??!
25 photos
Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount

Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount

WBE5314SA, WBE5300SA (Stainless Steel), WBE5300WA (White), etc...
3.4 from 121 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.3 (26)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (26)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (26)
  • Noise Level
    2.6 (27)
  • Internal Layout
    3.7 (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Con V.

Con V.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

16months after purchase from the good guys the compressor broke down. Was without fridge for over 2 weeks unti repaired

published

Fridge is ok when working and is nice and cold. Do like the lighting inside of the fridge
Broke down too soon after purchase
Not happy at the after sale service from electrolux

Incentivised ReviewNo
Letitia Y.

Letitia Y.South East Queensland, QLD

This fridge is a lemon, nothing but trouble

published

Purchased in April 2017 at The Good Guys for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers

The handles are a joke!

published

Purchased in March 2016 at The Good Guys for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony K

Anthony KWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Freezer is Faulty

published

Wish I had read these reviews before purchasing
The freezer alarm keeps going off. Set it to the correct temperature as per the manual, but every time you add something you have to set the "quick freeze" function otherwise the alarm sounds. You need to push this 2 to 3 times over a 3 hour period and this has not even stopped the alarm from sounding after being set 3 times in a row. I finally discover you can disable the alarm for 12 hours. Guess what, it went off again after 12 hours :( . I have had ice cream in the freezer for 30 hours since purchased and it is softer than when I bought it from the supermarket.
This fridge is a dud.
I'll be contacting there customer support as soon as I can.

Purchased in October 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$1,840.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Impractical and Dangerous

published

We purchased this fridge in 2017.One month a go the handle snapped off and smashed my wife in the head causing a sizeable lump.These are shoddily made and when I went through these reviews I can see why.$200 to replace the handle is seriously a disgrace.Will be looking through all reviews from now on when purchasing this brand.Actually I just wont

Purchased in September 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

One star is too generous for such an awful fridge

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Fen

FenSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Fridge with good service

published

I bought this fridge 3 years ago and after an issue with a fluting noice it was replaced and have had no issues since. However, a few weeks ago the door handle broke off while we have used it perfectly normal. I have contacted Westinghouse / Electrolux through their website and posted a message here and received a call and the door handle will be replaced next week under warranty service. excellent service!

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
See all answers
Jen

Jen

  • 2 reviews

Compressor is dead and it’s only 8 weeks old

published

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
Sri R.

Sri R.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Incompetent product

published

Had purchased this fridge in Feb 2020 and had broken down in 2 weeks with gas leak. Got a replacement with new stock, which ran for 4 months before becoming dud with same problem again. Have been informed that there is no stock and will get a store credit instead. Stuck in stage 4 lock-down with no fridge and worst possible customer service I have faced. Hope the company revisit this model and provides atleast a viable product for its customers, for the price they are being charged.

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ia a.

ia a.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

I should have read the reviews first!!

published

Avoid avoid avoid.
Bought this fridge at the end 2019 and by April it had broken down.
Was issued a loan fridge and waited a further 2 months for a replacement to become available.
When we had enough of waiting we were told by Electrolux that we were not eligible for a refund. After reading up on my consumer rights and calling them again, my right to a refund was not refused.

Note - fridge was purchased at Harvey Norman and their customer service was abysmal.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$1,350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
krishan

krishanSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 18 likes

Worst purchase of my life

published
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Jacquie

JacquieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 22 reviews
  • 9 likes

Excellent. Can’t fault it.

published

Excellent and very large. Fits everything in. Very intuitive layout. Coming from a side by side fridge, you notice that the freezer fits heaps more in, even though it’s the same volume. And the light is a super bright LED thank goodness unlike the old bulb types where you couldn’t see anything.

Purchased in October 2018 at The Good Guys for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size6 person(s)
See all answers
Very disappointed

Very disappointedRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Poorly designed pedestals for handles.

published

Fridge freezer fantastic, but the plastic lugs in the pedestals that attach the handles to the doors broke after 2 years of use by elderly owners. VERY POOR DESIGN!!
And then you can’t just purchase replacement pedestals even though they are held on with a screw, you have to buy the whole set of handles $177 plus about $15 postage.
I have always loved Westinghouse appliances but I don’t trust them any more.

Incentivised ReviewNo
iwantmyhouse

iwantmyhouseSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Stay away

published

We purchased this fridge in early March, 3 weeks later the compressor broke. Electrolux replaced with a loan fridge and we received a replacement in mid April. That is now also broken, compressor again. Going to another brand

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
iwantmyhouse
iwantmyhouse

Hi Linda, Thanks and I have spoken to the customer service team a few times, they have been great. Unfortunately it is just a dud fridge.

