??!
2 photos
TP-Link N300 TD-W9977

TP-Link N300 TD-W9977

4.4 from 19 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

Fred Bo

Fred BoMurray Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Very stable

published

This modem is very stable - I never have to restart it! I've changed RSPs a few times and it has been simple to reconfigure.
The web interface is basic, but functional.

Purchased at eBay for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 1 devices
ISPInternode NBN 50 (Gold)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
See all answers

goldcoast lady

goldcoast ladyGold Coast

  • 48 reviews

highly recommend

published

Having owned a dlink I wanted a small router. I brought this one from Harvey Norman on recommendation from ISP and it took a few mins to set up and is faster with no lagging at all. For the price it was a nice surprise It is fast to load up as well

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Renee

ReneeMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great router. Would recommend.

published

The router provides a strong connection and is fast and reliable. Only a handful of times ive had to reset the modem because it resulted in contantly dropping out and providing lower speeds. To set up the modem its as simple as plugging all the cords in and getting the app on your phone.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Ladsie

Ladsierichmond

  • 4 reviews

Stable and trouble free

published

Been using this with ADSL2 for over two years and its solid a sa rock. I really need to restart it and it just its there quietly doing its thing and I am happy with it. Set up took a bit of time to get exactly right but I have a mobile broadband wifi too and I just used that and Googled anything I didn't know. God unit

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Funky Consumer

Funky ConsumerPerth, WA

  • 27 reviews
  • 14 likes

Solid VDSL/ADSL2+ Modem

published

Pros:
- WiFi signal is strong and doesn't drop in and out like my previous TP-link.
- It works seamlessly I forget it is even there, I don't need to restart it or anything.
- Being VDSL and ADSL2+ compatible it makes transitioning from ADSL to FTTN NBN easy.
- 1Mbps LAN ports to move data fast around your wired network (most consumer modems still coming out with 100mbps LAN ports).

Cons:
- Only has 2.4Ghz Wifi (eg no 5Ghz) which is fine for web pages, but not so great for media hungry devices like Xbox or streaming movies directly from computer to tablet.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Christian M

Christian MMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for FTTN connection used in bridge mode!

published

After trawling through many forums and posts about this router I was lucky to find it still available at Space HiFi for under $100 shipped. This router does VDSL2 which is typically a requirement for FTTN connections. I use this in front of my Billion router and have it placed in "bridge mode".

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Geo

GeoLALOR

  • 4 reviews

Perfect for gaming

published

My previous router was slow and doesn't have strong connection throughout the house. This router has a strong connection. This is perfect for gaming as they connection is strong and fast. Good value for money. Also, the build quality is good. Also their customer support is good and simple to use.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Mr Aldi

Mr AldiNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

TD-W9977 Great value for money

published

A nice basic router for beginner to intermediate user.
Works well on Telstra NBN VDSL FTTN both in Router and Bridge mode.
It doesn't have some advanced features that advanced tinkerers would expect (see other reviews) however I think it's excellent value for money. I use it in bridge mode with a software router (zeroshell) and it's as fast as the nasty Netgear Gateway Pro Telstra shipped me.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
y2kdisease

y2kdisease

  • 8 reviews

Good modem router for ADSL/VDSL

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Chola

CholaWollongong

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

The modem performs very well.

published

This is a good modem for NBN. I highly recommend for home with many devices. The signal is quite strong with good coverage area. This modem is very easy to set up and I had less issue with this modem. A wizard within the extender's interface walks you through a quick setup

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Patrick

PatrickGeelong

  • 3 reviews

Wow, it covers my 6 bedroom 2 storey house

published

This has been my best wifi/networking purchase ever! I initially bought it because i was going to bridge my nbn to a better wifi router, but didn't end up needing a more expensive wifi router as it completely covers my 6 bedroom, 2 storey brick house with fast wifi (same speed as wired connection!!)

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Shina

Shina

  • 3 reviews

This is perfect, I love it.

published

More fast than my old one, I should replace my old one earlier. My old one is D-link I use it about 4 years but recently it is not working properly. So I had to replace it. The new one I open it all the time and never down. So I suggest to buy it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

André

AndréMelbourne, Victoria

  • 5 reviews

Excellent value for money NBN modem

published

Purchased this modem for use with an NBN provider to not have to get their standard, more expensive modem and am very pleased with what it offers for its price. It took a bit of digging into the advanced settings to find out how to configure the modem for use with the NBN though - the online manuals and documentation are not very informative. Also, be aware that this modem only offers wifi signals up to 802.11n - it does not support the faster 802.11ac protocol! Overall connection speeds are fine and easily cover the entirety of our apartment without any drops in performance. Overall, a very decent NBN modem which can save you some $$$ by not having to get a pricey modem from an ISP.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Nikon user

Nikon userMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

NBN /ADSL compatible

published

Hi bought this modem because my premise is due for connection with NBN network. However, I was still using ADSL2+ and I needed a modem that can be compatible with both NBN and ADSL2+, and this modem works out just fine. The price is also very reasonable making this a perfect choice!

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Cust M

Cust MSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good cheap NBN modem

published

If you're looking for a good cheap VDSL modem to put in bridge mode behind a full featured router this is one of the best value you will find.
It has a Broadcom chipset which works best with NBN, on FTTB mine reports a possible max sync of over 130mbit, it has worked without issue so far.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Wayne H

Wayne HAdelaide

  • 3 reviews

Good as an NBN modem (so I have read), but has some issues.

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Ozwelder

OzwelderCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good value for money

published

It was purchased from my local Apple agent who recommended it. It was purchased a part of a mission to improve my download speed. I changed from my old ISP to a new and the download improved.

Knowing NBN was coming the old unit was10 years old and probably not up to date technology, opted for this one.
I believe it was the major factor in raising my d/load speed from 1.9Mbps to 6.5Mbps.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Tieuie

TieuieSydney

  • 4 reviews

Awesome and reliable

published

Bought this one on sale from MSY. The bandwidth handling on this router was amazing. That plus VoIP capability, was the perfect pairing for my ISP.

The router kept a stable connection to the network and internet for at leady 2 and a half years before having any issues.Would highly recommend!

Date PurchasedMay 2014

Nelson Wong

Nelson Wong

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Decent NBN router for FTTN

published

Broadcom chipset (arguably the best chipset for compatibility and stability for fttn) @ 85 bucks. Cheap, stable and does the job. Downside is only 64mb ram and only n300 wifi (no ac). If you plan to bridge another router to it this is the perfect choice.

Questions & Answers

cyril

cyrilasked

Why cant I connect to my zerver solar inverter to record my input and output details? cyril gore

No answers

Get an answer from our members and TP-Link representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.