?
? !
10 photos
Dometic Waeco CFX Series

Dometic Waeco CFX Series

CFX 50W (50L), CFX 65DZ (61L), CFX 40W (41L), etc...
3.3 from 77 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Modern technology, including mobile app, USB port and internal LED light

  • Energy efficient compressor technology for fast and efficient cooling

  • Can operate on solar power

Cons

  • Some reviewers complain about high power draw

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.8 (26)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (27)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (26)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (24)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Why Waste Money Buying "Quality" Dometic

published

Purchased in March 2021 at BCF Physical Store for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

What a disgrace

published

Not even 3 years old. Never been able to keep cold even after technicians. Now it is freezing. Changed the order for our 17 lease vehicles from Waeco's to Engel's.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave Day

Dave DayHunter Region, NSW

Awesome fridge, good, strong and reliable

published

Have had my waeco for 8 years now and it is still going as strong as new. Only issues I have had with it was power supply related. They really need a good solid constant power supply like a stand alone deep cycle battery.
The fridge doesn’t like running on med-low battery supply setting, 12vdc and up and she just keeps on chugging away keeping the beers ice cold. Very happy with this fridge.

Purchased at Anaconda for $1,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CFX Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BJ50

BJ50PERTH

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Save for a fridge that will last

published

Packed up after 1 year, so still in warranty. 3 months of trying to get into contact with waeco/dometic with no response. Customer service non-existent. Dont waste you time save for a brand that will last and wants your return business

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aaron

Aaron

  • 6 reviews

Don't waste your money on the ice maker model

published

We bought this to use on weekend camping trips - and the occasional 5-7 day trip.
As a refrigerator alone, it draws more power than my brothers 6 year old version. I would have thought modern technology should be using LESS power.
I have a 120AH lithium battery and I can barely get 3-4 days of real world use out of it (opening for food and drinks) - doing tests at home unopened I get almost 7 days.
Then - the Ice Maker. Its a shelf that allows you to make small trays of ice. What a gimick. Using the Ice marker, Dometic have confirmed that I will struggle to get 48 hours use with a 120AH lithium battery. At that rate its a waste of money as I can't even get a weekend (friday night to sunday) worth of use out of it.

Purchased at Anaconda for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ines

InesSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Bluetooth: False Advertising on Product Capability

published

Dometic advertise their CFX3 products as being manageable by a phone app connecting bluetooth. This is false, so false it's like, ACCC-reportable-false. All the details around this (many users) can be found on the reviews for the app on the Google playstore. Disgraceful after the amount of money you pay for these fridges. I won't be getting back the lost hours of my life. You could justifiably argue the return of your Dometic fridge. I won't be at this stage as it is actually functioning.

If you purchase based on this feature be prepared to be very disappointed. and you'll hear nothing but an auto-reply from a company rep.

Purchased in March 2021.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Total Crap I bought one 3 years ago

published

Hey Guys if your a truck driver and not using carpet to driver on these things are crap. i have had 3 of these things in 3 years.. two new one under clams and now the 3 is stuffed // no more the end

Purchased in February 2017 at BCF for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
wade

wadeRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Customer service what a joke

published

Wifi doesn’t work. Can’t use remote app. Customer support unresponsive after several emails and Facebook contact. Go Engle instead. Very disappointed and won’t be recommending them to anyone. Engle will be my next purchase for camper

Purchased in February 2019 at BCF.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Help need

published

Hey all my cfx 75 comes up with error 2 code can anyone help diagnose it
The small side next to the compressor works
The big side doesn't
Worked well for the last 4 year

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CFX Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

These are great fridges, a must for any camp trip

published

I’ve had a number of different fridges now and this has been best so far. Digital temp display is accurate and fridge works great as a freezer as well at -15deg on solar panels with a single 105amp/hr battery. We often go off grid for 10 days and I run the 65 and a small cfx28 for beers on 400w solar panels. Great product

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JasperMK2 Mod

JasperMK2 ModSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Died within 12 months. Told it needs to be sent to QLD for 3 weeks for repair.

published

I bought a Dometic Waeco CFX75 less that 12 months ago. Used for one camping trip and about 3 months running on 240V in the garage. It died running on 240V.
It has been to a service centre for 2 weeks and they are now saying that it needs to be returned to QLD for fixing and this will take 2-3 weeks. No offer of a replacement, they clearly don't actually guarantee their product. $1400 waste of money - buy an Engel!

Purchased in September 2019 at Anaconda for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sean P.

Sean P.Launceston, TAS

My fridge has, been fine for 12 months and now won't cool

published

My fridge won't cool on either 12 or 240 v stays on 15 odd degrees has the green light on, can hear a noice from the compressor area but it's not a compressor running sound? Any help cheers??

