??!
1 photo
TravelSim

TravelSim

3.9 from 432 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.9

432 reviews
5
(262)
4
(54)
3
(15)
2
(22)
1
(79)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (15)
  • Customer Service
    2.1 (16)
  • Rates and Fees
    2.1 (15)
  • Transparency
    1.5 (16)
Previous
Next
Ines

InesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Keep getting charged, website, emails and phone number not working. Smells like fraud!

published

Started using this company and kept it because it was cheap but the service is horrible so decided to change and I cant reach them, cancel account, keep getting invoiced.

Purchased in December 2018.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Gez

Gez

  • 3 reviews

good enough

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Rob

RobMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

TravelSIM refuses to refund due to Covid19

published

We have requested a full refund of the balance of our two SIM card accounts due to the fact that all International Travel has been cancelled and we are unable to use the card. We have made numerous requests for a full refund under Australian Consumer Law and the company refuses to refund the money. This company needs to be shut down due to their refusal to cooperate. Never buy from them again, assuming they survive given the complaints surfacing.

Purchased in January 2020 at RAA Motoring for A$50.00.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Travel SIMs

Find out how TravelSim compares to other Travel SIMs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Golf and Surf

Golf and SurfSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Basically Fraudsters

published

This company will not refund debits they incorrectly make so be very careful with your credit card. The product only works on cheap overseas providers I could not use Vodaphone in FIJI. I have been trying since March to get $70 returned that they double dipped on my Visa card for Data - their data credit was useless in Fiji as well. Purchase a sim on arrival is much more secure financially.

Purchased in February 2020 at Westfield for A$150.00.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
m r

m rwinmalee

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

life saver

published

had trouble connecting at first but when it was connected it was our life line with out we would of been lost anybody wanting an overseas sim card travel sim is the one

Purchased in March 2020 at crown cash exchange for A$25.00.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Alan B.

Alan B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

An Abject Failure

published

Purchased in December 2019 for A$25.00.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
papa

papaSydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

It is a fraud: you get charged for services you did not even request

published

Purchased in December 2019 for A$50.00.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Steve

SteveWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Call credit gone

published

I purchased sim loaded an extra $25 call credit on half an hour later received text saying credit balance Zero. I hadn’t even touched or used phone. Contacting consumer affairs

Purchased in January 2020 at Australia Post Offices for A$25.00.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Unhappy

UnhappySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Service has degraded with their new SIM

published

Purchased in November 2019 for A$25.00.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Travel SIMs

Find out how TravelSim compares to other Travel SIMs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Disappointing performance from a company which used to be so much better

published

Purchased in August 2013 at Australia Post Offices for A$50.00.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

$$Rip off to keep account active, courtesy of Travelsim

published

Bought one in 2012 and it served its purpose when I went overseas back then. Have continued to pay $5 every 6 months to keep active, so I wouldn't lose my existing credit, thinking I could at least use on my next overseas trip. Wrong! They have now conveniently "upgraded" their plans, with limited options, either pay more money to get a new SIM, or lose existing credit. Naturally the existing credit is nonrefundable. It's a sneaky way of making money because some people like me will no longer pay more, & lose their account credit.
I don't know what the service is like in 2019 because I haven't had to use it, but don't get sucked in to the endless spiral of paying out money like I did to keep the existing credit active.

Purchased in April 2012.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
John Parker

John ParkerMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Total waste of time and money

published

I purchased the Australia Post TravelSIM for use in Indonesia.
It was activated and I was given the new phone number.
It would not connect to any network.
After numerous contacts I was told that it would only connect to Optus in Australia. No problem my other mobile is on Optus.
It would not connect. I replaced the TravelSIM with my Optus SIM. Phone connected to the Optus network and worked perfectly.
I replaced it with a Telstra prepaid SIM. Again the phone connects to the Telstra network and worked perfectly.

Purchased in November 2019 at Australia Post Offices for A$30.00.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Greg Bunton

Greg BuntonSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Dont bother

published

Impossible to top up credit from overseas. Tried their website from numerous devices and locations and would not load. Do not use this company. I gave up trying to top up my credit after 4 days of trying and many emails. Simply not helpful at all

Purchased in October 2019 for A$25.00.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Sam S.

Sam S.Sydney, NSW

Don't depend on it for your overseas holiday

published

Purchased in July 2019 for A$100.00.

Value for Money
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Phil

PhilSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Another 100% crap

published

In Phuket now, with recently updated data option for region. To get out of trouble had to buy a cheap local sim. It works well. Think before you buy. Good luck finding a decent sim.

Purchased in September 2019 for A$50.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Travel SIMs

Find out how TravelSim compares to other Travel SIMs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

1000% crap

published

Purchased in July 2018.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Kym

KymMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Beware - No refund of unused credit

published

I bought a twin pack for a recent trip overseas and put credit on both cards to cover our time away. The travel sims worked perfectly overseas.

Now that we have returned home I wanted to close my accounts and get my remaining credit refunded only to be told:
"Unfortunately the credit on your account is non refundable.
Cheers,
TravelSIM Team"
and
"Our agent has updated your request (36984)."

This has now made the Travel Sim a very expensive option for our travel.
This important detail needs to highlighted during the purchase and credit phases.

Purchased in June 2019 at Australia Post Offices.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
seachangeau

seachangeau

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Expensive 3g data in uk

published

Would have got 12gb for less from another provider who mails out sim but decided to buy in postshop thinking they help u activate it - they dont. Was in uk and 3g very slow.

Purchased in June 2019 at Australia Post Offices for A$50.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
  • Verified purchase

Fine for limited data - Phone calls are painful

published

Purchased in January 2019 for A$100.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Eye-wateringly pricey

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Warringah Mall, NSW.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Page 1 of 22

Questions & Answers

Charlie

Charlieasked

How reliable is the TravelSim card for Austria and Greece.

Many of the reviews don't inspire confidence nor assurance.

Thanks. C

1 answer
Cathi C.
Cathi C.

Terrible in Greece, Don't get one.

Ian S.

Ian S.asked

can a card that has expired be reactivated ?

1 answer
FairLady
FairLady

I was told the card does not expire

Graeme J.

Graeme J.asked

I had activated my travel sim prior to going overseas but when i tried to use it it would not work.What happened?

2 answers
yoolie
yoolie

hi Graeme

I have no idea..sorry I dont work for travelsim I just posted a review. Sggest you contact them. good luck

FairLady
FairLady

it happened to me too Graeme. The data would not work. It was a waste of $25

Get an answer from our members and TravelSim representatives

Other Travel SIMs

Previous
Sim Corner

Sim Corner

4.7
(198)
Sims Direct

Sims Direct

4.7
(167)
GO-SIM

GO-SIM

4.1
(351)
OneSimCard

OneSimCard

4.1
(55)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.