??!
8 photos
Dometic Waeco CFX Series

Dometic Waeco CFX Series

CFX 50W (50L), CFX 65DZ (61L), CFX 40W (41L), etc...
3.5 from 66 reviews

Pros

  • Modern technology, including mobile app, USB port and internal LED light

  • Energy efficient compressor technology for fast and efficient cooling

  • Can operate on solar power

Cons

  • Some reviewers complain about high power draw

Reviews

3.5

66 reviews
5
(33)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(19)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (16)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (15)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Sean P.

Sean P.Launceston, TAS

My fridge has, been fine for 12 months and now won't cool

published

My fridge won't cool on either 12 or 240 v stays on 15 odd degrees has the green light on, can hear a noice from the compressor area but it's not a compressor running sound? Any help cheers??

Purchased in January 2019 at Chrisco for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Jase

JaseFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best fridge ever (Hot tip on air flow for your fridge in camper)

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Freddy's fishing and outdoor Cairns Qld for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

1 star is the lowest I could give it.

published

The fridge lasted 5 months before it developed a gas leak and stopped cooling completely. It took 7 weeks of fighting Dometic to get a new fridge. To pay $1400 for a fridge to last not even 6 months isn't acceptable. Maybe this one fridge was faulty, but would you trust it out west to not let you down, after it already has once? Absolutely not. So when it does break in the middle of your trip and your food goes off, you then have to deal with terrible customer service. I'll never buy another Dometic product again.

Purchased in September 2019 at Anaconda.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CFX Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Warrenlucas21

Warrenlucas21Illawarra, NSW

faulty fridge/terrible customer service

published

The worst customer service, faulty fridge not willing to help out with anything telling me that it’s normal. Fridge won’t hold temperatures runs constantly they have told me to take it to a local dometic dealer and they can’t work out with dometic how to fix the issue now with out a fridge for who knows how long and it’s only 2 months old used twice.

Purchased in September 2019 at BCF for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Kellie S

Kellie SSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Camping game changer

published

Used this fridge for all of our food whilst camping for a week. Completely avoided the soggy wet food in a defrosted esky. Only wish the stands were able to hold the weight of the 95l fridge.

Purchased in December 2019 at BCF Physical Store for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Crap customer service, already has problems

published

Bought the cfx 50L a year ago and its already not working- tried contacting dometic over a handful of times now with no replies. Such poor customer service especially seeing how expensive it was.

Purchased in January 2019 at Anaconda for A$15,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

DOMETIC CFX 95DZ2

published

Purchased in May 2017 at TJM Physical Store for A$1,650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Ian S.

Ian S.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Cfx40 Poor Quality Electronics that fail and Dometic unhelpful

published

The main PBC board failed causing it to go from +2 to -22 without warning and freeze and explode the contents. Dometic wanted $66.00 to access the fault and another $221.00 to replace the PBC board. The fridge is just 4 years old and only been used a total of 10 weeks since new. Dometic customer phone support when asked the live span of CFX40 said at least 5 years trouble free service, but Dometic Service wont honour warranty for a known part failure and dont return phone calls to service department and service division needs a major shake up cleaning out the deadwood. I have a ENGEL 40lt running 24/7 since new and no problems In 19 years operation.

Purchased in September 2015 at BCF for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
NoFrills

NoFrillsWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Brand new - good track record

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Snowys Outdoors Online store for A$1,274.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CFX Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
William D.

William D.South East Queensland, QLD

Giving a one star rating is to high.

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Lewy J.

Lewy J.Hunter Region, NSW

Works well when its not at the repairers

published

Have had my cfx 50 for around 18 months now, the first fault happened around the 11 month mark and was told there was a problem with the units computer chip or something. Now i have it back and the wifi app tells me that the whole compressor system has failed. Back to the repairer.
Yesterday I proceed to take the CFX75 (I bought around the same time for my camper trailer and have used it for probably a total of 7 days all up) out of the camper and into the ute until the 50l is fixed and today the compressor system dies in that one too!! Cant win!!

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
dior2009

dior2009Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews

Great Fridge, cools to 4 degrees in 30 mins

published

Bought this fridge for my regular road trips with mates, it was a little bigger than I wanted but it's so good at keeping things cool and it's super quiet. Love the compartments and the fact that it cools to 4 degrees within 30 mins. Its also very energy efficient, I ran it for 4 days constant using my 130ah battery and the battery was still at 55% at the end of the trip.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Great fridge,very happy with its performance.

published

Touring around Nth Territory for two months,very warm 30c most days.This is our main fridge and runs off solar power most off the time ,it has not failed us yet We buy enough food for 2 weeks at a time plenty off room in the freezer and fridge .It runs 24/7 still have enough power in the battery to watch tv and have lights on.

Purchased for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Josh

JoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Great size, looks good, low power.

published

Purchased in January 2019 at BCF Physical Store for A$1,319.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
PerthPhil

PerthPhilPerth, WA

  • 28 reviews

High power consumption

published

Purchased in December 2017 at Anaconda Physical store for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
PerthPhil
PerthPhil
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CFX Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Keith

KeithHunter Region, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Be careful they do not last

published

Purchased in February 2015 at Anaconda for A$949.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Hughesie

HughesieThe Mallee, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Save and get an Engel

published

Have had this for 2 years and it lives in the back of my Ranger 4x4. I am building a house on weekends and also use it for shopping.
Doesn’t handle heat above 40c. Turns off.
This is Australia and it gets hot, so manufacturer should tell us about that limitation.
I paid over $800 and also bought the cover that is perishing quickly.
Will sell it on Gumtree and get a 40 litre dual zone Engel.
Peter
Robinvale

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Jon8965

Jon8965Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Overall good but basic manufacturing a bit ordinary

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Bangerjames

BangerjamesMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Nothing but trouble

published

Had for 6 years, every third time its used something goes wrong, it has now cost me more in repairs than what the fridge is worth, when it runs its good but always breaks down, once again on holidays and it’s faulty,can’t use, stay well clear, there crap don’t waste your money

Date PurchasedOct 2013
Travis J

Travis JGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Don't waste your money

published

Having spent a lot on money on this you would expect it to work for more than 4 weeks before complete failure. Has only been used several times and not will not function at all. Brought it for my wife whilst she was in hospital as we needed a fridge & freezer to keep medication and also food yeh it has failed and cost us lots more on wasted medication and food.

Was great when working but is now useless and we are expected to take it somewhere to get fixed which inst where we brought it from. Have been waiting a week for Dometic to reply to my email yet no response. I am expected to take a day off work to take it somewhere over 30 minutes away from where I live. I don't find this an acceptable solution.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Eric A.

Eric A.asked

CFX 95DZW (94.5L)

Hi, I have a dometic cfx 95l and i lost the power cord. the one i ordered has a 8a slow burn fuse in the tip of the cigarette plug and it keeps blowing. Any ideas? I hear that the cif lighter is not enough juice but how do i direct wire it to DC?

1 answer
Sean P.
Sean P.

I run mine on a Anderson plug with a in line fuse never had a problem, the Anderson plug is a better connection and you don't get voltage drop from it

AbbyLB

AbbyLBasked

Waeco CFX Series

Does anyone have issues with their CFX 95L leaking water? We use ours as a drink fridge/overflow freezer in our house and it is constantly leaking water from underneath it.

No answers
Louise S.

Louise S.asked

Waeco CFX Series

My CFX 50 will not chill. Red power button keeps flashing

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.