setup, advanced options available if you need them, and there's also an Android app that will acces the modem to control a few basic functions (eg turn 2.4/5/Guest networks on/off, see active devices, allow/ban devices).

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

MightyJosh

MightyJoshQueensland, 4504

  • 19 reviews
  • 7 likes

A Great Router

published

After my Netgear D7000 died, I decided on trying the C9. This is by far the easiest router to set up. Took only moments to set up, using the very user friendly UI. Range and speed are as good if not better then the D700. In a big house I struggle to see a massive drop in speeds.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Dwayne T

Dwayne TNashville

  • Verified purchase

Warranty Replacement is a JOKE

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Ros Rav

Ros RavMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very impressive router for its price.

published

It has very good range and is suitable for even a large house. I have mine setup in the garage (fiber optics), and it still reaches upstairs bedrooms and downstairs. The design is also very clean, so it will look good in any shelf or office room.

I can highly recommend this router.

Only 4 stars because I received a faulty router (it was not able to receive power) and had to take it back to replace it. But the shop I purchased at replaced it instantly so no complaints there.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Daniel Gorman

Daniel GormanCanberra

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Router works well

published

Well designed works well easy interface Good signal on the wifi complex enough that works well with other routers on the network and smartphones Game consoles great for the NBN FTTP Dual Core CPU so handles video streaming pretty well Netflix Stan Youtube and online gaming as well only had to reset it a few times off hand its been pretty good.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

amin

aminsydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

great product

published

borrowed from a friend and using it for couple of months now. has a good range coverage in both 2.4 and 5G. connection is stable and fast. USB ports are good for storage sharing but only accepts FAT storage and not NTFS or any other formats which is a shame because it limits the storage size and performance and that's where it loses one star.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

John C

John CMelbourne

  • 9 reviews

Good speed, great wifi coverage.

published

I needed to extend my wifi coverage downstairs (TP-Link adsl modem wifi upstairs).

I have lan cables throughout the house. Did a bit of research and found this wifi router. Great thing was the familiarity as it was the same brand as my adsl modem.

It was simple to setup using the same SSID as my original network. It has better wifi coverage than my wifi modem. Can't complain really as I now have good wifi reception on both floors & even outside the house.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

jumbeen

jumbeenCentral, SA

  • 23 reviews
  • 19 likes

Doesn't work with Mobile internet

published

I don't have land-line access where I live and rely solely on Mobile Internet connection. Unfortunately, I did not realize that the Archer C9 only works with a land-line connection. It turned out to be a very expensive Printer Controller for my old USB printer. So, please don't purchase this if you rely on mobile internet.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
BFD

BFDBowral

  • 3 reviews

Great router for NBN.

published

Bought one of these routers after struggling with the cheap router that was supplied from my NBN provider. The old router always struggled with wifi speed and range and was quite unreliable. A quick process to change over to the AC1900, and all that changed. Maximum speed wifi from my NBN service, better range and totally reliable. Very impressed and would recommend to NBN users.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
yeohkt

yeohktMelbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Fast to config, blazing speed and great performance

published

got this unit for a large house over 1000m2, unit was running in less than 20min for set up.
speed was amazing . this unit has being very popular as it runs DD-WRT. works with NBN with a bit of tweaking...
its not as cheap as other models but worth the extra $. picked it up at $185

Date PurchasedAug 2016

nwck1

nwck1Warwick

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good Router, great speed

published

I connected my Macbook pro (2011), iPhone, wireless printer, PC and S5 to the router. All working really well. MacBook connecting with 450 MBps. The only draw back is USB's are not support for Mac disks formats and Mac back up drive cannot be connected to USB. That's the reason I gave only 4 stars.


Tone

ToneSydney

  • 21 reviews
  • 7 likes

A good-value upgrade for Optus cable wifi

published

Geeklingo

GeeklingoWESTLAKE

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A great affordable Wireless AC1900 Router for the SOHO market

published

Another great product from TP-Link, the Archer C9 is the follow-up to the C7 and smaller sibling to the D9. For the price it's a great affordable wireless router providing AC1900 performance. I've published a mini review: http://geeklingo.net/tp-link-archer-c9-ac1900-wireless-dual-band-gigabit-router-review/


Carlos

CarlosSydney

TP-LINK Archer C9 AC1900 Gigabit Router,

published

Questions & Answers

MJM

MJMasked

Just moved house and bought this router with us, previously on cable connection. The NBN company we will go with said it may not be compatible due to some settings or compatibility issues? Is that true? Thanks

No answers

Jeffrey

Jeffreyasked

Is the C9 backwardly compatible with 802.11n equipment.
Regards,
Jeffrey.

2 answers
MightyJosh
MightyJosh

Yes it is.

Brekel
Brekel

Yes


syleil

syleilasked

Is this router compatible with the NBN?

2 answers
Geeklingo
Geeklingo

Yes, you plug the NBN modem into the WAN port via a ethernet cable.

syleil
syleil

Thanks very much ☺


Get an answer from our members and TP-Link representatives

Details

CategoryRouters
Price (RRP) $159.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 ac
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports1
Dimensions 168.5 x 221 x 86 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN12: 845973071691

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.