3 photos
TP-Link AC1900 Archer D9

TP-Link AC1900 Archer D9

4.1 from 27 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Modems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by TP-Link

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    5.0 (1)
  • Reliability
    5.0 (1)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Johnnyk35
Johnnyk35Far North Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Good but not that good

published

After my last modem died in a thunder storm, I searched for a mid range/priced Vdsl/Adsl modem router.
I settled on the TP-Link Archer VR900. Easy setup and has many features and is value for money. But I am disappointed that the WiFi range was not as strong as I hopped in fact my old Netgear modem had a better range. Still I am happy with my purchase. 2years old now and still going strong

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ottoke
OttokeMelbourne
  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Best Router to replace Default router by SP

published

Bought this Router as an upgrade to my SP router and was blown away by the stability and speed it can achieve. No drop off, no need resent every day and at 90% speed at all time. Great price and good enough for multiple devices, at my home i am constantly connected with over 5 devices and I have not notice slow speed what so ever. Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedSept 2016

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ari
Arimelbourne
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Easy to use

published

Compared to the router I used earlier, this one is very easy to set up and easy to use. I have used it for a few months and it did not fail me. It satisfy the needs of a gamer. And the coverage is good and the wifi is consistent.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Modems

Find out how TP-Link AC1900 Archer D9 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Honest AF
Honest AFGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 9 reviews

Great modem

published

Amazing value (on sale for $129) with a very well reviewed profile. Wifi connection very strong, no issues when I'm across the road in the street. Strong sync speed. Setup once and haven't needed to touch it since. Would recommend compared to buying a starter modem that are regularly included by ISPs.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Xiao
Xiaosydney
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Best modem i have got so far

published

Strong wall penetration features, comes with build in speed limitations and has dual channels.

good coverage which means i could access the wireless network from my own backyard.

One of the downside is that it doesnt support NBN, which is probably an issue for me in the next few years times when NBN is rolled out to my area.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Vloors
VloorsSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great range and speed for ADSL2

published

We were having issues with receiption using the standard DSL router/modem TPG has given us so I decided to purchase this little beauty.
After setting up first thing I noticed was the impressive signal range. Could get reception from one side of the house to the other and even downstairs in the garage.
Only disadvange would be once NBN is installed in our area this router/modem is useless because its not FTTB/FTTN compliant

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Dave
DaveSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Wifi Range

published

Had this modem router for a little over 12 months; upgraded from a Billion 7100, wifi range was an immediate improvement. Setup was relatively easy - on TPG ADSL 2+ internet. Paid around $199 for it at the time so it was considered mid-high end. Only bad thing is it's not compatible with VDSL/FTTB so I had to upgrade.

Date PurchasedSept 2015
jGarrick
jGarrickMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good reliable Modem/router with Excellent WiFi

published

Like this device used in on TPG ADSL2 then moved to NBN and still going strong nearly 3 years later, sits upright so has a small desktop footprint, GUI is easy to understand and has useful Parental controls to lock out kids iPad from the Internet during certain times. Looks nice too

Date PurchasedMay 2013

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Nagel
NagelAU
  • 6 reviews

Great all around router

published

Its a great all around router, you can plug in your USB hard drive and printer since it has 2x USB, Its easy to setup. However this model is now end of life so I would not be buying it now since it wont see any more updates to its firmware. It is also NOT compatible with FTTN NBN. But you can still use it together with another FTTN modem if you like.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Modems

Find out how TP-Link AC1900 Archer D9 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hambourne
Hambourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy to use

published

Interface is really easy to navigate and setup. I'm a gamer and Netflix streamer so a rely on quality wifi and quality of service, this router others buffer free streaming and lag free gaming (Depending how good your internet that is) Would recommend this for mid range value for money.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Clem
ClemSt Ives
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Good router but break after few months

published

In general, this modem router is easy to setup and provide good wifi signal, however, it doesn't last long, dhcp function has stopped working, hard reset doesn't help either, this is the first wireless router that only last few months, TP-link confirmed the fault and now waiting for a replacement, otherwise, this is a good modem router.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
John
JohnFAIRY MEADOW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Decent modem and Wi-Fi

published

I have been using this modem for a while now and I'm mostly happy with it. Connect to the NBN without issue and frequently have top speeds on the 100 MBS plan especially from Steam and local sites. The only issue I have is the Wi-Fi is not as strong as I would like as when I am in different rooms at the house sometimes it changes from 5G to the slower 2.4g and sometimes the connection he's not as strong and fast as I would like. Not a major issue as I'm usually in the room that has the modem in it

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Michael
MichaelMelbourne
  • 4 reviews

Good features

published

Easy to use good features and decent range. Especially at a discounted price.

One downside is that it does get quite hot and sometimes can throttle during the summer, but it is like 40deg in Australis so take it as you may.

Otherwise fantastic router. Firmware gives good user control.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Dist
DistSydney
  • 4 reviews

No issues with it

published

Have had this router for more than one year. Have not had any issues with it at this point in time. I have had about 10 devices connected simultaneously and seems to cope ok. From time to time it may need to reset it ( maybe once every couple of months)

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Budi
BudiOakleigh
  • 5 reviews

Great modem router

published

This is a great brand of modem router. Unfortunately can't change the SNR setting manually with this modem. Great wifi signal both on 2.4 ghz and 5 ghz, looks good and perform very well. Have usb port to set your usb printer and to share from your usb hard drive as well.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Modems

Find out how TP-Link AC1900 Archer D9 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

romseypcs
romseypcsasked

Does this moden support NBN? I have heard that is does'nt.

2 answers
Johnnyk35
Johnnyk35

Yes it Does

Ottoke
Ottoke

It does. Been using it with NBN for years no problem at all.

Seung O.
Seung O.asked

I am searching for a new modem and right now I use ADSL 1, will this work for ADSL 1 and what is the range on this modem? (The current modem right now shows a reading of 54Mbps and I can download at speeds up to 1.5MBps but sometimes the wifi goes out and it fluctuates a little too much (and yes I am aware of peak times))

1 answer
Johnnyk35
Johnnyk35

If I was you I would look for a second-hand Adsl 1 modem (gumtree) until your ready for NBN then get the latest modem/router I dont know if the AC1900 will work for you. GL.

Get an answer from our members and TP-Link representatives

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $199.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas, Mobile App Control, Parental Controls and Quality of Service
Maximum Wireless Speed1,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 ac
DSL SupportADSL
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports1
Dimensions 86 x 221 x 86 mm
NBN CompatibleYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.