??!
3 photos
Vicks Fever InSight V916C-AUS

Vicks Fever InSight V916C-AUS

2.3 from 29 reviews

Reviews

(6)
(2)
(2)
(5)
(14)

Not accurate

published

Under arm daughter is 36.7 Under tongue 39.8. I know she has a fever. Goosebumps , hot to touch her body but saying shes cold. I dont usually put under tongue but due to continual reading under arm showing ok I did so .

Purchased in October 2019 for $20.00.

Polly

PollyCanberra

  • 2 reviews

Cannot replace battery

published

This thermometer was used about 4 times before it needed a new battery which I cannot get in any normal store (supermarkets, Mr Minute etc). Dont buy, not worth it

Purchased in April 2019 for $40.00.

Hugo

HugoSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Battery empty after 4 days. Exotic batteries

published

This thermometer takes batteries that are not available at Woolies, Coles or my Chemist Warehouse. Measurement is imprecise, but gets there if you measure 2-3 times in a row. The coloured display and large numbers are a plus tho. The "feature" of showing previous result at startup is very confusing.

1 comment
Vicks Vaporizers & Thermometers
Customer ServiceVicks Vaporizers & Thermometers
Baby Thermometers

Find out how Vicks Fever InSight V916C-AUS compares to other Baby Thermometers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very inaccurate. Going straight in the bin

published

this is inaccurate. Used on myself and it said I was 37. I knew it was wrong because I could tell I had a fever. Went to the doctors half an hour later and had a temp of 39.9. Went home and straight away used it again and it said 36.

Purchased in June 2019 at Coles for $25.00.

massi

massiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Inaccurate

published

Please don’t trust it and don’t give your poor children medications because of this rubbish! I gave my poor baby Panadol twice a time because that showed 38.5 degrees fever!

Purchased in July 2018 at Baby Bunting for $10.00.

Terri

TerriSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Waste of money

published

Wish I had of read reviews before wasting money on this useless product my son has been running a temperature and I cannot get an accurate reading One second it is red and the next second green it’s absolute rubbish will be going in the bin !!!! Don’t waste your money on it

Purchased in February 2019 at Priceline for $24.99.

Meljai

MeljaiBrisbane

  • 6 reviews

Not accurate

published

I have been using the Vicks Fever InSight for around 12-months and it is not accurate. I am bitterly disappointed with this product and would not recommend this to anyone.

My daughter had a fever all of this week and the Vicks Fever InSight measured her temperature within the normal range, I had eve taken it to our GP to show.

Christiaan

Christiaan

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Wrong readings . Automatically switches to Fahrenheit. bad product

published

Nothing but trouble with this one. The readings are wrong. I felt feverish, the Vicks thermometer said 37 , while another classic alcohol thermometer showed 38.2. This thing can’t be trusted. As I have a young child and failrly accurate temp readings are important (their temp can go up more quickly than adults) I am throwing it in the bin to find a classic non digital thermometer. Also, the thermometer switched to Fahrenheit . The UI is clonky. One would expect digital to work better than old fashioned, but not the case here. It is a confusing thing that doesn’t even take temps correctly. Don’t buy.

grrahul

grrahulSydney

  • 12 reviews

Awful + uses a non standard battery

published

We bought this thermometer about a year ago and used it just a couple of times. Recently, we wanted to use it on our newborn but I noticed the battery was dead. I opened the battery compartment and noticed it uses a CR1225 (quite hard to find) battery. I finally managed to get a few from eBay yesterday. I put the battery in and closed the compartment but for some reason it refused to work. If I open the compartment and jiggle the metallic wire a little bit, it seems to work for a short while but if I try to close the compartment, once again it stops working. Safe to assume I wasted my money on this.

Baby Thermometers

Find out how Vicks Fever InSight V916C-AUS compares to other Baby Thermometers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nyree

NyreeSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews

Great little thermometer

published

I had a bad experience with the Omron ear thermometer in April 2017 (read my review) and then I bought this one and have been so happy with it ever since. It's fast and will light up promptly within seconds in green, amber or red if the temperature reaches the set heights. This is especially good in the dark if you don't have the lights on.

Morgan

MorganBrisbane

Constantly reading low

published

We've had an out of sorts 4 month old for a few days and have been checking her temp fairly often, always reading in the green. Went to the doctor yesterday and they confirmed that she's running a mild fever. We then brought her straight home and I wanted to check with our Vicks Thermometer, and her temp was more than 1C cooler than at the doctors 10 minutes earlier.
We've since been checking her with it and she feels quite warm (same as at the doctors) and yet we get green, all-fine readings!
Most worryingly is that it states on the packaging, accurate readings!
Do not buy!

Aimmee

AimmeePerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Battery life is woeful

published

It's just a Pity I didn't read the previous reviews before buying this product. The Battery lasted a very short time and I could not find replacement battery anywhere. My only option was to buy a new thermometer and because of problems I went with different brand.
Wouldn't recommend this product

Abhilash

AbhilashGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great till you run out of battery

published

A good thermometer till you run out of battery.
Then good luck in getting a replacement battery.
Had to go to at least 6 shops to get one when my son was running a fever.
Not available in the major supermarkets nor in most $2 shops.
Otherwise a good one.But if you have to run around like I did for the battery why bother buying this product.

