??!
1 photo
ASUS AC1900 DSL-AC68U

ASUS AC1900 DSL-AC68U

MPN: DSLAC68U
4.2 from 32 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
9
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
2

Wifi unstable

published

Constant wifi dropouts make thse unreliable for me - I can never count on a successfull upload of work to a client. I've tried all suggestions & fixes from various sites- resets, firmware updates, channel switching - still no good. Tried Asus helpline - they were unhelpful. I've had 2 different brands of modem before this, neither of which caused such problems. Best left alone, save youself some grief.

Purchased in July 2019 for $330.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
ModemASUS AC1900 DSL-AC68U
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Danoz

Danoz

  • 6 reviews

Great Modem & Router

published

Purchased in February 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
Cyriax

CyriaxSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent modem/router for the price, large range, simple UI.

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 9 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
arthboaz R.

arthboaz R.Illawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Surprisingly easy setup and fast internet

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bing Lee Online store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 6 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Be careful with this router for NBN - will not work for some configs

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bing Lee for $269.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ISPiiNet NBN 12
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

  • Verified purchase

Continuously losing internet after probably 6 months

published

It seems that most modems had problems after one year. This one is worse and it last about 6 months, although it's much more expensive than my other modems. My house is good and I was happy to pay more to buy this high end modem, hoping good signal in my house. However, recently I experienced continuous loss of internet. Had to reboot the modem to resolve the problem. Would not buy it again.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

IgorB

IgorBHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great range and features

published

Easy to setup. Stable connection achieving consistent speed. Love the VPN feature - able to connect my USB to the device and view the content on my smart TV (including movies).

The monitoring app is also very comprahensive and easy to navigate.

Great range also. easily covers my 200 sqm house without the need for boosters.

Overall very happy customer.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Jason35

Jason35PERTH

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great range and works perfectly

published

Perfect product. Setup was a breeze. Actually bought high end asus dsl-ac3100 but was faulty straight out of the box. Wifi of that unit was faulty.

However this unit is great. Range is awesome and the wifi connection is very stable. Great monitoring features too. Looks compact as well. Highly recommend

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Laney

LaneyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Pretty good router that I can't really fault

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Adriano M

Adriano MGold Coast

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing on Adsl2+, Good on FTTN NBN

published

Been using this modem for over 1 year on ADSL2+ and I was always getting the best sync speed and amazing wifi Ac range. I switched to NBN a week ago, got a 100 mbps plan, but because the modem has Mediatek chipset, it’s only able to sync at around 85mbps. Tested connection using Tp-Link V600 that has Broadcom chipset and was able to sync around 95mbps. But the settings and configurations provided by this modem has no comparison with other brands. It’s highly customised modem with excellent wifi range!

Date PurchasedJan 2017

John D

John DSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Nice router with lots of features and great performance

published

I needed to get something reasonably priced but needed a few advanced features. DSL-AC68U turned out to be the best product on the market for the value.

I really needed something that shows me the real-time download speed so that I can figure out which of the devices is downloading and how much. This router does a pretty good job of it.

Also, WiFi performance does not get visibly impaired with a large number on devices on the network (>10).

I also like that it has both a VPN server (PPTP and OpenVPN) and VPN clients (PPTP, L2TP, OpenVPN).

All in all, a good package with loads of features (printer server, USB network drive), high speed wifi (802.11 ac) and still reasonably priced.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Andy

AndySydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great improvement in Wi-Fi range and reliability

published

Purchased this to replaced my Billion router which served me well for a few years. I was having issues with Wi-Fi constantly dropping off and have interference. After replaced with this Asus router I was able to received very strong Wi-Fi signal and coverage.
I did encounter some issues though on very hot days where the router stopped responding and had to do a power cycle.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Saurabh J

Saurabh JAU

  • 4 reviews

So much better than ISP modem routers

published

I got this when I first switched to NBN on a 50/20 plan with MATE Communicate. It took a while to set up but then it worked flawlessly and I haven't even been able to make full use of its plethora of features. It gives me speeds of around 45/18 all around my house and it never drops out and I haven't needed to restart it a single time.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Tim L

Tim LOxenford

  • 4 reviews

Best Wifi VDSL modem i have used and worould recommend

published

After extensive research, i chose this modem for its features and wifi capabilities. While it has been around for a while, Asus keep releasing updates for this model and don't seem to have an end date. The Wireless performance has been the best thing about it covering my entire house and even 10m out the front door. The range is good but performance over range is its best category.

Traffic Analyser will tell you how much you are downloading and where it coming from. Would recommend to anyone

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Brogdon

BrogdonGold Coast

  • 10 reviews

Really good modem with tons of useful features

published

I bought this modem to upgrade from an old single band modem I was using, and going to this and using the 5ghz channel, I managed to see my internet speeds more than double due to the limitations of the 2.4ghz channel. The interface for this modem allows for plenty of control over how your devices are connected, such as limiting bandwith per device, priority to certain devices and the ability to block access directly from the interface. This modem is perfect for anyone that is after a good priced dual band modem that performs extremely well and gives you a really nice interface.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Dave

DaveSydney

  • 5 reviews

Good stable router

published

Bought this as my previous router was struggling and kept dropping out. Noticed an immediate improvement with connectivity and excellent wifi range. Only had to reboot the modem / router once since purchasing. No freezing when mirroring through Apple TV. Currently using it to connect to FTTB and networking between devices.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Rob M

Rob M

  • 4 reviews

Solid router for a good price

published

No complaints about this router at all. It's actually the second one I've purchased as I liked the first so much. The connectivity is great, the range is above average, setup is a breeze and the best part is it just works! I've encountered no issues with it at all. The built in software features are great for keeping track of data hogs on your network and throttling their bandwidth. I would buy this again in a heart beat.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Zach

ZachAU

  • 5 reviews

Didn't last for too long

published

Eventually this Modem started having issues but got a refund after sending back under warranty. The tools you have access to are very handy for monitoring traffic. Setting up for NBN was a pain like many people experienced with poor documentation, even after it was set up I could never get it faster than the standard modem Telstra provided with me.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Joe

JoeVic, 3044

  • 5 reviews

Powerful and amazing with NB

published

This router is definitely a go to if you are switching to NB. I can't fault this router for its speeds. Even when multiple people are streaming or downloading at the same time my gaming does not drop in speed. Also, I have added an external drive with movies and tv shows to watch wirelessly around the house.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Anthony

Anthonyport macquarie

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Product!!

published

Great modem router... great functionality especially the VPN client function allowing me to securely browse the internet on all my devices without having to connect each device to the VPN manually. All devices connected to the 5GHZ network are very fast allowing me to transfer large files wireless to my NAS quite quickly also. Great product.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

lilyjeannesmum

lilyjeannesmumasked

It says this modem router is compatible with cable, but I don't see a coaxial cable connector on it in the pictures. I have signed up to iiNet's cable broadband plan in Geelong, VIC but looking for the best modem router instead of their provided one. Can anyone answer if this model will work with iiNet cable?

1 answer
trebo
trebo

https://www.asus.com/au/Networking/DSLAC68U/


Get an answer from our members and ASUS representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.