??!
25 photos
Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount

Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount

WBE5300SA (Stainless Steel), WBE5314SA, WBE5300WA (White), etc...
3.6 from 102 reviews

Reviews

(44)
(20)
(12)
(10)
(16)
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (10)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (11)
  • Internal Layout
    4.4 (9)


Veronica

VeronicaSydney

  • 5 reviews

Fridge that doesn't cool is not cool

published

Purchased in June 2016 at Bing Lee.

Value for Money

Sue

SueSouth East Queensland, QLD

Two year lifespan

published

Our Westinghouse Bottom Mount Fridge was working really well for us until it stopped cooling in the fridge section a month outside the 2 year warranty. The service company recommended by the Company could not fix the problem after call out fees, labour and parts.

Purchased in December 2017 at Joyce Mayne Physical store for $1,099.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Firas Zain

Firas ZainGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Fridge stops cooling and freezing after one month of being in use!

published

We were very happy with the fridge, however, after a month of using this fridge, it has stopped cooling and freezing. We are disappointed since no one has contact us back!

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Firas Zain
Firas Zain

Hi Linda,
I sent you an email and I have no response. This is the foutlrth day with out a functional fridge!
Can you assist?

Kate

KateWestern District, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Bought in an emergency and been going gang-busters ever since!

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Bi-Rite Home Appliances for $1,290.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers

Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

NOT Frost Free - needs monthly defrosting

published

We need to defrost the freezer every month or two. The ice builds up to the point the vents get blocked and the tops of shelves have a line of thick ice on them. We had a repairman from Westinghouse come out and he told us the ice build-up was because we had extra ice trays in the freezer.

The freezer drawers are also not designed to be removed. This makes defrosting and cleaning very difficult. The top drawer's clip is now broken after we have removed it twice (using the technique demonstrated to us by the technician.)

The original fridge they delivered also lacked gas so they had to replace the whole unit as it never cooled.

Overall, very unimpressed - would not buy a Westinghouse again.

Purchased in January 2019 at Home Clearance.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers

May Flower

May FlowerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Door Handle keeps breaking, Noisy

published

I would not recommend this fridge as the door handle of the fridge keeps breaking and already been replaced twice. Cheap plastic handle and Westinghouse cannot provide a better solution. I am surprised how they can overlook such a critical component (door handle) that's used so many times a day. Very much frustrated with the claim handling process and they don't even have a record of replacement parts and not willing to help anymore and blaming the misuse on our part.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 6 person(s)
See all answers

RR

RRSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Handles are crap, keep popping off now broken

published

Used for almost 2 years. Handles constantly pop off and now freezer handle foot has broken and I can't find a replacement. Wouldn't recommend Westinghouse. Have had others with bad experiences with this fridge also. Draw fronts don't hold tight and pull off also

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Gareth and Jayne

Gareth and JayneSouth East Queensland, QLD

great space and reliable - just the handles are weak

published

watch the handles they are weak but Westinghouse replaced mine even whilst out of warranty. currently can only buy the complete handle set for about $180. they are going to start supplying the pedal stool only which is just a screw on item (plastic and breaks easy)

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
Svetlana

Svetlana

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful fridge, just the right size

published

Firstly I like the size of this fridge, it isn't too deep for my little short arms to get to the back of the fridge to wipe down. I like the spill free shelf design, if anything leeks it doesn't spread to the other lower shelves. I love the wine shelf, I use it for bottles of water, so much more convenient to get a bottle out and you can see how many you have at a glance. I don't like the height of the medicine keeper you can't fit a large bottle kiddies Panadol or Nurofen in the keeper. I like the vegetable draw and all the draws of the freezer, so much better than wire baskets. No wire baskets for food to wrap around making it impossible to remove without defrosting. Easy to clean inside and out and a very good looking fridge.

Purchased in January 2018 at Appliances Online for $1,161.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Cookie

CookieSanctuary Point

  • 4 reviews

Noisy

published

Have had this fridge now for three months. The style and refrigeration efficiency is good, however when in operation it sounds like a Jet Aircraft, the design of the fan desperately needs looking at. Other family members have got different brand fridges same size or larger and you would not even know they are running

Purchased in March 2019 for $1,558.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Hi Cookie,
Narelle from Electrolux here.
We are sorry to hear you are experiencing problems with your Fridge.
If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Narelle, ticket 952449.


Rachel

RachelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Beeping when door shut and no longer cold

published

purchased this fridge October 2016 and now it is no longer cold and keeps beeping when the door is shut! Freezer not cold either, it’s not even 3 years old and have had to throw out so much food! Spoke with Electrolux and we are 5 months out of the 2 year warranty and now it will cost me $145 for them to come out and just look at it! Then labour and parts on top of that! Not happy at all!

