??!
5 photos
TP-Link TD-W8968

TP-Link TD-W8968

MPN: TDW8968
3.3 from 26 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
8
2 star
1
1 star
5

Johnny Unitas

Johnny UnitasMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Works fine love the spikes

published

Works fine and much better than the one that came with iinet. The old one broke because I punched it too many time because it was useless and constantly disconnecting and took 10 minutes to reset.

I like how this one has counter measures with spikes and I've seen the more expensive ones have even more spikes so I have to think twice before smashing them if they under perform which this one doesn't.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

martin

martin

  • 5 reviews

does the job

published

Bought this as I moved from NBN to ADSL2 and The current router we have does not have a built in modem. Didn't work art first but called technical support and they had it up and running in 10 minutes. Getting a drop out every 2-3 days but not sure if that's related to the router or elsewhere.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
amin

aminsydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

good for the price

published

it's the cheapest modem router in the market and that's the best part, don't expect quality connection with it. range is very limited and if you use cable and wifi connections at the same time it will freeze or disconnect frequently. but otherwise provides an average signal quality in normal condition for not too many devices.

Date PurchasedMay 2014
Flyby

FlybyNSW, 2456

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good Router

published

I have owned this router for 3 1/2 years and it has never caused any issues, was easy to set up and has a good range of features such as a guest mode, USB port & all the features an average user would need. Also the wireless works throughout the house and back yard. I am not a gamer and don't do much streaming but I have no problems with U tube videos or Iview etc & we download movies to our Foxtel IQ3 & usually only have to wait about 30 seconds before we can start watching the movie. At a maximum of 300 Mbps wireless it easily copes with an average ADSL connection speed of 12 Mbps.

Date PurchasedJan 2014

tommy

tommynewcastle

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

ok for basic surfing

published

It is a very basic router and is good to simply surf the net with no issues but when it come to gaming, it just couldn't cope as it would lag. With the router's homepage and set up wizard it is very easy to follow. It was very easy to reconfigure the ports but overall a good basic unit for internet surfing

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Shakey

ShakeyBrisbane

  • 8 reviews

impressive

published

I've had quite a few routers in my time, N draft, N+ ones too. I wasn't expecting a great deal from the TD-W8968 either, but I set it up incredibly quick, using the software provided (even though I normally like going into the router's settings and configuring it from there).
Apart from the fast speeds, both on wired and wireless, the RANGE of this router is phenomenal.
Stretches past 20m with 4 walls in-between and still gives me 3/5 bars on my Samsung Galaxy S III.

I'm thoroughly impressed by the product and in the future will buy more TP LINK products.
A highly suggested router, not only for affordability and flexibility (over the BT home hub) but also its range.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Frankie

FrankieAlburry

  • 23 reviews
  • 7 likes

For basic surfing

published

This router is good enough for basic Internet use, such as surfing the net or updating your Facebook account. But, I can't really recommend it to anyone who's looking to use this for work due to its speed and disconnection issues. From time to time, these problems will appear and can easily get the way of whatever task you're working on that requires a good connection.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Jaimi

Jaimi

  • 2 reviews

Basic router

published

A good router for basic use - surfing the net, emails basic things but not the greatest for constant streaming or online gaming as the unit will cut out as it only reaches a certain mbps that is good for basic use of the internet. Has a nice desgin on the top quite a nice looking router

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Sally

Sally

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

No issues with it whatsoever, even being the cheapest option on the market currently.

published

I am a big fan of this product - it was the cheapest NBN compatible modem in Office works recently, and for the past few months, it has worked perfectly, no issues at all. The look isn't as lovely as perhaps some others (I like a simpler design, or smaller design even) but it works fine and that's all that matters. Highly recommend.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
iamagirl69

iamagirl69South Australia

  • 83 reviews
  • 65 likes

sent two of these modems by previous internet providers- ended up disconnecting them and going strai

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Karl

KarlAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Horrible drops out also slow

published

Slow speeds drops out of service constantly will never buy again.. . . save your money and buy a decent unit because it will end up cheaper and less stress in the long run. . . . also don't use this modem with dodo you'll be regretting it badly. .

