??!
3 photos
TP-Link AC1900 Archer D9

TP-Link AC1900 Archer D9

4.1 from 27 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Good but not that good

After my last modem died in a thunder storm, I searched for a mid range/priced Vdsl/Adsl modem router.
I settled on the TP-Link Archer VR900. Easy setup and has many features and is value for money. But I am disappointed that the WiFi range was not as strong as I hopped in fact my old Netgear modem had a better range. Still I am happy with my purchase. 2years old now and still going strong

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ISP50 nbn plan
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Best Router to replace Default router by SP

Bought this Router as an upgrade to my SP router and was blown away by the stability and speed it can achieve. No drop off, no need resent every day and at 90% speed at all time. Great price and good enough for multiple devices, at my home i am constantly connected with over 5 devices and I have not notice slow speed what so ever. Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Easy to use

Compared to the router I used earlier, this one is very easy to set up and easy to use. I have used it for a few months and it did not fail me. It satisfy the needs of a gamer. And the coverage is good and the wifi is consistent.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Great modem

Amazing value (on sale for $129) with a very well reviewed profile. Wifi connection very strong, no issues when I'm across the road in the street. Strong sync speed. Setup once and haven't needed to touch it since. Would recommend compared to buying a starter modem that are regularly included by ISPs.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Best modem i have got so far

Strong wall penetration features, comes with build in speed limitations and has dual channels.

good coverage which means i could access the wireless network from my own backyard.

One of the downside is that it doesnt support NBN, which is probably an issue for me in the next few years times when NBN is rolled out to my area.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Great range and speed for ADSL2

We were having issues with receiption using the standard DSL router/modem TPG has given us so I decided to purchase this little beauty.
After setting up first thing I noticed was the impressive signal range. Could get reception from one side of the house to the other and even downstairs in the garage.
Only disadvange would be once NBN is installed in our area this router/modem is useless because its not FTTB/FTTN compliant

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Excellent Wifi Range

Had this modem router for a little over 12 months; upgraded from a Billion 7100, wifi range was an immediate improvement. Setup was relatively easy - on TPG ADSL 2+ internet. Paid around $199 for it at the time so it was considered mid-high end. Only bad thing is it's not compatible with VDSL/FTTB so I had to upgrade.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Good reliable Modem/router with Excellent WiFi

Like this device used in on TPG ADSL2 then moved to NBN and still going strong nearly 3 years later, sits upright so has a small desktop footprint, GUI is easy to understand and has useful Parental controls to lock out kids iPad from the Internet during certain times. Looks nice too

Date PurchasedMay 2013

Great all around router

Its a great all around router, you can plug in your USB hard drive and printer since it has 2x USB, Its easy to setup. However this model is now end of life so I would not be buying it now since it wont see any more updates to its firmware. It is also NOT compatible with FTTN NBN. But you can still use it together with another FTTN modem if you like.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Easy to use

Interface is really easy to navigate and setup. I'm a gamer and Netflix streamer so a rely on quality wifi and quality of service, this router others buffer free streaming and lag free gaming (Depending how good your internet that is) Would recommend this for mid range value for money.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Good router but break after few months

In general, this modem router is easy to setup and provide good wifi signal, however, it doesn't last long, dhcp function has stopped working, hard reset doesn't help either, this is the first wireless router that only last few months, TP-link confirmed the fault and now waiting for a replacement, otherwise, this is a good modem router.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Decent modem and Wi-Fi

I have been using this modem for a while now and I'm mostly happy with it. Connect to the NBN without issue and frequently have top speeds on the 100 MBS plan especially from Steam and local sites. The only issue I have is the Wi-Fi is not as strong as I would like as when I am in different rooms at the house sometimes it changes from 5G to the slower 2.4g and sometimes the connection he's not as strong and fast as I would like. Not a major issue as I'm usually in the room that has the modem in it

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Good features

Easy to use good features and decent range. Especially at a discounted price.

One downside is that it does get quite hot and sometimes can throttle during the summer, but it is like 40deg in Australis so take it as you may.

Otherwise fantastic router. Firmware gives good user control.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

No issues with it

Have had this router for more than one year. Have not had any issues with it at this point in time. I have had about 10 devices connected simultaneously and seems to cope ok. From time to time it may need to reset it ( maybe once every couple of months)

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Great modem router

This is a great brand of modem router. Unfortunately can't change the SNR setting manually with this modem. Great wifi signal both on 2.4 ghz and 5 ghz, looks good and perform very well. Have usb port to set your usb printer and to share from your usb hard drive as well.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Easy!

After an earlier wrong choice we bought this modem router. Once at home it was super easy to set up. It's sits under my couch so I don't see it, but in case it was seen, the thing even looks good, with a handy kind of standard to keep it upright.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Crashes sometimes

This router is very good quality, though definitely not inexpensive, but it does provide fast reliable internet unlike from Belkin which we experienced many failures and slow internet.
However this router does have its own issues as well. It crashes and will not work as well during rainy days, or it will not reach places such as my room.
Also we have a TCL Smart TV which requires WiFi to watch Netflix. However the internet provided by router is apparently not strong enough to be used by the tv so pretty much my monthly subscription to Netflix and Stan has gone to waste... :(

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Excellent router

We've been happy with this modem router. We bought it because it can be use for NBN as well. We even connect a usb hard drive on it so we can access all the files on the usb hard drive on any device we have. The connection is very good and stable.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Quite good - works for me with Optus

I had read a few reviews that this router was having problems connecting to Optus and almost backed out of buying it. I have Optus ADSL at home and it is working with it flawlessly. Didn't take too long to set up, my only advice is to create two different names for the 2 and 5 gHz networks. I also created a guest network (which was the main reason I purchased this one) and it was set up in 2 mins. Good range. Really happy.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

it work well excepting when it's raining

I bought this router from TPG accompanying with Internet package. We live in very large house and large back yard. I still get connection when I around back yard or in my neighbor's house. But the signal come badly when it's raining. Maybe problem come from TPG not because of the router itself

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Details

TP-Link AC1900 Archer D9
CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $199.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas, Mobile App Control, Parental Controls and Quality of Service
Maximum Wireless Speed1,300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 ac
DSL SupportADSL
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports1
Dimensions 86 x 221 x 86 mm
NBN CompatibleYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.