??!
8 photos
Dometic Waeco CFX Series

Dometic Waeco CFX Series

CFX 50W (50L), CFX 65DZ (61L), CFX 40W (41L), etc...
3.5 from 69 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Modern technology, including mobile app, USB port and internal LED light

  • Energy efficient compressor technology for fast and efficient cooling

  • Can operate on solar power

Cons

  • Some reviewers complain about high power draw

Reviews

3.5

69 reviews
5
(34)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(20)
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (19)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (19)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (18)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Help need

published

Hey all my cfx 75 comes up with error 2 code can anyone help diagnose it
The small side next to the compressor works
The big side doesn't
Worked well for the last 4 year

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

These are great fridges, a must for any camp trip

published

I’ve had a number of different fridges now and this has been best so far. Digital temp display is accurate and fridge works great as a freezer as well at -15deg on solar panels with a single 105amp/hr battery. We often go off grid for 10 days and I run the 65 and a small cfx28 for beers on 400w solar panels. Great product

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
JasperMK2 Mod

JasperMK2 ModSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Died within 12 months. Told it needs to be sent to QLD for 3 weeks for repair.

published

I bought a Dometic Waeco CFX75 less that 12 months ago. Used for one camping trip and about 3 months running on 240V in the garage. It died running on 240V.
It has been to a service centre for 2 weeks and they are now saying that it needs to be returned to QLD for fixing and this will take 2-3 weeks. No offer of a replacement, they clearly don't actually guarantee their product. $1400 waste of money - buy an Engel!

Purchased in September 2019 at Anaconda for A$1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CFX Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sean P.

Sean P.Launceston, TAS

My fridge has, been fine for 12 months and now won't cool

published

My fridge won't cool on either 12 or 240 v stays on 15 odd degrees has the green light on, can hear a noice from the compressor area but it's not a compressor running sound? Any help cheers??

Purchased in January 2019 at Chrisco for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Jase gonebush

Jase gonebush Far North Queensland, QLD

  • 26 reviews
  • 31 likes

Best fridge ever (Hot tip on air flow for your fridge in camper)

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Freddy's fishing and outdoor Cairns Qld for A$1,595.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

1 star is the lowest I could give it.

published

The fridge lasted 5 months before it developed a gas leak and stopped cooling completely. It took 7 weeks of fighting Dometic to get a new fridge. To pay $1400 for a fridge to last not even 6 months isn't acceptable. Maybe this one fridge was faulty, but would you trust it out west to not let you down, after it already has once? Absolutely not. So when it does break in the middle of your trip and your food goes off, you then have to deal with terrible customer service. I'll never buy another Dometic product again.

Purchased in September 2019 at Anaconda.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Warrenlucas21

Warrenlucas21Illawarra, NSW

faulty fridge/terrible customer service

published

The worst customer service, faulty fridge not willing to help out with anything telling me that it’s normal. Fridge won’t hold temperatures runs constantly they have told me to take it to a local dometic dealer and they can’t work out with dometic how to fix the issue now with out a fridge for who knows how long and it’s only 2 months old used twice.

Purchased in September 2019 at BCF for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Kellie S

Kellie SSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Camping game changer

published

Used this fridge for all of our food whilst camping for a week. Completely avoided the soggy wet food in a defrosted esky. Only wish the stands were able to hold the weight of the 95l fridge.

Purchased in December 2019 at BCF Physical Store for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Crap customer service, already has problems

published

Bought the cfx 50L a year ago and its already not working- tried contacting dometic over a handful of times now with no replies. Such poor customer service especially seeing how expensive it was.

Purchased in January 2019 at Anaconda for A$15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CFX Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

DOMETIC CFX 95DZ2

published

Purchased in May 2017 at TJM Physical Store for A$1,650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ian S.

Ian S.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cfx40 Poor Quality Electronics that fail and Dometic unhelpful

published

The main PBC board failed causing it to go from +2 to -22 without warning and freeze and explode the contents. Dometic wanted $66.00 to access the fault and another $221.00 to replace the PBC board. The fridge is just 4 years old and only been used a total of 10 weeks since new. Dometic customer phone support when asked the live span of CFX40 said at least 5 years trouble free service, but Dometic Service wont honour warranty for a known part failure and dont return phone calls to service department and service division needs a major shake up cleaning out the deadwood. I have a ENGEL 40lt running 24/7 since new and no problems In 19 years operation.

Purchased in September 2015 at BCF for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
NoFrills

NoFrillsWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Brand new - good track record

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Snowys Outdoors Online store for A$1,274.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
William D.

William D.South East Queensland, QLD

Giving a one star rating is to high.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Lewy J.