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Speedy

SpeedyNewcastle NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

cheap unit got me out of trouble

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Speedy
Speedy

Update: Had the W8968 since 10/7/17 and working great - no problems or hiccups


GussA

GussALeeming

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Value for money

published

This is a very compact Modem Router.
It easy to setup. It has a very nice web interface with clear step by step instructions.
The coverage is reasonable. However the signal fades a bit when you step outside of the house.
Most of all a very reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

goodluck

goodluck

  • 39 reviews
  • 24 likes

Good on a Budget

published

My old modemwas giving me promblems and I found out 4 years later it was a trail one that DODO gave me when I first signed out. DODO gave me this TP Link Modem when I said I wasnt happy with there internet. I found TP Link easy to set up and easy to use. Its fast and Iso far I havent had any issues with it. You can buy one cheap on Ebay

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
SB

SBMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 37 reviews
  • 41 likes

It does what it says and thats it

published

These come bundled with most internet providers and do the job and that is it. They work but do not expect anything special. The ISP providers most likely say they are super doper modems so people think they are getting something better than they are. I got my from an ISP and have now left that ISP due to bad customer service.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

This is perfect. Made the right choice..

published

Excellent. Works well. IT has wide range and reaches all corners of the house. Very powerful and good looks. Looking forward to recommend anyone looking for a home ADSL+2 modem. This is worth the price too and installs quickly. There is nothing negative I found about this modem. Excellent buy.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Karl S

Karl SAustralia

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Watch out for the version number

published

We had one of these bundled with our Dodo home DSL package. The original was a V2 and from day one we experienced multiple issues with speed, reliability, DNS issues etc. Finally had a replacement unit sent which is now version 4 with new chipset and firmware and it has been much better (although this morning we've had issues with it). Not a great modem but OK for the price. I am going to get something else next time though.


Worst router ever!!

published

I went out one day hoping to get the router I was wanting but I went out and purchased one huge mistake! Runs slow all the time, if you want to play online gaming whilst someone watching a movie it's impossible! Don't recommend to anyone! Terrible router!! I wouldn't want anyone buying this, it worked well for a few days but then went terrible. I was truly shocked at the results I received worst thing I have ever used!! Don't buy!


worst router ive ever had!

published

thought buying this to replace the 1 Telstra supplied would be an improvement but NO! A very temperamental POS. most problems occur with the wifi . on off on off and then the reception has always been weak (even in a safe position away from electronics etc). Zero stars from me!


qwakaw

qwakawSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

This device is working as expected

published

I bought this ADSL+ modem/router 9 months back. It is providing me with uninterrupted internet. Keep it on all the time and the downlink/uplink speed hovers around 7/1Mbps or 8/1Mbps. It is kept on all the time. One thing I have noticed is, when I stop and start the modem the sync doesn't happen that fast, it takes time or I need to restart the modem/router again.
Have logged the purchasing of the TP-link + BB: [link removed]. It is reasonably priced modem/router with 3 years warranty, comes with "Ready for NBN", IPv6 support, ADSL 2+ filter splitter and many other features.
I am happy with the device.

1 comment
qwakaw
qwakaw

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Tshir Manufacturer Tirup

Tshir Manufacturer Tirupasked

Hi friends,
How this modem porfamen, good or not good?

1 answer
qwakaw
qwakaw

Based on subjective experience with the device it's good. I keep it in "always on" mode. It doesn't get that hot as reviewed by other user. Configuring the device was also a breeze provided you have your BB right credentials with you.


Hans

Hansasked

Is it suitable for nbn satellite receipton?

3 answers
mthomson
mthomson

nbn satellite capabilities i am unsure of but normal nbn fibre cable yes. sorry can't help more.

Nelson Wong
Nelson Wong

You better off buying a linksys router without dsl support as satellite don't need dsl and this this is only good for modem.
(Yeah I know its 3 yrs old)

gizmo7
gizmo7

yes, I use it for NBN satellite. (SkyMuster.)

It has been fine for 8 months, I am having trouble at present with losing connections - sometimes it loses all wireless connections, other times it loses connection to NBN satellite device. Been doing this a week. Have already reset back to factory settings, done full setup from scratch. Will try new firmware installation, then try tech helpline, then if still playing up, will chuck and replace. Still under 3 year warranty but I have lost receipt...


Get an answer from our members and TP-Link representatives

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $29.00
Frequency BandSingle-Band (2.4GHz)
FeaturesExternal Antennas
Maximum Wireless Speed300 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports4
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL2+
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Number of USB 3.0 Ports0
Dimensions 36 x 195 x 130 mm
NBN CompatibleYes
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateNov 2012

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN14: 00845973060732, 06935364060732 and 06935364060749
  • GTIN12: 845973060732
  • MPN: TDW8968

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.