??!
2 photos
Vornado 660

Vornado 660

4.4 from 82 reviews · View Statistics

Fan Buying Guide - How to choose the coolest tower or pedestal fan for you

If you’re looking for a way to avoid melting this summer, a fan could help. But with so many types on the market, how do you choose the best fan for your home?

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (11)
  • Power
    4.4 (8)
Previous
Next
Adsman90

Adsman90North Queensland, QLD

Its just a fan, nothing amazing

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
DanielC

DanielCSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Do not buy, you've been warned - when it dies, you will have to put it in the bin.

published

Don't get me wrong, the fan works very well and as advertised. It's the durability that I am rating. I bought mine 6 years ago and used it in anger for 3 as we moved into a house with air con. My mother asked me for a fan for her bedroom at the beginning of summer so I pulled it out and now it beeps and won't spin. And here's the BAD. I called Vornado to find a service agent, and they told me they had NONE! They just told me to call a sparky as if a sparky would have spare parts for the product of a company that has no service agent! So, sadly, I have to bin it. Best not to buy expensive Chinese products (though the company is American) I guess, keep buying the cheap.

Purchased in February 2014 at Harvey Norman for A$189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Naz

NazGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Powerful and great fan

published

Varnado fan really does circulate air around the room. We placed the fan in our main bedroom.
-placement of the fan is very important to how it will circulate the air
-we use fan with our portable aircon, so the room becomes cool quicker.
- has 4-speed option. Max speed is very powerful.

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Standalone Fans

Find out how Vornado 660 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jon H

Jon HSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Surprisingly powerful

published

Was a bit sceptical at first, but I was surprised by how powerful it is. Packs a punch in a small package. It circulates air very well and when you angle it at the right position (be it wall or ceiling), really moves air efficiently. We use it in conjunction with the AC and are happy with it.

Purchased at Costco.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Hanl

HanlPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good fan

published

Good fan, capable of circulating air well. Necessary for summer. At highest setting, it can be a bit loud and annoying. Cleaning it takes a bit of effort. Otherwise, this fan is excellent. The build feels sturdy and quality.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
TMG

TMGGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 10 likes

Vornado 660 Fan

published

This fan certainly helps to circulate the air on a warm day unlike so many other fans that I have tried over many years.
I like the fact that it can be taken apart to clean the interior as well.

The power output on low is fine day and night, as I have it beside me whilst I sleep or relax in front of the television.
Not having an air conditioner over these very hot days and nights is a challenge, but this fan is certainly helping to keep myself and my Stafford as cool as is possible.
I recommend highly.
I bought from Harvey Norman who price matched within ten dollars of what Costco charge for the same item.
Not having a Costco near me, nor being a member I believe I have done as well as I could possibly do.

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$160.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Tommy D

Tommy DGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great fan

published

I am very pleased with this fan. The way it circulates the air around the room is quite impressive. We leave it on low at night and its quiet enough for sleeping - provides good white noise. I would definitely recommend it and will purchase another soon.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ash

AshGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Great fan.

published

I love how the design of the fan. It really circulates the air in the room really well.
It is quiet when it is at the lowest settings for sleeping.
It is a little pricey and I was doubting whether it is worth it. But, yeah I am loving it so far.

Purchased in February 2019 at eBay.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Chloe

ChloeSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Tornado

published

Don't believe the promises about its quietness. Even on the lowest setting the noise is too annoying to sleep with. Why are product manufacturers still allowed to lie about their product features. Money down the drain. Yes, it's well made. Yes the way it circulates air is clever. But the noise is horrible.

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Standalone Fans

Find out how Vornado 660 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Russted

RusstedMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Well, I'm a fan...!

published

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
WildOne

WildOneMelbourne

Bit on the noisey side...

published

Bought this fan yesterday after reading all the reviews. Was looking at having the fan in the bedroom or near to make sleeping easier, unfortunately this fan is too loud even on the low setting. So hard to listen to it in the shops, when purchasing with all the background noise. Its a great fan to circulate the air around quickly.....maybe I should of bought the smaller version for bedroom but I bought the bigger one to use throughout the house when required. Its up to you as they buyer in the end...

