??!
10 photos
Dometic Waeco CF Series

Dometic Waeco CF Series

CF-50, CF-40 (41 L), CF-18 (18 L), etc...
3.3 from 63 reviews

Pros

  • Easy to use

  • Affordable

  • Very mobile and portable

Cons

  • Less durable and robust than other fridges

  • Some reviewers notice technical failures, especially of digital temperature display

Reviews

3.3

63 reviews
5
(25)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(17)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (9)
Previous
Next
BrettnJa

BrettnJaMid West, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Waeco 50 & Dometic Waeco 50

published

Purchased in August 2012.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Matt

MattFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for travelling

published

Just the right size for long weekend trips without taking up the whole car. Low power draw, will run from a 100Ah battery for at least 4 days when set to 4 degrees.

Russell G.

Russell G.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

4 days in, compressor rattling, told this is normal.

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Snowys Outdoors for A$529.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CF Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Top fridge

published

The cf 50 works perfectly on 240 and 12 volts. I've had this fridge 7to8 years and still counting. Never has it failed in hot extreme weather and I'm talking 45 plus degrees c. The power consumption is very good and with Sola set up on the 4wd it never stopped. The con is the Lach can break so be careful you can get a replacement for this. I have read some of the reviews on this fridge and put it down to some people don't know what they are doing. Others just bag it because it's a waeco. All and all it's a fantastic reliable fridge

Purchased in May 2013 at Anaconda for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
TV Tech

TV TechMelbourne

  • 18 reviews
  • 24 likes

20+ years and still going strong everyday

published

Purchased in January 2010 for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Lyall

Lyall

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good and well priced fridge freezer

published

Bought mine back early 2017 and I must say its been very good since and no problems. I've had it in some very hot Qld weather and seems to run at -2 or-3 degrees without problem eventhough its using more power, drinks are still icy! It came with the insulated cover and I purchased extra warranty from tentworld. Overall I love it. I use it about every 6 months, If I was in the market for another fridge it would be great to have a dual zone fridge freezer.

Purchased in April 2017 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Very good but not perfect

published

Purchased in March 2007 for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Peter

PeterBrisbane

  • 29 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good Camping Fridge

published

This was a birthday gift, as we go camping all year round and have for the last 30 years relied on ice and eskies. So first trip was a good test. I pre-cooled it overnight and stacked everything properly. I have an old ute which has a 120 Amp Hour 12 volt deep cycle battery, so power would not be an issue. It worked a treat, kept the food and drinks at a constant 3 degrees and had plenty of storage space. It came with a insulation blanket to keep it cooler in direct light, and we had 3 days of 29-33 degrees. So far I can recommend it.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Lindsay

LindsaySouth East Queensland, QLD

Great Product - highly recommended

published

I bought my CF50 on sale for $699 at BCF. I have had it for over 18 mths and have been running it 24-7 - 50% on 12volt on 1 x solar panel & 1 x 120 amp battery in my caravan for weeks on end & 50% on 240v. Always maintains my preferred temperature -3 deg C and gets there fast, Best $699 I have ever spent.

Purchased in November 2017 at BCF Physical Store for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CF Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark S

Mark SSydney

  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

Excelent Fridge/Freezer

published

I've only had it a year but has worked well each time we've used it. It does what it's designed to do and keeps food cool/frozen depending on the temperature you choose. No complaints and if you are in the market for a fridge can say I'm happy with mine and recommend you consider this unit.

The only issue I can think of is that the lid feels a bit wobbly when you open/close the unit. This is because with a removable lid the hinges aren't very tight. That's a small issue in the scheme of things and I can once again recommend this unit with a five star rating.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
ignas

ignasSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

2nd Waeco Freezer. Old one was the 50L & still working.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Buy an Engel - What I should have done.

published

Barely lasted and the compressor went.
When it worked it would drain my 135Ah battery in 1 day. Not really acceptable when you're running off battery and solar power. Jump the fence, spend the coin and you won't be disappointed with an Engel. As they say, a poor man pays twice and I've learned my lesson with Waeco

Date PurchasedAug 2018
NeilKC

NeilKCMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

16 Years old and still running

published

What a great fridge, never had an issue with it.
In the 16 years I have owned it it may have been turned off for 3 months in total.
"It has been every were man".
My missus broke the handle lock once, brought one from WA (Broome) on the net, they have all the spares.
Never had a cover for it, it just keeps going and going.
I have three other fridges, two Engels and a Lumix.
The Engels are over 35 years old and do short cycle a bit but still run well..

Date PurchasedNov 2002

Cools well and good on power BUT

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
ignas

ignasSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most Waeco's are fine. Engels also breakdown but not as often.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2010
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CF Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AY A

AY AAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

Dometic Waeco CF-40

published

For the price what you get is OK. A CFX model is obvioulsy much better and nearly double the price.
I can live with fluctuating temps as we only use as a drinks fridge and use an Opposite Lock for the food.
It does a great job for the drinks. I probably would not use it to keep my food in but I havent tried it in freezer mode as yet though.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Dannii.B

Dannii.B

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect addition to my camping equipment.

published

This was the best thing I purchased to travel oz with,it kept all my food and drinks nice and cold when crossing from coast to coast and camping out on the Nullarbor.
A great design,easy to use controls and with the insulated bag you can’t go wrong.
Fits enough food for a family of 4 for 4 days.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Andrew W

Andrew WGeelong

Lid hinge points are weak plastic that snap and need to replace the lid

published
Date PurchasedApr 2013

Waeko CR 50

published

Purchased in 2010 and have run it non stop as beee fridge at home and hooked up to battery in car for holidays. Finally bit the dust!!! I have had an excellent run with this portable fridge. Changed the fuse but it sparked up and it does not look good

Date PurchasedAug 2010

disappointing

published

I bought this unit 1 week ago, I use this in a motor-home. The temperature is erratic. The outside temperature is 31 degrees C. I set it to work at 2 degrees centigrade, but it hovers between + 7 to - 7. I will return the unit to the store where I bought it. I cant understand why it drops to minus 7 degrees C. It is easy to transport; I stored bread, butter, and some fruit in the unit

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Simon

Simonasked

CF-50

I've got a Waeco CFX 65 l I've got it plugged into the house electricity and I've got the orange light come on what does that mean

2 answers
Matt
Matt

Generally the orange light indicates it’s at the set temperature so the compressor is turned off. It should turn back on when the temp starts rising, at which point the light turns green to indicate the compressor is running. If the fridge isn’t cold, check what temperature it’s set at.

Simon
Simon

O ok I just checked it and its on green now thank you

Outback

Outbackasked

CF-50

My fridge is indicating ‘fan over current error’ (2red flashes). Anyone know what the fix is for this? Thanks.

No answers
Peter T.

Peter T.asked

CF-50

Temp numbers gone all funny

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.