??!
1 photo
Virgin Money No Annual Fee Visa

Virgin Money No Annual Fee Visa

2.9 from 159 reviews

See the Best No Annual Fee Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • No Annual Fee

  • 6.9% p.a. on balance transfers for up to 36 months if you apply by 02 December 2019

Cons

  • 3.3% International Transaction Fee

  • You can't earn Velocity Points even though this card is issued by Virgin

  • Balance Transfer Rate at the end of the offer period reverts to the Cash Advance Rate of 20.99% p.a.

Details

CategoryNo Annual Fee Credit Cards and Balance Transfer Credit Cards
Card TypeVisa
Minimum Credit Limit $2,000
Minimum Income $25,000
Additional Cardholders 4
Additional Cardholder Fee $0 p.a.
Minimum Repayments2%
Contactless PaymentsSamsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate18.99% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee2.7%
Late Payment Fee$30
Annual Fee$0 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 3.3%
Overseas ATM Withdrawal Fee$5
Interest Free Period 44 days
Cash Advance Rate20.99% p.a.
Balance Transfer Rates
Balance Transfer Period 36 months
Balance Transfer Rate 6.9% p.a.
Balance Transfer Fee 0%
Release dateAug 2006

Visit official website

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
45
4 star
32
3 star
12
2 star
5
1 star
65

Naoki D

Naoki DFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Good simple credit card at a low rate

published

Good for those with low income. Does what it says. Although i think the website could be a bit better design wise but functionally works perfectly fine. Only thing i wish this card had was a reward points like the no annual fee coles credit cards do.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Terrible system

published

Absolutely terrible. Paid off my credit card in full the day prior to the statement coming out. A week later i get slugged a $30 late fee. Ummm what??? i called them, effectively they explained because i'd paid off the card early i was given a fee. WTH! they reversed the $30 but i continued to get calls saying i'd be charged another $30.

Low and behold, my new statement came out today, and i've been charged interest in that period they had mistakenly classed me as being 'late'. I was so angry, i called them and they've promised to credit it back on the next statement but i'll wait and see.

Terrible system. I wouldn't bother. I'm going to cancel mine.

dale i.

dale i.Darwin, NT

  • 2 reviews

Terrible service

published

Don't waste your time,they couldn't run down the road let alone run a business, I gave up trying to do the balance transfer.don't answer calls, always on hold then it just hangs up.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers
Niran

Niran

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Credit card with no annual fees and great offers

published

This credit card is worked really well for me when I had financial difficulties, they provide great offers such as low interest rate balance transfers, fixed rate loans etc. I had no issues every time I called to customer service they were very polite, helpful and friendly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2012
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst Credit Card Company Ever!!!

published

Had various trouble with communicating with this company-its like talking to robots!!Do not deal with this company!! If something goes wrong they are unable to solve your problems.They make everything look rosy at the start until you have a problem.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Melbourne Trav

Melbourne TravGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value card

published

I like this card as there are no annual fees and the rewards points earning system is a lot more generous than most other credit cards particularly the Qantas FF ones. It is easy to use, VISA is accepted in most stores and most stores do not charge CC fee like they would for an AMEX. It is easy to use overseas and each time I use it an email is sent to me straigtht away to help guard against credit card fraud

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

Robb K.

Robb K.Perth, WA

Call Centre Gargoyles one star too many

published

My advice, don't even apply … I worry these dumb call centre gargoyles have affected my credit rating by declining my application. Like many other reviewers, I had all the right credentials but after multiple calls and emails they still wouldn't approve my application. Dealing with incompetent ignorant liars from some 3rd world call centre. Absolute waste of precious time. Richard Branson, your name is being turned to mud. I won't be using Virgin products anymore.


Eric

EricSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • Verified customer

easy process, good feature

published

virgin money no annual fee visa card has great features compare to any other main stream provider's card, especially the acceptance by most of the merchant anywhere in the world. the application process was very simple

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Chris B.