Bill

BillIllawarra, NSW

Door handles badly designed and expensive to replace with no guarantee it won’t happen again

published

No problems with all the other features just the door handless they sell you two handles because they know the other one oo. design and costly one to at that

Purchased for A$1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
See all answers
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blondie26984

Blondie26984South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Don't Buy!!

published

This is the loudest fridge I've ever owned. I purchased it in november 19 and it progressively got louder and louder to the point it would wake my kids during the night (I've got video proof) our local betta team have been great and got the repair guy out immediately but due to Covid-19 we are still waiting for parts to hopefully fix this noisy fridge.
Also the shelves are incredibly flimsy. We are a family of 4 (2a 2k) and after a weekly shop ll shelves bend so you can't get stuff in and out unless you unpack the shelf above. Westinghouse customer service said "you must buy too much fresh fruit and veg and perhaps need to shop 2 times a week" What???

Purchased in November 2019 at Betta Home Living for A$1,569.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers
Behrooz B.

Behrooz B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Brokedown after few months

published

I bought this fridge less than five months ago and it has already breakdown. The freezer has stopped cooling. I have lost all my food!! In all my life of owning fridges, this has never happened before! I have contact customer support and asked them to send someone as an emergency issue but nobody contacts me yet !!

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Karina D.

Karina D.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not too bad

published

The fridge works fine, but the handles broke a couple of months after usage. It weren't the handles themselves but the pedestals inside the handle which are made of bad quality plastic. I found on internet a complete handle kit to replace which costs about 190$. I won't pay that money to replace only those plastic pieces. Sent an email to Electrolux and still waiting for an answer to find the proper replacement.

Purchased in July 2017 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers

WBE5314SA-R door handles

published

The door handle posts on our WBE5314SA fridge have broken, I rang Westinghouse and was told that the posts could not be purchased separatly and I had to buy the 2 handles at a cost of about $180.00 I think it is unreasonable to have to pay for the handles when I only need 2 posts.

Incentivised ReviewNo
GeorginaP

GeorginaPSouth East Queensland, QLD

DO NOT BUY- TERRIBLE ITEM

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Appliances Online for A$1,178.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
GeorginaP
GeorginaP
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Twin01

Twin01asked

528L Bottom Mount

Hi, have had brand new fridge for 5 days but it is always running, have only herd it silent once & when it did kick in it made a noise - like a winding noise & that’s only once in 5 days.
Is it normal to be continuously running 24/7 .

2 answers
Fen
Fen

Hi! I had a similar experience with my fridge but apperently the fridge need some time to cool completely. My fridge is now often quiet. I would monitor it for a few days and maybe it tells in the booklet for how long it is common to run at the beginning?

Twin01
Twin01

Thank you

Hiyantha

Hiyanthaasked

528L Bottom Mount

The fridge is only 8 months old. There are a loud noise and message displaying that to replace the filter.
However, we haven't use the water filter since we bought the fridge. How can we avoid the message and the noise?

1 answer
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Hi Hiyantha,
Denise from Electrolux here.
We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised about the fridge..
If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Denise P ticket 1580602.
Thanks Denise
xxxxxxx

John B

John Basked

WBE5314SA

I am after replacement stainless steel fridge door and freezer handle , fixing pillars only top and bottom for both handles Is there a part number for these parts ? Parts for the WBE5314SA model fridge. Thanks

1 answer
John
John

Sorry mate, I don't really know the part numbers for these. Best to check the manufacturer

Get an answer from our members and Westinghouse representatives

Details

Compare all 10 Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) A$1,849.00A$1,949.00A$2,049.00A$1,999.00
Dimensions 1725 x 796 x 723 mm1725 x 796 x 723 mm1725 x 796 x 723 mm1725 x 796 x 7269 mm
Energy Rating4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm, Frost Free and Wine RackDoor Alarm, Frost Free and Wine RackDoor Alarm, Frost Free and Wine RackDoor Alarm, Frost Free and Wine Rack
Colour / FinishWhiteStainless SteelDark StainlessStainless Steel
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessedExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves3333
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins1111
Door Hinge Reversible Door HingeLeft and RightLeft and Right
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 528 L528 L528 L528 L
Fridge Capacity 361 L361 L361 L361 L
Freezer Capacity 167 L167 L167 L167 L
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 10 Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount

  • MPN: WBE5300BC-L, WBE5300SCR, WBE5300WALH, WBE5300WC-L, WBE5300WC-R and WBE5304SC-R

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.