??!

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
32
4 star
11
3 star
3
2 star
6
1 star
2

Morad

Morad

  • 2 reviews

Great Car! Love its features and comforts!

published

I bought a 2017 V6 TDI. Great car I have ever driven. Very comfortable specially, I love air suspension, spacious cabin, leather heated seats, heated steering wheel. Also, It has got plenty of power and quick to speed up even though it is a diesel engine. I usually drive the car for long drive at the weekend. I have been driving this car for more than 1.5 year and do not have any issues so far.

Purchased in December 2017 at Volkswagen Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Peter-John d.

Peter-John d.Aitkenvale

Nicest car I have ever driven

published

Originally purchased to tow a pop top caravan. Now primary transport. Tows the van effortlessly.
Because the car was already some 9 years old when originally purchased second hand and 220 k k's I have had to replace many things. Alternator, starter motor, water pump ,prop shaft, air-con blowers and suspension bushes, still a bargain. Shopping for engine mounts now, but still love the car, Dragging the van for >21 k k's average fuel consumption was 15.8 l/100 km! Has all the bells and whistles and a unique badge I wish I had 5 bux for every v8 LC dragging a a 'van' we over took. I could buy beer for a year!

BadgeV6 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drive4WD
Naj

NajMelbourne Australia

Not a good car for us since we bought it $70K

published
BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Drive4WD
Andrew

AndrewSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

A Great Car!

published
BadgeAdventure
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Jigbon

Jigbonport macquarie

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Oh no here I go again

published
Badge150 TDi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Am I a happy vegemite?

Am I a happy vegemite?Gold Coast

  • 25 reviews
  • 43 likes

Great, but...

published
Badge????
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Great car if you don’t care its badge

published

I give a four star due to its dated interior. My Touareg is 2015 edition , 40000km on the clock now, no issue at all. Top class handling and comfort as a suv in this size.
Recommended!

Looking forward to the new Touareg, it looks more handsome than the Q7 in my opinion.

BadgeV6 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Adventure Pack

published

What a great car, in the real tradition of Volkswagen. I had a BMW X3, this is a significant class above. Smooth 6, same ZF 8 speed transmission, 100 liter fuel tank and the Adventure series has virtually all options included. No wonder it was such a popular seller. It cruises both in town and country effortlessly does not feel big and cheaper than same platform Audi or Porsche. Looking fwd to many happy miles around Australia.
Only negative things is dealer and VW have no idea how to do a vehicle handover for a vehicle that has so many features, you are left on your own to figure it all out via one very complex user manual. They should learn a lesson from Apple.

BadgeV6 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
JTem

JTemSydney

  • 9 reviews

Great car

published

This is an awesome luxury SUV. It drives very well, great steering, handling and accelaration. It is a nice solid big car but doesn't feel big at all to drive. The interior is very luxurious, especially for the price. I haven't gone off road but it seems properly equipped to manage most terrain.

Badge150TDi Element
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
IronMaiden

IronMaidenBowral

  • 23 reviews
  • 4 likes

2017 Adventure

published

I have been driving my Touareg for three months and cannot find anything I am not happy with, this is an upgrade from a Tiguan and Golf Comfortline before that, so I am familiar with a lot of the VW technology, yet I am still finding many extras in Touareg. Easy to drive with only minimal noise, the air suspension smooths out the ride, good response from the V6 and reasonable economy of 9L/100 on long trips. The all round camera system is a bonus for parking. The parking sensors can be a bit frightening at first but you soon get to understand them in conjunction with the camera display.

BadgeV6 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Fred

FredSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Wonderful vehicle

published

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

roni

roniqld

adaptive cruise control

published

problem with adaptive cruise control at random turns off then at random turns back on
always works when car first starts then goes off other items change as well ie mirrors dont close
service centre no help been twice and they say there is nothing wrong that they can detect

BadgeV8 TDI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

cherub

cherubSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes

Love it.

published
BadgeV6 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Rach W

Rach WMount Barker

  • 4 reviews

Absolutely brilliant family vehicle

published

Excellent drive, loads of room for our young family with 2 small children. Very reliable and runs like a dream. For a 2004 model it feels very modern.
My only dislike is fuel usage but as we don’t take a lot of long trips it’s great for us. The car feels very stable on our country roads.

BadgeLuxury
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Fisho

FishoMelbourne, Victoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 14 likes

As good as it gets!

published
BadgeV8 TDI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Ian G

Ian GO'Connor

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Car

published

The Touareg is a fantastic car to drive, so smooth on the road and very economical. It has plenty of legroom and boot space. It gives you so much information about the car and the navigation system is great. I love the seat heaters couldn't live without them in winter.