Purchased in January 2019 at Chrisco for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jase gonebush

Jase gonebush Far North Queensland, QLD

  • 36 reviews
  • 52 likes

Best fridge ever (Hot tip on air flow for your fridge in camper)

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2019 at Freddy's fishing and outdoor Cairns Qld for $1,595.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

1 star is the lowest I could give it.

published

The fridge lasted 5 months before it developed a gas leak and stopped cooling completely. It took 7 weeks of fighting Dometic to get a new fridge. To pay $1400 for a fridge to last not even 6 months isn't acceptable. Maybe this one fridge was faulty, but would you trust it out west to not let you down, after it already has once? Absolutely not. So when it does break in the middle of your trip and your food goes off, you then have to deal with terrible customer service. I'll never buy another Dometic product again.

Purchased in September 2019 at Anaconda.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Warrenlucas21

Warrenlucas21Illawarra, NSW

faulty fridge/terrible customer service

published

The worst customer service, faulty fridge not willing to help out with anything telling me that it’s normal. Fridge won’t hold temperatures runs constantly they have told me to take it to a local dometic dealer and they can’t work out with dometic how to fix the issue now with out a fridge for who knows how long and it’s only 2 months old used twice.

Purchased in September 2019 at BCF for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Dometic Waeco CFX Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kellie S

Kellie SSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Camping game changer

published

Used this fridge for all of our food whilst camping for a week. Completely avoided the soggy wet food in a defrosted esky. Only wish the stands were able to hold the weight of the 95l fridge.

Purchased in December 2019 at BCF Physical Store for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Crap customer service, already has problems

published

Bought the cfx 50L a year ago and its already not working- tried contacting dometic over a handful of times now with no replies. Such poor customer service especially seeing how expensive it was.

Purchased in January 2019 at Anaconda for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

DOMETIC CFX 95DZ2

published

Purchased in May 2017 at TJM Physical Store for $1,650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian S.

Ian S.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Cfx40 Poor Quality Electronics that fail and Dometic unhelpful

published

The main PBC board failed causing it to go from +2 to -22 without warning and freeze and explode the contents. Dometic wanted $66.00 to access the fault and another $221.00 to replace the PBC board. The fridge is just 4 years old and only been used a total of 10 weeks since new. Dometic customer phone support when asked the live span of CFX40 said at least 5 years trouble free service, but Dometic Service wont honour warranty for a known part failure and dont return phone calls to service department and service division needs a major shake up cleaning out the deadwood. I have a ENGEL 40lt running 24/7 since new and no problems In 19 years operation.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2015 at BCF for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
NoFrills

NoFrillsWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Brand new - good track record

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Snowys Outdoors Online store for $1,274.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Ren G.

Ren G.asked

CFX 50W (50L)

My fridge works perfect on 240 volt but now doesn’t work when plugged into my car or other cars for that fact and when I turn it over to manual over ride it does the same thing just cuts out and the red light flashes and just continues to get warmer .any ideas on how to fix this please ,I’ve had it back under warranty a few years ago for the same thing but it’s well past warranty now

No answers
Jeff Mihan

Jeff Mihanasked

Waeco CFX Series

Hi
I set my waeco 50lt on 2 deg and it does not stop and continues to drop to -18 deg, is the my thermistor not working.

4 answers
Ren G.
Ren G.

Has the manual over ride switch been turned on by any chance

Jeff Mihan
Jeff Mihan

Not sure, I will check it.
Its a 2013 model. Where would I check that please

Jeff Mihan
Jeff Mihan

I have checked this switch and you were correct. Motor stopped straight away. Thank you for your help

Wayne G.

Wayne G.asked

Waeco CFX Series

Hi I have a cfx75. It won’t get cold although the compressor is running. I have noticed the fan is not spinning too. Is that the issue?

No answers
See all Dometic Waeco CFX Series questions

Get an answer from our members

Dometic Waeco CFX Series

Details

The Dometic Waeco CFX Series are powerful, modern and energy efficient portable fridge/freezers, capable of cooling quickly and reliably even in hot external temperatures. Though they are more expensive than similar fridges, they come in a range of sizes to suit your specific needs and price range.

Compare all 10 Dometic Waeco CFX Series
CategoryPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $1,349.00$899.00$1,149.00$1,249.00
Type Dedicated Fridge + Freezer ComboDedicated Fridge + Freezer ComboDedicated Fridge + Freezer ComboDedicated Fridge + Freezer Combo
Capacity50L26L34.5L41L
Can Capacity72 Cans42 Cans45 Cans60 Cans
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter), Solar and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter), Solar and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter), Solar and Wall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel, Interior Light, Mobile App, Reversible Lid and USB PortInterior Light, Removable compartment divider and USB PortDigital Display Panel, Interior Light, Mobile App, Removable Lid and USB PortDigital Display Panel, Interior Light, Mobile App, Removable Lid and USB Port
Cooling Capacity-18 °C to +10 °C-22 °C to +50 °C10 °C to 18 °C
Weight20.4 kg13.1 kg17.5 kg18.5 kg
Dimensions 471 x 725 x 455 mm425 x 342 x 620 mm411 x 398 x 692 mm461 x 398 x 692 mm
Construction MaterialPolypropylenePolypropylenePolypropylenePolypropylene
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Compare all 10 Dometic Waeco CFX Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.