??!
1 photo
Virgin Money No Annual Fee Visa

Virgin Money No Annual Fee Visa

2.8 from 170 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • No Annual Fee

  • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for up to 9 or 12 months

Cons

  • 3.3% International Transaction Fee

  • You can't earn Velocity Points even though this card is issued by Virgin

  • Balance Transfer Rate at the end of the offer period reverts to the Cash Advance Rate of 20.99% p.a.

Details

CategoryNo Annual Fee Credit Cards and Balance Transfer Credit Cards
Card TypeVisa
Minimum Credit Limit A$2,000
Minimum Income A$25,000
Additional Cardholders 4
Additional Cardholder Fee A$0 p.a.
Minimum Repayments2%
Contactless PaymentsSamsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate18.99% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee2.7%
Late Payment FeeA$30
Annual FeeA$0 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 3.3%
Overseas ATM Withdrawal FeeA$5
Interest Free Period 55 days
Cash Advance Rate20.99% p.a.
Balance Transfer Rates
Balance Transfer Period 12 months
Balance Transfer Rate 0% p.a.
Balance Transfer Fee 0%
Release dateAug 2006

Visit official website

Reviews

  • Transparency
    1.8 (22)
  • Customer Service
    1.8 (22)
  • Rates and Fees
    2.2 (19)
  • Rewards
    1.9 (14)
  • Online Experience
    1.9 (20)
  • Application Process
    2.3 (20)
Previous
Next
Julie

Juliecasey

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Absolutely disgusting. Would never recommend this company

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Peter

PeterPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

i shouldn't have applied their credit card. now they just rejected my application and made my score looking bad!

published

they are very not transparent, not responsible, not communicative and not professional. now i regret applying for it, they checked my credit score, and i am afraid they have made it looking worse. i guess they just don't care. if you only take advantage of free annual fee and free balance transfer, i think you are not welcomed!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers

Do Not Apply for this Card - Warning if you value your credit score

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Find out how Virgin Money No Annual Fee Visa compares to other No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SAL

SALGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

If you care for your credit score, think before apply!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Amit J.

Amit J.Perth, WA

Never ever go with these falsifiers ...

published

I ordered card with option of Balance transfer but they after sending 4 requests said that offer is not available, and dam charged me annual fee for keeping card for only 1 month with no transactions.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateApril 2020
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Dylan H.

Dylan H.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Now with COVID what is the benefits of highflyer?

published

No updates. $199 a year fee still being charged. Calling call centre has Aussie accent, but call centre foreign? No empathy, and bad lines.

What's happening with the high flyer card now? Fee? Existing year lounge passes? Points accrued?

I have the black highflyer card and with COVID I thought I'd downgrade to the cheaper annual fee card in the meantime, the operator said I needed to 'apply for that'. WTH? NO!

4 years ago they changed from Mastercard to Visa, they called and asked if that was ok? I said yes... credit file check ... I wasn't aware of, and still shows on my credit file.

SHAME ON YOU VIRGIN MONEY!!!

ZEEEEROOOO

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateFebruary 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Ace

AceSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Not a happy long time customer!

published

There are many hidden fees and charges you won't be told about until you see it on your bill. After being a customer for 12 years and never missing a payment they are not helpful. If your 1 day late with even a $30 payment you are no longer interest free for that period and they slug you with more fees and charges they never mentioned exist. I do not believe they deserve any customers as they do not care about long time customer loyalty. Even during the covid 19 crisis they will look to take advantage of you instead . I would run from anything with Virgin on it from now on.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Smc

Smc

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Never apply for this credit card they will destroy your credit score and not give a specific reason why.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers
annoyed

annoyedGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Would give zero if I could

published

These people do not return emails or call when promised. I have been waiting over two weeks for my account to be credited and it still hasn’t been done despite repeated promises. DO NOT TRUST!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Find out how Virgin Money No Annual Fee Visa compares to other No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pam Carr

Pam CarrGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

CREDIT CARD APPLICATION

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
john

johnHobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Go elsewhere for your credit card!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers
Naoki D

Naoki DFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Good simple credit card at a low rate

published

Good for those with low income. Does what it says. Although i think the website could be a bit better design wise but functionally works perfectly fine. Only thing i wish this card had was a reward points like the no annual fee coles credit cards do.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJune 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Terrible system

published

Absolutely terrible. Paid off my credit card in full the day prior to the statement coming out. A week later i get slugged a $30 late fee. Ummm what??? i called them, effectively they explained because i'd paid off the card early i was given a fee. WTH! they reversed the $30 but i continued to get calls saying i'd be charged another $30.

Low and behold, my new statement came out today, and i've been charged interest in that period they had mistakenly classed me as being 'late'. I was so angry, i called them and they've promised to credit it back on the next statement but i'll wait and see.

Terrible system. I wouldn't bother. I'm going to cancel mine.

Incentivised ReviewNo
dale i.

dale i.Darwin, NT

  • 3 reviews

Terrible service

published

Don't waste your time,they couldn't run down the road let alone run a business, I gave up trying to do the balance transfer.don't answer calls, always on hold then it just hangs up.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Niran

Niran

  • 19 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great Credit card with no annual fees and great offers

published

This credit card is worked really well for me when I had financial difficulties, they provide great offers such as low interest rate balance transfers, fixed rate loans etc. I had no issues every time I called to customer service they were very polite, helpful and friendly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateAugust 2012
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Find out how Virgin Money No Annual Fee Visa compares to other No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst Credit Card Company Ever!!!

published

Had various trouble with communicating with this company-its like talking to robots!!Do not deal with this company!! If something goes wrong they are unable to solve your problems.They make everything look rosy at the start until you have a problem.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Melbourne Trav

Melbourne TravGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great value card

published

I like this card as there are no annual fees and the rewards points earning system is a lot more generous than most other credit cards particularly the Qantas FF ones. It is easy to use, VISA is accepted in most stores and most stores do not charge CC fee like they would for an AMEX. It is easy to use overseas and each time I use it an email is sent to me straigtht away to help guard against credit card fraud

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Robb K.

Robb K.Perth, WA

Call Centre Gargoyles one star too many

published

My advice, don't even apply … I worry these dumb call centre gargoyles have affected my credit rating by declining my application. Like many other reviewers, I had all the right credentials but after multiple calls and emails they still wouldn't approve my application. Dealing with incompetent ignorant liars from some 3rd world call centre. Absolute waste of precious time. Richard Branson, your name is being turned to mud. I won't be using Virgin products anymore.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Eric

EricSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • Verified customer

easy process, good feature

published

virgin money no annual fee visa card has great features compare to any other main stream provider's card, especially the acceptance by most of the merchant anywhere in the world. the application process was very simple

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Chris B.

Chris B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Hopeless Application System

published

I decided to try the travel reward card to get extra velocity points. As a platinum frequent flyer and with substantial net assets and income and a credit score in the 900s I thought getting approved for a mere $6000 credit card would be easy. However, having filled in the fairly basic online application (which doesn’t allow you to enter a lot of your assets) and without being contacted by Virgin I received advice of being declined. I tried to talk to someone in Australia but unfortunately it appears their approval team is overseas. I assume that my being retired and over 65 is held against me. I would recommend that people steer clear of this company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

frodo

frodoasked

What is the postal address for the Virgin card application?

2 answers
Capybara
Capybara

Hi frodo,

I never applied via post but instead completed and submitted a form via their website.

Jemoge
Jemoge

Good luck with that one

Get an answer from our members and Virgin Money representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.