??!
8 photos
Volvo XC90

Volvo XC90

Mk.I, Mk.II
3.7 from 49 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (7)
  • Braking
    4.3 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.9 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (7)
  • Handling
    4.6 (7)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (7)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.9 (7)
  • Features
    4.9 (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Ems

EmsSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Love this car!

published

I purchased my XC90 in 2017 from Annlyn Motors in Penrith. I hadn't considered buying a Volvo previously but it was recommended to me. I use the car to and from work and taking the kids to weekend sport. The boot space is very generous which is great for holidays.

The 360 camera is the my most used feature, the screen is easy to navigate around and very user friendly.

My only small issue is that is it 'too safe'! It may think I'm about to collide with another car so it will break for me and this causes the seatbelts to tighten and give the kids a fright. This has only happened on a few occasions.
I would recommend this car, the service from Annlyn Motors is great too, they are reliable and a very friendly family business.

Purchased in March 2017 at Annlyn Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
exsaau

exsaauSydney, NSW

Perfect car, still nothing comes close as far as we are concerned

published

With 7 full sized seats that are used daily, towbar and roof rails, this car gets loaded for trips up and down the east coast during school holidays. We have owned this vehicle since 2017.

During the school period, it does the normal take and fetch and never misses a beat. With an annual service that only issue is a small ongoing oil leak, but isn’t major and has been repaired under warranty.

It is an absolute pleasure to drive, and the adaptive cruise control works a treat. It has pretty much everything you could want plus more.

Purchased in February 2017 for $80,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Tony

TonyHunter Region, NSW

Volvo cannot withstand pothole impact

published

Brand new Volvo XC 90, Bought from Volvo cars fivedock, 7000kms on clock had its tyre burst hitting a very normal looking pothole. Very sad to see this happen to Volvo who highlights its safety features.

Purchased in December 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Volvo XC90 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nic S.

Nic S.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Perfect car for a growing family

published

This is the daily driver for the family and school run. I have owned a number of Volvo's from uni (s40, V60, etc) and just kept coming back to the XC90 once we needed 6 seats. I drove GLS and X7 and Q7 and the overall experience of the Volvo was just better. Great smooth ride and engine. Beautiful minimalistic Swedish design and interior layout - no pretence, because its a Volvo - we just love it and can't fault it.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2019 for $68,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Daniel Ray

Daniel Ray

  • 2 reviews

Bad Experience with Head Office

published

Purchased my new xc90 before Christmas and the dealer Volvo cars Newcastle mislead me with false and inaccurate information about the car . When I contacted Volvo cats Australia they told me that they couldn’t help me.
Even after I submitted proof of the lies and inaccurate information .
Bad , bad service don’t buy a Volvo Brand New.

Purchased in December 2019 at McCarroll's Automotive Group for $96,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Faults timed to perfection

published

My 2016 Xc90 T6 has started to electronically malfunction within weeks of the warranty expiring. First the was the fuel system. The second the HUD. All through the warranty period there have been major issues but after 3 years theyre coming thick and fast.

I love the ride and interior but its become clear that the build quality isn't up to standard.

I doubt that I will buy Volvo again.

Purchased in March 2017 for $100,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 19 likes

Best European V8 and getting sought after

published

Thirsty around town (17ltr per 100km).. But aweome highway driving--same fuel economy as the 6 cyc model, but more torque and power, effortless overtaking, modify the muffler a little and it sounds terrific (cost me about $150 to do) awesome massage front seats, really great value when I purchasing second hand, van size room 7seater but car handling and wagon feel

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2018 at Car yard for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
thymosky

thymoskyNorthern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Volvo Australia

published

My Volvo is full option XC90 which in my mind is the best car for my family. I got very upset with Volvo Australia when we realized we didn't have the Sim card Modem. I wasted my precious time reviewing how to activate my car internet, watching you tube videos and even driving to my local Volvo dealer-the poor sales agent struggled to find a port that does not exist.
I rang Volvo Sydney office only to be told, that option is not available in Australian Volvo cars. No one had the decency of telling customers at purchase. Very very disappointed. I feel cheated.

Purchased in January 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2017
Rob Boot

Rob BootMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Well built SUV with silky smooth V8 motor.

published

With its versatile 7 sear configuration, it can be a bus or in seconds back to a 5 seater with a ton of boot room. The motor is absolutely delish with power on demand. Overtake trucks and slow cars with the power of a rocket ship. The leather interior is easy wipe down and looks great all these years on.

The looks and style look great today. The rubber grips to the road like a race car. The ride is quite firm on the r-design. Some softer springs would have been nice. The transmission is THAT GOOD, can't even notice the gear changes.

Great machine. Well done to the Swedes!

Purchased in December 2009.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Volvo XC90 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Citron (aka Swedish Lemon)

published
BadgeInscription
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Steph

StephSurf Beach

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

I could never imagine owning a different car to this one

published

I love the XC90. It is so well thought through - every detail is exceptional. It hugs the road, it is quiet, it is safe and it is very comfortable. There is nothing I don't like. I love my heated seats, I love the 7 seats and the extra air con for the back two seats and the turbo. I love the leather seats that just wipe clean, the great rubber mats and the integrated booster seat.