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Kwin

KwinSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Money well spent

published

We have a 2 bedroom home, and this moves the air from the air conditioned lounge room through to the bedroom and bathroom area. Keeps us cool to help sleep at night, and reduces power bills by moving air through the house.
Took us ages to make a decision - glad we bought this.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Sweet

SweetThornbury 3071

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good,strong and quiet if set at the lowest wind level

published

Its first impression to me is very sturdy. The lowest wind level is cool enough when the temperature is over 35. It helps air circulation, so you can set the air conditioner at the moderate temperature, and open it at the same time. If you choose the stronger wind level, it will be very noisy during the night. I consider to have another one.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
baz

bazSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

I'm a fan

published

I bought one of these recently to try and reduce air conditioning running costs. It's fabulous and works like a charm. I did see in a review elsewhere someone was beefing that it shoots the air out in a narrow current but that's exactly what it's meant to do.....they didn't read the instructions. This really is a top product and recommended.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Practical Man

Practical ManBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Okay but needs improvement given the cost

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Standalone Fans

Find out how Vornado 660 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah

Sarah

  • 2 reviews

Love this air circulator

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Brandon F

Brandon FBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

I’m converted, this is one helluva fan. I mean, whole room air circulator.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Dead Wombat

Dead WombatSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

GREAT FAN, BUT EXPENSIVE

published

This a very nice, almost silent fan.
the only noise is the fan blades, i cannot hear the fan, just the wind.
I got mine from The Good Guys, they matched the lowest price on the net.
My wife loves it, as on the lower setting, it is near silent white noise.
Controls are nice, construction is good quality.
Looks very modern.
I have a few properties, and usually have to buy a fan twice a year, but this one has a 5 year warranty.
I use this also to move the air conditioned air around the house, i can put one aircon on, and move it around, an hour before bed, and the air is dried out,
CONS.
wind is like a beam, almost straight line, but that is ok, you can move it way back, and still get nice breeze.
Expensive. But i would buy again.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
GV711

GV711South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 18 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best fan ever

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Love it

published

Seriously cannot recommend these fans highly enough. And this new model is brilliant - super quiet. Had to buy as my trusty Vornado 660 died after 8 years of heavy use. I have a small one for my office space too. This is my 6th or 7th since first using them in Bermuda a 40 years ago

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Liana Cortijo

Liana Cortijoasked

My vornado is not working. Where can I have it repaired? I live in pymble nsw
Lcortijo@gmail.Com

1 answer
DanielC
DanielC

You CANNOT have it repaired. That's the whole issue with Vornado, they are only a box dropper but have NO service agents in Australia (as I got told via email by them in 12/2020). You may now throw your Vornado in the nearest bin and contribute to global pollution.

Anna L.

Anna L.asked

where is the vornado fan made? which country is it manufactured?

1 answer
TMG
TMG

Made in China. But very well made.
I highly recommend .
Better than any other fan I have had, and I have many.

Cam G

Cam Gasked

Do they also work as a fan if i was to put it on a table shooting directly at me would i get a good flow of air hit me? Im going fifo and i sleep with a fan on me everynight so want something i can travel with

1 answer
baz
baz

Yes but it's not meant to be used like that....you need to direct it to the top corner of the room

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • The Vornado 660 Air Circulator uses heavily contoured blades to churn the air into a column shape, which ultimately projects air further and helps keep everyone in the room cool
  • Four fan speeds allow you to adjust how gentle or powerful you’d prefer the airflow in a room, while a multi-directional airflow ensures all sections of the room are evenly cooled
  • A detachable grill allows for quick and easy cleaning
  • Its small, compact size is unobtrusive, and allows this standalone fan to be placed largely out of sight, without compromising on the quality of airflow.

Feedback from reviewers:

  • According to reviewers, the most appealing quality of this Vornado model is that it’s a powerful fan that does what it claims and circulates air swiftly around a room
  • Sometimes reviewers found the fan to be too noisy to be left on throughout the night, while others found the noise level acceptable, if the fan is set on the lowest speed. Some even appreciated the white noise that the fan provided.
  • The Vornado 660 Air Circulator costs $259, which is a little pricey for a standalone fan. However, while reviewers acknowledged this, most also expressed that this fan was worth the money.
CategoryStandalone Fans
Price (RRP) A$249.00
FeaturesOscillating
Colour / FinishBlack or White
Number of Speed Settings4
Power56 W
TypeDesk
Cord Length1.8 m
Dimensions 380 x 343 x 298 mm
Weight3.3 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Construction
Blade MaterialPlastic
Number of Blades3
Body MaterialPlastic
Blade Diameter258 mm
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 043765005422, 043765006542 and 043765009093

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.