Purchased in October 2016 at Harvey Norman for $1,569.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Kevin Stiff

Kevin StiffGold Coast

Lemon

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

robert314

robert314Sydney NSW

Much noisier than I expected

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018

Mei

Mei

  • 2 reviews

Weak handles

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Mei
Mei
Gaurav

GauravPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect and comfortable to use

published

hugh space, good cooling, available in different range options.
it uses less electric bills,
It has lot of space available, and good storage system.
Easy to open and close. The best I like is it have variety of compartments with different size and facility
also it have separate box compartments for vegetables and double door.
Freeze box is lower side, so you dont have to bend frequently unless needed.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Meg

MegPenrith

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good

published

I love this fridge. Was given the option of ordering it opening either side which was perfect for my kitchen as we needed one that was opposite to what most come. Great amount of space and a good layout. it's the perfect size for my family and I don't think I'm going to need another one until it breaks which I'm hoping to be a very long time from now. I would buy this again and recommend to others.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Blake

BlakeSippy Downs

Died 3 timed in 18 months.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

MargM

MargMPerth

  • 2 reviews

Perfect, quiet

published

Temperature is great I have set on average the coolest temperature is very cool. Love the size and design of the vegetable chill draw and the ice tray is great. Door seals very well however can be a little hard to open immediately after closing. We purchased this fridge as it is quieter than our previous fridge,

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Dani

DaniSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family sized fridge!

published

We upgraded recently to the Westinghouse (after having another Westinghouse for 7 years) and love it! There is plenty of room inside, with the wide shelves, door shelves, bottle holders, etc The fridge is also nice and bright when you open it, making it easy to find things.
The stainless doors have a nice clean finish, and easy to clean.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Anna s

Anna sBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Great use of space

published

I like the design, and it is simple and great for a family of 4. I like that the vegr compartment is easy to reach. Also it is fairly easy to keep clean. Temperature controls are good. Freezer works well, i like the sliding out drawers in the freezer, makes for easy storage

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Margaret  D

Margaret Dasked

How do I remove freezer drawers. Details not clear enough in manual

2 answers
Kate
Kate

Open the door fully. Lift the drawer by initially supporting and lifting up from the front corners with your hands underneath, then, holding the drawer by its sides at the top, simply lift up. The runners can be easily seen as extending ones. Pull them carefully in and out to see how they work: this should help with understanding how to remove and replace.
When replacing make sure the runners are fully out, and set the drawer down over the runners with the front end of the runners positioned as close to the front of the drawer as possible. Gently let the drawer settle onto the runners and press gently; there should be a slight click as they settle into place. Don't be heavy-handed with any pressing down. It's actually quite quick and easy once you're used to it.

Margaret  D
Margaret D

Thanks for the info will try again don’t like to use any force but the runners are still very stiff.


David w.

David w.asked

Can you please tell me how many watts this fridge is please.

1 answer
Kate
Kate

There should be a label inside the fridge somewhere with all its specification details on it. A magnifying lens might be useful to read the very small print. Somewhere within it should state tohe wattage. Or, go to the manufacturer's website.


Tina B.

Tina B.asked

Hi the top draw in the freezer is too cold its icing up, what temperature do i adjust freezer section please

3 answers
Kate
Kate

If you look in the service and user guide you'll be reminded how to change temperatures in both fridge and freezer sections. This should be available online if you don't have the original one. See my answer to Frederika [might be below]. [ In the Westinghouse check that the 'zone' indicator light is on the lower section [right-hand side close to the hinge]. Press the touch pad until you get to -18C.] -18c is the best and most usual temperature for domestic freezers. Also check the door seal for dirt/mould/damage and possible leaking; always make sure that whatever is put into the freezer is already cold; putting stuff for the freezer [e.g. left-over food from a meal] into the fridge first, once it's cooled down, is always a good idea; make sure bags/containers are properly closed. Freezing draws moisture out of foodstuffs - that's what causes the icing-up inside containers/bags. So squash out as much free air as you can when packing. I double-wrap many things, like pieces of meat/fish/cake slices etc in cling film first, then in bags/containers; means they don't stick to each other and can be frozen and defrosted without losing moisture. Make sure that the ice-block section is cleared of ice that sometimes forms from small spillages as you put the tray in [it forms on the 'slides' at the side]. Sometimes the narrow pipe that carries away the liquid water from the auto defost gets blocked by food debris and can cause problems. It comes out at the back over the compressor, so is a pain to deal with. If you're still having a problem, check the manufacturer's FAQs, or a chat with a servicing agent.

Tina B.
Tina B.

Thanks Kate for your advice will do

Hiyantha
Hiyantha

I bought a this fridge today. It keeps beeping upon connecting to power?


Get an answer from our members and Westinghouse representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.