??!
3 photos
Vicks VapoRub

Vicks VapoRub

1.7 from 142 reviews

Reviews

(12)
(7)
(7)
(16)
(100)
  • Value for Money
    1.1 (18)
  • Side Effects
    • None (20)
    • Mild side effects (2)
  • Symptom Relief
    • No Effect (18)
    • Mild Improvement (3)
    • Felt Worse (2)
    • Significant Improvement (1)
  • Preventative MeasureYes (8) · No (15)
  • Used for ChildrenYes (3) · No (20)
  • Symptoms Relieved
    • None Relieved (18)
    • Congestion (5)
    • Headaches (2)
    • Watery Eyes (1)


Jac

JacSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 23 reviews

Ingredients have changed

published

Purchased a jar of Vicks Vaporub today, when I first opened the jar I thought it was off. Did some research and discovered this is NOT the Vaporub I grew up with. Smells strongly of Camphor and Cedar and all the Eucalyptus has gone. They are trading on the name and the goodwill of longtime buyers and charging a fortune for what now is a substandard product. Do not purchase this rub, it is not worth it. Such a shame.

Purchased in January 2020 at Woolworths Physical store for $12.25.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefFelt Worse
Preventative MeasureYes
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

Sad in the changes of Vicks Vapor Rub.

published

The smell is not the same it doesn't feel like it's opening my nasal passages and it's not the smell I remember as a child. Not happy with new product. :(

Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureYes
Symptoms RelievedCongestion
See all answers
Derek D.

Derek D.Wheatbelt, WA

Sadly disappointed and cheated!

published

I remember Vicks being pungent, thick and extremely effective. I bought a jar recently and found its active ingredients have been significantly reduced, its consistancy considerably thinner, so its overall effect is now pretty useless.

Purchased in November 2019 for $4.00.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureYes
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers
Mehhhh....

Mehhhh....Southeast, SA

R.I.P. Vicks

published

It's a horrible product now. There's hardly any eucalyptus oil in it. Total waste of money. Will not buy again. My wife and I are both in our 50s We grew up with Vicks vaporub. Very sad to see cost cutting destroy a good product

Purchased in December 2019 at Coles for $9.00.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

Not what it used to be

published

No effect whatsoever, weak no strength to it, waste of money, deffo can tell that formula has been changed, won't buy again. Why are things changed for the worse, they take your money and don't care if it doesn't work.

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

Vick's Vapour Rub

published

I got the flue and had a cough. Always have used this product Vick's Vapour Rub. I opened a new bottle and put it n my chest expecting the same texture and heat. I was highly disappointed when I did not get the same result. I found out by searching that the formula had been changed. I was not impressed to have wasted my money on this product and not a notice given to me the customer. Sorry you changed your formula!!

Purchased in November 2019 at Walmart.

Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

Useless

published

Definitely lost its use for coughs and colds.. been buying and recommending it for years and years.. not anymore.. there is no nice smell or feeling of heat when applied to the chest.. wont be wasting my money again on what used to be the best medicine for making you feel better ..

Purchased in November 2019 at Local Pharmacy.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefSignificant Improvement
Preventative MeasureYes
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedCongestion and Headaches
See all answers

If it aint broke don't fix it!

published

Not the same reliable product. Used to have a pleasant odor and a kick to it. Sorry but you've gone and ruined a great product! If it aint broke don't fix it!

Purchased in November 2019 at PharmaSave for $9.98.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers
Gino

GinoSouthwest, VIC

Who stuffed up Vick’s Vapour Rub

published

Why has the menthol been removed. Or did they leave it in India. Stuffed up a good thing. Like rubbing in car grease. Thrown out and bought Euky Bear Rub instead. Made in Australia with Australian ingredients.

Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedCongestion
mcoates

mcoatesAU

  • 10 reviews

Not effective any more

published

No longer a rich smelling formula that cleared a blocked nose. This was a reliable product back in the 60s. I agree with another reviewer that it would be better to use essential oils. Sorry I bought it. They should indicate is a new formula on label.