Lewy J.Hunter Region, NSW

Works well when its not at the repairers

published

Have had my cfx 50 for around 18 months now, the first fault happened around the 11 month mark and was told there was a problem with the units computer chip or something. Now i have it back and the wifi app tells me that the whole compressor system has failed. Back to the repairer.
Yesterday I proceed to take the CFX75 (I bought around the same time for my camper trailer and have used it for probably a total of 7 days all up) out of the camper and into the ute until the 50l is fixed and today the compressor system dies in that one too!! Cant win!!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
dior2009

dior2009Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great Fridge, cools to 4 degrees in 30 mins

published

Bought this fridge for my regular road trips with mates, it was a little bigger than I wanted but it's so good at keeping things cool and it's super quiet. Love the compartments and the fact that it cools to 4 degrees within 30 mins. Its also very energy efficient, I ran it for 4 days constant using my 130ah battery and the battery was still at 55% at the end of the trip.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CFX Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great fridge,very happy with its performance.

published

Touring around Nth Territory for two months,very warm 30c most days.This is our main fridge and runs off solar power most off the time ,it has not failed us yet We buy enough food for 2 weeks at a time plenty off room in the freezer and fridge .It runs 24/7 still have enough power in the battery to watch tv and have lights on.

Purchased for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Josh

JoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great size, looks good, low power.

published

Purchased in January 2019 at BCF Physical Store for A$1,319.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
PerthPhil

PerthPhilPerth, WA

  • 31 reviews
  • 20 likes

High power consumption

published

Purchased in December 2017 at Anaconda Physical store for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
PerthPhil
PerthPhil
Keith

KeithHunter Region, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 16 likes

Be careful they do not last

published

Purchased in February 2015 at Anaconda for A$949.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Hughesie

HughesieThe Mallee, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Save and get an Engel

published

Have had this for 2 years and it lives in the back of my Ranger 4x4. I am building a house on weekends and also use it for shopping.
Doesn’t handle heat above 40c. Turns off.
This is Australia and it gets hot, so manufacturer should tell us about that limitation.
I paid over $800 and also bought the cover that is perishing quickly.
Will sell it on Gumtree and get a 40 litre dual zone Engel.
Peter
Robinvale

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Anne B.

Anne B.asked

CFX 75DZW (75L)

Small compartment compressor has developed a clicking noise when it switches on. Clicks on both 240 & 12v temperature gauge working well. Any thoughts?

1 answer
Richard G.
Richard G.

I have CFX65 dz which would only run on 12v not 240. Had to replace the control module. There aren’t many moving parts so it might be the compressor. Bought my parts from Eidis refrigeration in Wangara Perth Ph 08 6200 9010

Jaimi D.

Jaimi D.asked

Waeco CFX Series

Hi all, I have the CFX28 and have had no problems, apart from the display disappearing for 2 years. Now the compressor won’t turn off and it’s freezing everything! Any thoughts? Cheers!

No answers
grahamc1940

grahamc1940asked

Waeco CFX Series

The compressor on my Waeco CFX50 has stopped working. When connected to 240v the panel lights up and I can set temperature and the interior light works. The compressor does not start up. Could this be a thermistor problem or something else?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

The Dometic Waeco CFX Series are powerful, modern and energy efficient portable fridge/freezers, capable of cooling quickly and reliably even in hot external temperatures. Though they are more expensive than similar fridges, they come in a range of sizes to suit your specific needs and price range.

Compare all 9 Dometic Waeco CFX Series
CategoryPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) A$1,349.00A$899.00A$1,149.00A$1,249.00
Type Dedicated Fridge + Freezer ComboDedicated Fridge + Freezer ComboDedicated Fridge + Freezer ComboDedicated Fridge + Freezer Combo
Capacity50L26L34.5L41L
Can Capacity72 Cans42 Cans45 Cans60 Cans
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter), Solar and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter), Solar and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter), Solar and Wall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel, Interior Light, Mobile App, Reversible Lid and USB PortInterior Light, Removable compartment divider and USB PortDigital Display Panel, Interior Light, Mobile App, Removable Lid and USB PortDigital Display Panel, Interior Light, Mobile App, Removable Lid and USB Port
Cooling Capacity-18 °C to +10 °C-22 °C to +50 °C10 °C to 18 °C
Weight20.4 kg13.1 kg17.5 kg18.5 kg
Dimensions 471 x 725 x 455 mm425 x 342 x 620 mm411 x 398 x 692 mm461 x 398 x 692 mm
Construction MaterialPolypropylenePolypropylenePolypropylenePolypropylene
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Compare all 9 Dometic Waeco CFX Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.