BadgeV6 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

This is the best family vehicle I have ever drove.

published
BadgeV6 FSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014

Macca

Macca

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome Vehicle

published

Great vehicle a pleasure to drive extremely comfortable tows our 2.7 tonne caravan with ease, has been averaging around 700 klm per tank of diesel city driving and around 800klm's highway driving.
I would highly recommend this vehicle for towing or general commuting to date I have had no mechanical issues.

BadgeV6 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Chook 49

Chook 49Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Touareg, It's a Winner

published

Absolutely one of the best vehicles I have owned and driven. A fantastic vehicle to drive, especially around our rough country roads, the potholes are no longer a problem. Its early days yet but have completed a number of long distance trips and step out of the car feeling relaxed and comfortable. Heaps of legroom and head height for my 1920mm frame, even in the back seat.... a driving luxury

Purchased in March 2017 for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Chook 49
Chook 49

Ken

KenBairnsdale

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

External windows trims faded

published

Good things:
The car are solid and handing excellent.

Bad things:
after two months we notice the rear window trim start to fade on both side.
we brought it back to Volkswagen dealers, they said we using abrasive product. so warranty won't cover for it.
now all around the other trim start to fade too. showing bare plastic.
poor quality trim.

Badge150TDi Element
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Chris D

Chris Dasked

I have a my13 Touareg 180kw diesel,an error code B12A122 “Left indirect ventilation flap motorUpper limit exceeded. And code B12A222 “Right indirect ventilation door control motor UPPER Limit exceeded. Both codes are static so they can’t be deleted unless action taken... Air con appears to work fine, should I worry about those codes. Dealer wants a fortune just to diagnose it. Any clues or tips, advice etc??? Cheers Chris

2 answers
Peter-John d.
Peter-John d.

Pay the $150 for the diagnosis.
May save you a fortune if it is serious.
Try, however disconnecting the battery. Wait 5 minutes and reconnect.. Wait another 5 minutes before starting the engine run it at idle for at least one minute to reset the computer.
I am a layman and think that this will give the computer a re boot.
Good luck.

Chris D
Chris D

Thanks mate for your thoughts will give it a try. Chris D


F M

F Masked

Touareg CR 190TDI Launch Edition

Does the Touareg Launch Edition allow snow chains to be fitted ? I have been told you need to buy a whole new set of tyres!

No answers

PeterPeter C.

PeterPeter C.asked

The v6 fuel economy

2 answers
Morad
Morad

Roughly 8L/100km

Peter-John d.
Peter-John d.

16.2 towing a caravan and about 10l/ 100 on the open road. I am free zone, that is averaged out over some 80000 km on a 2008 model v6 tdi


Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

Details

Volkswagen Touareg CR 190TDI Launch Edition

Volkswagen Touareg CR 190TDI Launch Edition (2019)

0.0
(0)
Volkswagen Touareg 7P 150TDI
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Touareg 7P 150TDI (2011-2018)

3.8
(4)
Volkswagen Touareg 7P 150TDI Element
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Touareg 7P 150TDI Element (2015-2018)

4.0
(4)
Volkswagen Touareg 7P Monochrome
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Touareg 7P Monochrome (2017-2018)

0.0
(0)
Volkswagen Touareg 7P V6 FSI
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Touareg 7P V6 FSI (2011-2012)

5.0
(1)
Volkswagen Touareg 7P V6 TDI
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Touareg 7P V6 TDI (2011-2018)

4.7
(19)
Volkswagen Touareg 7P V8 TDI R-Line
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Touareg 7P V8 TDI R-Line (2013-2018)

4.3
(4)
Volkswagen Touareg 7P Wolfsburg Edition
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Touareg 7P Wolfsburg Edition (2016)

5.0
(1)
Volkswagen Touareg 7L
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Touareg 7L (2002-2010)

3.8
(17)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $89,990$68,990$70,990$74,990$77,990$85,490$116,300$89,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDieselPetrolDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels20" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy21" Alloy20" Alloy
Doors55555555
Seats55555555
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km7.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km7.2 L/100km10.1 L/100km7.4 L/100km9.2 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 75 L85 L85 L85 L100 L100 L100 L75 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.0L8 Cylinder 4.2L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power190kW @ 4000rpm150kW @ 4000rpm150kW @ 4000rpm150kW @ 4000rpm206kW @ 6200rpm180kW @ 4400rpm250kW @ 4000rpm190kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque600Nm @ 2250rpm450Nm @ 2750rpm450Nm @ 2750rpm450Nm @ 2750rpm360Nm @ 4000rpm550Nm @ 2250rpm800Nm @ 2750rpm600Nm @ 2250rpm
Country of ManufactureSlovakiaSlovakiaSlovakiaSlovakiaSlovakiaSlovakiaSlovakiaSlovakia
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance500 mm500 mm500 mm580 mm580 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateMay 2019Jan 2011Jan 2015Jan 2017Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2013Jan 2016Jan 2002
Discontinuation dateDec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2012Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2016Dec 2010

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.