Unreliable battery

published

I bought this thermometer just after the birth of my baby at Chemist Warehouse at the recommendation of the pharmacist. I used it once on myself to ensure it worked then put in the first aid kit.
My 6 month old appeared to be running a fever and I went to use the thermometer only to discover the battery is flat! I live out of town in a regional area and don't have the option to go driving around to find a replacement after hours.
Very disgusted as this is a piece of medical equipment that should be able to be trusted to work when you need it. Will be replacing it with a different brand.

Not the best but ok if you can't afford top of the range

published

This was ok, however a lot of variation in temperatures. If I tested the same body area 5 times in a row I would get a higher chance of getting a stable temperature. In the past I took the temperature once and had a ridiculously high result, but 5 minutes later it was within normal.
Would invest in a better quality one if you can afford it.

Baby Thermometers

Find out how Vicks Fever InSight V916C-AUS compares to other Baby Thermometers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steveo_LFC

Steveo_LFCPerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

simple, accurate and consistent

published

When I needed a thermometer for my newborn son, there was no obvious standout in the ear or forehead categories. Lots of bad reviews about inconsistencies which is not ideal.
At the hospital, I noticed a lot of the midwives used this Vicks thermometer and when I asked them, they said it was the most consistent, and they are right! It's spot on every time.
I would still prefer a consistent forehead or ear thermometer, but until such a product becomes available, I'm more than happy to use this.

1 comment
Steveo_LFC
Steveo_LFC

Great, easy to use, kids love it

published
islandfaerie

islandfaerieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fine.

published

I find that all the basic thermometers are a bit inaccurate. I like that this one is fast - getting my kids to keep any of the others in their mouth long enough to get a reading is really challenging. If you need 100% accuracy, then get an electronic forehead thermometer.

You can order batteries online (5 batteries for around $6, inc postage) from random battery sellers.

To change from F to C:

'With the thermometer off, press and hold the button. You should notice the colors flash and then the display should show an "M" at the top, "Lo" in the middle, and either "C" or "F" on the bottom. Keep an eye on the "M" because as soon as it disappears, let go of the button and then press it again repeatedly until you see the C for Celsius.'

Amy M

Amy MSydney

Battery is hopeless

published

We've used this product twice in 6 months on our new baby, it took the temperature fine (although we have no way of knowing how accurate it was) and the battery is now dead. Finding a replacement that is the correct size, at 11:30pm when your baby is sick is impossible. Buy something else.

lmaiden

lmaidenAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not happy, battery issues and difficult to change from f to degrees c.

published

Really had issues with this product. It was recommended to us by the hospital and I'm afraid it didn't live up to the recommendation. . Doesn't seem to be accurate, and it's now on its third battery in 3 months. New battery tonight and immediately its low. Really don't trust the product to be honest.

1 comment
Vicks Vaporizers & Thermometers
Customer ServiceVicks Vaporizers & Thermometers
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Bernard

Bernardasked

How do I open the battery cover?

1 answer
Polly
Polly

With a coin or tool that will grip the back cover to twist it open. I would bother though, the battery is impossible to find (ie. not in supermarkets or key cut shops or anywhere readily accessible)

Mario B

Mario Basked

in February 2016 you said you were in the process of uploading the manual for the V916C-AUS but where is it
my thermometer was used in February 2018 with a new battery, now in august 2018 it just make a high pitch squeal.
i will try a new battery today, but how long is it supposed to last without being used?

4 answers
Vicks Vaporizers & Thermometers
Customer ServiceVicks Vaporizers & Thermometers

Hi Mario
The operating manual for the V916C is available online. This is the link (copy & paste URL into your browser)
https://vicks.fgb.com.au/sites/base.fgb.com.au/files/V916C-AUS_31IMV916192R0_OM_r11%20FINAL%20APPROVED.pdf

It sounds like your thermometer may have developed a fault. Fortunately these have a lifetime warranty and we'd be happy to help you out with a replacement if you can track down proof of purchase. If you'd like to activate the warranty process, please Freecall our customer service centre on 1800 655 841 during business hours, or email cservice@fgb.com.au.
Kind Regards, Vicks.

Elke R.
Elke R.

If it has a lifetime warranty for replacement why would we retain the receipt???
Mine has a triangle that comes up when I turn it on. Nothing else.

Vicks Vaporizers & Thermometers
Customer ServiceVicks Vaporizers & Thermometers

Hi Elke
It's standard for most warranty claims to provide proof of purchase. We will accept a bank statement in certain instances - happy to discuss on the phone. Perhaps there's some troubleshooting we can assist you with first. Freecall our customer service team on 1800 655 841 during business hours or email cservice@fgb.com.au.
Kind Regards, Vicks.

Lor

Lorasked

How do we change temperature reading F to C?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Vicks Vaporizers & Thermometers representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.