??!
1 photo
Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer

Virgin Australia Velocity Flyer

1.9 from 69 reviews

See the Best Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • Multiple Promotional Offers to choose from (see Details below) if you apply by 02 December 2019

  • $129 Virgin Australia Gift Voucher each year

  • Earn Velocity Points at a rate of 0.66 points per $1 spent up to $1,500 per statement period

Cons

  • 3.3% International Transaction Fee

  • Earn Rate drops to 0.5 points per $1 spent after the first $1,500 per statement period

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
9
3 star
9
2 star
4
1 star
43

Joey

JoeyWheatbelt, WA

Must have

published

I have got this card since 2018. Works fine and the texture of the card is really nice. Mastercard is always a secure choice. I think that everybody should have this kind of card

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Jack H.

Jack H.

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good bonus points but much better Velocity earning cards out there

published

Bonus points offered was 20,000 points each month for first 3 months which is awesome. However the card has a capped earn rate for the top rate, then reduces for subsequent spends, which is not great. Limited insurances offered with the card as well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
Denny

Denny

  • 5 reviews

Nice card to collect Velocity Points

published

This credit card gives you a good Velocity Point for every dollar you spend. You can just link your Velocity number and the points will be transferred to your Velocity membership each month. Very nice and easy! I signed up when there was a promotion to get bonus Velocity Points if I spent more than $1500, and also I got $129 credit to spend with Virgin Australia and I only need to pay $64 annual fee. I haven't used this card overseas or to do balance transfer so I cannot comment on that but I use it for my daily spend as a quick way to accumulate Velocity Points.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers

Apply when bonus is on offer

published

Got this card as a standby for an upcoming overseas trip. The overseas fees are somewhat high compared to other cards. As this is a back up card only I thought that the sign up bonus points made the application worth it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

Moh A.

Moh A.Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Virgin money

published

Generally its handy to use it overseas however fees are high
Transfer money to card I found it hard
I enjoyed the 14 months interest free period
But very hard to accumulate points

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

Nick

NickPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good for the sign-on bonus, not much else

published

The card is pretty basic, but the current offer for bonus points is pretty decent for the reduced annual fee in the first year. The application process was pretty quick and I received the card not long after.
The card I received is suppose to have paywave, but it doesn't work, the terminal won't even register it so I have to insert the chip every time.
It doesn't work with Apple or Google Pay, which sucks.
The Virgin Money website and app are very underwhelming.
In a nutshell, it's a throwaway card that I wouldn't bother keeping past the first year.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

bloomer

bloomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Can be useful, but not a card to keep

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Dev

DevGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Perfect

published

I haven't use my card overseas yet. Its easy to transfer my balance to this card. I am quite satisfied with the rewards. It is simple easy to accumulate points and simple to redeem them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers

So so

published

I went for the bonus points promotion which was my main focus. They also provided a flight voucher (domestic). The points you gain afterwards are not really comparable but a bonus.

Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2017
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ross W

Ross WPerth, WA

New features are growing on me

published

This is a great card in general, offering lounge passes, and Virgin flight credit ($149). I preferred the old system of a flight redemption.
Never had a problem using it, and the Virgin Money app helps track usage and bills.
The frequent flyer reward points per dollar are on par with more expensive (annual fee) cards, and are linked directly to your Velocity account. Likewise the lounge passes are linked directly to your Velocity account, so easy to claim at the airport lounge door.
Only downside is the flight credit needs to be ordered in advance, and is issued as a gift card. So great if you know you are travelling in the next 6 months, but not so great if you notice a sale fare come up and want to grab it quickly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2013
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

evan

evanPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Deleted my points

published

I went to use my FF program to book a flight that I have been putting off. Only to find out my points have expired. It's like taking money out of your bank account!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
See all answers

ngupn10

ngupn10Darling Downs, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified customer

