??!
25 photos
Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount

Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount

WBE5300SA (Stainless Steel), WBE5314SA, WBE5300WA (White), etc...
3.5 from 111 reviews

Reviews

3.5

111 reviews
5
(45)
4
(20)
3
(16)
2
(10)
1
(20)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (17)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (17)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (17)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (18)
  • Internal Layout
    3.9 (14)
Previous
Next
Jacquie

JacquieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 19 reviews

Excellent. Can’t fault it.

published

Excellent and very large. Fits everything in. Very intuitive layout. Coming from a side by side fridge, you notice that the freezer fits heaps more in, even though it’s the same volume. And the light is a super bright LED thank goodness unlike the old bulb types where you couldn’t see anything.

Purchased in October 2018 at The Good Guys for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 6 person(s)
See all answers
Very disappointed

Very disappointedRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Poorly designed pedestals for handles.

published

Fridge freezer fantastic, but the plastic lugs in the pedestals that attach the handles to the doors broke after 2 years of use by elderly owners. VERY POOR DESIGN!!
And then you can’t just purchase replacement pedestals even though they are held on with a screw, you have to buy the whole set of handles $177 plus about $15 postage.
I have always loved Westinghouse appliances but I don’t trust them any more.

iwantmyhouse

iwantmyhouseSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Stay away

published

We purchased this fridge in early March, 3 weeks later the compressor broke. Electrolux replaced with a loan fridge and we received a replacement in mid April. That is now also broken, compressor again. Going to another brand

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
iwantmyhouse
iwantmyhouse

Hi Linda, Thanks and I have spoken to the customer service team a few times, they have been great. Unfortunately it is just a dud fridge.

Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill

BillIllawarra, NSW

Door handles badly designed and expensive to replace with no guarantee it won’t happen again

published

No problems with all the other features just the door handless they sell you two handles because they know the other one oo. design and costly one to at that

Purchased for A$1,299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
Blondie26984

Blondie26984South-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Don't Buy!!

published

This is the loudest fridge I've ever owned. I purchased it in november 19 and it progressively got louder and louder to the point it would wake my kids during the night (I've got video proof) our local betta team have been great and got the repair guy out immediately but due to Covid-19 we are still waiting for parts to hopefully fix this noisy fridge.
Also the shelves are incredibly flimsy. We are a family of 4 (2a 2k) and after a weekly shop ll shelves bend so you can't get stuff in and out unless you unpack the shelf above. Westinghouse customer service said "you must buy too much fresh fruit and veg and perhaps need to shop 2 times a week" What???

Purchased in November 2019 at Betta Home Living for A$1,569.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
Behrooz B.

Behrooz B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Brokedown after few months

published

I bought this fridge less than five months ago and it has already breakdown. The freezer has stopped cooling. I have lost all my food!! In all my life of owning fridges, this has never happened before! I have contact customer support and asked them to send someone as an emergency issue but nobody contacts me yet !!

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Karina D.

Karina D.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Not too bad

published

The fridge works fine, but the handles broke a couple of months after usage. It weren't the handles themselves but the pedestals inside the handle which are made of bad quality plastic. I found on internet a complete handle kit to replace which costs about 190$. I won't pay that money to replace only those plastic pieces. Sent an email to Electrolux and still waiting for an answer to find the proper replacement.

Purchased in July 2017 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers

WBE5314SA-R door handles

published

The door handle posts on our WBE5314SA fridge have broken, I rang Westinghouse and was told that the posts could not be purchased separatly and I had to buy the 2 handles at a cost of about $180.00 I think it is unreasonable to have to pay for the handles when I only need 2 posts.

GeorginaP

GeorginaPSouth East Queensland, QLD

DO NOT BUY- TERRIBLE ITEM

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Appliances Online for A$1,178.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
GeorginaP
GeorginaP
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Veronica

VeronicaSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Fridge that doesn't cool is not cool

published

Purchased in June 2016 at Bing Lee.

Value for Money
Sue

SueSouth East Queensland, QLD

Two year lifespan

published

Our Westinghouse Bottom Mount Fridge was working really well for us until it stopped cooling in the fridge section a month outside the 2 year warranty. The service company recommended by the Company could not fix the problem after call out fees, labour and parts.

Purchased in December 2017 at Joyce Mayne Physical store for A$1,099.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Firas Zain

Firas ZainGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Fridge stops cooling and freezing after one month of being in use!

published

We were very happy with the fridge, however, after a month of using this fridge, it has stopped cooling and freezing. We are disappointed since no one has contact us back!

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Firas Zain
Firas Zain

Hi Linda,
I sent you an email and I have no response. This is the foutlrth day with out a functional fridge!
Can you assist?

Kate

KateWestern District, VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Bought in an emergency and been going gang-busters ever since!

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Bi-Rite Home Appliances for A$1,290.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

NOT Frost Free - needs monthly defrosting

published

We need to defrost the freezer every month or two. The ice builds up to the point the vents get blocked and the tops of shelves have a line of thick ice on them. We had a repairman from Westinghouse come out and he told us the ice build-up was because we had extra ice trays in the freezer.

