??!
5 photos
Vornado 533

Vornado 533

3.8 from 23 reviews

See the Best Standalone Fans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Pricey but Worth It

Have had this unit for years now and with regular cleaning (dusting off blades and grill), it works just as new. Designed to circulate all the air in the room/space, it does take a bit of time (maybe 20 minutes) to make a noticeable difference compared to having a conventional pedestal fan pointed directly at you. It has three speed settings, the highest being on the loud side. Having it on the middle setting is comfortable with a very light hum and very good output. Living in Queensland, I use it for the most part of every day and night instead of switching on the A/C. If the A/C is turned on in the living room (the only A/C unit in the house), we set the Vornado up to circulate the cool air and it works great. Recommended if you're willing to pay a little extra for a fan that'll last.

Purchased in July 2015 at Harvey Norman for $118.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power

Great in caravan

We live in a caravan so wanted a small fan. Seen the Vornado in Harvey Norman 4 years ago and decided it was what we needed. It has been fantastic. It runs nearly 24/7 summer and winter. In the summer it is used on its own or in conjunction with the van's a/c. In the winter used with the heating on the a/c. Is noisy on high but so is the a/c. We have no trouble sleeping whilst it is on. Have been very happy with its performance. I see they have a12 volt one now so looking at buying one for when we are off grid.

Purchased in January 2015 at Harvey Norman for $90.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

This is not a fan but an air circulator. It will cool but you need to be within its range as it doesn't oscillate

The fan has high velocity power compared to a cheap pedestal fan but the air is pushed in one direction. The idea is to use it with an airconditioner to push the cold air around. As a fan it works as a cool breeze or more powerful airflow unit but the higher the speed (1-3) the noisier due to being hi velocity by design like an aeroplane engine (its designers were from this segment). Its concept is to push the airflow to the walls where the air will bounce off and circulate (see video on Vornado). It does need to be on early to beat the heat and it needs to be pointed at you if being used as a fan. It is on a stable base and is expensive for what it is but you are paying for the turbo aeroplane engine style design which pushes the air forward in the vented direction.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $128.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power

Overpriced and nothing special.

I made the mistake of believing the hype on this one. Surely a $120 fan would be vastly superior to the $30 equivalent?! Sadly not. I use a fan at night during summer to avoid using the AC.

Pros:
Compact size.
Seems robust.

Cons:
Air stream on lowest setting is poor. Air stream on setting 2 and 3 is good but the noise makes this impractical.
Did I mention it's LOUD!
Way overpriced.
Vortex effect is nonsense. This fan does not perform magic.

Bottom line is buy a cheapy. Even if it breaks you can still afford to buy three more!

Date PurchasedDec 2018

SIMPLY THE BEST

I have been suffering dye to treatment to high body heat.My friend bought a vornado 533 abd loved it.I bought mine 18th.dec.2018 from harvey norman moss vale
.ITS THE BEST EVER I HAD A WONDERFUL NIGHTS SLEEP AFTER 5 MONTHS OF INTERMITTENT.AND MY BEDROOM IS COOL AND I FEEL SO MUCH BETTER.The noise is no bother and i slept with it on all night,its wonderful abd HN.has good price im getting the large one for my lounge.BIG THANKYOU.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

So sorry I wasted my money.

I have a severely intellectually disabled son and I'm a single mum so money is very tight. I bought this from David Jones after the sales person recommended it and have ran it constantly on top speed for over 24 hours, it's done nothing. My place has just getting hotter and hotter. Will be returning it.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Does the job

Awesome air circulator. Does the job in my son's room. Its noisy if you put the settings or 2 and 3. All in all glad I bought this brand. Will be purchasing a bigger one soon. Easy to move around to different areas of the house. Wish it came in different colors.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Powerful but loud

Nice small size and great airflow but it's very noisy at the II & III settings. The lowest setting is good for sleeping on cooler summer nights but most nights in summer I put it on II. Fine for sleeping, but might be a bit loud for some. It's designed to circulate air in a small-medium size room, not necessarily directly blowing on you, so keep that in mind. It works well for both purposes, but the floor height can be a bit limiting.

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Best small fan I've ever had

Fans power is great, costs about 5c to use and really cools down the room. One of the best fans on the market has 3 speeds and while isn't too loud the sound is definitely noticeable (ie not as quiet as some weaker fans). Says the grill is removable, but require a screwdriver and can be quite difficult to see where the screws are without looking at a video of how to do it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

A little expensive but good summer investment

I moved to Sydney in the peak of Summer and my $29 fan wasn't enough. Decided to buy the Vornado and it really did a good job in circulating air in my bedroom. I only have a tiny window and it usually gets stuffy and humid, but the vornado did a good job in keeping the room cool. It seems loud at first but liveable.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Good to use

It is good to use and small size . It can fit anywhere you want to put it . The fan speed also strong compare normally fan . Price is reasonable however , i still like more silence fan . When you sleeping , of course prefer quiet and comfortable .

