??!
5 photos
Vornado 533

Vornado 533

3.8 from 23 reviews

See the Best Standalone Fans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
14
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
2

Gordon L.

Gordon L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews

Pricey but Worth It

published

Purchased in July 2015 at Harvey Norman for $118.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers

Helfa

Helfa

  • 2 reviews

Great in caravan

published

We live in a caravan so wanted a small fan. Seen the Vornado in Harvey Norman 4 years ago and decided it was what we needed. It has been fantastic. It runs nearly 24/7 summer and winter. In the summer it is used on its own or in conjunction with the van's a/c. In the winter used with the heating on the a/c. Is noisy on high but so is the a/c. We have no trouble sleeping whilst it is on. Have been very happy with its performance. I see they have a12 volt one now so looking at buying one for when we are off grid.

Purchased in January 2015 at Harvey Norman for $90.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Wilfred v

Wilfred vVic, 3199

  • 14 reviews
  • 5 likes

This is not a fan but an air circulator. It will cool but you need to be within its range as it doesn't oscillate

published

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $128.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
Quindarious

QuindariousPerth

  • 20 reviews

Overpriced and nothing special.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

SIMPLY THE BEST

published

I have been suffering dye to treatment to high body heat.My friend bought a vornado 533 abd loved it.I bought mine 18th.dec.2018 from harvey norman moss vale
.ITS THE BEST EVER I HAD A WONDERFUL NIGHTS SLEEP AFTER 5 MONTHS OF INTERMITTENT.AND MY BEDROOM IS COOL AND I FEEL SO MUCH BETTER.The noise is no bother and i slept with it on all night,its wonderful abd HN.has good price im getting the large one for my lounge.BIG THANKYOU.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

So sorry I wasted my money.

published

I have a severely intellectually disabled son and I'm a single mum so money is very tight. I bought this from David Jones after the sales person recommended it and have ran it constantly on top speed for over 24 hours, it's done nothing. My place has just getting hotter and hotter. Will be returning it.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Ms. Eva

Ms. EvaMililani

Does the job

published

Awesome air circulator. Does the job in my son's room. Its noisy if you put the settings or 2 and 3. All in all glad I bought this brand. Will be purchasing a bigger one soon. Easy to move around to different areas of the house. Wish it came in different colors.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Cam

CamSydney

  • 4 reviews

Powerful but loud

published

Nice small size and great airflow but it's very noisy at the II & III settings. The lowest setting is good for sleeping on cooler summer nights but most nights in summer I put it on II. Fine for sleeping, but might be a bit loud for some. It's designed to circulate air in a small-medium size room, not necessarily directly blowing on you, so keep that in mind. It works well for both purposes, but the floor height can be a bit limiting.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Andrew

AndrewSouthside

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best small fan I've ever had

published

Fans power is great, costs about 5c to use and really cools down the room. One of the best fans on the market has 3 speeds and while isn't too loud the sound is definitely noticeable (ie not as quiet as some weaker fans). Says the grill is removable, but require a screwdriver and can be quite difficult to see where the screws are without looking at a video of how to do it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
E. Lopez

E. LopezAnnandale, NSW

  • 4 reviews

A little expensive but good summer investment

published

I moved to Sydney in the peak of Summer and my $29 fan wasn't enough. Decided to buy the Vornado and it really did a good job in circulating air in my bedroom. I only have a tiny window and it usually gets stuffy and humid, but the vornado did a good job in keeping the room cool. It seems loud at first but liveable.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Ranger wong

Ranger wongAustralia

  • 5 reviews

Good to use

published

It is good to use and small size . It can fit anywhere you want to put it . The fan speed also strong compare normally fan . Price is reasonable however , i still like more silence fan . When you sleeping , of course prefer quiet and comfortable .

Date PurchasedJan 2017

sam

sammaitland

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but expensive fan

published

I bought this fan for my mother as a Christmas gift as she needed a fan, it is very compact like a desk top fan but very powerful as it can blow a long way from one end of the room to the other end. Level 3 is noisy though so she doesn't use that level, but she likes how small it is. It only tilts up and down and not sideways, so some effort needs to be put in to set it up and point to the right direction before walking away.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Joe R

Joe R

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Powerful Small Fan to cool a room

published

Bought it during the heat wave in Melbourne 2 weeks ago, it saved our hot steamy night. It serve the purpose to cool the room and it's not too noisy unlike some other brands. It sit perfectly on the side or small table. Apart from that, the outside frame has quite a small gap between the holes to prevent my young kids to put their fingers inside. Happy customer.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Lucie

LucieAshtonfield

  • 5 reviews

Small but effective

published

I got the 633 for the bedroom and 533 for the lounge room. Quite small but seems to be able to circulate the air in the lounge room and cool it down. But it was quite expensive at $76 after discount. It doesn't blow from side to side, you have to point it to where you are sitting to feel the breeze.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Melvyn

MelvynPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great little jet

published
Date PurchasedNov 2011
Domon

DomonMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor build quality

published

It is highly priced but the build quality is very poor. The knob broke after 2 months of infrequent use.

Their customer service said they will send me a new switch, but I haven't received it after several months of waiting. A year later, I enquired again and finally received the knob.

As for the air circulation functionality, it is too small for my living room. It is very noisy and makes almost no difference to the temperature.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

rearrange

rearrangeAU

  • 28 reviews
  • 35 likes

Glad I bought it

published

It is robust and hardy. It is easy to move from room to room and provides good air movement. Given the choices of other fragile rubbish on the market I’d buy another.

However it is overpriced for a basic three speed noisy fan. The Vornado website states this fan is “Whisper Quiet”. Perhaps whoever wrote this knows people who whisper really loudly or maybe they were deaf or in another room? I would describe it as being noisy. Its fine to live with the noise it makes on its lowest setting, but the higher settings are simply loud. Fortunately it provides enough air movement on its lower setting to suit my needs.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

pandaboy

pandaboySydney

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good for a small bedroom

published

This my first time trying an Air Circulation item.

I have a small bedroom and I do feel the benefits of the vornado's claims of air moving around the room. I have noticed the cooler room temps and not having to have the A/C on all night.

Bit expensive to be purchased in Australia compared to US prices.

Not going to be using the highest setting 3, since it just becomes overly loud,
Good purchase would definitely look into getting the larger 633 model.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Harry

HarryDee Why, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great compact fan

published

GNL24

GNL24Brisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good enough

published

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Vornado representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.