Purchased in August 2019 for $8.00.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

Would give a zero if that was an option

published

Vicks has definitely changed their formula. The scent isn't as strong, it's very watery, whereas the old formula was more oil based and didn't require refills every few hours. I could use consistently for 2 days without refilling. Now I'm adding to the humidifier every 2-3 hours. I will not purchase again. I've used Vicks forever, so this is very disappointing! I guess I'll use essential oils instead.

Purchased in August 2019 for $16.99.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefMild Improvement
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
See all answers

Liz H

Liz HVictoria

May as well rub vaseline on your body!

published

May as well rub vaseline on your body. Couldn’t even smell it in the jar and no smell on the body at all. It didn’t create any heat at all on my body and felt just like plain vaseline. It’s definitely not the same anymore. It’s such a shame as it was a great product.

Purchased in July 2019.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

Company changed formula

published

Loved this product, but will no longer buy it. No longer the same... does nothing. Used to have a strong smell and worked really well. Waste of money! Too bad

Value for Money

Stephen

StephenSouth Australia

What have you done?

published

What have you done to Vics vapour rub it,s lost it's punch you could put it on your chest and it would hit you. This new formula smells like gimger and as no where the kick it used to have. Why mess with a well loved product.

Purchased in June 2019 at National Pharmacies for $7.90.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefMild Improvement
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
See all answers
Steve

Steve

  • 15 reviews

Very very annoyed at Vicks - Never again

published

I have been using Vicks products on and off for many many years but the latest VapoRub and other Vicks products IMHO are not as good as before.

Bye bye Vicks.

Purchased in April 2019 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenYes
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

Awful and weak

published

It does nothing for me. It is too weak to be effective and just smells nice, nothing more. Also, it burns your eyes. It might help if you have a very mildly blocked nose, anything more and you will need to buy something else that actually does what it's meant to.

Purchased in June 2019.

Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureYes
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

Lois Lane

Lois LaneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

What happened to it??

published

Used to be a great product. Makes ya eyes water and that's about it. Does not work like it used to in the 80s and 90s. Won't be buying it again.

Purchased in May 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for $5.00.

Value for Money
Side Effects
  • Mild side effects
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenYes
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

Vapo rub not the original formula.

published

The vapo rub for chest and the inhaler are not the same. They do not have the same effect as the original. The odor isn’t the same and the rub is more greasy and less warming as the original. Won’t buy again. And not happy that inhalers manufactured in Mexico.

Purchased in May 2019 for $5.98.

Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

Not the Original

published

It doesn’t work like it used to. Will not use again unless they bring back the original. It worked. The new formula is just not effective. Hope original will be made and sold again.

Purchased in February 2019.

Side Effects
  • None
Symptom ReliefNo Effect
Preventative MeasureNo
Used for ChildrenNo
Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved
See all answers

We use Vicks Vapor Rub every night!

published

The formula has changed and we are so sad because it is not even close to the same. It smells like plastic. Please go back to your original formula. We are crying out!

Purchased in January 2019.

Symptoms RelievedNone Relieved

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Betty R.

Betty R.asked

Why was the original "Vicks" formula changed...This stuff I just bought smells like dead/dying funeral flowers. Will never buy again. Worthless noneffective goop.

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Only the company has the answer...obviously


Linda Byrd

Linda Byrdasked

Why did you change the formula? Its garbage now! Its more like vaseline and had no scent.

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Only the company has the answer


BH P.

BH P.asked

Unable to contact anyone on the Vicks Vaporub website. They don't really want you to contact them, it just looks that way. No real link to contact them. I am so disappointed. Paid over $7 for a tiny jar of what I thought was the Vicks of the past. Wow, it isn't even close and I've wasted my money. If anyone knows of a product that smells like the old Vicks, let us know? Vicks is ruined now.

1 answer
Madeline C.
Madeline C.

Target brand is pretty close to old Vicks formula.


Get an answer from our members and Vicks representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.