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Good but expensive fan

I bought this fan for my mother as a Christmas gift as she needed a fan, it is very compact like a desk top fan but very powerful as it can blow a long way from one end of the room to the other end. Level 3 is noisy though so she doesn't use that level, but she likes how small it is. It only tilts up and down and not sideways, so some effort needs to be put in to set it up and point to the right direction before walking away.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Powerful Small Fan to cool a room

Bought it during the heat wave in Melbourne 2 weeks ago, it saved our hot steamy night. It serve the purpose to cool the room and it's not too noisy unlike some other brands. It sit perfectly on the side or small table. Apart from that, the outside frame has quite a small gap between the holes to prevent my young kids to put their fingers inside. Happy customer.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Small but effective

I got the 633 for the bedroom and 533 for the lounge room. Quite small but seems to be able to circulate the air in the lounge room and cool it down. But it was quite expensive at $76 after discount. It doesn't blow from side to side, you have to point it to where you are sitting to feel the breeze.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Great little jet

Trusted worldwide reviews of this little gem and took the first plunge in buying Vornado 533 about 6years ago. Still going strong. It suits the need for bedroom use and you are able to feel the breeze circulating. Agreed with most people it could be quite loud for higher settings. It is very efficient in directing a huge volume of air into its small vortex thus the loud noise. The noise is not due to the motor but the propelled air circulating through the blades. We are used to white noise during sleep and would not mind the noise. Follow the instructions on directing the air circulator and this little jet engine actually works. Since then we got more Vornado air circulator- the pedestal model 783 for the living room and model 660 for the master bedroom.

Had an performance issue with the pedestal model 783 after reaching the fifth year. The customer service is excellent and special thanks to Karen to resolve it despite this model has been discontinued. You spend a bit more for a reliable product and most importantly you buy from a company with great customer service.

Date PurchasedNov 2011

Poor build quality

It is highly priced but the build quality is very poor. The knob broke after 2 months of infrequent use.

Their customer service said they will send me a new switch, but I haven't received it after several months of waiting. A year later, I enquired again and finally received the knob.

As for the air circulation functionality, it is too small for my living room. It is very noisy and makes almost no difference to the temperature.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Glad I bought it

It is robust and hardy. It is easy to move from room to room and provides good air movement. Given the choices of other fragile rubbish on the market I’d buy another.

However it is overpriced for a basic three speed noisy fan. The Vornado website states this fan is “Whisper Quiet”. Perhaps whoever wrote this knows people who whisper really loudly or maybe they were deaf or in another room? I would describe it as being noisy. Its fine to live with the noise it makes on its lowest setting, but the higher settings are simply loud. Fortunately it provides enough air movement on its lower setting to suit my needs.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Good for a small bedroom

This my first time trying an Air Circulation item.

I have a small bedroom and I do feel the benefits of the vornado's claims of air moving around the room. I have noticed the cooler room temps and not having to have the A/C on all night.

Bit expensive to be purchased in Australia compared to US prices.

Not going to be using the highest setting 3, since it just becomes overly loud,
Good purchase would definitely look into getting the larger 633 model.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great compact fan

This is our second Vornado after purchasing the larger Vornado 660.

Pros:
- Circulate air to lower temperature in short period of time which is sufficient for standard size bedroom
- Relatively small footprint on desk
- 5 years warranty

Cons:
- Could be noisy at highest setting
- Australian importer charges very high premium compared to the US counterpart (check US prices)
- Switch at the back of fan which makes access somewhat awkward
- No remote control

Recommended.


Good enough

I bought a Vornado 533 recently and though I wasn’t sure what to make of it at first, I’m now pretty satisfied. The Vornado functions as a ‘whole room air circulator’, not as a directional fan. You aim it up into a corner of your room and because of this (and also the design of the blades, etc.), it sets up circulating breezes. For me, it’s great to have a ‘fan’ that doesn’t blow directly on to me because I cannot sleep in these conditions. Mind you, because of the way it functions, the Vornado’s breezes are nowhere near as strong as those of a directional fan (hence my initial doubts about its effectiveness). And, by the way, if you buy a Vornado expecting that, by some magic, it will do the work of a cooling a/c, well, you will be sorely disappointed. In the end, it is no more than an up-market fan.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Details

Vornado 533
CategoryStandalone Fans
Price (RRP) $149.00
Colour / Finish Black or White
Number of Speed Settings 3
Power56 W
TypeFloor
Cord Length 1.8 m
Dimensions 287 x 245 x 178 mm
Weight1.69 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Construction
Blade Diameter182 mm

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 0043765008577
  • GTIN12: 043765005576

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.