BadgeLE
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2010
Neil

NeilSydney, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes

I love this vehicle

published
BadgeD5 Executive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
wm_shi

wm_shiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Many software bugs with bad childlock design

published
BadgeInscription
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Arno

ArnoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect family car

published
BadgeD5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Rowan Kippen

Rowan KippenSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Motoring perfection

published

Smooth, roomy family SUV. This vehicle has a 2.9 twin turbo engine, all wheel drive that is capable of comfortable long distance travelling.even on the not so extreme off roads. This vehicle is built to last and handle all road surfaces with ease.My 2004 XC90 is a 7 seater with leather all round and plenty of leg room for 7 people and a standard on board roof mounted DVD player for the rear passengers on wireless headsets.Running costs are standard compared to most vehicles in its range. Driving this car makes you fell superior and in control of a tamed beast.

BadgeT6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Volvo XC90 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Transmission Failure at 78,000km $$$$$$$$$$

published
BadgeT6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2004
Chris H

Chris HNSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

amazing vehicle

published

Recently purchased for growing family. The seats are phenomenally comfortable and the interior quality is second to none. The 4-cylinder engine is surprisingly responsive and it doesn't feel underpowered at all. In addition very little road noise. Perhaps the ideal family SUV with 7 seats. The sensus screen takes a little time to get used to but after a short time it becomes easy to use and is preferably to a multitude of buttons all over the cabin.

BadgeInscription
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Harry FoodTech

Harry FoodTechAuckland

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Brilliant design, absolutely hopeless reliability

published
BadgeD5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
1 comment
Harry FoodTech
Harry FoodTech

And the heater crapped out this morning...

Anne

Anne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cheap, cheap, cheap... but not the price

published

I spent a lot of money on this vehicle, so I'm pretty irritated at the single USB point - really, Volvo, was it asking too much for the rear passengers to have power???

And I am VERY upset that the upgrade to the Mac app costs $700 when I was told by Purnell that it was part of the first service.
Sure, it is. For $700.

That is just unacceptable. I'm guessing everyone at Volvo uses an iPhone and a Mac? Archaic. They build the motor, very nicely, they forget that people actually use the machine for more than just driving about.

And finally ... a space saver spare. You've gotta be kidding. We are driving for thousands of miles and we get a flat. We drive out of it on a space saver?

Point 1 cheap, point 2, cheap, point 3, cheap.

BadgeD5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Picante

PicantePerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

XC90 T6 Inscription - Well appointed quality Excellent Performer

published

Very comfortable classy car with good leg room even in the 3rd row. Excellent performance from small sized engine.
Handles well on open roads with more than enough power to overtake quickly and safely. Fuel efficiency is good. The interior and technology is right up there. Highway headlights are amazing for providing the best vision in any night driving situation. Compares favourably with all the top named competitors and in many cases it rates better. A good range of driver package options available. Air Bag Suspension gives a luxurious ride. Many observers remark on the beautiful body design. Have now traded into latest model - '18MY.

BadgeInscription
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Cate L.

Cate L.asked

XC90

How do massage passenger seats work in volvo xc90 3 2 awd executive

No answers
Rob

Robasked

XC90

Thinking of buying a 2011 Volvo XC90 with 85000 kilometres Being 9 years old just a little worried around reliability and that I am not buying trouble . I love the car it suits exactly what I need as in a second hand car .

2 answers
Dan
Dan

Well mine had to 135000km when I bought it a year ago and it's been totally fine, got 152000km now, if it's had its usual services its fine, make sure the automatic transmission has been flushed, thats the main concern

Rob
Rob

Dan thanks for responding to my question and the advice on the transmission . How have you found the service and running cost on your .

Badrinarayanan

Badrinarayananasked

XC90

How reliable volvo XC90? My maximum run would be less than 1,00,000 in next 7 years. is it safe to buy a 2015 T6 Inscription with less than 40K kms run for $58K? Other option 2018 T6 Inscription model for $81K. If not final option Mazda CX9 new model. Please advise

2 answers
Ross M.
Ross M.

Its a terrific vehicle in many ways but the electronics do give trouble. Ive had issues with the fuel management system, indicators, dash display and HUD. Not good for a vehicle that cost so much. Hope this assists

Badrinarayanan
Badrinarayanan

Thanks, it helps

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 19 Volvo XC90
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $101,900$104,900$124,900$99,900
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolHybrid and PetrolDiesel
Wheels20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy21" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption5.9 L/100km8.5 L/100km2.1 L/100km5.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L71 L70 L71 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power177kW @ 4000rpm246kW @ 6000rpm246kW @ 6000rpm173kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque500Nm @ 1500-2500rpm440Nm @ 2200-5400rpm440Nm @ 2200-5400rpm480Nm @ 1750-2250rpm
Country of ManufactureSwedenSwedenSwedenSweden
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,400 kg2,400 kg2,400 kg2,400 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateAug 2015Jan 2016Aug 2015Aug 2015
Compare all 19 Volvo XC90

Visit official website

Other Large / 7 Seater SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.