Chris B.South East Queensland, QLD

Hopeless Application System

published

I decided to try the travel reward card to get extra velocity points. As a platinum frequent flyer and with substantial net assets and income and a credit score in the 900s I thought getting approved for a mere $6000 credit card would be easy. However, having filled in the fairly basic online application (which doesn’t allow you to enter a lot of your assets) and without being contacted by Virgin I received advice of being declined. I tried to talk to someone in Australia but unfortunately it appears their approval team is overseas. I assume that my being retired and over 65 is held against me. I would recommend that people steer clear of this company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers
stephen13

stephen13Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 27 reviews
  • 19 likes

No Fees However No Customer Service and No Fraud Protection- Steer Clear

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Sonya

SonyaSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Not worth the hassle

published

Application involved 10 phone calls asking the same questions. There is no continuity as far as their records. I got sick of dealing with their overseas call centre. I withdrew my application. Still no application result after 17 days. I applied through a bank. Approved same day!

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Macca

MaccaBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Painful. Don't Bother!

published

I have an "excellent" credit score, been on a salary of $100K - $150K for more than 15 years and have only one other credit card with a perfect payment history.
I applied for a Virgin Money credit card to help build up my Velocity points.
After applying and submitting all the required supporting documents I heard nothing for a week. I rang the call centre and was told by someone who could barely speak English that my application was rejected and that they could not provide any further explanation.
I then applied for a Qantas affiliated rewards card which was conditionally approved instantaneously and received within one week of my payslips being submitted.
Work that out.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers

Gasml

GasmlSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 18 likes

Virgin No Money

published

Applied for Virgin Money credit card twice over the years, most recent last week and was rejected both times. Apparently impeccable reddit rating and working full time for the government for ten years is not enough job security. Tell me what is enough then please. No don’t, I want nothing to do with you.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers

daniza

danizaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't Bother

published

Please get people who can speak english especially if they are the people that decides who gets application approved or not.... Not looking forward to contact their customer service for existing customers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers
Sue

SueMelbourne

Appalling Service

published

I had a Virgin money Visa as an emergency back up card (for if my main card is lost or stolen). When it expired they didn't send a replacement or notify me. So when I NEEDED it when my other card was lost it had expired. I rang them and they said I didn't use it so they won't be issuing me a new one. Wow! For the cost of a piece of plastic, they don't want my future business, never ever using Virgin Money for anything again.

Luna

LunaPerth, WA

  • 30 reviews
  • 9 likes

Shocking service, disgraceful!!!

published

Stay away from Virgin Money credit card. They are disgraceful, no customer services at all. We have lodged a dispute for a number of transactions which someone has used the card without having the card physically. Virgin Money said they will reverse them, but we have received 2 statements later on which show Virgin Money actually debited back some fraud transactions and charging us!!! We rang the call centre many times and they promised they will reverse and call us - NEVER happened at all. People at the call centre lie and never do what they promised. They just don't care at all. Don't bother having this card - too risky and it will waste your time and money for sure!!!!


Virgin bad service

published

Don't bother disgraceful service and no one contacted under the complaints both online and being escalated to a supervisor which obviously does not exist.
Shop elsewhere I don't know why I bothered go to Qantas.


Dblk89

Dblk89Gunnedah

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Poor

published

You are better off getting it elsewhere. The application process is awful and you won't know the progress of your application until you contact them. Affiliated to citi bank and an absolute waste of time


Roses66

Roses66South East Queensland, QLD

  • 35 reviews
  • 25 likes

Absolute Bandits!

published

Matt

MattMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified customer

Woeful service / application procedure.

published

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

frodo

frodoasked

What is the postal address for the Virgin card application?

2 answers
Capybara
Capybara

Hi frodo,

I never applied via post but instead completed and submitted a form via their website.

Jemoge
Jemoge

Good luck with that one


Get an answer from our members and Virgin Money representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.