??!
1 photo
Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer

Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer

1.9 from 74 reviews

Pros

  • Multiple Promotional Offers to choose from (see Details below)

  • $129 Virgin Australia Gift Voucher each year

  • Earn Velocity Points at a rate of 0.66 points per $1 spent up to $1,500 per statement period

Cons

  • 3.3% International Transaction Fee

  • Earn Rate drops to 0.5 points per $1 spent after the first $1,500 per statement period

Reviews

1.9

74 reviews
5
(4)
4
(9)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(48)
Previous
Next
Christopher

ChristopherMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Worst customer service I have ever encounted!!!!!

published

I used a $129 Virgin Australia voucher, which was a reward for having this card and I used it to book a flight before Covid-19 struck. Virgin Australia cancelled those flights and repaid the velocity points back to me but never ever paid the $129 that they stole. I have tried to contact Virgin, Virgin Velocity etc time and time again and if you can get them to answer the phone then good luck. Virgin Australia has to be the worst customer service EVER!!!!! Be Warned.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateFebruary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers
Kirra

KirraSouth East Queensland, QLD

Interest charging method is disgusting

published

If you don't pay your closing balance in full they still charge you for interest on the total closing balance! Not just the portion you havent paid. They also dont factor in other credits to your account. Absolutely disgusting - moving to qantas points for sure!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Teenagemutant

TeenagemutantAU

  • 3 reviews

Terrible customer service

published

Had this card for two years for velocity points. Was going to cancel card when virgin airlines went into administration. Contacted virgin money online asked for annual fee to be refunded while velocity points unusable. They agreed then charged me the annual fee, then offered to refund half. On hold to customer services for ages, staff that don’t speak good English. Done with them and never going back. Will not use citi group again for any credit card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Card Start DateAugust 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Steer Clear - Horrendous Customer Service

published
annoyed

annoyedGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Would give zero if I could

published

Transferred money from my bank to cc account. Never made it. Contacted on 16/3, 18/3, 19/3, 20/3, 23/3 no response to email, lied to on the phone about transfer on 23/3. Money still not there now 30/3 and they have advised me to go back to my bank even though they have advised twice that my money is at virgin. Utterly incompetent.

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Joey

JoeyWheatbelt, WA

Must have

published

I have got this card since 2018. Works fine and the texture of the card is really nice. Mastercard is always a secure choice. I think that everybody should have this kind of card

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jack H.

Jack H.

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good bonus points but much better Velocity earning cards out there

published

Bonus points offered was 20,000 points each month for first 3 months which is awesome. However the card has a capped earn rate for the top rate, then reduces for subsequent spends, which is not great. Limited insurances offered with the card as well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Denny

Denny

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice card to collect Velocity Points

published

This credit card gives you a good Velocity Point for every dollar you spend. You can just link your Velocity number and the points will be transferred to your Velocity membership each month. Very nice and easy! I signed up when there was a promotion to get bonus Velocity Points if I spent more than $1500, and also I got $129 credit to spend with Virgin Australia and I only need to pay $64 annual fee. I haven't used this card overseas or to do balance transfer so I cannot comment on that but I use it for my daily spend as a quick way to accumulate Velocity Points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers

Apply when bonus is on offer

published

Got this card as a standby for an upcoming overseas trip. The overseas fees are somewhat high compared to other cards. As this is a back up card only I thought that the sign up bonus points made the application worth it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Moh A.

Moh A.Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Virgin money

published

Generally its handy to use it overseas however fees are high
Transfer money to card I found it hard
I enjoyed the 14 months interest free period
But very hard to accumulate points

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Nick

NickPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good for the sign-on bonus, not much else

published

The card is pretty basic, but the current offer for bonus points is pretty decent for the reduced annual fee in the first year. The application process was pretty quick and I received the card not long after.
The card I received is suppose to have paywave, but it doesn't work, the terminal won't even register it so I have to insert the chip every time.
It doesn't work with Apple or Google Pay, which sucks.
The Virgin Money website and app are very underwhelming.
In a nutshell, it's a throwaway card that I wouldn't bother keeping past the first year.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
bloomer

bloomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Can be useful, but not a card to keep

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Dev

DevGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Perfect

published

I haven't use my card overseas yet. Its easy to transfer my balance to this card. I am quite satisfied with the rewards. It is simple easy to accumulate points and simple to redeem them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers

So so

published

I went for the bonus points promotion which was my main focus. They also provided a flight voucher (domestic). The points you gain afterwards are not really comparable but a bonus.

Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2017
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ross W

Ross WPerth, WA

New features are growing on me

published

This is a great card in general, offering lounge passes, and Virgin flight credit ($149). I preferred the old system of a flight redemption.
Never had a problem using it, and the Virgin Money app helps track usage and bills.
The frequent flyer reward points per dollar are on par with more expensive (annual fee) cards, and are linked directly to your Velocity account. Likewise the lounge passes are linked directly to your Velocity account, so easy to claim at the airport lounge door.
Only downside is the flight credit needs to be ordered in advance, and is issued as a gift card. So great if you know you are travelling in the next 6 months, but not so great if you notice a sale fare come up and want to grab it quickly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2013
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Find out how Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer compares to other Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
evan

evanPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Deleted my points

published

I went to use my FF program to book a flight that I have been putting off. Only to find out my points have expired. It's like taking money out of your bank account!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
See all answers
ngupn10

ngupn10Darling Downs, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Handy card but can be slow to accumulate points

published

I have been using this card now for close to 5 months, its a convenient way to earn points on everyday purchases. Although the it can be slow to accumulate the points (e.g. 0.66 points per $1 spent for 1st $1000, decreasing to 0.5 points thereafter). They do offer a nice incentive of a yearly $129 flight voucher which is a bonus

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
rowdy1961

rowdy1961AU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Velocity has proven to be a big disappointment

published

Have travelled a lot with virgin Australia. Status points on domestic flights are very limited making them useless. 2 lounge passes are only valid for the domestic lounge, which is useless if you travel mostly international.
Often is difficult to know what rewards will be received as they are NEVER DISCLOSED until after flight..They should be shown as part of the booking.
Velocity do not reward virgin passengers as they should. Seems to be more oriented towards shopping then air travel rewards..I have found them somewhat difficult to deal with..

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Luckyone

LuckyoneMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Better points than Qantas

published

I prefer this card than the qantas FF credit card as you earn points quicker and there are less points requred to redeem for flights on velocity compared to Qantas FF. Also Qantas charges very high airport taxes and fees on their award flights compared to Virgin.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Gregory L.

Gregory L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

No help when ripped off online

published

Was a happy customer for years until.......

Bought a coffee machine online, and long story short didn't get what was promised. Tried to return it, but couldn't get any return info. Lodged a dispute with Virgin Money and 4 months later I am informed that I did not 'win' and that I have to pay in full. Essentially, at just the moment you need them, and when you expect them to come through on your behalf, they give you no support. Why use a credit card for online transactions if they then say they can do nothing. Even though it is a Virgin Money Visa credit card, they blame Visa and accept no fault themselves. Happy to take my money each month, but I'm very disappointed with the attitude. Will now cancel this card

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members and Virgin Money representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.