The freezer drawers are also not designed to be removed. This makes defrosting and cleaning very difficult. The top drawer's clip is now broken after we have removed it twice (using the technique demonstrated to us by the technician.)

The original fridge they delivered also lacked gas so they had to replace the whole unit as it never cooled.

Overall, very unimpressed - would not buy a Westinghouse again.

Purchased in January 2019 at Home Clearance.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers
May Flower

May FlowerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Door Handle keeps breaking, Noisy

published

I would not recommend this fridge as the door handle of the fridge keeps breaking and already been replaced twice. Cheap plastic handle and Westinghouse cannot provide a better solution. I am surprised how they can overlook such a critical component (door handle) that's used so many times a day. Very much frustrated with the claim handling process and they don't even have a record of replacement parts and not willing to help anymore and blaming the misuse on our part.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 6 person(s)
See all answers
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 528L Bottom Mount compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RR

RRSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Handles are crap, keep popping off now broken

published

Used for almost 2 years. Handles constantly pop off and now freezer handle foot has broken and I can't find a replacement. Wouldn't recommend Westinghouse. Have had others with bad experiences with this fridge also. Draw fronts don't hold tight and pull off also

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Gareth and Jayne

Gareth and JayneSouth East Queensland, QLD

great space and reliable - just the handles are weak

published

watch the handles they are weak but Westinghouse replaced mine even whilst out of warranty. currently can only buy the complete handle set for about $180. they are going to start supplying the pedal stool only which is just a screw on item (plastic and breaks easy)

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
Svetlana

Svetlana

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful fridge, just the right size

published

Firstly I like the size of this fridge, it isn't too deep for my little short arms to get to the back of the fridge to wipe down. I like the spill free shelf design, if anything leeks it doesn't spread to the other lower shelves. I love the wine shelf, I use it for bottles of water, so much more convenient to get a bottle out and you can see how many you have at a glance. I don't like the height of the medicine keeper you can't fit a large bottle kiddies Panadol or Nurofen in the keeper. I like the vegetable draw and all the draws of the freezer, so much better than wire baskets. No wire baskets for food to wrap around making it impossible to remove without defrosting. Easy to clean inside and out and a very good looking fridge.

Purchased in January 2018 at Appliances Online for A$1,161.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Cookie

CookieSanctuary Point

  • 4 reviews

Noisy

published

Have had this fridge now for three months. The style and refrigeration efficiency is good, however when in operation it sounds like a Jet Aircraft, the design of the fan desperately needs looking at. Other family members have got different brand fridges same size or larger and you would not even know they are running

Purchased in March 2019 for A$1,558.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Hi Cookie,
Narelle from Electrolux here.
We are sorry to hear you are experiencing problems with your Fridge.
If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Narelle, ticket 952449.

Rachel

RachelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Beeping when door shut and no longer cold

published

purchased this fridge October 2016 and now it is no longer cold and keeps beeping when the door is shut! Freezer not cold either, it’s not even 3 years old and have had to throw out so much food! Spoke with Electrolux and we are 5 months out of the 2 year warranty and now it will cost me $145 for them to come out and just look at it! Then labour and parts on top of that! Not happy at all!

Purchased in October 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$1,569.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

steven

stevenasked

WBE5314SA

Can the top door seal be replaced and how much for the seal?

2 answers
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Hi Steven,

Tania from Electrolux here.

We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the concerns you have raised about the refrigerator seals.

If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Tania Ticket Number 1421757

Thanks, Tania

steven
steven

The question has already been asked can the door seals be replaced and how much

Penny46

Penny46asked

WBE5314SA

Hi there, my Westinghouse WBE5314SA handles have fallen off and apart from the handle inserts all breaking and not being able to get replacements, a couple of the little black lugs which are attached to the inside of the fridge doors have snapped. I’ve been told to replace handles which will cost approx $180 even though the only thing wrong with handles is the broken inserts but you can’t replace the broken black lugs without having to purchase new doors.! I’m livid. Other fridge makers sell the door handle inserts but none would fit our handles. Very upsetting. Thought of trying to remove door skin and put a screw and washer on the inside of door but not sure how door skin is attached , whether attached with screws or glued. Worried about cracking door skin if glued. Also the fridge cyclic defrost isn’t working and I’ve been told needs a new logic board, fridge coilsare freezing up and defrost timer not working.

No answers
Andrew Y.

Andrew Y.asked

WBE5314SA

Hi all,
We have a Westinghouse fridge freezer Model WABE5314SA.
Just of late it has started to beep even when all the doors are closed, just
wondering if anyone may know as to what the cause of this beeping may be?
Many thanks,
Andy

6 answers
Veronica
Veronica

Hi Andrew, I think I saw another question about beeping further down the page

Veronica
Veronica

Actually, there lots of posts about beeping. Good luck

Andrew Y.
Andrew Y.

HI Veronica,
Thanks very much for the reference.

Get an answer from our members and Westinghouse representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.