Handy card but can be slow to accumulate points

published

I have been using this card now for close to 5 months, its a convenient way to earn points on everyday purchases. Although the it can be slow to accumulate the points (e.g. 0.66 points per $1 spent for 1st $1000, decreasing to 0.5 points thereafter). They do offer a nice incentive of a yearly $129 flight voucher which is a bonus

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

rowdy1961

rowdy1961AU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Velocity has proven to be a big disappointment

published

Have travelled a lot with virgin Australia. Status points on domestic flights are very limited making them useless. 2 lounge passes are only valid for the domestic lounge, which is useless if you travel mostly international.
Often is difficult to know what rewards will be received as they are NEVER DISCLOSED until after flight..They should be shown as part of the booking.
Velocity do not reward virgin passengers as they should. Seems to be more oriented towards shopping then air travel rewards..I have found them somewhat difficult to deal with..

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

Luckyone

LuckyoneMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Better points than Qantas

published

I prefer this card than the qantas FF credit card as you earn points quicker and there are less points requred to redeem for flights on velocity compared to Qantas FF. Also Qantas charges very high airport taxes and fees on their award flights compared to Virgin.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers
Gregory L.

Gregory L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

No help when ripped off online

published

Was a happy customer for years until.......

Bought a coffee machine online, and long story short didn't get what was promised. Tried to return it, but couldn't get any return info. Lodged a dispute with Virgin Money and 4 months later I am informed that I did not 'win' and that I have to pay in full. Essentially, at just the moment you need them, and when you expect them to come through on your behalf, they give you no support. Why use a credit card for online transactions if they then say they can do nothing. Even though it is a Virgin Money Visa credit card, they blame Visa and accept no fault themselves. Happy to take my money each month, but I'm very disappointed with the attitude. Will now cancel this card

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers
Cisco

CiscoSydney, NSW

  • 47 reviews
  • 23 likes
  • Verified customer

Have used as my main credit card for 8 years

published

The good: Velocity points rewarded, $129 Virgin Australia gift voucher each year (used to be 2 free domestic flight each year)
The not so good: Only 0.66 points per dollar spent on most goods and services. No complementary travel insurance and lounge access. $129 annual fee

I have had this card for more than 7 years but upgraded to the more rewarding High Flyer card. Was good while I had it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMay 2011
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Tim

TimSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified customer

One of the Highest VISA earn rates

published

I have been a customer of Virgin Money now for around 8 years. I find them easy to deal with whenever I need to call through to the call centres and the earn rate is much higher than any of the banks. They just launched a new app for Android and iPhone and it still has a way to go but at least you can access on the go now. $129 flight voucher included yearly too so it's a good value card! Works for me!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2011
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Markus

MarkusMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Works for me, but as with any credit card: pay it off at the end of the month!

published

it's a credit card, it works, interest rates are a shocker, points for your velocity account are great.
It's really only worth it if you a) spend a bit on it to justify the annual fee and b) if you pay it off at the end of the month, as otherwise you're hammered with high interest charges. Same old.
One thing to note: if you use the card for business and want to link it to Xero or the like, it's a nightmare. Which is why I only give it 4 stars. the bank feeds don't work half the time, which I have never had before. And the internet banking app is very basic. Plus it took them into 2019 to come up with an iphone app... go figure.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Yungan Jo Sun

Yungan Jo Sun

  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

Honestly pretty shocking

published

No updates with where your application is at, link to view progress of where your application is at yourself is never updated.

No one seems to have a clue what day it is yet alone what product they're even meant to be selling to you.

Should have stuck to telecommunications.


Adam

AdamBrisbane

Unorganised

published

Not sure how they stay in business. Application took 3 weeks and I was declined. They didn't call to check my employment and didn't understand tax deduction on payslips?!? Called me 3 times to ask the same unrelated questions. BTW i have no credit cards, own my home and earn 80k per year. [name removed] would be furious his brand name is turning to mud


Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Virgin Money representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.